June 10, 2024, 12:49:43 PM

Author Topic: Obama Inauguration  (Read 17464 times)

Re: Obama Inauguration
« Reply #90 on: January 22, 2009, 09:41:28 AM »
Obama and Roberts redid the oath today to cover their bases.

Not unprecedented, Coolidge also redid his oath, for a different reason though - his dad who administered it may only have had authority to do so in Vermont and not for national offices.

Incidentally Coolidge had to, Obama didn't.

Either way, if someone had challenged it, it would have ended up in Roberts' court anyway  :D

Another justice, Taft, flubbed the lines, too, but all Hoover said was "I do". There's a story that some school girl called Taft out on it, but it wasn't redone.

« Reply #91 on: January 22, 2009, 01:16:52 PM »
Either way, if someone had challenged it, it would have ended up in Roberts' court anyway  :D

Lol true.

The Potomac river and the Tidal Basin never looked that clean and inviting before, lol.

I actually see mih old neighborhood there... the Holocaust Museum, Dep't of Agriculture... a couple Smithsonian museums... HUD... I-395.

Good memories.

-----
EDIT:  This picture doesn't even show the Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool, where many more people would have been gathered.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 01:18:55 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #92 on: January 22, 2009, 02:22:42 PM »

Lol true.

The Potomac river and the Tidal Basin never looked that clean and inviting before, lol.

I actually see mih old neighborhood there... the Holocaust Museum, Dep't of Agriculture... a couple Smithsonian museums... HUD... I-395.

Good memories.

-----
EDIT:  This picture doesn't even show the Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool, where many more people would have been gathered.

nice shot.  Where did you find it?

« Reply #93 on: January 22, 2009, 03:51:58 PM »

Lol true.

Good memories.

-----

nice shot.  Where did you find it?

... on the previous page  ;D

« Reply #94 on: January 22, 2009, 04:59:18 PM »
I hearing on CNN that the threat level towards the new President has increased... :-\
Now not from other countries eh, right dere in dey great US of A.

See how plenty people passionate toward Barack and he family ? Let anything happen to one ah dem nuh - Rodney King riots ain't go have nothing with what would happen.

« Reply #95 on: January 22, 2009, 05:02:15 PM »
anyone seen this ;D
http://politicalirony.com/2008/11/30/robin-williams-on-obamas-election/

I hearing on CNN that the threat level towards the new President has increased... :-\
Now not from other countries eh, right dere in dey great US of A.

See how plenty people passionate toward Barack and he family ? Let anything happen to one ah dem nuh - Rodney King riots ain't go have nothing with what would happen.

EVERY time I see the Obamas on TV, I pray for their long healthy life.....
I would not doubt for a moment that some "real american"  ::) is plottin some shit....lets hope that they are tooo chupid to carry out any thing
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 06:24:54 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #96 on: January 22, 2009, 06:49:37 PM »
Always loved Robin Williams......

« Reply #97 on: January 22, 2009, 07:48:57 PM »
Always loved Robin Williams......

Since he was Mork from Ork.

« Reply #98 on: January 22, 2009, 08:03:52 PM »
classic

« Reply #99 on: January 23, 2009, 01:09:09 AM »
Fidel Castro hails Obama's 'honesty'

Friday, 23 January , 2009, 08:01

Havana: Ailing Cuban revolutionary leader Fidel Castro has called new US President Barack Obama a "honest" person with good intentions, but expressed doubt whether he could transform those into action.
The former Cuban president said Obama's inaugural speech as "impressive" in a comparative article "Reflection" recounting Castro's conversation on Wednesday with visiting Argentine head of state Cristina Fernandez, EFE news agency reported on Friday.

UN secretary general optimistic about Obama presidency

"I told her (Fernandez) that personally, I did not harbour the slightest doubt about the honesty with which Obama expressed his ideas, but that despite his noble intentions, many questions remain to be answered," Castro said.

The leftist leader also didn't miss the opportunity to rub in that Cuba's half-century-old communist regime has now survived 10 US presidents, despite more than four decades of the US economic embargo.

"By way of example, I wondered: how can a wasteful and consumerist system par excellence preserve the environment," Castro said in his first article since mid-December.

Obama orders closure of Guantanamo Bay

During the election campaign, Obama said he would meet with the Cuban president, Fidel's brother Raul. He has mentioned the possibility of easing restrictions on travel and currency transfers to the Caribbean island.

But Obama has made clear the embargo would stay in place until Cuba adapts democracy.

Raul Castro has also expressed his willingness to meet Obama at a neutral location, perhaps Guantanamo Bay.

For more International news | For more Political news | For more Offbeat news

"© 2004 sify.com India Limited. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed." 
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #101 on: January 23, 2009, 08:53:15 PM »
« Last Edit: January 23, 2009, 08:56:53 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #102 on: January 23, 2009, 08:54:13 PM »
I received it in an email amazingggggggggg.

« Reply #103 on: January 23, 2009, 08:59:58 PM »

http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2009/01/the_inauguration_of_president.html

Enjoy!!! ;D

Thanks a million.  That gave me goose bumps.  Never in my did I think th day would ever come...but it has come and gone...and I am richer for it.

Did you read some of the comments.  This man has done extremely well...and he is so loved

« Reply #104 on: January 23, 2009, 09:03:47 PM »

Enjoy!!! ;D

Thanks a million.  That gave me goose bumps.  Never in my did I think th day would ever come...but it has come and gone...and I am richer for it.

Did you read some of the comments.  This man has done extremely well...and he is so loved

Yes he is so loved. So could you imagine one person can destory the hopes and dreams of America and possibly the world in one shot ???
Again this morning on CNN the FBI and secret services are watching a group (dey didn't say which one) closely because there is an increased of threats towards Barack (didn't say family).

« Reply #106 on: January 23, 2009, 09:35:48 PM »

Enjoy!!! ;D

Thanks luv... lovely pics.  I come was tuh point out more landmarks in mih old neighborhood... could actually see mih building dis time.  But I cyah even do dat now... I eh go lie I hear snorting back all kinda snot... fuss dem pics have tears in mih eyes  :'(

De ones dat does get to me is the pics of the Africans in their remote villages... and the hope that this election gives them... and den de pics of older African Americans, who have endured so much and who never thought they'd live to see dis day.

... ah still sniffling  :-[

« Reply #107 on: January 23, 2009, 09:43:33 PM »
Yes he is so loved. So could you imagine one person can destory the hopes and dreams of America and possibly the world in one shot ???
Again this morning on CNN the FBI and secret services are watching a group (dey didn't say which one) closely because there is an increased of threats towards Barack (didn't say family).

Aye... doh study dat... God appoints... man disappoints.

Barack Obama's fate lies in the hands of no man, he is where he is for a purpose and the Lord will use him accordingly.  He ent going nowhere before his time.

« Reply #108 on: January 23, 2009, 09:54:20 PM »

Aye... doh study dat... God appoints... man disappoints.

Barack Obama's fate lies in the hands of no man, he is where he is for a purpose and the Lord will use him accordingly.  He ent going nowhere before his time.

So when Obama appointed Hillary Sec. of State..he was playing God?

« Reply #109 on: January 23, 2009, 10:28:58 PM »

Your name Sheneneh or you's she maxi pad... anybody talking tuh you?

« Reply #110 on: January 23, 2009, 10:29:52 PM »

Your name Sheneneh or you's she maxi pad... anybody talking tuh you?

now yuh know she have to use MAXI pads...go ahead Qaddafi

« Reply #111 on: January 24, 2009, 05:29:00 AM »
Wow!! those pics were amazing!!...

Bakes is not you alone still sniffling nah.  I would be fine until I see pics like the black lady with tears flowing down her cheeks, or the Olympic fellas hugging, or the people in the remote Kogelo village in Africa....if those images doh get to yuh, yuh heart make outta stone dread....

What struck me too was the people in their little corners of the planet huddle around a lil TV screen and from the looks of things in room you could see is poor people, probably just eeking out an existence but they refuse to be left out of such a momentous occasion...WOW again....it just warms the heart......

p.s. Sasha look like she good mischievous....

« Reply #112 on: January 24, 2009, 07:55:58 AM »
TC and BS leave meh pads alone please and thanks...Plus it's tampx :devil:

Anyhoo like you Bakes I cried - simple reason is that reality hit me. People saying he half black and white - I saying he's a man that have a black wife who I believe would take women's affairs to a new level. She will be the motivator to all these women who were pushed aside for a new promotion, who are educated/qualified but yet still can't get a job or a decent job all because of their color, culture and ethnicity.  Let the games begin.

The old black woman did it for me though. You could have seen her years of toil and hard work in her face. She brought my thoughts right back to slavery days, and seeing the movies and reading books of the cruelty they had to endure during those times. To me those won't tears of seeing a black man become President, those were tears of 'finally, we did it!'

Now listen to the voices of America
http://www.boston.com/interactive/video/inauguration_interviews/?bclid=8326187001

The key word is 'HOPE'
« Last Edit: January 24, 2009, 08:25:35 AM by Sheneneh »

« Reply #113 on: January 27, 2009, 07:36:48 AM »

« Reply #115 on: January 27, 2009, 09:47:24 AM »
Interesting to me the Inauguration was held on that day ,when the Sun moved into the 11th house of the Zodiac ........Also known as the 1st day of what is known as the start of the age of Aquarius  :)

5th dimension  classic http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=toshchjuXR4

+
« Last Edit: January 27, 2009, 09:54:22 AM by Quagmire »

« Reply #116 on: January 27, 2009, 11:46:41 AM »
Panorama of the inauguration

http://gigapan.org/viewGigapan.php?id=15374&window_height=674&window_width=1423
That is the best
allya clicked on the smaller pictures along the bottom and watch it Zoom in?
amazing

« Reply #117 on: January 27, 2009, 01:14:27 PM »

That is the best
amazing

Is this Jack and Ramesh?

sixth row behind the fence.

« Reply #118 on: January 27, 2009, 01:43:10 PM »

That is the best
amazing

Is this Jack and Ramesh?

sixth row behind the fence.

is that TT wid he headphones on ??? :devil: or meh glasses need new glasses :whistling:

easy TT ;D

« Reply #119 on: January 27, 2009, 07:37:09 PM »

That is the best
amazing

CNN unveiled some thing similar the day of the Inauguration....I coulda swear from the way they behave is DEM ALONE had the technology....steups....apparently CNN tried to unveil some new gadget at the major political events along the way.....well after the "beam mih up scotty" trick they try wid dis, but mih eh think they could top "beam mih up Scotty"