June 06, 2024, 05:21:23 AM

Author Topic: Do you think Jason Scotland is Premiership material ?  (Read 9519 times)

Re: Do you think Jason Scotland is Premiership material ?
« Reply #30 on: February 09, 2009, 08:37:22 AM »
Honestly, I'm surprised that he hasn't been linked with Prem clubs this season, given his rich vein of scoring.  Maybe he's not sen as being in the mold of the "target" striker that Prem teams like to have, but that "target" mold could be more of a fallacy, as smaller strikers have been known to do their thing in the Prem too.

« Reply #31 on: February 09, 2009, 08:37:55 AM »
Kevin Phillips is ah big striker.  He scored 30 goals in his first premiership season with sunderland around 2001 when he helped propelled them to 7th or 8th place.

But again Omar, excellent post!!

« Reply #32 on: February 09, 2009, 09:52:51 AM »
Lets not negate the fact that Scotty has scored 1 in 4 games since touching english soil. The Swans mid is more depth than the TnT team over the last few years.

But he too lazy, he eh good enough. Is like the chile in class that the teacher hate... how hard he try, they always finding fault....!

It doh matter where he play he scores... :beermug:

Offline SabreWolves

« Reply #33 on: February 09, 2009, 09:58:34 AM »
Scotty in a good finisher period!!  BUT, he don't help out defensively....  maybe lazy, but that won't in th Premiership..   he has to learn to come back

« Reply #34 on: February 09, 2009, 10:21:07 AM »
Scotty in a good finisher period!!  BUT, he don't help out defensively....  maybe lazy, but that won't in th Premiership..   he has to learn to come back

Berbatov does help out defensively? Anelka?

Offline SabreWolves

« Reply #35 on: February 09, 2009, 10:36:11 AM »
Berbatov was seen yesterday on his own side....  maybe he got lost... 

Scotty seems like he don't even try to get back..

« Reply #36 on: February 09, 2009, 10:51:15 AM »
I think we looking at how KJ gets back to defend.
The thing is, in the last few weeks, while KJ is at the back, Cisse or Chopra was upfront.

« Reply #37 on: February 09, 2009, 11:54:34 AM »
I think we looking at how KJ gets back to defend.
The thing is, in the last few weeks, while KJ is at the back, Cisse or Chopra was upfront.

Considering KJ have defense in he blood, I doh see why man go use dat.  It ha plenty Premiership strikers who doh defend and nowhere near as deadly around the net as Scotty.  Let all de neihsayers have a good time doubting as he continues to score in every league he touches.  Soon enough a premiership outfit will come calling

« Reply #38 on: February 09, 2009, 12:05:57 PM »
I feel if this wasn't Scotty's first season in the Championship, and/or he and Swansea had hit form a lil sooner, he would have had some serious looks from EPL teams during the Jan transfer window. BUt as it stands, he may be seen as unproven at this level and maybe just hitting some form. Clubs will want to see i he could do it for at least a season and not just a 11 game run of relentless goalscoring. Also, they know WC qualifying starting in earnest soon..they eh shelling out for Scotty if they feel he will be missing games flying across the Atlantic when they need him to get used to a new level and new teammates etc. But they will come calling at the end of the season if he continues this way...especially if he helps Swansea get promoted

« Reply #39 on: February 09, 2009, 04:42:09 PM »
According to the board, KJ is the next best thing in the Prem so how about a comparison.

International Outings
KJ = 4 goals/35 Caps
JS = 8 goals/36 Caps

Men forgetting how Latapy got time to score the 2nd goal vs USA.

at the rate KJ going, when he finish with that 36th cap on Wednesday, he might be on par with Scotty.
I think it was Latapy who was the last man to score a beavertrick for TT. My mind failing me, but I think that was back in the early 90s.

That's all well and good that he may equal him, but the fact that everyone here picking KJ first based on form, and denouncing JS for not performing for T&T, yet he ahead of KJ on international goals. Scotland scoring more than or equal to KJ. One may argue that KJ is in the EPL, but Scotland can only graze where he is tied, and he is grazing very well.

« Reply #40 on: February 09, 2009, 04:44:02 PM »
KJ scored the last time he played for us didnt he .
« Last Edit: February 09, 2009, 07:51:29 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #41 on: February 09, 2009, 07:50:36 PM »
there was EPL inquiries about scotty in January

« Reply #42 on: February 09, 2009, 08:39:54 PM »
on a completely unrelated note..

allyuh eh find scotty does look like KMC?

« Reply #43 on: February 09, 2009, 10:39:40 PM »
I never know KMC was a doppleganger for Stevie Wonder.

Offline Trini boi

« Reply #44 on: February 09, 2009, 10:47:48 PM »

kmc looking like t-pain imo  :P

« Reply #45 on: February 10, 2009, 01:57:09 PM »
Plain and simple....YES

« Reply #46 on: February 10, 2009, 02:54:06 PM »
I doh fine dem two fellahs look nuttn alike

kmc does put starch in he dreads or is ah strong ass wind blowin dey?

« Reply #47 on: February 10, 2009, 04:32:15 PM »

yuh need to see an optometrist

« Reply #48 on: February 10, 2009, 04:39:57 PM »

not at all
KMC nose dos go straight dong
Jason nose like ah Ski Jump ;D
an he ears tweese back ah bit
« Last Edit: February 10, 2009, 04:42:33 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline NeathJack

« Reply #49 on: February 10, 2009, 06:06:19 PM »
Hi guys. 

Scotland is outstanding for us at the moment and has scored something like 12 in his last 12.  On Saturday we play Premiership side Fulham at home in the 5th round of the FA Cup and it'll be a good test for him, and all out players.  It's being covered live on tv here in the UK and in the US so you may be able to get it there.

As for his ability to play in the Premiership, I have little doubt about it.  But I honestly believe his only chance to prove himself there will be with us getting promoted.  Premiership clubs are reluctant to gamble on players from the Championship when they can get players of similar ability from abroad for a lower transfer fee.

But the way we're going at the moment, he may well be up in the Premiership with us next season.

Here's hoping  :)

« Reply #50 on: February 10, 2009, 06:18:43 PM »
Am thinking you guys......were gonna make it .When Jason joined you last year ,where was the team in the standings NeathJack ?
And if he continues this thing hes doing ,when u make it... hes gonna take u rite up to the top 5 in the Prem  ;D

« Reply #51 on: February 10, 2009, 06:37:19 PM »
every year is de same ting...

ok so he could score goals in de scottish 2nd division but he eh good enough for 1st division...

ok so he could score goals in de scottish 1st division but he eh good enough for League 1..

ok so he could score goals in League 1 but for sure he eh good enough for Championship..

and de man level bussing de net. It have men in the Championship right now who was supposedly 'premiership quality' that nowhere near his output level right now.. namely Leroy Lita, Kevin Phillips, Cameron Jerome, Rob Hulse, Jay Boothroyd... Look he breathing down Kevin Doyle neck and he was EPL quality..

So what more allyuh want blood?

stewps. talk done.

Offline NeathJack

« Reply #52 on: February 11, 2009, 03:58:07 PM »
Am thinking you guys......were gonna make it .When Jason joined you last year ,where was the team in the standings NeathJack ?
And if he continues this thing hes doing ,when u make it... hes gonna take u rite up to the top 5 in the Prem  ;D

He signed for us before the beginning of last season when we were in League 1.  He's scored 44 goals in 1 1/2 season for us.  Not bad at all  ;D

Apart from Scotland, we've got the best young manager in the country in Roberto Martinez who knows how to get the absolute best out of him.

« Reply #53 on: February 12, 2009, 01:59:32 PM »
He can't be no worse dan some ah dem sh*tsnakes already in the Prem.

« Reply #54 on: February 14, 2009, 10:28:16 AM »
Are you not entertained?! 

Is that not why you are here!

« Reply #55 on: February 14, 2009, 10:37:31 AM »
heard the after match panel on Setanta make a comment this morning.. they were raving about the goal scotty scored and then said "the only reason why he's not in the Premiership is due to his lack of speed"

« Reply #56 on: February 14, 2009, 10:49:25 AM »

« Reply #57 on: February 14, 2009, 11:55:04 AM »
He's certainly beginning to make a believer out of me. I would like to see him in the EPL next season with Swansea.

« Reply #58 on: February 15, 2009, 02:27:15 PM »
well we'll see if he's premiership material cuz if swansea gets past fulham dey have ManU to face in d quarterfinals..up against vidic ferdinand etc etc we go den see wat is wat...

« Reply #59 on: February 15, 2009, 05:32:29 PM »
well we'll see if he's premiership material cuz if swansea gets past fulham dey have ManU to face in d quarterfinals..up against vidic ferdinand etc etc we go den see wat is wat...

They will handle dey business