June 05, 2024, 01:50:24 AM

Author Topic: Best penalty ever?...  (Read 6382 times)

Offline Red Mango

• because football, does bring we together...
  • We Comin'... Bless up!...
Best penalty ever?...
« on: July 25, 2010, 08:39:34 AM »
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/blogs/world-of-sport/article/19275/

Quite possibly. Spain U19 star Ezequiel Calvente shows just how it should be done by scoring an audacious 'switch-hit' penalty against Italy at the U19 European Championships in France.

The Real Betis midfielder beats the Italian keeper with ease after running up to seemingly hit the spot kick with his right foot only to surprise everyone by hitting with his left.

It's a new technique that has never really been seen at the top level before - perhaps it will catch on for the start of the new season?
I wanted to bring a different style to the team, to play the Trinbagonian way. Everald "Gally" Cummings

Offline Jay10

Re: Best penalty ever?...
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2010, 10:17:37 AM »
I see Clayton Morris do dat yearsss ago..lol

Offline Red Mango

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2010, 10:56:47 AM »
I see Clayton Morris do dat yearsss ago..lol

:beermug: :beermug:
I wanted to bring a different style to the team, to play the Trinbagonian way. Everald "Gally" Cummings

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2010, 02:49:59 PM »
I can't the video to show, can you load it on the thread for us to view?

Offline Red Mango

« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2010, 04:10:20 PM »
I can't the video to show, can you load it on the thread for us to view?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9zAXMmhobI

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9zAXMmhobI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9zAXMmhobI</a>
« Last Edit: July 25, 2010, 04:12:42 PM by bongonatti 11 »

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2010, 04:49:36 PM »
Henry does do dah in he sleep

« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2010, 08:19:05 PM »
Henry does do dah in he sleep
Yep I saw Henry do that once but it was actually during a warm up.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2010, 09:49:04 PM »
Incredible!!!! ??? Unstoppable strike.

« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2010, 10:01:53 AM »
there was an indian guy who played in couva use to do dat all di time

« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2010, 10:46:58 AM »
 I doubt it's something you can repeat all the time.

« Reply #10 on: July 26, 2010, 11:05:57 AM »
Dwarika used to do that in game....he also used to hit man 30 and 40 meter pass in World cup qualifier in the stadium doing that.

« Reply #11 on: July 26, 2010, 11:28:47 AM »
he also used to hit man 30 and 40 meter pass in World cup qualifier in the stadium doing that.

40 meter pass my arse...

« Reply #12 on: July 26, 2010, 11:52:05 AM »
I doubt it's something you can repeat all the time.

yeah man this indian fella who use to play in the couva league used to hit the shot like dat every singletime he get a penalty. Di man use to v it all di time to boy. I personally saw him hit bout 5 like dat only missin one of his shots..

« Reply #13 on: July 26, 2010, 01:14:59 PM »

« Reply #14 on: July 26, 2010, 01:17:13 PM »

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #15 on: July 26, 2010, 02:03:38 PM »
I rel dunno dah Dwarika scn nuh. But I know Henry did that with his eyes close and all kinda madness. Rel passes on that

« Reply #16 on: July 27, 2010, 09:28:29 AM »
Dwarika used to do that in game....he also used to hit man 30 and 40 meter pass in World cup qualifier in the stadium doing that.

Co-sign. To me Dwarika was more accurate doing that than with his normal long passes.

D man was sickkkkkkkkkk

Amazing never-seen-before penalty kick!
« Reply #17 on: July 31, 2010, 01:55:23 PM »
Fakes with his right and shoots with his left:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O574hst07ug

Re: Amazing never-seen-before penalty kick!
« Reply #18 on: July 31, 2010, 03:15:51 PM »
When it comes to real football, the Yankees are always late  ::)  :devil:

« Reply #19 on: July 31, 2010, 08:24:27 PM »
When it comes to real football, the Yankees are always late 

So can you tell me again how long it took you guys to finally qualify for the World Cup?

« Reply #20 on: August 01, 2010, 12:36:47 AM »
When it comes to real football, the Yankees are always late 

So can you tell me again how long it took you guys to finally qualify for the World Cup?

We qualified 16 yrs before the US did... but you wouldn't know anything about that. 

And no, 1966 doesn't count.

« Reply #21 on: August 01, 2010, 09:48:37 AM »
We qualified 16 yrs before the US did... but you wouldn't know anything about that. 

Actually I don't.

Could you explain?

« Reply #22 on: August 01, 2010, 11:16:14 AM »

Actually I don't.

Could you explain?

We qualified by beating Haiti 5-2 in the CONCACAF Championship in Port-au-Prince in December 1973.  Before it became known as the Gold Cup, this Championship also doubled as the World Cup qualifier and would have earned us the right to play in West Germany 1974.  We should have won with the best record and most goals for, on the back of former NASL great Steve David (who I'm certain you've never heard of), but four of the goals were inexplicably disallowed and Haiti eventually prevailed, not just in that game, but in the Championship/qualifier as well.

I fully expect you to further demonstrate your ignorance and come back with talk about this just being sour grapes.

« Reply #23 on: August 01, 2010, 01:00:30 PM »
Interesting story. I did not know that.

However, you're horribly mistaken if you think that 1990 was the first World Cup that the U.S. ever qualified for.

« Reply #24 on: August 01, 2010, 01:11:55 PM »
Interesting story. I did not know that.

However, you're horribly mistaken if you think that 1990 was the first World Cup that the U.S. ever qualified for.

Maybe he means qualified as opposed to invited? Cuz u cant really get any earlier than playing in the first World Cup game ever lol.

« Reply #25 on: August 01, 2010, 01:45:30 PM »
Maybe he means qualified as opposed to invited? Cuz u cant really get any earlier than playing in the first World Cup game ever lol.

There's no 'maybe'... Zeppo's just acting as though he doesn't understand what "qualified" means.  Maybe if I had said 1950 instead of "1966" the point would have been clearer.

« Reply #26 on: August 02, 2010, 03:46:28 AM »
I still don't understand the significance of the years you have named.

« Reply #27 on: August 02, 2010, 05:43:22 AM »
I still don't understand the significance of the years you have named.

Of course you don't.  Which was the first World Cup that the US ever qualified for? Let's focus on answering that one for now.

« Reply #28 on: August 02, 2010, 06:23:47 AM »
Of course you don't.  Which was the first World Cup that the US ever qualified for? Let's focus on answering that one for now.

« Reply #29 on: August 02, 2010, 06:48:50 AM »

Although I am a football history ball jumbie, I still not update date on the qualification/invitation scenario. I know in the first WC and a couple after that, the teams used to be invited. In the first WC most Euro teams declined. It too far, the conditions to primitive, etc, etc. When the WC start to be a hit, more countries wanted to play and they started qualifications. Had the US ever quaklfied before 1990. Did they get an invite for the Brasil 1950 or did they qualify. How may times did get invitation and how many times did they qualify?