April 25, 2024, 11:41:40 PM

Author Topic: UEFA Euro Thread.  (Read 243071 times)

Re: Euro 2008 - Germany v Poland June 8
« Reply #30 on: June 08, 2008, 02:16:43 PM »
lawd Poland defense look comical for that goal...

« Reply #31 on: June 08, 2008, 02:18:27 PM »
Poland getting discombobulated

Offline legal alien

« Reply #32 on: June 08, 2008, 02:20:32 PM »
No horse in dis race but I sure d German' go do d do
podolski on a hattrick

« Reply #33 on: June 08, 2008, 02:21:57 PM »
That German side playing real football.

« Reply #34 on: June 08, 2008, 02:33:46 PM »
Germany doin what Germany always do

« Reply #35 on: June 08, 2008, 02:35:08 PM »
If England want to make waves on the world stage, dey need tuh swallow dey collective pride and start giving citizenships tuh more talented players who can't make dey country's side. All them other big countries doing in so why not England? Who would have thought the day would come when a player with last name Gomez line up for Germany. Win at all cost not or win nothing and like it!
nah , i doh support that. that is just not ethically right . pulling foreign players when you could let your local talent work harder.

Pullin players may make their players work harder. It may also provide England with more options instead of callin up over the hill players like Beckham, overated players like Lampard. Competition never hurt anyone and them England players who does get pick automatically don't get pushed and that is why they play shit for their country! England want skills then they need tuh import it until they can groom it.
Re: Gomez- Hitler must be rollin over in his grave!

« Reply #36 on: June 08, 2008, 02:36:21 PM »
If England want to make waves on the world stage, dey need tuh swallow dey collective pride and start giving citizenships tuh more talented players who can't make dey country's side. All them other big countries doing in so why not England? Who would have thought the day would come when a player with last name Gomez line up for Germany. Win at all cost not or win nothing and like it!

Both Poland and Germany had an African born player on their World Cup team.

Gomez dad is Spanish - he coulda played for them, too.
Odonkor is German born but as a father from Ghana
Asamoah was born in Ghana and naturalized
Jimmy Hartwig and Erwin Kostedde were sons of African American GI's

I forget to mention Kuranyi, yes.
Born in Brazil grew up in Panama, German-Hungarian father, Panamanian mother

« Reply #37 on: June 08, 2008, 02:38:59 PM »
Lawd d commentator ask if anybody born in Germany

« Reply #38 on: June 08, 2008, 02:46:21 PM »

heh heh....

is only today I realise after Germany's win in 1996 dey eh really make no waves in de tournament after dat....den ah remember dat nobody was really rating dem for WC 06 either....what change over de years den??...de influx of "foreign" players?  Yeah ah know Klinsmann kinda shake up things, but ah only really ponder on dey progress while watching de game....congrats Germany...ah eh surprise but ah just had to throw mih support behind Poland...hard luck Beenie...must win against Austria.... :beermug:

« Reply #39 on: June 08, 2008, 03:03:16 PM »

heh heh....

is only today I realise after Germany's win in 1996 dey eh really make no waves in de tournament after dat....den ah remember dat nobody was really rating dem for WC 06 either....what change over de years den??...de influx of "foreign" players?  Yeah ah know Klinsmann kinda shake up things, but ah only really ponder on dey progress while watching de game....congrats Germany...ah eh surprise but ah just had to throw mih support behind Poland...hard luck Beenie...must win against Austria.... :beermug:

It was a rebuilding time. A lot of young players came in. Lots of veterans - Bierrhof, Klinsmann, Matthaus retired.
Now they are rebuilt.

« Reply #40 on: June 08, 2008, 03:08:14 PM »
Send more "geboren außerhalb Deutschlands" :devil:
jk eh E-Man
makin fun of allya like de JamTart Britz ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #41 on: June 08, 2008, 04:15:01 PM »
a nice statistic: Every time the Germans have won their opening game in the EURO they have gone on to reach the final.

« Reply #42 on: June 08, 2008, 05:18:30 PM »
Since WC02 Germany was never to do any thing and they ran to the Finals. Won some Mackeson on that one ;D

« Reply #43 on: June 08, 2008, 08:31:04 PM »
 Me and Small Mag went to see this same game live in WC Germany 06... you cannot explain the atmosphere... serious... you have no idea...

« Reply #44 on: June 08, 2008, 08:35:09 PM »
what palyers germany "pull" to play for them??...serious

« Reply #45 on: June 08, 2008, 10:24:07 PM »
podolski was born in poland.

« Reply #46 on: June 08, 2008, 10:49:37 PM »
podolski was born in poland.

So too is Miroslav Klose... him and Podolski does often communicate in Polish when they playing up front...

« Reply #47 on: June 08, 2008, 11:02:40 PM »
Borowski and Trochowski are Polish too and on de German Squad.

Offline Giggsy's Chestwig

« Reply #48 on: June 09, 2008, 06:07:05 AM »
If England want to make waves on the world stage, dey need tuh swallow dey collective pride and start giving citizenships tuh more talented players

Its not a new concept.

John Barnes - Born in Jamaica
Owen Hargreaves - Born in Canada
Graeme Le Saux - Born in Jersey
Matt Le Tissier - Born in Guernsey

« Reply #49 on: June 09, 2008, 06:33:55 AM »
yea..but Germany eh "Pull" dem....

« Reply #50 on: June 09, 2008, 09:45:46 AM »
touch luck for the Poles going forward

Poles lose their 'magic' for Austrian clash
wldcup.com

Polish forward Maciej Zurawski (L) vies for the ball with German midfielder Michael Ballack during their Euro 2008 Championships Group B football match at Woerthersee stadium in Klagenfurt, Austria, June 8. Poland have suffered another huge injury blow as it was revealed that Zurawski will miss the next Group B match with co-hosts Austria and could even be out of the tournament.

Poland suffered another huge injury blow on Monday as it was revealed that their captain Maciej Zurawski will miss the next Group B match with co-hosts Austria and could even be out of the tournament.

The 31-year-old - nicknamed 'magic' when he was at Scottish giants Celtic - suffered a thigh injury during the 2-0 opening defeat by Germany on Sunday.

"Maciej Zurawski was unable to train today (Monday)," admitted Poland coach Leo Beenhakker.

"We do not know if he will be able to play again during the tournament, but I can definitely say that he will not play against Austria," added the 65-year-old Dutchman.

Beenhakker - who has coached such diverse footballing talents as Holland and Trinidad and Tobago - admitted he had not noticed that Zurawski - scorer of 17 goals in his 72 internationals - was injured and it was not the reason he took him off.

"I took him off for tactical reasons," said Beenhakker.

"I didn't know he was injured, I had noticed that he wasn't running as much towards the end of the first-half, I only understood why afterwards."

The Poles - who are making their debut in the championships - had already lost two players before the tournament, Jakub Blaszczykowski and reserve 'keeper Tomasz Kuszczak.

Beenhakker also rested on Monday defensive midfielder Mariusz Lewandowski, but he is expected to be fit for selection agaisnt Austria, a match the Poles cannot realistically afford to lose if they are to keep alive their hopes of reaching the last eight.

Offline legal alien

Euro 2008 France vs Romania
« Reply #51 on: June 09, 2008, 10:19:53 AM »
i just creae this thread. it's 15 minutes and still goalless. i have to miss this game-for a summer class- so any one who following it could post here

Offline legal alien

Euro 2008 Italy vs Holland
« Reply #52 on: June 09, 2008, 10:21:31 AM »
one of the big games of the first round. i eh missin that.

Re: Euro 2008 France vs Romania
« Reply #53 on: June 09, 2008, 10:39:05 AM »
Riberry looks like a Picasso painting  ;D

Re: Euro 2008 Italy vs Holland
« Reply #54 on: June 09, 2008, 10:49:09 AM »
Van der Sar seeks to bow out in style
by Berend Scholten from Lausanne

Veteran Netherlands goalkeeper Edwin van der Sar is looking to sign off in style in his last major tournament at UEFA EURO 2008™.

Fourth EURO
Capped 125 times, the 37-year-old captain will add his name to an élite list of players when he takes the field against Italy on Monday evening in Berne. After appearances at the 1996, 2000 and 2004 finals, he will equal the record currently shared by Lothar Matthäus and Peter Schmeichel, who each played in four UEFA European Championships. After winning the UEFA Champions League with Manchester United FC last month – a triumph secured by his penalty save from Chelsea FC's Nicolas Anelka – Van der Sar and his team-mates were denied a trophy parade for security reasons. He hopes it will be different if Marco van Basten's men come out on top in Austria and Switzerland, however.

'Have to perform'
"I remember the 1988 tournament, when the Oranje became European champions in Germany – the celebration ceremony in honour of that team is something that every Dutch citizen still remembers," the towering goalkeeper told euro2008.com. "So to experience something like that would be great. I was involved in similar celebrations in 1995 when we won the Champions League with [AFC] Ajax, so I know how nice it is. But that is not something I am thinking about at the present time. We now just have to perform in our matches and what happens after that is of no importance at this stage."

Opening test
Van der Sar admits that Monday's meeting with Group C rivals Italy does not represent the easiest start. "This week I saw them play in a friendly against Belgium and they have quality all over the pitch – in attack, defence, midfield. They are not world champions by accident, of course. No one will say it is going to be an easy match, but we all start with a blank canvas and eleven players on each side, so you always stand a chance. At the World Cup in Germany, we were drawn into the 'group of death' and we came out of there alive. We have got the experience, we did it two years ago and we are going to do it this year also."

Shades of Van Breukelen
After his Premier League and UEFA Champions League double with Manchester United this term, Dutch fans are hoping Van der Sar might go on to emulate Hans van Breukelen, the former Netherlands goalkeeper who 20 years ago became a European champion with first PSV Eindhoven and then, a month later, the Oranje. A smiling Van der Sar concluded: "It would be excellent to have the chance to experience that. But, if we win in normal time, in extra time or on penalties, I don’t really mind, as long as we win it."

I like Van Der Sar eh, but Van Breukelen was unreal boy, boss keeper

« Reply #55 on: June 09, 2008, 10:53:20 AM »
Did you see that Makelele pass to Malouda with the outside of his foot?!   :o Too bad Malouda messed it up...

« Reply #56 on: June 09, 2008, 10:55:28 AM »
where allyuh seeing this?

online?

hook a brudder up with a link nah.

« Reply #58 on: June 09, 2008, 11:00:02 AM »
France looks uninterested...Romania should score 1st and open up the game

« Reply #59 on: June 09, 2008, 11:03:16 AM »
France like d sleep walkin