July 27, 2024, 04:26:45 AM

Author Topic: 10 Cane Rum anyone tried it.  (Read 2608 times)

10 Cane Rum anyone tried it.
« on: November 13, 2009, 11:42:36 AM »
My vital supplies have run low and I came across 10 Cane in a liquor store here in Charlotte but I've never heard of it.  I went to their website to check it out and it doesn't look like a local brand (they described Trinidad as having "rich volcanic soil" ???)

Anyone tried it?  Is it any good?

*EDIT*
Upon further review it looks like it's more like cachaca than rum so I guess my search continues..........

« Last Edit: November 13, 2009, 11:50:04 AM by PantherX »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Re: 10 Cane Rum anyone tried it.
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2009, 11:54:03 AM »
boy I frighten for these people rum oui. I bought a bottle some time ago that titled itself as rum. Took a shot and gagged. It tasted the way one would imagine rancid koolaid sweetened with aspartame might taste. Couldn't even say I would save it to make cake. Steupse  >:(
I like to have a bottle of rum in the house (for medicinal poiposes eh).

Happy hunting. Let me know what you find.

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2009, 11:58:03 AM »
ten cane is the export brand from angostura...not a bad substitute. But if yuh in a decent liquor store yuh should be able to pick up some el do from guyana...get the 12year onwards and yuh go fall in love with it guaranteed

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2009, 12:19:46 PM »
I t looks like I'll have to get my rum online.  Mecklenburg ABC are the only ones allowed to sell liquor in Charlotte and they don't carry anything Trini (or Guyanese) and I'm not a fan of Appleton.

The thing is that the online stores charge a hefty shipping charge for the first item but very little for subsequent additions so you really have to buy a few bottles for it to make sense.

Times like this make me feel like I'm living in the boonies :-\

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2009, 12:23:42 PM »
dude, I AM living in the boonies. Around ehre, the notion of Caribbean begins and ends in Puerto Rico.
They have no clue what to do with me and my lil family.
But I am pleased to report the stock Carib and Red Stripe in the local booze shop in the "Exotic Ales" section... ;D

« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2009, 12:27:05 PM »
Panther yuh local liquor store won't order it for you? I used to do that when i was upstate NY..Believe me all they kno about as rum there is capt morgan. I became friends with the liquor store owner and he happily ordered the El Do for me and even bought some for himself. And the shipping wasn't terrible. Not much more than a bottle would normally cost in the store, plus i knew i was getting good rum

« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2009, 12:34:48 PM »
dey duz rel push dat 10 cane stuff here in london, it tastes alright, nuthin special.

« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2009, 02:14:50 PM »
try de angostura 1824,now that is rum.it smooth and mellow.u doh need no chaser,just lil ice.

« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2009, 03:39:34 PM »
I tried it. it taste like rum to me. It okay. You have to get use to it.

« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2009, 12:55:42 AM »

NYtrini right 10 cane is de rum dupres was pushing for export to start his run to rival Barcardi and captain morgan.

The rolls royce of all rum is puncheon

« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2009, 06:24:29 AM »
A few years ago I went to launching of it at the TT consulate in NY, a brederin had extra tickets and hook meh up.  Big bashment, Alloes and others performed.  Met a TT exec w/Moet Hennessy who indicated the kickbacks to Angostura were minimal, I thought to myself what awful business planning, at least according to what she said.  The rum I thought tasted more like a scotch, which for me is just fine, gave up rum since teenage years and battin scotch since den

« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2009, 06:31:00 AM »
That 10 cane is pure toots! A pardna here introduced me to the 15 yr Eldo.. thing almost as smooth as a good scotch.

Doh sleep on some of the rum that comes out of Central America. Was at Chaud last month and was lucky enough to sample some. After that tasting I picked up a bottle of Flor de Cana 18 Years Old Centenario (Gold), which I would recommend as a good starting point as far as Central American rum goes.

BTW, though the bottle pretty, keep away from the Butterfly Collection by Angostura. Dais all it is... a collection to display in your bar.

If you're into rum liqueurs let me know and I'll make a couple recommendations.

« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2009, 09:08:48 AM »
I tried it. it taste like rum to me. It okay. You have to get use to it.
someting wrong with u.yuh eatin too much cyat.

« Reply #13 on: November 14, 2009, 09:59:44 AM »
Jumbie yuh haven't tried rum till yuh drink the ElDo 15, 21 and 25yr olds...The 25 yr old treated like gold at home by my pops...that is the best rum i ever had in my life

« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2009, 11:20:32 AM »
Jumbie yuh haven't tried rum till yuh drink the ElDo 15, 21 and 25yr olds...The 25 yr old treated like gold at home by my pops...that is the best rum i ever had in my life
definitly one of de best i tried too.

« Reply #15 on: November 14, 2009, 05:26:44 PM »

didn't even know they had a 25. I've had the 21, but still find that for the price difference the 15 holds it own. I'll now be on the lookout for the 25.

doh worry with Capo.. he nickname is bayrum.