May 28, 2024, 09:42:48 PM

Author Topic: Maturana's corbeaux challenge.  (Read 4323 times)

Maturana's corbeaux challenge.
« on: March 24, 2009, 09:49:17 PM »
Warriors face fascinating WCQ test.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Maturana's corbeaux challenge.

Trinidad and Tobago's national football team coach Francisco Maturana is likely to revert to his favoured 4-5-1 system on Saturday as the "Soca Warriors" host Honduras in a crucial World Cup qualifier at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain.

On the fans' forum, the system is referred to as "the corbeaux brand". It is a crude comparison but not inaccurate.

Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones is likely to be left alone up front, while wingers Carlos Edwards and Keon Daniel would be asked to join him as often as possible from a deeper and more defensive starting position. Playmaker Russell Latapy should feature too, although he is unlikely to play as high as he did against the United States. Without the suspended team captain, Dwight Yorke, the Warriors would need Latapy to get on the ball as much as possible.

Anyone who witnessed Trinidad and Tobago's uninspiring 1-0 win over Panama last week would accept that the former Colombia World Cup coach has reason to be concerned about the heart of his midfield.

Honduras are well equipped in that area. Midfield enforcer Wilson Palacios, a £14 million capture for Tottenham Spurs, does a good Michael Essien impression, while his partner and team captain Amado Guevara also matches skilful touches with notable physical strength.

There might not be a better central midfield pair in CONCACAF and Maturana may have been wary about going man to man against those two, even before last week's underwhelming performance from his engine room. The Colombian responded by recalling the teenaged man-child, Khaleem Hyland, and his strength and endurance might make him less of a gamble than the Pro League candidates who, unfortunately, are in their off-season.

Clyde Leon will have a crucial role too. Apart from quickly relaying the ball to his more advanced teammates-he is sometimes guilty of loitering in possession-Leon must be mindful of Honduran striker David Suazo's movement. Suazo tied the Trinidad and Tobago defence in knots on his last trip to Port of Spain, eight years ago, as Honduras ran out 4-2 winners and, hopefully, Dennis Lawrence has a dish of revenge waiting.

Honduras, like Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica, possess players who are not just good technically but also athletic and strong and Maturana will need to get his thinking cap out.

His decision to omit striker Cornell Glen seems cavalier, particularly if the Warriors end up chasing the game as Stern John and Jason Scotland, although both capable of excelling in such contests, are very similar and certainly not as explosive as Glen.

Scotland deserves some sympathy. He is the country's in-form player and has been for some time-a fact rewarded by the T&TFF with the 2008 Player of the Year award. (For the record, it is debatable whether John's 20 goals that saved Southampton's Championship Division status come off badly in comparison to Scotland's 29 League One goals that won Swansea promotion.)

Scotland debuted for Trinidad and Tobago in 2000 and, in near nine years, managed to play three international games on the trot on only three occasions. Each time, he got goals.

There was one item in a 3-2 Gold Cup qualifying loss against Martinique in 2002 sandwiched by blanks in defeats to Cuba and Honduras. Two years later, he scored the opener in a 4-0 World Cup rout of the Dominican Republic, did not trouble the scorers away to Thailand and then snatched a notable equaliser in a 1-1 draw in the Republic of Korea.

And, last October, Scotland's first half hat-trick in a 9-0 demolition of the Netherland Antilles earned him starts in subsequent World Cup fixtures away to Guatemala and at home to the United States-a draw and win respectively-before Jones's return from injury forced him to give way again.

Jones is likely to play the "corbeaux role" on the weekend, although Scotland could make a crucial cameo off the bench.

Trinidad and Tobago's strength clearly lies in attack, while Honduras appear to have a weakness at the back, as they have conceded against every opponent faced in their 2010 campaign so far including Puerto Rico.

Yet, Maturana's 19-man squad suggests he is more focused on nullifying the Honduran threat-at least in the formative stages of the match-as opposed to taking advantage of their possible frailty.

The so-called "corbeaux brand" is not the Colombian's creation. Beenhakker adopted it at the business end of our successful 2006 campaign while English coach Terry Fenwick led Clico San Juan Jabloteh to two successive domestic league titles with a similar system.

Not that Maturana will be able to hide behind this. It is the Colombian's time to shine. Anything less than three points could force the Warriors to lower their sights to fourth place where they would face a South American opponent who should be considerably tougher than Bahrain.

John is the best poacher in Trinidad and Tobago's history and probably never received due credit for helping the Warriors to Germany. On Saturday, Jones may be asked to give his impression of the predatory buzzard.

For the sake of Trinidad and Tobago's World Cup aspirations, the corbeaux better be hungry.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2009, 05:29:14 AM by Flex »

Re: Maturana's corbeaux challenge
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2009, 09:50:41 PM »
Touches d man owe u royalty.

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2009, 09:54:40 PM »
I think Maturana 4-5-1 vs Beenhakker 4-5-1 cant even be used in the same article mr liburd...

but good article though

« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2009, 11:19:44 PM »
Maturana's corbeaux challenge
Warriors face fascinating WCQ test
Lasana Liburd

Trinidad and Tobago's strength clearly lies in attack, while Honduras appear to have a weakness at the back, as they have conceded against every opponent faced in their 2010 campaign so far including Puerto Rico.

Yet, Maturana's 19-man squad suggests he is more focused on nullifying the Honduran threat-at least in the formative stages of the match-as opposed to taking advantage of their possible frailty.

Nice article.  I mentioned in another thread that our best chance to win this game is to play to our strength which is to attack.  We have to try to outscore Honduras not try to play defensively and sneak a win because our defense is not solid enough to do that.

We saw in the El Salvador game that if we play 4-4-2 we can create scoring opportunities.  We should also start against Honduras with a 4-4-2 and if we take a lead into the second half make tactical adjustments to protect that lead.  Honduras is similar to us in that their strength is also in attack and they are mentally fragile.  This is a team that is capable of beating anybody in Concacaf but they are also capable of imploding at any given moment when put under pressure.

If we can get an early goal against them we might be able to make them begin to doubt themselves and cause them to collapse in the game and maybe for the rest of the qualifiers.  The same can be said of us.  If we concede an early goal, that combined with the disappointment of blowing the 2-0 lead against El Salvador can make us doubt ourselves and collapse.

The veteran players need to step up big time in terms of leadership on the field for this game.  In the last game the warrior mentality that we have become accustomed to since the 06 qualifiers disappeared in the second half.  We will need to regain it on Saturday if we are going to get 3 points.

« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2009, 11:38:35 PM »
Maturana's corbeaux challenge
Warriors face fascinating WCQ test
Lasana Liburd

Nice article.  I mentioned in another thread that our best chance to win this game is to play to our strength which is to attack.  We have to try to outscore Honduras not try to play defensively and sneak a win because our defense is not solid enough to do that.

Yes Sir....we need to just go get them.  Play cause ball next Wed.

« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2009, 11:41:40 PM »
I think Maturana 4-5-1 vs Beenhakker 4-5-1 cant even be used in the same article mr liburd...

but good article though

Agreed!!

Lets put it this way Maturana 4-5-1 is equivalent to the Corbeaux vs Beenhakker 4-5-1 which was more like the Eagle!  ;)

« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2009, 11:58:50 PM »
I disagree with us playing 4-5-1 on saturday !...why we so unwilling to play 4-4-2 against Honduras..especially if we taking the agressive approach..

« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2009, 12:39:20 AM »
3 fackin points   full fackin stop
this is not for the weak hearted,...stay tuh fack home

« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2009, 04:33:33 AM »
I though the  corbeaux brand had to do with the shit selection, poor tactical decisions and getting away by the skin of your teeth rather than a formation.   

« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2009, 04:58:58 AM »
Touches d man owe u royalty.

You beat me to it!!....ah eh even read the article yet and dais the first thing come to mih mind when I read the thread title...

Re: Maturana's corbeaux challenge.
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2009, 05:40:54 AM »
Let us hope the corbeaux pee on them saturday- T&T 2 vs Honduras 0

« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2009, 05:59:22 AM »
I though the  corbeaux brand had to do with the shit selection, poor tactical decisions and getting away by the skin of your teeth rather than a formation.   

yeah Lasana base an article on misinformation by not reading the threads properly. The corbeaux brand does not refer to the 4-5-1 formation. It refers to the whole management style and playing style that Pacho enforce on the team...the chopping and changing, the kick and hope, the no structure when Yorke not there...

« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2009, 06:46:58 AM »
Lasana called Hyland a man-child.....

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

All in all though, nice article, hopefully it will open Maturana's mind.

This make so much sense... "LASANA Quote - Yet, Maturana's 19-man squad suggests he is more focused on nullifying the Honduran threat-at least in the formative stages of the match-as opposed to taking advantage of their possible frailty"

« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2009, 07:08:49 AM »
We need to start the game with 2 strikers, Scotland and Jones.

1 striker will not put honduras under pressure.

we are playing at home and we need to keep them on the back foot.

« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2009, 07:20:53 AM »
Lasana called Hyland a man-child.....

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

All in all though, nice article, hopefully it will open Maturana's mind.

This make so much sense... "LASANA Quote - Yet, Maturana's 19-man squad suggests he is more focused on nullifying the Honduran threat-at least in the formative stages of the match-as opposed to taking advantage of their possible frailty"
Its a compliment They call Lebron James and Dwight Howard the same thing . ;)

« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2009, 07:52:39 AM »

yeah Lasana base an article on misinformation by not reading the threads properly. The corbeaux brand does not refer to the 4-5-1 formation. It refers to the whole management style and playing style that Pacho enforce on the team...the chopping and changing, the kick and hope, the no structure when Yorke not there...

What playin style T&T had in Germany?

Did Yorke not play in the El Salvador match recently? 

Peeps does want to put blame on Maturana and in many cases it's deserved.

But allyuh does want to have it both ways.

Team do bad or doh perform to allyuh expectations or somebody get pick allyuh doh like,...daz all on Maturana

If de team perform decent or dey win or a player allyuh like get pick, is because Latas and Yorke runnin de team and dem is de reason.

Anyting good....Latas and Yorke

Anyting not good...Maturana aka Corbeaux

Ent?

« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2009, 08:22:00 AM »
Corbeaux brand is well said. Overall i'ts a corbeaux brand.

I feel Lasana should be invited to do interview with the T&T players at half time, and at the end of the match and lets see how he will do in that section. We might get a more indepth report.

« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2009, 08:26:34 AM »
Honduras warmed up for Saturday’s match with 2-0 win against the Montreal Impact of the United Soccer Leagues on Sunday in Miami.

David Sauzo is out through injury.

« Reply #18 on: March 25, 2009, 08:46:31 AM »

True supporter
I with you!
Go Warriors!

« Reply #19 on: March 25, 2009, 09:13:34 AM »

« Reply #20 on: March 25, 2009, 09:20:46 AM »

sir yes sir  :salute:

« Reply #21 on: March 25, 2009, 10:24:58 AM »

What playin style T&T had in Germany?

Did Yorke not play in the El Salvador match recently? 

Peeps does want to put blame on Maturana and in many cases it's deserved.

But allyuh does want to have it both ways.

Team do bad or doh perform to allyuh expectations or somebody get pick allyuh doh like,...daz all on Maturana

If de team perform decent or dey win or a player allyuh like get pick, is because Latas and Yorke runnin de team and dem is de reason.

Anyting good....Latas and Yorke

Anyting not good...Maturana aka Corbeaux

Ent?

Sorry palos...I apologise for trying to explain my interpretation of what the corbeaux brand as coined by Touches referred to. I also apologise for thinking that the team plays better with Yorke and Latas and for not recognising any good performances in their absence. And finally, I apologise for thinking that the team played decent against El Salvador and that we could have held on to a two goal lead if Latas had come on instead of Glen, if we needed the attacking change.

« Reply #22 on: March 25, 2009, 11:34:10 AM »
Does the so called corbeaux brand have anything to do with the formation? 

I thought the Corbeaux brand was just a style of play that lacks creativity of  ball & man movement in the midfield, and thus relies on direct play hitting the striker up top with long hopeful balls...

Just because a team plays a 4-5-1 shouldn't necessarily mean that it's destined to play corbeaux brand...unless I misunderstand the term....

« Reply #23 on: March 25, 2009, 11:35:24 AM »
Does the so called corbeaux brand have anything to do with the formation? 

I thought the Corbeaux brand was just a style of play that lacks creativity of  ball & man movement in the midfield, and thus relies on direct play hitting the striker up top with long hopeful balls...

Just because a team plays a 4-5-1 shouldn't necessarily mean that it's destined to play corbeaux brand...unless I misunderstand the term....

Look like lasana misunderstand it

Offline Bamboo Prince

« Reply #24 on: March 25, 2009, 12:17:22 PM »
well seein as it look like everybody gettin tie up, will one of de football gods on de panel step dong and carefully explain de term to dis expectant crowd??

in de meantime, ah must say it have something quite gratifying about seein de 'brand' up in lights! whether is a misapplication or not!  :P

« Reply #25 on: March 25, 2009, 12:41:52 PM »

Corbeaux... A brand or (no brand) playing style or lack of a playing style. To include erratic player selection, playing style (or lack therof) and confusing sub selection.

Please feel free to expand..

« Reply #26 on: March 25, 2009, 12:46:48 PM »

Corbeaux... A brand or (no brand) playing style or lack of a playing style. To include erratic player selection, playing style (or lack therof) and confusing sub selection.

in addition, having the other team think we so mad, we dead, and then we ketch dem by cutting dey ass..hence playing dead to ketch cobo alive

« Reply #27 on: March 25, 2009, 12:52:32 PM »

in addition, having the other team think we so mad, we dead, and then we ketch dem by cutting dey ass..hence playing dead to ketch cobo alive

1-0 wins even tho we jus play complete toots.

« Reply #28 on: March 25, 2009, 12:57:30 PM »
MaxG reposted the original, most detailed explanation from Touches himself earlier up in the thread.

"...the Corbeaux brand comes from the actions of the coach. In local parlance the term ..."playing dead to ketch alive".....Dat is what Maturana does do...You think he will do the logical thing, you think he will play these players, you think after playing all these prep matches using this system, he will continue....BAM THE AFRO WILL DO THE TOTAL OPPOSITE AND LEAVE EVERYONE CONFUSE PLAYERS INCLUDED...that is the corbeaux brand.

Additonally, you know the saying corbeaux doh like/cyar eat sponge cake....it is the same when it comes to quality players. ( at least in the beginning)

The corbeaux brand...on display, built to mystify."

As quoted by the man Touches himself.

Offline Bamboo Prince

« Reply #29 on: March 25, 2009, 01:15:39 PM »
thanks fellas...but when yuh really study it, if de essence of the brand is that probable formation/selection/style remain a mystery to supporters and players alike  (even after de game sometimes  :devil: ) then surely that represents a massive tactical advantage if technical staff on de opposin team eh even know whey to start on de lead-up to matches, right?

hear nah, anybody here have links to de copyright office??? ah could see de imitators coming by de hordes!!  ::)