June 10, 2024, 11:03:05 AM

Author Topic: Latapy names 18-man squad to face Chile  (Read 9196 times)

Latapy names 18-man squad to face Chile
« on: April 29, 2010, 03:41:08 PM »
Latapy names 18-man squad to face Chile.
TTFF Media.

National Senior Team head coach Russell Latapy has finalized an 18-man squad to take on Chile’s Men Senior Team in a friendly international next Wednesday in Iquique.

And in it includes nine players who were part of the T&T’s World Cup squad which appeared in the 2010 qualifying campaign among them being Densill Theobald, Keon Daniel, Keston Williams, Kern Cupid, Hughton  Hector, Devon Jorsling, Jan Michael Williams, Aklie Edwards and Clyde Leon.

And  following his training sessions since being reappointed as head coach Latapy has also selected newcomers: W Connection defender Jovin Jones, son of ex-Strike Squad member Kelvin Jones, Ma Pau FC’s Devon Jamerson, son of another ex-national Kerry Jamerson, Under 23 duo Daniel Cyrus and Andre Marchan, midfielders Kerron Cummings of W Connection and Jesse Stewart of University of Trinidad and Tobago as well as W Connection strike duo Matthew Bartholomew and Shahdon Winchester who was part of the squad at a point last year but has not made his senior international debut. Defence Force midfielder Kevon Carter completes the squad.

Unavailable for selection are players from Joe Public and San Juan Jabloteh such as 2009 TT Pro League “MVP” Kerry Baptiste, Hayden Tinto,Trent Noel, Marvin Phillip, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Robert Primus, Makan Hislop, and Jason Marcano due to commitments in the Final Round of the Caribbean Club Championship which starts on May 5.

Despite the absence of several first team regulars, Latapy is seeing the opportunity for some of the newcomers to stake their claim against the World Cup bound South Americans.

“It’s a little bit of a difficult situation because we will not have some of the players from the two clubs as well as the other overseas-based players are obviously not available at this time but I prefer to see it as a good opportunity for some of the newer talents… the upcoming ones to stake a claim for themselves,” Latapy told TTFF Media.

“Right now we are in a rebuilding stage and we definitely want to be playing the likes of Chile which is a World Cup team and it’s an ideal chance for us to match up against a team like theirs as we prepare for our qualification towards the World Cup in 2014. “

Chile meantime is coached by former Argentina national team boss Marcelo Bielsa. They are ranked number 13 on the current FIFA rankings and finished second in the South American World Cup qualifying campaign with 33 points, one behind Brazil.

Chile will face World Cup favourites Spain, Switzerland and Honduras in South Africa this summer. The T&T team departs Port of Spain on Monday morning and will arrive in Iquique later that day via Caracas.

T&T National Squad of 18 Players to face Chile

Goalkeepers

1.Jan Michael Williams – W Connection
2.Andre Marchan – National Under 23 Team

Defenders

3.Jovin Jones – W Connection
4.Keston Williams – Defence Force
5. Kern Cupid – W Connection
6.Daneil Cyrus – Caledonia AIA
7.Aklie Edwards – Defence Force

Midfielders

8.Kevon Carter – Defence Force
9.Hughton Hector – W Connection
10. Devon Jamerson – Ma Pau S.C.
11.Clyde Leon – W Connection
12.Densill Theobald – Caledonia AIA
13.Keron Cummings – W Connection
14.Jesse Stewart – University of Trinidad & Tobago
15.Keon Daniel- Caledonia AIA

Forwards

16.Shahdon Winchester – W Connection
17.Devon Jorsling – Defence Force
18.Matthew Bartholomew – W Connection
« Last Edit: April 30, 2010, 04:55:48 AM by Flex »

Re: Latapy names 18-man squad to face Chile
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2010, 03:50:32 PM »
Anyone has any more info on Jesse Stewart?  age, former club,  secondary school, etc

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 04:05:27 PM »
Well, yuh almost get everybody there, Sam

My alternative squad for Chile.

Jan-Michael Williams
Kern Cupid
Keston Williams
Keyeno Thomas
Kareem Joseph
Andrei Pacheco
Keon Daniel
Clyde Leon
Hughton Hector
Matthew Bartholomew
Devon Jorsling

SUBS:
Andre Marchan
Joevin Jones
Curtis Gonzales
Daniel Cyrus
Elton John
Aklie Edwards
Shahdon Winchester
Densill Theobald
Lester Peltier
Anthony Wolfe
Errol McFarlane

Ah doubt any Ma Pau or North East Stars will ever get picked....

« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2010, 04:27:17 PM »
Yea boy Sam was on de ball dey fuh real....but under all seriousness we good fuh bout 5 IF we really playing Chile's WC team. Hope our squad proves me wrong and I'm glad for the quality opponent.

« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2010, 04:59:49 PM »
That backline real frightening....

« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2010, 05:04:33 PM »
Yea boy Sam was on de ball dey fuh real....but under all seriousness we good fuh bout 5 IF we really playing Chile's WC team. Hope our squad proves me wrong and I'm glad for the quality opponent.

Is only a practice game.Doh worry about the score.

« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2010, 05:05:57 PM »
Will this revolution be televised?

« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2010, 06:25:23 PM »
De midfield ain't looking too terrible. (I assuming Keon, Bleeder, Leon and Hector.) De rest, well...

« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2010, 06:53:27 PM »
Anyone has any more info on Jesse Stewart?  age, former club,  secondary school, etc

22 years old
Presentation College, Chaguanas and I think El Dorado Senior Comprehensive (aka El Dorado East Secondary)

« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2010, 06:56:22 PM »
Jesse Stewart – University of Trinidad & Tobago  :devil: :devil:

« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2010, 07:09:40 PM »

Is only a practice game.Doh worry about the score.

« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2010, 07:23:19 PM »
Happy about the friendly. . .buh fraid for the thrashing if T&T eh bring a "Winning Mentality"

Ah know is a opportunity for dis an dat buh a hope we put our best foot forward at ALL times

NATIONAL PRIDE. . .NATIONAL PRIDE. . .NATIONAL PRIDE

« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2010, 07:30:42 PM »
dey coulda try and and see some ah dem conference men in England,Shakes,Boucaud,and Spann .
« Last Edit: April 29, 2010, 07:32:42 PM by royal »

« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2010, 08:02:58 PM »
Jesse Stewart ??..latapy must see something special in him that alot of people dont know ..because this fella is Selected for a Trinidad and Tobgao NATIONAL Team..

Offline Jay10

« Reply #14 on: April 29, 2010, 08:48:05 PM »
Jesse Stewart ??..latapy must see something special in him that alot of people dont know ..because this fella is Selected for a Trinidad and Tobgao NATIONAL Team..

Well I dont know also....UTT plays central zone so I guess latapy have scouts in all d zones? ;D

« Reply #15 on: April 29, 2010, 08:53:09 PM »
Where the speed coming from?

Would love to see the transition of that midfield on either side of the ball.

« Reply #16 on: April 30, 2010, 05:33:59 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/8y7iX8NCZD0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/8y7iX8NCZD0</a>

« Reply #17 on: April 30, 2010, 05:57:51 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/8y7iX8NCZD0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/8y7iX8NCZD0</a>

how ah national team could train on a pitch looking like that ?

« Reply #18 on: April 30, 2010, 06:18:51 AM »
I think I had enough ah this site and T&T football weee thais the squad and the possible line up lord father help lend ah hand ah feel when reading about T&T football somebody torturing meh.......

The laborer selection eh working.......

« Reply #19 on: April 30, 2010, 06:53:36 AM »
Them men eh training, they dancing....

« Reply #20 on: April 30, 2010, 06:56:43 AM »

Having seen the young man play myself a few years ago has good skill, nice pace and good technique. it's been about 2 years and based on my viewing 2 years ago he is a quality player, but at that time wasnt ready for any national team. From what ive been hearing, he has improved from that time so i want to congratulate him on the selection. Hopefully he will do us proud. (For all who knows his older brother, Josh Stewart, you know he comes from quality). :beermug:

« Reply #21 on: April 30, 2010, 07:01:52 AM »
Somebody mention Jesse Stewart was born in Canada, a defender. I might be wrong.

Gally must be really happy to see he UTT player made de national side. Latapy paying his deaths...  :devil:

« Reply #22 on: April 30, 2010, 09:19:18 AM »
yo.  I jus want to say thanks to all the men who give us the inside scoop on the players and everything despite all the BS.  even tho it look like latapy extendin the frenism into generation 2  :devil: so we is trini and mus expect people to say that...but honestly good luck tnt. and thanks again for the info posters  :beermug:

« Reply #23 on: April 30, 2010, 09:52:53 AM »
people we get ah friendly against good opposition how long we waiting for dat, lewwe wait an see what will happen instead ah openin ass to talk shit before the fact in typically trini fashion nah, I frighten too but is ah game against ah quality team, apart from WCQ when last we get dat, if we get we ass wash fine, atleast we will have evidence to work wit, and good idea of where we are against where need to be.

If dem fellas get dey ass buss but dey get buss fightin I goh be happy......................if on d odda hand dey take it lying dong well..................
« Last Edit: April 30, 2010, 11:20:52 AM by lefty »

« Reply #24 on: April 30, 2010, 11:06:15 AM »
This is a good move by Latapy,

We need to look forwards with the youth, Densil and Daniel would not make my squad due to age. But otherwise this is a good experience to see which youth have the fire in they belly to go and fight against chile.

yes we might get lix but fight is needed

for example the 2-0 we get in Mexico

these games is for player identification, some of these same me may step up and produce a good performance and make a name for themself.

« Reply #25 on: April 30, 2010, 11:07:50 AM »

We need to look forwards with the youth, Densil and Daniel would not make my squad due to age. But otherwise this is a good experience to see which youth have the fire in they belly to go and fight against chile.

these games is for player identification, some of these same me may step up and produce a good performance and make a name for themself.

How old you think Daniel is dred? lol.

« Reply #26 on: April 30, 2010, 01:11:37 PM »

Nicely said KND. Your words calm some, who genuinely feel afraid of being demoralized (again), a feeling exacerbated by a generally insecure populace with a brittle psyche, fixated on the fear of failure. My only disagreement is that I believe Theobald is needed.

« Reply #27 on: April 30, 2010, 01:15:15 PM »
I see Aklie Edwards and knew that was my cue to go back on the elections thread.....

« Reply #28 on: April 30, 2010, 02:23:14 PM »
I see Aklie Edwards and knew that was my cue to go back on the elections thread.....

I myself want to know ...I aint see no improvement in this fella since his shit game against the US..hope he could prove me wrong

« Reply #29 on: April 30, 2010, 02:49:12 PM »
Is only a practice game!!!!!