June 04, 2024, 01:35:11 AM

Author Topic: Callaloo  (Read 4559 times)

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
Callaloo
« on: March 02, 2009, 03:57:43 PM »
Can someone give me a good recipe for this using the frozen spinach and frozen ocra and without crab? I live in a small country town, two people from the caribbean, me and a jamaican lady, so I cant get anything west indian. My 3 year old has developed a liking for the stuff and my sister in brooklyn gave me a recipe on the phone - 2 packages frozen spinach, half a can evaporated milk, 2 maggie cubes (which I can't get here at all)  and dump everything in the pot, boil and blend. I  like a recipe with a few more directions .... very literal person, like to have a written recipe to follow.
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

Re: Callaloo
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2009, 04:08:01 PM »
put some oil in the pot <chicken to if u want  ;) > .cut up the ocra ,fry a bit,onions  garlic,salt .Wash the spinach put in pot cover .check 10 mins later,stir serve with rice .
Hope u didnt expect some fancy fre4nch recipe rite ,that food go be the bomb doh .

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2009, 04:12:09 PM »
shoo didnt realize u say callaloo oui ,just read the post saying u have spinach and ohra ,then u go need squash and can of coconut ect, .But u cant make callaloo with just that  ;D
« Last Edit: March 02, 2009, 04:19:48 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2009, 05:19:43 PM »

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2009, 05:51:44 PM »
hole orn to dis one
Ingredients
1 dozen dasheen leaves - (sub spinach leaves)
8 ochroes
1/2 cup of finely chopped onion
1/2 kilo of salt meat or pork. (1/4 pound)
2 crabs or crab meat.
1 tablespoon of butter
Chives, salt and pepper
1/4 teaspoon of Angostura aromatic bitters
1.8 liters of water. (2 quarts)
1 whole hot green pepper
http://www.islandflave.com/recipes/trinidad.html

if you ent get that to work, go to an Indian Restaurant and buy some Saag ;D
« Last Edit: March 02, 2009, 06:01:18 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2009, 06:01:21 PM »
www.trinifood.com

See the problem is that the little angel want the callaloo tomorrow. Even if I order and overnight the maggie cubes, they ent getting to this rinky dinky town by then. So I need to improvise. I find some goya cubes and some coconut milk in the Walmart Supercenter by me .

WestCoast... Indian restaurant??? The only ethnical food in this town is 1 irish pub, 3 chinese restaurants and 2 Italian.  :rotfl:
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2009, 06:02:26 PM »
WestCoast... Indian restaurant??? The only ethnical food in this town is 1 irish pub, 3 chinese restaurants and 2 Italian.  :rotfl:
check meh post again ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2009, 06:06:03 PM »
check meh post again ;)

An I luv ya for it.... hold meh back... kitchen here I come armed and dangerous :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2009, 06:10:15 PM »
check meh post again ;)

An I luv ya for it.... hold meh back... kitchen here I come armed and dangerous :rotfl:
where meh T-Shirt :devil: :devil:

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2009, 06:25:25 PM »
check meh post again ;)

where meh T-Shirt :devil: :devil:

I ent print it yet  :devil:

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2009, 11:11:13 PM »
Ok so I try a ting there with your recipe (and a few improvs) and with my sis on the phone yelling. It didnt come out too bad, not enuff salt. Or perhaps too much coconut water and evaporated milk (she insist) so It was a bit bland. Plus I think I could have left it in the blender a bit longer. But otherwise.... I eat it and the princess eat it. So it was a good start.

« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2009, 12:44:36 AM »
coconut milk, not water

« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2009, 06:07:47 AM »
coconut milk, not water

Mistake #1 :rotfl: :beermug: :devil: :P

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2009, 06:44:44 AM »
coconut milk, not water

>:( OH well will try it again with COCONUT MILK.

« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2009, 10:09:26 AM »
coconut milk, not water

Oh lord Cute you self....we goh revoke yuh T&T passport... ;D

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #15 on: March 05, 2009, 02:35:29 PM »
coconut milk, not water

Oh lord Cute you self....we goh revoke yuh T&T passport... ;D

dais why de Man gimmie a Green Card  :devil: :rotfl:

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #16 on: March 09, 2009, 01:18:22 PM »
Cute doh study dem nah...

as one of my wedding gifts i got a Naparima Cook Book!!! not that i cah cook eh...but it sure is helpful when de man want things like "Oil Down" and "Dasheen Bush Bhagi and Rice"

maybe you could send for one...
« Last Edit: March 09, 2009, 01:32:33 PM by Mrs Jodie B »
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #17 on: March 09, 2009, 02:42:36 PM »
Cute doh study dem nah...

as one of my wedding gifts i got a Naparima Cook Book!!! not that i cah cook eh...but it sure is helpful when de man want things like "Oil Down" and "Dasheen Bush Bhagi and Rice"

maybe you could send for one...

Yep got one! ;D It in a box somewhere in the attic, never get unpacked since we move... I will have to make a trip up there and pull it out.... the little yankee really like that too bad.

« Reply #18 on: March 09, 2009, 03:58:53 PM »
coconut milk, not water

if yuh cyah get coconut up in dat place yuh livin for a substitute try goat or breast milk

« Reply #19 on: March 09, 2009, 04:07:06 PM »
coconut milk, not water

if yuh cyah get coconut up in dat place yuh livin for a substitute try goat or breast milk

What kind, Cambodian?

« Reply #20 on: March 09, 2009, 04:16:35 PM »

What kind, Cambodian?
[/quote]

too spicy

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #21 on: March 09, 2009, 05:02:04 PM »
coconut milk, not water

Yeah I could see me now with the breast pump walking around trying to get enuff to make callalo

« Reply #22 on: March 09, 2009, 05:34:44 PM »
ya make de ting as yet  :P

real trini in trute
take two weeks to make ah callaloo :rotfl: :devil:

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #23 on: March 09, 2009, 05:57:13 PM »

real trini in trute

Even more of a trini than me, didnt read before you post or what? Ent I saying I make it and it was alright? Ent Quagmire boof meh for using coconut water and not milk??? I will try again this weekend, I have too much stuff to do this week at work so the Mista cooking this week.

Mrs. Jodie B... I find the book. I had to push aside a couple spiders, but I find it :)

« Reply #24 on: March 09, 2009, 06:00:18 PM »

real trini in trute

Even more of a trini than me, didnt read before you post or what? Ent I saying I make it and it was alright? Ent Quagmire boof meh for using coconut water and not milk??? I will try again this weekend, I have too much stuff to do this week at work so the Mista cooking this week.

Mrs. Jodie B... I find the book. I had to push aside a couple spiders, but I find it :)
ok ok I stand corrected and 115 % shirt less :devil: :devil:
ah was talkin bout the real stuff :rotfl: :rotfl:
« Last Edit: March 09, 2009, 09:41:14 PM by WestCoast »

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #25 on: March 09, 2009, 06:20:20 PM »

real trini in trute

ok ok I stand corrected and shirt less :devil: :devil:
ah was talkin bout the real stuff :rotfl: :rotfl:

:rotfl: :rotfl: :devil: :devil: I will give it a try again have no worries :)

« Reply #26 on: March 09, 2009, 09:25:07 PM »

real trini in trute

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #27 on: March 10, 2009, 06:07:02 AM »

real trini in trute

good stuff...now doh ever lose it again!!!
that book is a real life saver sometimes oui!!! plenty of my "secret recipes" come from that book yes....cook before the man come home and hide the book fast before he reach!!! ;D ;D
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

« Reply #28 on: March 19, 2009, 03:48:34 PM »
Ingredients
1 1/2 pack spinach
1/2 pack or 8 oz ochro
1 cup pumpkin (chopped)
1 can coconut milk
6 cloves of garlic
1 medium onion
thyme & hot pepper
1 cup hot water (Add more if necessary)
olive oil

Directions

saute onion & garlic in oil
add pumpkin and ochroes
cook a little then add spinach, water, coconut milk, pepper and thyme
simmer about 45 mins or until spinach is very soft
blend

« Reply #29 on: March 19, 2009, 04:32:19 PM »
Ingredients
1 1/2 pack spinach
1/2 pack or 8 oz ochro
1 cup pumpkin (chopped)
1 can coconut milk
6 cloves of garlic
1 medium onion
thyme & hot pepper
1 cup hot water (Add more if necessary)
olive oil

Directions

saute onion & garlic in oil
add pumpkin and ochroes
cook a little then add spinach, water, coconut milk, pepper and thyme
simmer about 45 mins or until spinach is very soft
blend
at what stage yuh could add some pigtail.