April 26, 2024, 02:24:50 PM

Author Topic: YARDIE IN THE NBA  (Read 2416 times)

YARDIE IN THE NBA
« on: August 25, 2010, 07:10:30 AM »
Samuels 'shares his blessing'

Adrian Frater, News Editor

Western Bureau:

National basketballer Samardo Samuels, who recently signed a multi-year deal with the Cleveland Cavaliers and is set to make his debut at the start of the 2010-11 National Basketball
 Association (NBA) season, has established a back-to-school initiative to help needy students in his home parish, Trelawny.

"He knows that times are hard for many families and he just wants to make a difference in their back-to-school arrangements," revealed Jacqueline Samuels, the basketballer's mother. "He plans to make this initiative an annual one."

The effort is to be called the 'Samardo Samuels Back-to-School Give Back', which will be staged in the form of a fun day this year. It will take place next Tuesday at the Elliston Wakeland Youth Centre in Falmouth, starting at 9 a.m.

"Unfortunately, he will not be here this year because his team started training yesterday (Monday) and since he is tipped to be in the starting five, he has to be there," said Mrs Samuels. "We (Mrs Samuels and her husband, Roan) his parents, will fill in for him but I am sure a time will come when he will come here and do it himself."

School supplies

According to Mrs Samuels, just about every kind of school supplies - books, bags, pencils, pens, etc - will be given away. In addition, the children will have bounceabout and music as added attraction, and will be feted with ice cream and other goodies.

"The idea is to get the kids and their families into a good frame of mind going back to school," stated Mrs Samuels. "Samardo has been blessed and he wants to share his blessings with others."

Samuels, who started his basketball career at Muschett High School in Trelawny, enhanced his profile in the United States after earning a scholarship to St Benedict's High School in New Jersey, where he was a standout.

He later enjoyed two successful seasons of collegiate basketball, while representing the University of Louisville.

The 21-year-old Samuels, who stands at 6'9" and weighs 260lb, bypassed his final year at university to go professional, citing need to help to provide for his family as his main reason.

When the NBA season starts, Mrs Samuels said she and her husband plans to visit the United States to watch him make his debut.

"I have every intention of being there to watch him making his NBA debut," said Mrs Samuels. "It is going to be a dream come true for the entire family."

Re: YARDIE IN THE NBA
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 09:00:29 AM »
I am probably d only person here that have love and respect for d yardies. Dat is cool cuz to each his own. Well I should cuz I had and still have great relationships with them. To top that off my top three homies are Yardies. Two of them are from d great Alliance and the other is my barber. Well my yute all d best tuh yuh Yardie baller in d season and hopefully seasons to come. I will definitely look out and try to follow him in all his games. I will still feel proud when d yute step on that court to play. Cuz in my world he is Jamaican and I am Trinbagonian but we are all West Indians. Respect. HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 09:11:23 AM »
Wey d azz is this. I saw d thread and did not realise that it was u that started it. As u would have observed I responded with my post thinking it was a Yardie started d thread. My bad Weary but large up still cuz that is a nice piece of info for those interested. HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2010, 10:21:38 AM »
weary yuh on top ah de bball scene.

« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2010, 10:39:12 AM »
weary yuh on top ah de bball scene.

I into sports so does keep abreast of d happenings. I does get d Gleaner on line so I saw it there.
Wey d azz is this. I saw d thread and did not realise that it was u that started it. As u would have observed I responded with my post thinking it was a Yardie started d thread. My bad Weary but large up still cuz that is a nice piece of info for those interested. HIGHLY BLESSED.

NO SCENE spend 3 yrs in d people country.

« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2010, 09:28:47 PM »
Samardo Samuels is old news... http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=49043.0

A much worthier story is Trini in the NBA.

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
Hard work is the key to success

« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2010, 10:34:25 PM »
Samardo Samuels is old news... http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=49043.0

not sure if this the same guy. could you clarify?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roy_Hibbert

http://www.fox59.com/sports/indysportsnation/indianapacers/isn-070710-hibbert-story,0,2812575.story

Same guy... didn't know that he opted to play for Jamaica, but his mother is Trini... just seeing that his father is Jamaican.

Hibbert's father (Roy) is from Jamaica. His mother (Patty) is from Trinidad. He could've played for either country but chose Jamaica because he thought that team had a better shot at advancing.

http://www.nba.com/pacers/news/web_100727.html

During his senior year he had to travel to Trinidad for his grandmother's funeral and from the Washington Post article I got the impression that Trini culture was a big part of him.

« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2010, 06:56:50 AM »
Just another who love T&T but love to rep Jamaica ::)

I would prefer reading about a true Trinbagonian in the NBA

« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2010, 08:07:41 PM »

not sure if this the same guy. could you clarify?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roy_Hibbert

http://www.fox59.com/sports/indysportsnation/indianapacers/isn-070710-hibbert-story,0,2812575.story

Same guy... didn't know that he opted to play for Jamaica, but his mother is Trini... just seeing that his father is Jamaican.

Hibbert's father (Roy) is from Jamaica. His mother (Patty) is from Trinidad. He could've played for either country but chose Jamaica because he thought that team had a better shot at advancing.

http://www.nba.com/pacers/news/web_100727.html

During his senior year he had to travel to Trinidad for his grandmother's funeral and from the Washington Post article I got the impression that Trini culture was a big part of him.

Hibbert ended up rep JA because the Trini association move to slow.By the time they approach him Jamaica had already made contact.

« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2010, 08:52:15 AM »
Hibbert ended up rep JA because the Trini association move to slow.By the time they approach him Jamaica had already made contact.

A recurring theme (if true) when it comes to athletics in TnT... Kerron Clement, Robbie Findley et al puts paid to this.