April 28, 2024, 08:32:55 PM

Author Topic: Powerful 7.3 quake rocks Haiti, sparks tsunami alert  (Read 42815 times)

Re: Powerful 7.3 quake rocks Haiti, sparks tsunami alert
« Reply #30 on: January 13, 2010, 04:15:44 PM »

T&T government to give Haiti US$1 million

Wednesday 13th January, 2010
http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=17708

The Prime Minister says it will offer this contribution from the Government's coffers and not the Petroleum Fund it had set up to assist Caribbean countries.
Mr. Manning says he has not been able to get in contact with Haiti's President Rene Preval because the Presidential palace collapsed during the earthquake.
Foreign Affairs Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon pointed out that communication is bad because right after the earthquake Haiti was plunged into darkness and she says CARICOM has a team on the ground in Haiti at the moment.
Prime Minister Manning says before the Government can make a decision on what type of aid to send, he'd first like to get a report on what the Government of Haiti would like.
He says sending troops is not his first consideration.
Mr. Manning noted that Haiti is a member of CARICOM and whatever assistance CARICOM can give to improve the situation, it will do so.

1 million alone eh manning  >:(

« Reply #31 on: January 13, 2010, 04:27:30 PM »
Jeez, that country cyah ketch ah streak of good luck for centuries now

7.0 is real real serious ting.

I wonder... why???   dig deep all-around, broaden and expand our mind and rethink within but, it's beyond our control. Where can they find help?? and who can they reach-out too. One wonders??
« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 05:30:19 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #32 on: January 13, 2010, 04:53:42 PM »
someone please address this issue..thaks in advance  :beermug: ..http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=47869.0

« Reply #33 on: January 13, 2010, 05:24:20 PM »
someone please address this issue..thaks in advance  :beermug: ..http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=47869.0

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/0PDuOxwAS3I&amp;feature=player_embedded" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/0PDuOxwAS3I&amp;feature=player_embedded</a>
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #34 on: January 13, 2010, 05:29:17 PM »
« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 06:13:13 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #35 on: January 13, 2010, 05:37:37 PM »
d more news i watch on haiti, d more i cyah stop cryin

is there a credible local fund we locals cand send to?

« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 05:42:55 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #37 on: January 13, 2010, 07:08:46 PM »

The Red Cross' account at Republic Bank Limited....

180-482-517-101....

Pat Robertson says Haiti paying for 'pact to the devil'
« Reply #38 on: January 13, 2010, 07:17:45 PM »
Pat Robertson says Haiti paying for 'pact to the devil'
CNN

Pat Robertson, the evangelical Christian who once suggested God was punishing Americans with Hurricane Katrina, says a "pact to the devil" brought on the devastating earthquake in Haiti.

Officials fear more than 100,000 people have died as a result of Tuesday's 7.0-magnitude earthquake in Haiti.
Robertson, the host of the "700 Club," blamed the tragedy on something that "happened a long time ago in Haiti, and people might not want to talk about it."

The Haitians "were under the heel of the French. You know, Napoleon III and whatever," Robertson said on his broadcast Wednesday. "And they got together and swore a pact to the devil. They said, 'We will serve you if you will get us free from the French.' True story. And so, the devil said, 'OK, it's a deal.' "

Native Haitians defeated French colonists in 1804 and declared independence.

"You know, the Haitians revolted and got themselves free. But ever since, they have been cursed by one thing after the other." Robertson has previously linked natural disasters and terrorist attacks to legalized abortion in the United States. Soon after Hurricane Katrina ravaged the Gulf Coast, killing more than 1,800 and wreaking unprecedented devastation on New Orleans, Louisiana, Robertson weighed in with his own theory.

"We have killed over 40 million unborn babies in America," Robertson said on his September 12, 2005, broadcast of "700 Club."

"I was reading, yesterday, a book that was very interesting about what God has to say in the Old Testament about those who shed innocent blood. And he [the author] used the term that those who do this, 'the land will vomit you out.' ... But have we found we are unable somehow to defend ourselves against some of the attacks that are coming against us, either by terrorists or now by natural disaster? Could they be connected in some way?"

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/f5TE99sAbwM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/f5TE99sAbwM</a>

« Reply #39 on: January 13, 2010, 07:25:32 PM »
if ever there was ah out ah timing comment, it had to be dis one. from Robertson STEUPS!

instead he say a prayer for d ppl of Haiti,  daiz d nonsense he spewin.

STEUPS!!

« Reply #40 on: January 13, 2010, 07:42:44 PM »
religion does make people talk rel shit sometimes stueps.

« Reply #41 on: January 13, 2010, 07:43:41 PM »
ay ay ah swear he did dead....he come back? :-\

« Reply #42 on: January 13, 2010, 07:52:47 PM »
Hey Pat:
(Luke 13:1-5) 1 Now there were some present at that time who told Jesus about the Galileans whose blood Pilate had mixed with their sacrifices. 2 Jesus answered, “Do you think that these Galileans were worse sinners than all the other Galileans because they suffered this way? 3 I tell you, no! But unless you repent, you too will all perish. 4 Or those eighteen who died when the tower in Siloam fell on them — do you think they were more guilty than all the others living in Jerusalem? 5 I tell you, no! But unless you repent, you too will all perish.”

idiot

« Reply #43 on: January 13, 2010, 08:16:08 PM »
from de youtube comments:

"Whoever sacrifices to any god, except the Lord alone, shall be doomed. (Exodus 22:19 )"

"It is a matter of well-documented historical fact that the nation of Haiti was dedicated to Satan 200 years ago. On August 14, 1791, a group of houngans (voodoo priests), led by a former slave houngan named Boukman, made a pact with the Devil at a place called Bois-Caiman."

==

christian calling out obeah!

« Reply #44 on: January 13, 2010, 08:40:15 PM »

inactt can confirm 4 dem

« Reply #45 on: January 13, 2010, 09:05:12 PM »

"Whoever sacrifices to any god, except the Lord alone, shall be doomed. (Exodus 22:19 )"

"It is a matter of well-documented historical fact that the nation of Haiti was dedicated to Satan 200 years ago. On August 14, 1791, a group of houngans (voodoo priests), led by a former slave houngan named Boukman, made a pact with the Devil at a place called Bois-Caiman."

==

So y is it impt 2 pt dat out now. LOUD STEUPS

« Reply #46 on: January 13, 2010, 09:10:54 PM »
Hull City: Altidore saddened by Haiti disaster
Wednesday, January 13, 2010, 09:39

​ HULL City's Jozy Altidore has urged people to offer their support to his Caribbean birthplace Haiti, where a powerful earthquake has left tens of thousands homeless and buried beneath rubble.

Dead and injured lay in the streets of Port-au-Prince after the earthquake hit the country yesterday, toppling a range of buildings from shacks to United Nations buildings and the presidential palace.

The tremor, measuring 7.0 on the Richter scale, struck at 4.53pm yesterday (2153 GMT) and is said to be the most powerful to hit the country in more than 200 years.

Writing on his Twitter page, Altidore has spoke about how the event has saddened him.

He wrote: "My roots was just hit by an earthquake, please have the people of Haiti in your heart.

"Haiti is one of the poorest countries on the planet. If you have any sort of heart at all, if your a mother or father put yourself in the parents shoes who are worrying about their young ones.

"Please don't sit and just watch Cnn. Get up and do something, make a donation. Put yourself there and imagine how scared and torn you would be? Please do anything you can to help them. I beg of you."

Louis-Gerard Gilles, a doctor and former senator, who went to help survivors, said the hospitals could not handle all the victims.

“Haiti needs to pray. We all need to pray together,” he said.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 09:22:36 PM by Babalawo »

« Reply #47 on: January 13, 2010, 09:32:36 PM »

==

ha ha. funny how importance is a criteria for me but you is quick to put your cosign even when is just someone passing gas.

robertson speaking to de evangelicals who in a position to lend a hand for what is sure to be a large rebuilding project and he poisoning that effort by suggesting is divine retribution. there is only a handful that will challenge this notion.

« Reply #48 on: January 13, 2010, 09:49:23 PM »

==

ha ha. funny how importance is a criteria for me but you is quick to put your cosign even when is just someone passing gas.

robertson speaking to de evangelicals who in a position to lend a hand for what is sure to be a large rebuilding project and he poisoning that effort by suggesting is divine retribution. there is only a handful that will challenge this notion.

I evangelical just like Robertson d same bible Robertson read I does read and Ecc say is a time 4 evryting. So he out a time bad

« Reply #49 on: January 13, 2010, 09:58:10 PM »
man....dat robertson is one MANGEY beast oui

any ways
how he know all this?
he was there?......he sure looks old enough :devil:

if ever there was ah out ah timing comment, it had to be dis one. from Robertson STEUPS!

instead he say a prayer for d ppl of Haiti,  daiz d nonsense he spewin.

STEUPS!!
ya see STEUPS.............THAT would be the REAL CHRISTIAN thing to do.................
 but Nooooooooooo
he must be DRUNK...thats all I could figure
« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 10:03:14 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #50 on: January 13, 2010, 09:58:19 PM »
Christian love...that is all he spewing!  He was there to know that Haitians made a pact with the devil.  Fact if they threw off the mantle of Colonial France, destroying the French Army TWICE, with impunity!.

They sent troops to help free Venezuela, Alexander Hamilton, a native of the Caribbean himself and the first U.S. Treasury Secretary, helped L’Ouverture draft a constitution for the new nation.

Poor Haiti, the US has Haiti exactly where it is today.  In USA"s view as long as Haiti's leaders take orders from dem up in D.C. all is good...if not?  f**k dem black people.  Bush senior and den Bush Junior use force to remove Aristide twice, although he was duly elected by overwhelming majority.  He was a leftie so f**k he and Haiti.

During the seige of Savannah Georgia during the American War of Independence, Haitian soldiers fought with gallantry on teh side of America.  Haiti rejected slavery and colonialism and they paying for dat still today..de uppity N!@@#$#@s.  

Tell Pat Robertson to go suck Just cool pin dick.

« Reply #51 on: January 13, 2010, 10:11:16 PM »
was watching a documentary on CBC few years ago .Voodoo,anyway this young girl dealing with they Gods ,and she said shes gonna quit ,but the spirit says if she does they will destroy the Island . But she said she have to quit .Always remembered that .Cant find the vid on youtube.

« Reply #52 on: January 13, 2010, 10:49:38 PM »

==

But was there really a pact with the devil?

This is the quote attributed to Boukman back in 1791 at the Bois Caïman Ceremony that in Haitian national mythology initiated the revolution.

The god who created the earth; who created the sun that gives us light. The god who holds up the ocean; who makes the thunder roar. Our God who has ears to hear. You who are hidden in the clouds; who watch us from where you are. You see all that the white has made us suffer. The white man’s god asks him to commit crimes. But the god within us wants to do good. Our god, who is so good, so just, He orders us to revenge our wrongs. It’s He who will direct our arms and bring us the victory. It’s He who will assist us. We all should throw away the image of the white men’s god who is so pitiless. Listen to the voice for liberty that speaks in all our hearts.

He was simply separating their God "who created the earth" from the "white man's" god - so which one is really the devil in this scenario, hmmm?

This is the original creole for those interested.

Bon Dje ki fè la tè. Ki fè soley ki klere nou enro. Bon Dje ki soulve lanmè. Ki fè gronde loray. Bon Dje nou ki gen zorey pou tande. Ou ki kache nan niaj. Kap gade nou kote ou ye la. Ou we tout sa blan fè nou sibi. Dje blan yo mande krim. Bon Dje ki nan nou an vle byen fè. Bon Dje nou an ki si bon, ki si jis, li ordone vanjans. Se li kap kondui branou pou nou ranpote la viktwa. Se li kap ba nou asistans. Nou tout fet pou nou jete potre dje Blan yo ki swaf dlo lan zye. Koute vwa la libète kap chante lan kè nou.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 10:52:03 PM by E-man »

« Reply #53 on: January 13, 2010, 11:17:44 PM »
Boy this site over run with ka-ka holes dese days.  Why yuh make dat statement about ONLY 1 million eh triniman?  Yuh fowl f**king Canadian.

Pact with de devil?  steups which devil?  Haitians know any ting about the Christian devil back den?  more steups

Typical christian shit to subjugate..f**k dat shit.

Anyway since God is ah trini ah hope when the big earthquake hit Trinidad he eh forget dais he home.  steups...and one could hit Trinidad we have a fault line running thru we country if ah remember meh high school geography right.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 11:21:15 PM by Trinity Cross »

« Reply #54 on: January 14, 2010, 05:46:16 AM »
With all this talk about God and religion, God know where Haiti is?   He seem to know where the Dominican Republic is but like he eh know where Haiti is.....hhhhhhmmmm    :thinking: :-\

Weary you mentioned there is a time for everything, but when will the time come for Haiti to catch itself??  Is 200 years dem people suffering!!....when it goh end??!!

« Reply #55 on: January 14, 2010, 06:32:12 AM »
With all this talk about God and religion, God know where Haiti is?   He seem to know where the Dominican Republic is but like he eh know where Haiti is.....hhhhhhmmmm    :thinking: :-\

Weary you mentioned there is a time for everything, but when will the time come for Haiti to catch itself??  Is 200 years dem people suffering!!....when it goh end??!!

Yuh acting like if Dominican Republic is a damn paradise?  That place scrunting too.  Just not on the level of Haiti.  They also get protection from how the mountains lie as it pertains to hurricanes. 

According to the 2005 Annual Report of the United Nations Subcommittee on Human Development in the Dominican Republic, the country is ranked #71 in the world for resource availability, #79 for human development, and #14 in the world for resource mismanagement. These statistics emphasize national government corruption, foreign economic interference in the country, and the rift between the rich and poor.

Are you aware how badly they treat blacks in the D.R.?  Especially children born there to Haitian immigrants?  They often refuse to give them citizenship, dey cyar get passports.

Trafficking in persons:
   Field info displayed for all countries in alpha order.
current situation: the Dominican Republic is a source, transit, and destination country for men, women, and children trafficked for the purposes of commercial sexual exploitation and forced labor; a large number of Dominican women are trafficked into prostitution and sexual exploitation in Western Europe, Australia, Central and South America, and Caribbean destinations; a significant number of women, boys, and girls are trafficked within the country for sexual exploitation and domestic servitude
tier rating: Tier 2 Watch List - for a second consecutive year, the Dominican Republic is on the Tier 2 Watch List for its failure to show evidence of increasing efforts to combat human trafficking, particularly in terms of not adequately investigating and prosecuting public officials who may be complicit with trafficking activity, and inadequate government efforts to protect trafficking victims; the government has taken measures to reduce demand for commercial sex acts with children through criminal prosecutions (2008)
Illicit drugs:
   Field info displayed for all countries in alpha order.
transshipment point for South American drugs destined for the US and Europe; has become a transshipment point for ecstasy from the Netherlands and Belgium destined for US and Canada; substantial money laundering activity in particular by Colombian narcotics traffickers; significant amphetamine consumption (2008)

« Reply #56 on: January 14, 2010, 08:02:35 AM »

The Prime Minister says it will offer this contribution from the Government's coffers and not the Petroleum Fund it had set up to assist Caribbean countries.
Mr. Manning says he has not been able to get in contact with Haiti's President Rene Preval because the Presidential palace collapsed during the earthquake.
Foreign Affairs Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon pointed out that communication is bad because right after the earthquake Haiti was plunged into darkness and she says CARICOM has a team on the ground in Haiti at the moment.
Prime Minister Manning says before the Government can make a decision on what type of aid to send, he'd first like to get a report on what the Government of Haiti would like.
Mr. Manning noted that Haiti is a member of CARICOM and whatever assistance CARICOM can give to improve the situation, it will do so.

1 Million Immediately.

« Reply #57 on: January 14, 2010, 09:18:55 AM »

==

Becuase it is a cause and effect.

Hey Pat:
(Luke 13:1-5) 1 Now there were some present at that time who told Jesus about the Galileans whose blood Pilate had mixed with their sacrifices. 2 Jesus answered, “Do you think that these Galileans were worse sinners than all the other Galileans because they suffered this way? 3 I tell you, no! But unless you repent, you too will all perish. 4 Or those eighteen who died when the tower in Siloam fell on them — do you think they were more guilty than all the others living in Jerusalem? 5 I tell you, no! But unless you repent, you too will all perish.”

idiot

the parts that you did not highlight are also very important. It is funny that folks point out scripture and ignore some parts.

Cause and effect. They are not worse but "But unless you repent, you too will all perish."

Now in saying this let me share.

I feel great grief for those who are suffering. I do not wish or want this to fall on anyone. This is truly a sad moment in history. I do agree personnally that Pats timing ws way off in this matter. I believe him making such a statement now would only have a negative effect other than what I believe was intended. Christianity is based on fear of the Lord and thus fear of this happening else where to others may cause them to think. Again I do not believe his timing was great.

My heart and love goes out to all affected by this event and pray that they find strength and faith to know the storm won't last for ever. This may be a time to start anew. Maybe the eyes of the world have been opened to a country long neglected in need of a savior and friend.

My prayers are with all who suffer.

« Reply #58 on: January 14, 2010, 10:13:40 AM »

superpower leader of 250 million people donate $100 million
Manning - leader of    1.5 million people donate $ 1 million
manning maths ent look too bad.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2010, 10:18:20 AM by kounty »