June 16, 2024, 03:35:46 AM

Author Topic: Barbaric acts by Dominicans on poor Haitians cane cutters/WARNING!!!  (Read 8297 times)

Offline beau-brummel

Please view with caution! This is not 1608 but  D.R. 2008.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cw334Bye1jA

Offline Boodsy

Re: Barbaric acts by Dominicans on poor Haitians cane cutters/WARNING!!!
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2008, 01:29:44 PM »
sad...really sad. :'(
in this day and age, this kinda sh*t still going on  ???

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2008, 02:17:21 PM »
I just don't understand us, human beings, jed. This kind of behaviour comes as no surprise to me, given the basic lack of civility that people does show to one another anymore, even on this forum sometimes.  If the man did something wrong or illegal, then report 'im to the authorities.....but to do something like this?!?!  Boy........where's the Tonton Macoutes when you need them?......for something REALLY worthwhile!       

« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2008, 02:22:38 PM »
laud ha mrrcy ....send this link to Major League Baseball ,trust meh.

« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2008, 02:35:43 PM »

dem eh go do nuttn...it have money involve in pitchers and hitters

Dat D.R. ting is ah bizarre situation....some ah dem haitian cane cutters literally trapped on the sugar estates for years
Passport confiscated, no pay and nobody to help...modern day slavery

The D.R. government does encourage all dat shit
« Last Edit: December 10, 2008, 02:41:01 PM by Dutty »

« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2008, 02:59:20 PM »

Dat D.R. ting is ah bizarre situation....some ah dem haitian cane cutters literally trapped on the sugar estates for years

I really meant to beg the question: "what are these countries' respective governments doing about this?"

« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2008, 03:31:03 PM »

I really meant to beg the question: "what are these countries' respective governments doing about this?"

Dutty is right.  The DR in a mess where it comes to "Africanness" and colorism.

Read "The Farming of Bones" by Edwige Danticat, it will offer great perspective.

Discussing this vid on another forum as we speak.

Offline beau-brummel

« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2008, 03:33:35 PM »
The Haitian government is launching its investigation and the situation has gone to the highest levels. The DR gov't has claimed the video to be a montage/fake, so the Haitian gov't is looking to see to the genuineness of this gruesome act. DR is stating the people speaking sounds more like Venezolanos/Colombians. But this is common and the difference is that this time it made its way to the net.

The poor man apparently had his other hand cut off before, and was theatened to have his head cut off if he moved or tried to run. So to save his head, he gave the other hand.

« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2008, 03:41:50 PM »

Dutty is right.  The DR in a mess where it comes to "Africanness" and colorism.

Read "The Farming of Bones" by Edwige Danticat, it will offer great perspective.

Discussing this vid on another forum as we speak.

Amen to that! I've lost count of the amount of Dominicans I have met with kinky hair, skin complexion and features like mine (dark brown skin with typical African features) who insist that "I am not black, I'm Spanish"

I have no problem with acknowledging your Spanish heritage, but I think it is problematic when you completely disavow your African roots when you clearly have the African phenotype.

It's sad.

« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2008, 04:00:31 PM »
Haitian Workers Persecuted in the Dominican Republic

By MARTY GOODMAN

The Haiti Support Network (HSN), a New York-based coalition, visited the Dominican Republic April 5-11 to investigate the racist mistreatment of Haitian workers and Dominican workers of Haitian descent.

Thousands of Haitians and Dominicans of Haitian descent working in the Dominican Republic are brutally exploited and then rounded up and deported en-masse. Many are beaten, robbed and sometimes shot dead. Their real crime? Being Haitian or just being Black. These conditions have been denounced as "modern day slavery" by human rights advocates.

Fuel hikes and other economic woes resulting from World Bank neoliberal policies have prompted the Dominican ruling class to scapegoat Haitians. Moreover, the social-democratic Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD), under the leadership of the new president, Hipolito Mejia, is trying to show the PRD is as nationalistic as the right.

The HSN was invited to the Dominican Republic by the Movimiento de Mujeres Dominico-Haitianas. The delegation visited several border towns in the Dominican Republic and Ounaminthe in Haiti, interviewed human rights activists, and traveled to half a dozen bateys (work camps) near Santo Domingo, Puerto Plata, and Barahona.

The delegation included Lucius Walker, founder of Pastors for Peace, which sponsors aid caravans to Cuba in defiance of the U.S. embargo; Kim Ives, of Haiti Progrés newspaper; Ray Laforest, a union organizer for District Council 1707 (AFSCME) in New York; Dan Coughlin, formerly Pacifica's radio news director; Katherine Kean, director of the film "Haiti: Killing the Dream"; Elisa Chavez, an HSN organizer; and others.

The findings of the delegation

According to a report issued by the HSN entitled, "Growing Conflict on the Haitian Dominican Border," in March alone over 12,000 Haitians were deported, up from an average of 10,000 per month average during the last six months of 2000.

The HSN observed, "Behind these tales of human suffering and tragedy lie the dynamics of an unprecedented social and economic crisis sweeping across both nations, which share the island of Hispanola. ... Peasants are being uprooted, traditional economic sectors destroyed, and new sweatshop enclaves created, as capital, both local and foreign, seeks to ferret and squeeze out more profit from every back, piston and seed. As a result, exploitation, persecution, and violence are rocketing higher."

There are over 500,000 Haitians and Dominicans of Haitian descent living in the Dominican Republic. Haitian workers are concentrated in agricultural bateys in the sugar industry as well as in coffee, rice, and tomato harvesting. Haitians are also increasingly found in the assembly, construction, and tourist sector.

The delegation had five principle findings:

1) Violence and extortion toward Haitian workers and merchants has risen dramatically in the last month, particularly in the northwest border area. Dominican soldiers shot and killed three Haitians in March alone.

2) "Under the new Mejia government, expulsions have been more systematic, although more discreet. Under previous governments, there were sporadic waves of mass expulsions carried out by the military with media fanfare. Today, the expulsions are carried out with a lower profile in covered trucks and often "under cover of the night."

"Deportees are picked off the street, not allowed to gather their belongings or contact their families, are often beaten and terrorized, and are sometimes held in jails for days, even with their children." HSN delegate Dan Coughlin told Socialist Action, "If you have legal papers, they rip them up and you have to bribe to stay in the country. It's a racket."

3) Conditions in the bateys are worsening with the privatization of the sugar industry. The delegation found that cane cutters no longer have their cane weighed for payment but are subject to arbitrary estimates by bosses. Moreover, along with the overall decline in sugar production and the industry's privatization, the government is washing its hands of any commitment to humane conditions.

The bateys are "inhuman," says Coughlin. "Eight men to a 12 x 12 room with rain leaking in; rusty metal bunkbeds, no toilets, no running water. A typical workday is from about 5 a.m. to 6 p.m."

According to Coughlin, "the Dominican government is now talking about making Haitian workers legal because they can claim rights as immigrant workers that they wouldn't be able to claim as legal guest workers. Of course it sounds reasonable but in reality it will be the legalization of slavery."

4) The delegation found solidarity between Haitian and Dominican workers, particularly in the border areas. "April 5 was a day of solidarity and dignity between Haitian and Dominican workers," Coughlin said. "Several thousand demonstrated in Dajabon and several thousand in the Haitian border towns of Jimani and Malpasse."

In the coffee-growing town of Dajabon, Coughlin learned of a strike by members of a Haitian and Dominican union of truck drivers and others who transfer people and goods across the border. "Along that route they're extorted for funds, where they run the gauntlet of Dominican military checkpoints and are stopped at least a half a dozen times."

"The drivers were so angry at one Dominican military official who told them to get out and shot over their heads that they blocked the two important border roads. On April 2, they demanded that this military soldier be brought to justice and they blocked the border for two days ... [until] promised that this military officer be subjected to some kind of trial."

In Barahona, workers burned down cane fields owned by an abusive French privatized company. "What became clear to me," said Coughlin, "is that there is a real fightback by migrant workers in the Dominican Republic."

5) The delegates became aware of the growing U.S. role in training and supporting the Dominican military under the guise of a "war on drugs." The delegation learned that U.S. military advisors have been sighted along the border.

An unholy alliance

Washington has always turned a blind eye toward Haitian suffering. The U.S. supported Dominican dictator Rafael Trujillo (1930-61) even after he massacred 30,000 Haitians in 1937.

Dominican President Joaquin Balaguer, a U.S.-trained Truijillo lieutenant, concluded the first formal agreement on Haitian migrant workers in 1966 with U.S.-backed dictator, "Papa Doc" Duvalier. Under massive pressure the Haitian government was forced to end the agreement in 1986, but injustices remained.

Despite its human rights violations, the Dominican Republic has received uninterrupted U.S. aid and favorable U.S. trade status. Even the 1991 expulsion of some 50,000 Haitians and Dominicans of Haitian descent failed to change U.S. policy.

A partner in this unholy triangle is Haitian President Jean-Bertrand Aristide, a supposed "socialist" and friend of the poor. Aristide, who welcomed the U.S./UN occupation of his country, has remained silent.

« Reply #10 on: December 10, 2008, 05:58:14 PM »
wasnt there a TV show or maybe a newspape article about this last year?
hole orn I coming back now

shit it is longer than I thought
it was back in 2001
http://www.socialistaction.org/news/200105/haiti.html
see FT post above
« Last Edit: December 10, 2008, 06:03:44 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #11 on: December 10, 2008, 06:01:16 PM »
Ironically,
              I have noticed quite a few African Americans and some Trinis also do have Dominican spouses.

« Reply #12 on: December 10, 2008, 06:19:22 PM »
nah ah eh believe that fella take dat chop so ez.something wrong with that video,eh eh too ez.plus all ah them black,where racism come to play,just one talk spanish and de next french.still someting eh right in that video.

« Reply #13 on: December 10, 2008, 06:26:54 PM »
nah ah eh believe that fella take dat chop so ez.something wrong with that video,eh eh too ez.plus all ah them black,where racism come to play,just one talk spanish and de next french.still someting eh right in that video.

Both ah dem look black to you?

You never been up 175th St in de Bronx or what?

« Reply #14 on: December 10, 2008, 06:31:48 PM »

Both ah dem look black to you?

You never been up 175th St in de Bronx or what?
some have ah chocolatey hue some on de golden brown side and them some like coffee.all black to me or should i say of de black persuasion.

« Reply #15 on: December 10, 2008, 06:34:23 PM »
is just wickedness on de DR part,here yuh have de less fortunate.they country in economic turmoil.hurricane pound they ass whole summer and now this.

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
« Reply #16 on: December 10, 2008, 06:50:39 PM »
this is not something new.
get caught walking without your papers in DR even if you born there dem deporting you to Haiti!

« Reply #17 on: December 10, 2008, 07:58:01 PM »
The Haiti gov't to be honest is powerless to resolve this type of discrimination of their citizens by the DR. This has been going on ever since Haiti invaded or rescued the DR(depend on how the historical facts are interpreted) against the Spanish. The socalled mulato DR has used "everything black or Haitian as bad" from that time onwards. There was an incident in the early 1900's where Haitian were slaughtered in the DR cane-field. They would  asked all the black people to say the word for parsley in spanish. If they did not pronounced it right they slaughtered or deport them. It is really sad. I have met some really nice Dominican people. They surviving in the US just like everyone else. But they get blame with the broad brush for just being DR.

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University

« Reply #20 on: December 10, 2008, 08:55:19 PM »
The Haitian government is launching its investigation and the situation has gone to the highest levels. The DR gov't has claimed the video to be a montage/fake, so the Haitian gov't is looking to see to the genuineness of this gruesome act. DR is stating the people speaking sounds more like Venezolanos/Colombians. But this is common and the difference is that this time it made its way to the net.

The poor man apparently had his other hand cut off before, and was theatened to have his head cut off if he moved or tried to run. So to save his head, he gave the other hand.

Do you have any further information on this particular case where the guy got his hand chopped off?

-----------

Good vids Assrancid...

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Last Edit: December 10, 2008, 08:59:04 PM by assrancid »

« Reply #22 on: December 10, 2008, 09:34:53 PM »
All yuh they take down the videos or what? I can't see them.

« Reply #23 on: December 10, 2008, 10:31:36 PM »
All yuh they take down the videos or what? I can't see them.

Nah YouTube went down for maintenance at 10 pm... they're back up and running now.

« Reply #24 on: December 10, 2008, 11:17:01 PM »

« Reply #25 on: December 11, 2008, 12:01:29 AM »
geez man this is rel crazy....just speechless.....its things like this that could spark a war

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #26 on: December 11, 2008, 06:18:21 AM »
geez man this is rel crazy....just speechless.....its things like this that could spark a war

yes that is true, but Haitians eating mud pies and have no way that they can attack the D.R>, is hell to declare war against hunger there.

Dem damn so-called latin americans hate blacknes, and some of dem blacker dan de darkest night!

« Reply #27 on: December 11, 2008, 07:44:23 AM »
I have serious problems with countries that do not automatically recognize the right of citizenship of children born of immigrants. I could understand putting some requirements of residency on top of it but to say that someone born and raised ina  country for 33 years does not belong there is ridiculous.

I believe that Germany has the policy as well with their Turkish immigrants and their kids. 

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #28 on: December 11, 2008, 07:46:27 AM »
It goes beyond that.

If you live and work in a country for 20-30 years, and that is your home.  You have a right to be a citizen there, far less your childre who born and raised there!

« Reply #29 on: December 11, 2008, 08:01:49 AM »
many north American tourists travel to the DR and to Cuba.

One school of thought says that the tourism creates jobs

The other school insists that all we do is to legitimize the leaders of said countries as they exploit the common folks

« Last Edit: December 11, 2008, 08:05:50 AM by pecan piye »