April 27, 2024, 04:38:20 AM

Author Topic: Only 3 african teams have a fairly good chance of advancing to R16  (Read 5861 times)

Offline nunu

Group B : If the red hot Argentina beat Greece , and a Nigeria Win versus South Korea
Nigeria advance on Goal Difference with just 3 points , Yes it can happen .

Group C : if Slovenia ties England , and Algeria beats USA , Algeria finish 2nd  .

Group D : If Ghana ties or beat Germany , Ghana advance .

Note  If Ghana wins the Group and Algeria take care of Business , they will meet in R16 .

So wait yuh nuh bother ask if you is the only one who think an African team will win the WC ?  :D

Offline nunu

So wait yuh nuh bother ask if you is the only one who think an African team will win the WC ?  :D

oh , you knew me from reggaeboyz forums , what other name you go under ? ;D

Yuh didnt post this thread in here ?..http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=49781.0

Offline nunu

Yuh didnt post this thread in here ?..http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=49781.0

realistically thou , if all 3 african teams I suggested go through it would be history cause
no 3 african teams have never advance at the same time to a Round 16 .

but looking at this world cup , drogba was the first african to score on Brazil in 5 meetings ,
S Africa are likely to be the first team to host and dont make the final 16 .

This world cup is the first world cup Germany entered in and lose a Group game .
all 5 south american teams are likely to advance to R16(A First) .

can you think of any ?   World Cup sweet ! :beermug: :beermug:

enjoy yu self Bro !
« Last Edit: June 21, 2010, 12:38:30 PM by CaribMan »

No european side ever win the world cup outside Europe...that makes it even better for Mexico, the S. Americans and Nigeria (the only african side who might realistically make the second round since Germany not going out in the 1st round and I expect England to win at least one game !)

Offline nunu

No european side ever win the world cup outside Europe...that makes it even better for Mexico, the S. Americans and Nigeria (the only african side who might realistically make the second round since Germany not going out in the 1st round and I expect England to win at least one game !)

Ghana can lose and make it to the next round ,Come what may Ghana is the most powerful team
from Africa , They won the U20 in Egypt (which 7 of their players are from that Squad) , they also
made it to African nations Cup final . I expect them to make the semis .

Oh ok...let's go Ghana, let's go.

That was the african side i pick to reach furthest before the tournament start. I expected them to beat the germans...but that was before Germany lose to serbia. Cah see Germany losing 2 in a row or not qualifying for the next rounds.

ENTTTTTTTTTTTT

You're right. Ghana should have pressed harder for a victory against the Aussies when they had the chance.

Re: Only 3 african teams have a fairly good chance of advancing to R16
« Reply #10 on: June 21, 2010, 06:07:55 PM »

You're right. Ghana should have pressed harder for a victory against the Aussies when they had the chance.

Sorry to say this but Ghana's goose is cooked!  8)

Well done to Ghana, ah glad they prove me round!
« Last Edit: June 23, 2010, 03:31:52 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #11 on: June 21, 2010, 07:49:37 PM »
All Ghana need is a draw. I don't see why that's impossible.

« Reply #12 on: June 21, 2010, 10:27:11 PM »

CO-SIGNNNN

« Reply #13 on: June 23, 2010, 06:44:49 AM »
One down....two to go...

U really mean to say that after today, it could end up that in less than two weeks we end up with no african side in a world cup in africa?

« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2010, 10:23:50 AM »
is down to ghana now... :nailbiting:

« Reply #15 on: June 23, 2010, 10:47:07 AM »

Ghana gettin likk out

Not only has SA been the only host nation not to progress to the 2nd round of the World Cup

But Africa will be the only Confederation not to have a representative in the 2nd round of the World Cup

And this comes with them having an all time high 6 spots in the World Cup.

ATROCIOUS!

But it's not surprising when you look at qualifying for the African Zone.

Cameroon had to play 6 matches....against Gabon, Togo, and Morocco.  Morocco being the only top team

Nigeria had to play 6 matches...against Tunisia, Mozambique, and Kenya.  Tunisia being the only top team

Algeria had to play 6 matches....against Egypt, Zambia, and Rawana.  Egypt being the only top team

Ghana had to play 6 matches....against Benin, Mali and Sudan.  No top team there

Ivory Coast had to play 6 matches....against Burkina Faso, Malawai, and Guinea.  No top team there.

So basically, they don't have much to do to qualify.  At most...one top team in your group.  Algeria had the toughest task with Egypt in their group and that ended up having to go to a playoff.

Given what African teams had to do to qualify, not surprising they didn't do well in this World Cup.

Is like New Zealand qualifying for the World Cup when they have to play Solomon Islands, Samoa, etc

« Reply #16 on: June 23, 2010, 11:42:23 AM »
Yeah Africa look weak this time around.

Cameroon despite having some quality players really lives mostly off a memory of 1990.  Shabby looking in the run of play

CIV is a team on paper only.  Haven't proven themselves...

Algeria has no goal scorers... A quality striker and they coulda caused some problems in this group. 

Nigeria is just terrible.

Ghana is missing experience and key players. 

More sentiment than quality regarding the African confederation in this World Cup. 

« Reply #17 on: June 23, 2010, 11:52:03 AM »
Palos,

Point taken but we as a nation really cah judge nobody else qualifying format. We lose how much game and still qualify for a world cup?

« Reply #18 on: June 23, 2010, 02:50:05 PM »

Ghana gettin likk out

Not this rounds or the next partner!  :devil:

« Reply #19 on: June 23, 2010, 03:33:08 PM »

Sorry to say this but Ghana's goose is cooked!  8)

Well done to Ghana, ah glad they prove me round!

Well done to Ghana, ah glad they prove me wrong!  :beermug:

« Reply #20 on: June 23, 2010, 03:37:46 PM »
Happy for Ghana

But let's be honest.....they sneak een de back door

Advancing to the next round via a loss is hardly them proving anybody wrong.

Serbia jes wutless is all.

« Reply #21 on: June 23, 2010, 03:54:08 PM »
Happy for Ghana

But Palos...Germany Loss ah game too and Qualified for the nex round...so what is yuh point?  ::)

« Reply #22 on: June 23, 2010, 04:05:17 PM »
Ghana qualified from a favor - Aussies could of squeezed past them with another goal of if Germany scored another as well.

Ghana really scraped threw here and are very lucky to be in the second round..

I am both happy and sad at the same time, I like ghana but they havent been themselves without Essien.

Ghana is also one of the teams that can beat USA.

« Reply #23 on: June 23, 2010, 05:45:06 PM »
I am glad Ghana scraped thru. The are the only African team in the final 16. The Ghanians and Algeria appeared to be better prepared than the other African teams. Ghanians have excellent ball control but they missing that talisman(Essien) to take them over the hump. They will have to raise their standard in the KO stage of this tournament.

I have two minds about Algeria. I honestly feel that Egypt is better team than them, but they had that tenacity to win that the Pharoahs could not break. In the 70's Algeria, Tunisia, Morocco were the teams who would carry the African continent. They played good football. This is their 1st appearance in about 20 yrs, so I was not expecting much from them. But they are a tough team.

« Reply #24 on: June 23, 2010, 05:48:17 PM »

CIV is a team on paper only.  Haven't proven themselves...

Nah man.  They looked good against Portugal.  And would have looked up to the task against Brazil if Gervinho was on earlier IMHO.  Sven real fack there.  Is only when he came on that Ivory Coast looked like they could take on the mighty Brazilians....

Offline R45

« Reply #25 on: June 23, 2010, 05:53:12 PM »
Ghana is a good team, but they haven't been capable of scoring a goal from free flowing play. Their only two goals came from the penalty spot. In addition, the two goals were scored after the opposing team got red cards.

Unless they actually find a way to score goals, I don't think their penalty luck will last in the knockout round. If they get past the USA, I would bet that Uruguay (who I think can get by SKorea) will knock them out.

« Reply #26 on: June 23, 2010, 07:53:12 PM »
Nah man.  They looked good against Portugal.  And would have looked up to the task against Brazil if Gervinho was on earlier IMHO.  Sven real fack there.  Is only when he came on that Ivory Coast looked like they could take on the mighty Brazilians....

Still not proven...

« Reply #27 on: June 23, 2010, 08:30:45 PM »
Happy for Ghana

But Palos...Germany Loss ah game too and Qualified for the nex round...so what is yuh point?  ::)

qualifying via a loss (Ghana) is not the same thing as qualifying in spite of a loss (Germany)

here's an interesting comparison

Team   Goals     Shots    Shots on Goal  Fouls Committed Fouls Suffered Passes Completed Passes
Germany 5         44               20                   34                 37            1828       1424
Ghana    2         55               15                    48                28            1428       1053
Australia 3         35               14                    62                36            1486       1045
Serbia    2         45               11                    30                61            1485       1074

« Reply #28 on: June 24, 2010, 12:36:40 AM »
I will not be surprised if Ghana beat the US , BUT I giving the US the edge to win dat game and reach quarterfinals..sorry to say but I think no African teams will make the final eight..

« Reply #29 on: June 24, 2010, 07:34:21 AM »
Italy going and qualify with 3 draws...u will say they didn't deserve to make the second rounds too?