October 31, 2024, 05:45:59 PM

Author Topic: Drivers ordered to remove tints  (Read 13362 times)

Drivers ordered to remove tints
« on: March 14, 2009, 02:10:56 PM »
Drivers ordered to remove tints
Published: March 13th, 2009
More than 2,000 drivers were forced to remove dark tints from their vehicles yesterday, during several road exercises conducted throughout T&T. The exercises were done by Traffic Branch police and Licensing officers. Assistant Police Commissioner (Mobile) Wayne Richards, who said the exercises were successful, promised to clamp down on the lawlessness on the nation’s roads. “We intend to continue these exercises to ensure there is compliance with the laws,” Richards said.

Among the areas targeted were the Churchill-Roosevelt, Solomon Hochoy and Audrey Jeffers highways, Priority Bus Route and Eastern Main Road. Richards said police also ordered drivers to remove unauthorised lighting fixtures and other accessories from their vehicles which he said were illegal under the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act 48:50. The operation also netted a man wanted for several murders in the Port-of-Spain area, several people for possession of weapons, 24 suspects on outstanding warrants for serious offences while two stolen vehicles were recovered.

« Last Edit: April 15, 2009, 07:17:27 AM by Tallman »

Re: Drivers ordered to remove tints
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2009, 02:27:40 PM »
That was a long to do exercise to get them police outta the air conditioned offices and put them on the streets.  Less crime happened with their pre announced presents and happen to capture a wanted murderer, a vehicles with illegal ammo, and many unregistered vehicles were save.  That action alone saved many lives and crime from happening.  this should be in my Stop the lawlessness thread  ;D . The media should encourage and praise the police more for this, rather than bad imaging them all the time.  But i dont like why they only doing this because of the summit of americas coming up.

« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2009, 03:29:40 PM »
no big thing with me th3e mods could move it .

« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2009, 04:01:32 PM »
let them earn they pay

« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2009, 07:10:40 PM »
Is a good ting I 4get what a licensing officer look like.

« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2009, 07:15:43 PM »
That was a long to do exercise to get them police outta the air conditioned offices and put them on the streets.  Less crime happened with their pre announced presents and happen to capture a wanted murderer, a vehicles with illegal ammo, and many unregistered vehicles were save.  That action alone saved many lives and crime from happening.  this should be in my Stop the lawlessness thread  ;D . The media should encourage and praise the police more for this, rather than bad imaging them all the time.  But i dont like why they only doing this because of the summit of americas coming up.

Hoss... I was going and post about this in the 'stop the lawlessness' thread earlier this week.

i think was wednesday i listening to 94.1 online and the DJs talking about the officers out on the street removing tint.

You know what them wutless DJs doing? They advising motorists with illegal tint that it have police out enforcing, and they suggesting alternative routes to get home without having to be confronted by the officers. Telling you which part they have police and where not to pass.

So basically, 94.1 is a public address system endorsing lawlessness and helping offenders to avoid being dealt with.  Real disappointing...

lawlessness so ingrained in we culture it not even funny.

« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2009, 07:24:36 PM »
Like Manning need 2 storm dem again.

« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2009, 07:30:03 PM »

ent?

« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2009, 08:38:12 PM »
Tint is ah minor concern (although we have to stop somewhere).  I want to know when they cracking down on bald tires, faulty breaks, fake registration etc.

...and that's not even addressing de sundry moving violations.

« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2009, 09:15:04 PM »

Hoss... I was going and post about this in the 'stop the lawlessness' thread earlier this week.

i think was wednesday i listening to 94.1 online and the DJs talking about the officers out on the street removing tint.

You know what them wutless DJs doing? They advising motorists with illegal tint that it have police out enforcing, and they suggesting alternative routes to get home without having to be confronted by the officers. Telling you which part they have police and where not to pass.

So basically, 94.1 is a public address system endorsing lawlessness and helping offenders to avoid being dealt with.  Real disappointing...

Yeah normal. People go call and say...watch meh...post up on so so so forum it have police on de road. Trinis too blasted lawless. If yuh hadda deal with dem the temptation to be a heavy handed dictator go be real strong. Buh dey have no discipline...no cooperation..and is always somebody else fault.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2009, 12:56:55 AM »
I want to know when they go lockup them  politicians  in parliment for crimes that they comit and go unpunished .

« Reply #11 on: March 15, 2009, 10:51:22 AM »

You serious Omar  :o....nah man....steups.... ::) ::)

« Reply #12 on: March 15, 2009, 02:43:26 PM »

According to some on this site that is the government fault. Is only model citizens living here so any crime and irresponsible behavior have to be the government.

It is the law so I will support the action, but I find it is a dumb law that cannot solve crime. If the police suspect a car then pull it over. Even at the 20 or 30% tint allowed now you cannot easily see inside the car unless it is slow or stopped.

Time for our law enforcement officers to do just that, ENFORCE the law. This once in a while behavior only encourages the indiscipline and lawessness in the country.

« Reply #13 on: March 15, 2009, 03:11:40 PM »
I right behind Manning too on this one. big time DJ and Soca Artistes Devon Matthews. Yes i not fraid to call out people, have tinted car and calling all he friends and them to know where it have no police to pass, with his media power.  When somebody in a tinted cars kidnapp one of he family and get away because no witnesses could see the kidnappers face because of tinted windows, then he go bawl for police to help. that kind of actions  harvest a crime friendly environment.  and for 94.1 them not with me again, Right on ash wednesday they forget soca and gone back to reggae one day after carnival, now they doing this chupidness.  Not me and that station again.

« Reply #14 on: March 15, 2009, 07:10:41 PM »
Same way alyuh does flash lights at the oncoming traffic on the highway to let people know police timing.

I find tint is a stupid law...I remember in secondary school the former commissioner of police was giving us a pep talk and I ask him about the tint ting. He say a criminal could be pointing a gun and have a weapon drawn and you would not be able to see.

So I tell him the prime minister have tint on he car too and if anything he should lead by example. Then he say no that is a security issue.

Tint does keep yuh upholstery in good condition, ease up the sun beams and have yuh a/c wukking and keep yuh underlow when yuh moving with peeps.

The crackdown on tint and fog lights is a fightdown in my opinion. The same tint that is on a benz, bmw or new pickup will be ignored but if yuh riding in a b-15 or a foregin used car...you will be dealt with.
It have plenty profiling by licensing officers and police.

Girls get away, elderly and couples. Single males who are indian or negro in appearance get pulled over. White boys does get exempted.

Another thing...these roadblock does cause real real traffic.

But everybody know is to wind down yuh window, open yuh sunroof and smile...yuh passing the officers easy easy. Also the licensing officers CANNOT make you take off no tint. They have no rights which is why they make you do it and threaten you with a ticket. It is also why a police is always there to rough you up if you do not comply. The Police could charge you but not the licensing officer by heself.

« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2009, 07:20:58 PM »
Ah thought they were cracking down on those European looking licence plates too....one does pass me every morning on de Saddle Road on a Benz.....I heading POS he going de next direction...

When ah see that licence plate changed then I goh take dem seriously cuz I sure dat car drive pass at least one Police officer since it on de road....steups....

« Reply #16 on: March 16, 2009, 12:18:07 PM »
Ah thought they were cracking down on those European looking licence plates too....one does pass me every morning on de Saddle Road on a Benz.....I heading POS he going de next direction...

When ah see that licence plate changed then I goh take dem seriously cuz I sure dat car drive pass at least one Police officer since it on de road....steups....

But maybe the police will say is your responsibility as a citizen to do your part and call it in.   :thinking:

« Reply #17 on: March 16, 2009, 12:23:49 PM »

But maybe the police will say is your responsibility as a citizen to do your part and call it in.   :thinking:

why you eh move to barbados or Grenada or one ah dem better run islands, get yuh citizenship and start a 4COP party deh?

« Reply #18 on: March 16, 2009, 03:46:43 PM »

If the officers in the Maraval Police station used to leave dey desk and walk a few metres and control the traffic on the Saddle Road and Morne Coco Road junction.....they would have certainly see him by now....the same way I does see him EVERY damn morning....dey too friggin lazy!!...

« Reply #19 on: March 16, 2009, 09:13:34 PM »

If the officers in the Maraval Police station used to leave dey desk and walk a few metres and control the traffic on the Saddle Road and Morne Coco Road junction.....they would have certainly see him by now....the same way I does see him EVERY damn morning....dey too friggin lazy!!...
Get he liscense plate # for me, Ill call it in  :bringiton:

No Clear Tint Law
« Reply #20 on: March 27, 2009, 05:06:28 AM »
NO CLEAR TINT LAW
 on the express the morning it had a good article which talks about there being no clear tint law. Can anyone find it and post it please. Express copyrighted up. No more copying and pasting
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Re: No Clear Tint Law
« Reply #21 on: March 27, 2009, 05:24:51 AM »
NO CLEAR TINT LAW
Cops order thousands of motorists to strip, but...
Curtis Rampersad

Friday, March 27th 2009
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161457850

An abuse of police power.

This is what forcing honest citizens to remove tints from their vehicle windows amounts to since there is no precise law on how light, or dark, a car's tint should be, the country's auto dealers and prominent attorney and independent senator, Dana Seetahal, said yesterday.

Current laws also do not give Trinidad and Tobago police officers the authority to make drivers physically remove tints from their car windows or windshields, Seetahal said.

In addition, auto dealers called the legislation that governs tints on cars "antiquated" and "subjective" and forced drivers to scrape off their tints at the "whim" of police officers.

Automobile Dealers Association president Philip Knaggs yesterday met with Transport Commissioner Rueben Cato and Supt Wayne Richards to discuss the country-wide crackdown on tinted vehicles.

The meeting took place at Cato's Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, office and lasted about 90 minutes.

Knaggs said during a phone interview and an e-mailed response that the law, as written, was antiquated and used terms that have no place in the legislation of a country trying to achieve First World status.

"Forcing honest citizens to scrape off their window tint while on the side of the nation's highways is a national embarrassment. This situation is made even worse by a police force and legislative body that refuses to define what is acceptable," he said.

Knaggs brought samples of tint strips to the meeting yesterday to get Richards to say what was acceptable in the eyes of the Police Service.

Knaggs said he did not get any answers.

"As a result, we cannot inform the members of the motoring public as to what is considered legal in the eyes of the police force," he told the Express.

Trinidad and Tobago motorists have operated on the premise that tints which allow a certain percentage of light through a vehicle's windows are acceptable.

A "Visible Light Transmission Percentage" of 35 per cent has been generally considered the legal norm for tints but many local drivers have used 20 per cent tints.

Developed countries use a percentage number to define what is a legal tint. Knaggs said the US state of Florida accepts 28 per cent as legal. But local laws give no precise definition of what is a legal tint and rely on police officers' judgment of what is too dark.

Police officers also can't force drivers to remove their tints, senior counsel Seetahal said.

"There is no power in law for police to make drivers remove their tints," she told the Express in a phone interview from her office in Port of Spain yesterday.

Section 23 1(d) of the Motor Vehicles and Road Transportation Act Chapter 48:50 states that it is an offence to have a vehicle windshield or window so tinted or darkened that it obscures the view of inside the vehicle from the outside.

It does not properly define in terms of percentage how light or dark the tint should be.

It does not carry a charge for the offence and instead directs the Licensing Authority to refer to Section 91 if there is a breach of the law.

This breach can carry a fine of up to $1,000 or six months imprisonment.

Seetahal said the Act gave the Licensing Authority power over motorists' tints and not the police.

The crackdown in recent weeks has become a "big joke and is being misused" by police officers who allow bigger traffic crimes to be committed while they force drivers to scrape off their tints, she said.

"There has to be an objective standard (for tints)," she said, adding that law enforcement officials had no authority under the law to make people pull aside and remove their tints.

Knaggs suggested that the police refused to give exact guidelines because they wanted to retain the ability to pull over vehicles on a whim, using tints as an excuse.

"Perhaps the police force is having training exercises for the upcoming Summit of the Americas. Perhaps they intend to have the visiting diplomats pulled over on the Beetham Highway, scraping off their tint. Or is this public humiliation only reserved for the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago?" Knaggs asked.

Police have forced 21,000 motorists to remove their tints in several exercises across the country since the crackdown started at the beginning of this month.

Supt Richards did not immediately respond to a call to his cellphone for comment yesterday.

Acting Deputy Commissioner of Police Raymond Craig said recently that several police officers were targeted for tint removal because the service also had to set an example.

Former government minister Kenneth Valley was one of the citizens who were forced to strip the tint from his car.

« Reply #22 on: March 27, 2009, 07:42:25 AM »
is manning he could do what he want.

« Reply #23 on: March 27, 2009, 07:47:34 AM »
Me and a bredren saying this same thing since the exercise started. Who knows what the actual tint level is and how do you determine if someone's tint falls within the legal limit?

While I agree that we need to uphold the laws of the land, including these little ones, that there are too many crucial road laws being broken that need to be enforced. This "exercise" is just a lime for the police while they harass who hey feel to harass.

« Reply #24 on: March 27, 2009, 08:42:25 AM »
Very good article... points out the flaws in the law, the abuse of power and the scope of the exercise.

21,000 in one month?? ?? ?? ?? ??

Damn.  If only they worked that hard in enforcing seatbelt violations (which they would need to see from outside the vehicle... of course) and driving on the shoulder etc.

« Reply #25 on: March 27, 2009, 08:44:32 AM »
I'd settle for driving on the shoulder and running red lights. Wouldn't like to know how many violations like that they'll get.

« Reply #26 on: March 27, 2009, 10:31:40 AM »
So wha all yuh saying?

That is is a conspiracy was hatched by all the Tint Shops in Trinidad. They are in collusion with the TTPS to strip tint and is so doing, the ignorant youths from Mohvaaah and environs who like they Almera with double G5 on the windows and 10% on the front glass so that it look like ah garbage bag tape on the glass. They will go back to said tint shop and re-tint their vehicles and the TTPS will get a cut of the profits.

If ah man bounce one ah all yuh c__t on d road and the police ask all yuh for ah description all yuh go bawl, "G5 officer!"

« Reply #27 on: March 27, 2009, 11:31:02 AM »
This is a BS article....why not inform the public on some more pertinent to the upliftment of the society. Instead you write about a technicality that could potentially help curb the increase in crime. This is similar to 94.1 telling people where the road block is and how to avoid them.

Before calling me ignorant and chupid.....I understand the whole individual rights and all that, but right now we looking to do something different so let it be. It's not 1 or 2 lil officers out there taking advantage of the MOvah youth and them, is the TTPS out there doing something. This is something small that can be overlooked (no it's not a slippery slope).

I really not feeling the express as I use to, they into selling newpapers to hard.

« Reply #28 on: March 27, 2009, 11:31:47 AM »
Me and a bredren saying this same thing since the exercise started. Who knows what the actual tint level is and how do you determine if someone's tint falls within the legal limit?

While I agree that we need to uphold the laws of the land, including these little ones, that there are too many crucial road laws being broken that need to be enforced. This "exercise" is just a lime for the police while they harass who hey feel to harass.

Where to start?

« Reply #29 on: March 27, 2009, 12:51:43 PM »

you retarded

You getting on like d ress ah dem indian wid dey civic on trinituner - like is ah big oppressive regime against people with tint.

If d police vehicles and all removing they tint and trying FOR ONCE to lead by example, who is you? All who kicking up and making a fuss only studying the aesthetic appeal and nothing else.

I for one critical of anything the police do but this is a step in the right direction, one can only hope that it remains after the summit.