June 05, 2024, 08:25:07 PM

Author Topic: Do you think Jason Scotland is Premiership material ?  (Read 9515 times)

Do you think Jason Scotland is Premiership material ?
« on: February 07, 2009, 06:54:51 PM »
I believe so. Hopefully in August he will get some big offer.

But when was the last time he socred for T&T ?

Re: Do you think Jason Scotland is Premiership material ?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2009, 06:57:22 PM »

de hattrick against the Dominican republic

oh yes and to answer yuh question...

No

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2009, 07:17:22 PM »
BIG YES...BM here

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2009, 07:33:03 PM »

No
That was ah friendly against ah baseballing nation, DR just started playing football recently.

i'm sure he was talking bout competitive goals, friendlies don't count!

about him being prem material........ maybe.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2009, 08:05:47 PM by just cool »

« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2009, 08:03:51 PM »
We can always ask that question about Scotland but what about strikers who play in the EPL,HOW MANY DO YOU THINK IS WORTH THEIR PLACE.I am certain that Scotland is better than a few.

« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2009, 08:09:59 PM »

No
That was ah friendly against ah baseballing nation, DR just started playing football recently.

about prem him being material........ maybe.

Stop quibbling. That was a official match

How much friendlies Stern John score in?

Offline rickstaa

« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2009, 08:10:50 PM »
We can always ask that question about Scotland but what about strikers who play in the EPL,HOW MANY DO YOU THINK IS WORTH THEIR PLACE.I am certain that Scotland is better than a few.
true

« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2009, 08:23:48 PM »
I remember men bigging up CE and KJ for sweating in the Championship division, but Scottie can't get no love and he doing better than all of them. Stern and all can't even see he way, but Scottie like he shooting fish in ah barrel, with his goal scoring and he still not ready. I just don't understand.  ??? ???

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2009, 08:25:11 PM »
yeah scotland can play in epl...easy.   As long as he has a manager who keeps faith in him

« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2009, 08:29:53 PM »

No

Breds it's not up for argument , the operative word is "competitive" aka gold cup, world cup, degicel cup, WCQ, these are competitive matches. ah warm up friendly even though it may fall on ah official fifa match date is not considered competitive.

forinstance stern john scored 71 international goals for us, but it was all competitive goals , not friendlies.

« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2009, 09:09:13 PM »
Premiership strikers

Tier 1 (World Class)
   Anelka   CH   9.7   14 YES (Fra Int)
   Robinho   MC   9.5   11 YES (Bra Int)
   Van Persie   AR   9.8   9   YES (Ned Int)
   Torres   LI   11.9   8   YES (Spa Int)
   Owen           NU   8.2   8   YES (Eng Int)
        Martins   NU   6.6   6   YES (Nig Int)
        Berbatov   MU   10.0   6   YES (Bul Int)
   Rooney   MU   10.5   6   YES (Eng Int)
   Santa Cruz   BR   8.5   3   YES (Par Int)
   Tevez   MU   9.0   3   YES (Arg Int)
   Drogba   CH   10.3   1   YES (Civ Int)
   Arshavin   AR   9.5   0   YES (Rus Int)

Tier 2 (Solid EPL)
        Agbonlahor   AV   9.0   10 YES (Eng Fringe)
   Defoe           TH   8.1   10 YES (Eng Fringe)
   Zaki           WI   6.6   10 YES (Egy Int)   
   Cisse           SU   6.7   9   YES (Fra Fringe)
   Bent           TH   6.9   9   YES (Eng Int)
   Adebayor   AR   11.0   8   YES (Tgo Int) Doh care what Fli think!
   Davies   BW   5.9   8   YES (Eng Fringe)
   Cole           WH   6.2   8   YES (Eng Fringe)
   McCarthy   BR   7.2   7   YES (RSA Int)
   Jones           SU   7.0   7   YES (TNT Int)
   Bellamy   MC   6.8   7   YES (Wal Int)
   Crouch   PO   7.7   7   YES (Eng Fringe) sorry to admit
   Roberts   BR   6.3   6   YES (Grn Int)
   Fuller           ST   5.4   6   YES (Jam Int)
   Elmander   BW   6.2   5   YES (Swe Int)
   Mido           WI   6.3   5   YES (Egy Int)
   Carew   AV   7.3   5   YES (Nor Int)
   Keane   TH   8.2   5   YES (Ire Int)
   King           MI   5.6   5   YES (Jam Int)
   Johnson A   FU   6.5   5   YES (Eng Int)
   Yakubu   EV   7.5   4   YES (Nig Int)
        Alves           MI   6.8   4   YES (Bra Int)
   Heskey   AV   6.6   4   YES (Eng Fringe)
   Tuncay   MI   6.7   4   YES (Tur Int)
   Ameobi   NU   4.9   4   YES (Nig Int)
   Bendtner   AR   5.3   3   YES (Eng Int)
   Pavlyuchen TH   8.2   3   YES (Rus Int)
   Viduka   NU   7.3   0
   Kanu           PO   5.7   0
   Ashton   WH   6.2   2   ?

Tier 3 (Fringe EPL
   Saha           EV   6.9   3   YES (Fra Fringe)
   Zamora   FU   5.2   1   YES
   Diouf           BR   5.7   0   YES (Sen Int)
   Vassell   MC   6.2   0   Yes (Eng Fringe)

Tier 4 (Unproven/1 season ponies/EPL flops/Washed up)
        Bednar   WB   5.4   6   ?
   Cousin   HU   6.0   4   ?     (Gab Int)
   Di Michele   WH   5.0   4   ?
   Miller           WB   4.6   3   ?    
   Nugent   PO   5.4   3   ?     (Wal Int)
   Sturridge   MC   4.9   3   ?
   Sidibe           ST   4.7   3   ?
   Jo           EV   7.6   3   ?     (Bra Int)
   Nevland   FU   4.7   2   ?
   Camara   ST   4.7   2   ?
   Caicedo   MC   5.0   2   ?
   Carroll   NU   4.9   2   ?
   Beattie   ST   5.5   2   ?
   Fagan   HU   4.7   2   ?
   Fortune   WB   5.2   2   ?
   Aliadiere   MI   5.5   2   ?
   Anichebe   EV   5.3   1   ?      (Nig Int)
   Beattie   WB   4.6   1   ?
   Welbeck   MU   6.0   1   ?
   Folan           HU   4.7   1   ?
   Moore   WB   4.7   1   ?
   Healy           SU   4.8   1   ?       (NI Int)
   Xisco           NU   7.5   1   ?
   Lovenkrand NU   5.0   1   ?
   Walcott   AR   6.7   1   ?       (Eng Int)
   Campbell   TH   4.8   1   ?
   Benjani   MC   6.7   1   ?       (DRC Int)
   Tristan   WH   5.5   1   ?       (Spa Int)
   Kitson   ST   4.8   0
   Giovanni   TH   6.2   0   ?       (Mex Int)
   Eduardo   AR   8.4   0   ?       (Cro Int)
   Kamara   FU   5.5   0   ?       (Sen Int)
   Vela           AR   5.8   0   ?       (Mex Int)
   Bojinov   MC   5.5   0   ?       (Bul Int)
   Manucho   HU   6.0   0   ?
   Makukula   BW   6.0   0   ?
   Savio           WH   5.5   0   ?
   Rodallega   WI   6.0   0   ?       (Col Int)
   Sears           WH   4.7   0   ?      
   Gekas           PO   5.5   0   ?       (Gre Int)
   N'Gog           LI   4.9   0   ?       (Fra Yth)
   Utaka           PO   5.6   0   ?       (Int)
   Di Santo   CH   7.0   0   ?
   Vaz Te   BW   4.7   0   ?

Tier 5 (Makeweights/Championship)
   Evans           MC   4.7   1
   El Zhar   LI   5.5   0
   Delfouneso   AV   5.0   0
   Obadeyi   BW   5.0   0
   Emnes   MI   6.0   0
   Vaughan   EV   5.1   0
   Ranger   NU   5.0   0
   Donaldson   NU   5.0   0
   Sinclair   BW   5.0   0
   Danquah   NU   5.0   0
   Kakuta   CH   5.5   0
   Agard           EV   5.0   0
   Baxter   EV   5.0   0
   Obika           TH   5.0   0
   Prica           SU   4.9   0
   Waghorn   SU   5.0   0
   Pericard   ST   4.9   0
   Jutkiewicz   EV   5.0   0
   Etuhu           MC   4.6   0
   Cresswell   ST   4.8   0
   Harewood   AV   4.6   0
   Smolarek   BW   6.5   0
   Stokes   SU   4.6   0

This is the way i see it. Feel free to amend as necessary.

As far as I'm concerned Scotty can't fit into anything higher than tier 4, because Stern can't fit into anything higher than tier 4 and Stern > Scotty. That is just my opinion, up to Scotty to prove me wrong

« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2009, 09:12:45 PM »

No

Breds it's not up for argument , the operative word is "competitive" aka gold cup, world cup, degicel cup, WCQ, these are competitive matches. ah warm up friendly even though it may fall on ah official fifa match date is not considered competitive.

forinstance stern john scored 71 international goals for us, but it was all competitive goals , not friendlies.

Damn right it not up for argument. You're the only one putting in the work competitive in there.

The original poster never said anything about competitive and at the end of the day, the records will show that T&T beat Dominican Republic 9-0 in a official match and Scotty score 3.

LEt me ask you this: A fella score about 6 goals in a world cup qualifier against malta or faroe islands the other day. Would you consider that any more 'competitive'?

Careful while yuh grinding de axe you ent cut yourself

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2009, 09:18:16 PM »

No

Stern Johns Goals came in competitive and friendly games, not all in competitive. I think Jason Scotland could be an asset for a newly promoted team for sure, hes scored plenty in scotland league 1 now championship I tink the man has earned at very least to be looked at by some of the smaller clubs that might be facing relegation next season in the prem. Im confident som1 might pick him up as long as hes the right price. although i hope swansea can get promoted so he can play wid a team hes settle with and playin good for although maybe unlikely.

« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2009, 08:01:41 AM »
The topic should have been "Who will be calling him to play in the Premiership"

To answer your original question, of course he is.  ;)

« Reply #14 on: February 08, 2009, 10:29:48 AM »
If Marlon King and Ricardo Fuller could be regulars in the EPL, Scotty can. He do more than Kenwyne and Stern at the Championship level and he is our first striker in the UK to be among the top scorers in every division he play in.

All of you who crying down the man international record, please remember that most of those caps came off the bench and not playing as a striker. In his last start for Tnt as a striker, he score a hattrick.

Can somebody post his goals to game ratio before he went to Scotland and was our top local based striker?

« Reply #15 on: February 08, 2009, 11:14:19 AM »
i tink he earnin his place,give him ah shot.

« Reply #16 on: February 08, 2009, 11:31:17 AM »
If Marlon King and Ricardo Fuller could be regulars in the EPL, Scotty can. He do more than Kenwyne and Stern at the Championship level and he is our first striker in the UK to be among the top scorers in every division he play in.

All of you who crying down the man international record, please remember that most of those caps came off the bench and not playing as a striker. In his last start for Tnt as a striker, he score a hattrick.

Can somebody post his goals to game ratio before he went to Scotland and was our top local based striker?
And a few others too.

« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2009, 11:50:44 AM »
Seem like plenty men forgetting this is a promoted team!

Any player living so high in the Championship scoring charts has a legitimate claim for Premiership pedigree.

« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2009, 04:04:30 PM »
yes
yeS
yES and
YES
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2009, 05:00:46 PM »
based on his goal scoring I would have to say yes....His goal scoring exploits appear above average at his level, so my guess is that he can play at a higher level.  How many of us really see him play for his club teams though?  It's difficult to form an opinion without really seeing him play. 

The only times I've ever seen him play are for T&T, and he doesn't really stand out as a Premiership player... but I agree with Spidey that he hasn't gotten a consistent enough run in the nat'l set up to really stretch his legs and express himself.

J. Scotland might go down in T&T football history as the eternal "what if"... 
« Last Edit: February 08, 2009, 09:16:41 PM by kicker »

« Reply #20 on: February 08, 2009, 08:56:43 PM »
My answer is Yes... He is alot better than some regulars in the Prem, once given the opportunlty I am sure he will take it and run.. Also if you comparing how much he score for T&T in competitive games, then how much did Dwight score for us in competitive games during his prime...

« Reply #21 on: February 08, 2009, 09:15:02 PM »
My answer is Yes... He is alot better than some regulars in the Prem,

Like who?

And how do you determine that?

« Reply #22 on: February 08, 2009, 09:24:56 PM »
well said omar

« Reply #23 on: February 08, 2009, 09:34:08 PM »
every year is de same ting...

ok so he could score goals in de scottish 2nd division but he eh good enough for 1st division...

ok so he could score goals in de scottish 1st division but he eh good enough for League 1..

ok so he could score goals in League 1 but for sure he eh good enough for Championship..

and de man level bussing de net. It have men in the Championship right now who was supposedly 'premiership quality' that nowhere near his output level right now.. namely Leroy Lita, Kevin Phillips, Cameron Jerome, Rob Hulse, Jay Boothroyd... Look he breathing down Kevin Doyle neck and he was EPL quality..

So what more allyuh want blood?

« Reply #24 on: February 08, 2009, 09:49:06 PM »
Blood alone ???

« Reply #25 on: February 08, 2009, 09:49:06 PM »
I think he'll get his chance next year to play in the Premiership.
Swansea is just a spot out of a playoff run, and if for some reason they don't make it - I think he has as good a chance as anyone in getting picked up by one of the promoted teams.

It will be good to have KJ and JS going head to head in the Premiership.
We'll have a good measuring stick by which to judge their performances - and open up the door to more Trinis in the UK Leagues. 

« Reply #26 on: February 08, 2009, 10:27:03 PM »
According to the board, KJ is the next best thing in the Prem so how about a comparison.

International Outings
KJ = 4 goals/35 Caps
JS = 8 goals/36 Caps

Men forgetting how Latapy got time to score the 2nd goal vs USA.

« Reply #27 on: February 08, 2009, 10:32:41 PM »
According to the board, KJ is the next best thing in the Prem so how about a comparison.

International Outings
KJ = 4 goals/35 Caps
JS = 8 goals/36 Caps

Men forgetting how Latapy got time to score the 2nd goal vs USA.

at the rate KJ going, when he finish with that 36th cap on Wednesday, he might be on par with Scotty.
I think it was Latapy who was the last man to score a beavertrick for TT. My mind failing me, but I think that was back in the early 90s.

« Reply #28 on: February 09, 2009, 08:15:02 AM »
Swansea's manager has faith in Jason Scotland and he is delivering for his club.

Omar hit the nail on the head.  Why does Jason always have to prove himself?

How many goals did Dwight Yorke score for TnT?  Why do people always try to look for all kind of avenues to eliminate this man from our team?

Jason is the top score for the best "football playing" team in the championship.  Anyone who has seen them play will attest to that.   

He is probably the best off the ball striker that we have cause he makes plenty intellegent runs to open spaces.

He is showing his class and i am sure that he will go on t;he better things!!

« Reply #29 on: February 09, 2009, 08:32:19 AM »
every year is de same ting...

ok so he could score goals in de scottish 2nd division but he eh good enough for 1st division...

ok so he could score goals in de scottish 1st division but he eh good enough for League 1..

ok so he could score goals in League 1 but for sure he eh good enough for Championship..

and de man level bussing de net. It have men in the Championship right now who was supposedly 'premiership quality' that nowhere near his output level right now.. namely Leroy Lita, Kevin Phillips, Cameron Jerome, Rob Hulse, Jay Boothroyd... Look he breathing down Kevin Doyle neck and he was EPL quality..

So what more allyuh want blood?

Good post except take Kevin Phillips off that list- Kevin Phillips was a goal scoring machine at the under-celebrated clubs whose career was marred by repeated nagging injuries.....He's almost 36 now and still hitting the net at a rate of almost a goal every two games...

Can't compare J. Scotland's current form to a grey haired veteran in the twilight of his career...
« Last Edit: February 09, 2009, 08:53:25 AM by kicker »