March 28, 2024, 10:47:31 AM

Author Topic: Trinis need to take care of their children...  (Read 3761 times)

Trinis need to take care of their children...
« on: February 20, 2011, 07:29:00 PM »
R.I.P lil Daniel...this shit needs to stop ...i'm tired of hearing stuff like this!!! No one wont give a shit..its carnival!!!!!
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Re: Trinis need to take care of their children...
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2011, 07:32:48 PM »
I would only add that "Trinidad needs to take care of its children"...  :-[

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2011, 11:09:17 PM »
heard this on the news tonight and this soured me.  dese demons attacking children in a rage now. what d hell an 8 year old cud do you? when will it end?

Offline Die_Hard

« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2011, 11:44:44 PM »
Anevidence that the child suffered any violence?  Did he wander off on his own and get into the river?

« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2011, 01:47:37 AM »

DANIEL FOUND DEAD

By Stacy Moore and Nalinee Seelal Monday, February 21 2011
click on pic to zoom in

The body of eight-year-old Daniel Guerra, who went missing near his home in Gasparillo last Friday, was found floating in a river off the Tarouba Link Road, San Fernando yesterday.

Daniel’s tiny body was showing signs of decomposition and police investigators said it was difficult to see any visible signs of violence.

Daniel, a standard two student of the Gasparillo Government Primary School, was last seen entering a vehicle at about midday near his home at Bedeau Street, Gasparillo last Friday.

Shortly before he disappeared, Daniel went to buy a drink at Sony’s Parlour near his home.

He was found with the clothes he was last seen wearing, a red short pants and white vest, but without any shoes.

Police report that at about 5 pm yesterday, a passenger in a maxi taxi proceeding along the Tarouba Link Road, raised an alarm when she spotted a body entangled in vines in the muddy river water. Police officers, who had been carrying out searches for Daniel nearby, were called to the scene.

At the same time, a cricket match was in progress at the Tarouba grounds.

Cricketer Rakesh Sookdeo said he left the grounds when the alarm was raised that a body had been found in the river.

“I saw the head of this little boy in the water and police officers and other men were trying to get the body on to the bank,” said Sookdeo. He helped by using a rope to lasso one of the child’s hands and the body was pulled out of the river.

Daniel, who lived with his grandparents Shirley and Randolph Indarsingh and his mother Rona, did not attend classes last Friday due to a head injury he sustained while playing. “He had left home just to buy a drink and after twenty minutes he never showed up. I became very worried,” Shirley told Newsday at the family’s home hours before her grandson’s body was discovered. “He begged me clasping his hands together, ‘Ma please let me go for the drink,’ and I let him go with the $20 his mother left for him before she went to work. And my baby never came back,” she cried. The owner of the shop said Daniel had purchased the drink and was heading to his home.

Rona and Daniel’s father, who lives in Tabaquite, have been separated for several years. Shirley said the boy’s father has visited the family’s home since last Friday and also organised searches.

Daniel, she said, was the joy of the family. “He was like our shining star such an intelligent boy and he always used to make you laugh and smile, he was a boy full of so much love.”

Before the family heard the news, relatives had distributed flyers with Daniel’s photograph in Tabaquite, San Fernando, Marabella and other areas.

Police closed off traffic at Tarouba Link Road, placing caution tape on both sides of the roadway.

Relatives identified Daniel’s body, as his mother was too distraught to look at him.

She was escorted to a police vehicle and briefly interviewed by officers before leaving with them.

ACP Fitzroy Frederick told reporters Daniel’s body was washed down the river during heavy rainfall. He said Daniel’s death was “ very tragic”. An autopsy is to be performed at the Forensic Science Centre, St James today.

Tabaquite MP Dr Suruj Rambachan spent close to two hours yesterday with members of Daniel’s relatives, praying with them hours before he was found.

“It is distressing to know that this has ended up this way and an innocent child has been killed. Whatever the circumstances the police must move aggressively to find the killers. I extend my condolences and sympathies to the family,” said Rambachan.

He is due to speak to Minister of the People Dr Glenn Ramadharsingh to have counselling provided for Daniel’s family and to discuss assistance for the boy’s funeral.

Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs said yesterday he was informed about the discovery of Daniel’s body. “This is a very tragic situation, and my team of officers will be working around- the-clock to bring closure to this investigation.”

He added he was awaiting a report from his team who were at the scene up to late yesterday.
spacer
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,136157.html
« Last Edit: February 21, 2011, 10:22:38 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2011, 06:13:43 AM »
Daniel’s tiny body was showing signs of decomposition and police investigators said it was difficult to see any visible signs of violence.
We don't yet know what caused his death. This is tragic news nonetheless. The death of a child is tragic enough , I would hate to think that an adult inflicted it.

« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2011, 06:42:08 AM »
Jah Goal is some sick adult oui....it said the child was last seen entering a vehicle.

I so sorry for that child and the family. It really upset me.

I hope the person(s) responsible will be brought to justice.

Offline Arazi

« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2011, 06:45:38 AM »
I really fed up yes...

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/A_FAMILY_MOURNS-116579123.html

A FAMILY MOURNS

Missing eight-year-old boy found dead miles from home
By Sue-Ann Wayow South Bureau

Story Created: Feb 20, 2011 at 11:50 PM ECT

Story Updated: Feb 20, 2011 at 11:50 PM ECT

THE search for eight-year-old Daniel Guerra ended last evening after his body was found in a river near the Tarouba overpass in San Fernando. He was still wearing the clothes he was last seen in when he left his home at Bedeau Street, Gasparillo, last Friday.

The Tarouba River drains from Tarodale Heights and is not linked to the Gasparillo River near where the boy lived.

Guerra's body was seen by a passerby around 5 p.m. and the discovery was reported to the police, who were at the time busily searching for him. His body was in a state of early decomposition and a black bag was found close by.

Assistant Commissioner of Police (South) Fitzroy Frederick said it was too early to say how the boy died.

Guerra went missing on Friday, after walking to a nearby parlour to buy two energy drinks. The boy was at home with his grandmother, Shirley Indarsingh, at around 11 a.m. when he asked to go to the parlour some 50 feet from his home. He was last seen wearing a sleeeveless white jersey, red shorts and blue and black slippers. He was holding a black bag containing the beverages.

His grandmother reported him missing within half an hour of him not returning home. Police only began a search after nightfall using sniffer dogs.

Guerra, a Standard Two pupil of the Gasparillo Government Primary School, had stayed home on Friday after falling and injuring his head the previous day.

Earlier yesterday, Member of Parliament for Tabaquite, Surujrattan Rambachan, had visited the family along with the councillor for Gasparillo/Bonne Adventure Feraz Ali. He said someone in the community may have information about the boy.

"So many crimes are solved because somebody in the community has a piece of information, and that is the appeal that I am making. If someone has a piece of information no matter how small that information is, you don't know, it might lead to the recovery of the child," he said then.

"If people have a fear to say anything, call me and talk to me, my number is 761-4924. I assure you whatever you know will be held in the highest level of confidence."

Flyers were distributed throughout Gasparillo and surrounding areas.

Guerra's grandfather, Randolph Indarsingh, said then that no calls about Guerra were made to the family.

Guerra's mother, Rona Indarsingh, had said she hoped he would be found "safe and sound".

"Whoever have him I hope that you have it in your mind that he is just a little child, he is an innocent child, he did no wrong. I just want my son," she cried.

After learning of the discovery of the child's body, Rambachan returned to the scene last evening to console the family and friends.

Police still do not know the reason for Guerra's abduction.

Offline Arazi

« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2011, 06:57:13 AM »
Jah Goal is some sick adult oui....it said the child was last seen entering a vehicle.

I so sorry for that child and the family. It really upset me.

I hope the person(s) responsible will be brought to justice.

I just read it again.That sickening.

« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2011, 07:00:59 AM »
So I was at  church retreat 4 d wkend. Coming bck from south we heard that a body was found and they showed us the area. I pass dey evry time I go south, in fact we saw d cricket game in progress. So bein not around 4 d weekend check d GD pg 4 meh update of d happenings read this story. B4 9 this morning got a call d Principal call d provider dey find d chile dead and he call me.

Coming bck from south bad accident will not be surprise if I hear somebody died.

So another MANIC MONDAY.

« Reply #11 on: February 21, 2011, 10:08:37 AM »
A southern detective has been detained by police.

« Reply #12 on: February 21, 2011, 10:26:08 AM »

More info DHW please ah beg yuh.

« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2011, 11:27:26 AM »

More info DHW please ah beg yuh.

dais it lol. I heard it on CNC3

« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2011, 02:05:55 PM »
http://pedrotercero.wordpress.com/2011/02/20/well-what-now/ ----> my thoughts

That is exactly what I told some fb folks this morning who was busy organising wear black, change yuh fb pic to black etc.  Ah tell dem how many more times ah supposed to put on black, put on mih headlights, and now change mih fb pic to black or join a march they were supposed to organise.......what we accomplishing this time that we didn't accomplish the last time???.......by next week we done move on to the next bachanal.....*sigh* mih spirit and mih flesh eh willing this time around at all....

« Reply #15 on: February 21, 2011, 02:42:14 PM »
hmmm.  Very sad news.  This kinda stuff does make good people take the law into their own hands. 

« Reply #16 on: February 21, 2011, 05:38:52 PM »
monsters....

« Reply #17 on: February 21, 2011, 09:04:27 PM »
Trinis need to take care of their children...

« Reply #18 on: February 21, 2011, 09:37:01 PM »
Leave no stone unturned
Suruj tells Gibbs on Daniel's death:
By Aabida Allaham aabida.allaham@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Feb 21, 2011 at 10:42 PM ECT

Story Updated: Feb 21, 2011 at 10:42 PM ECT

Foreign Affairs Minister, Surujrattan Rambachan, has urged Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs to ensure swift justice for those responsible for the death of eight-year-old Daniel Guerra.

"No matter the circumstances, the child is an innocent victim and this demands that no stone is left unturned in bringing justice to those responsible," he said during a press conference held to discuss the measures being taken to protect visitors during Carnival at the Hyatt Regency in Port of Spain yesterday.

Rambachan said after he paid a visit to the grieving family he left "feeling their pain".

"Everything has to be, and must be done, to bring that perpetrator of that heinous crime to justice," he said.

However, Rambachan was highly critical of officers at the Gasparillo Police Station, saying that the officers stationed there were either slow to respond or unresponsive. As such, he further called on Gibbs to ensure a greater police presence in Gasparillo and an improved service.

"I think the Gasparillo police need to be a little more responsive ... and I would like to see a little more speed," he said.

In response to the calls, Gibbs, who was also at the press conference, said the service was working on developing police morale and a plan to create efficiency within the service.

Asked about crime levels throughout the country and reports which claimed there was a reduction, specifically in the Northern Division, Gibbs insisted that it was still too early to tell.

"There are some indications that we are winning the battle against, specifically as you said in the Northern Division ... but we can't give you any kind of trend on this right now," he said.

ata boy suruj.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2011, 09:38:40 PM by just cool »

Offline congo

« Reply #19 on: February 22, 2011, 12:12:26 AM »
I might sound like a callous ass but to me any murder is too brutal and too heinous. Why should we wait for a child or a pensioner to be outraged.. One murder is simply to much. We should be outraged whether it's a gang leader or businessman or a nun....!!
« Last Edit: February 22, 2011, 12:54:01 AM by congo »

« Reply #20 on: February 26, 2011, 04:21:57 AM »
DANIEL WAS STRANGLED
By NALINEE SEELAL Saturday, February 26 2011

click on pic to zoom inTODAY’S funeral for eight-year-old Daniel Guerra, was ordered stopped by the police after a private autopsy, done on Thursday evening, revealed the boy was strangled and not drowned, as an initial autopsy showed.

This was confirmed to Newsday last night by senior police officers who are involved in the murder investigation.

Police sources said that the family of little Daniel, not satisfied with the findings of the first autopsy which was done on Tuesday last at the Forensic Science Centre in St James, ordered the private autopsy which was done on Thursday evening at Dass Funeral Home in Marabella, South Trinidad. Two detectives from the Homicide Investigations Bureau witnessed the autopsy.

The findings of this private autopsy, the cost of which was reported to be $6,000, showed that Daniel was strangled. As a result, Homicide Investigations Bureau detectives have stopped today’s funeral service from proceeding and ordered a third autopsy be done at the Forensic Science Centre. This autopsy, sources told Newsday, is scheduled for sometime today.

These startling revelations came after police sources indicated to Newsday that two Lucozade bottles, found in an abandoned silver-coloured car in Arouca, earlier this week, may hold the key to finding Daniel’s killer and solving the case.

Sources revealed that the car, a Nissan Almera was found abandoned by officers of the Special Anti-Crime Unit (SAUTT) and handed over to English policemen working in SAUTT. The car and the Lucozade bottles are to be “dusted” (applying special chemical powders to reveal the presence of any fingerprints on a solid surface) for prints and other evidence.

The two lucozade bottles found in the car were carefully removed from the vehicle and bagged. Police sources said that in addition to the “dusting” of the bottles, DNA (deoxyribonucleic) tests are also expected to be carried out.

The DNA tests, police said, will be critical in solving the murder of young Daniel, an incident which outraged the nation, leading even to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar tearfully demanding justice.

Daniel disappeared from a mini-mart near his Gasparillo home last week Friday after he went to the mini mart, which is located about ten minutes away from his home, to purchase the bottles of Lucozade and a garbage bag. When he failed to return home, worried relatives carried out a search for him but he was not found.

A report was made to the Gasparillo Police Station and officers mounted a search throughout the district including cane fields for the youngster.

A man from the Gasparillo area told Daniel’s worried relatives that he had seen the youngster getting into a silver car which sped off. The youngster’s decomposing body was discovered on Sunday last floating in a watercourse near the Tarouba Link Road in San Fernando. The first autopsy subsequently revealed that the youngster died as a result of drowning, a finding disproved in the second autopsy done on Thursday.

The police have termed his death a murder and the case was handed over to Homicide Investigations detectives.

Police sources told Newsday shopkeeper Kassim Mohammed who operates WD Mini Mart in Gasparillo where Daniel was last seen alive, confirmed to investigators that he sold the youngster two bottles of Lucozade before he (Daniel) left the shop.

Newsday was reliably informed that an eyewitness in Daniel’s disappearance contacted investigators and provided them with what officers termed “key information”, which could lead to persons being detained in connection with the child’s murder.

According to sources, when the child first disappeared, this eyewitness gave sketchy information to officers probing the youth’s disappearance. However, following an autopsy last Tuesday, the eyewitness had a change of heart and gave investigators more detailed information which was not revealed earlier. So far, 60 persons have been questioned regarding the abduction and murder of Daniel.

According to sources, when the child first disappeared, this eyewitness at first gave sketchy information to officers probing the youth’s disappearance. However, following the first autopsy last Tuesday, the eyewitness had a change of heart and gave investigators more detailed information which was not revealed earlier. So far, 60 persons have been questioned regarding the abduction and murder of Daniel.

Newsday was told yesterday by senior police sources that a car belonging to a police officer, seized in the aftermath of the discovery of the boy’s body, has been returned to the officer who was cleared of any involvement after investigators were able to determine that at the time young Daniel went missing, the officer in question was on duty at the police station where he is assigned to.

The officer confirmed to investigators that he knew Daniel because of a close relationship he once shared with Daniel’s mother. He also expressed shock and sadness over the child’s death.

Young Daniel was to have been buried today following a funeral service in Gasparillo.

« Reply #21 on: February 26, 2011, 06:01:40 AM »
so why d first autopsy didnt see that? anyway i hope they find dat person or persons responsible

« Reply #22 on: February 26, 2011, 07:58:49 AM »
so why d first autopsy didnt see that? anyway i hope they find dat person or persons responsible

CO-SIGNNNNNN

« Reply #23 on: February 26, 2011, 08:54:55 AM »

He probably had credentials like Reshmi.... >:(

« Reply #24 on: February 26, 2011, 09:37:11 AM »

With as poorly written as that article was we should take anything it says at face value.  The first question is "who performed the second autopsy and what are their qualifications?"  If the first said he drowned then that implies that water was found in his lungs.  If the second says he was strangled, that means he died of oxygen deprivation, and that he was likely dead before he was put in the river.  So how did water (if the first autopsy is to be believed) end up in his lungs?  He couldn't breathe it in if he was already dead.  Additionally, if he was strangled this would have been obvious on the first autopsy... bruising around the neck and redness in the eyes.  When someone is asphyxiated the pressure that results usually breaks the capillaries in the eyes... and the redness is apparent, along with the broken blood vessels in the eyes.

Somebody was really incompetent on one of those two autopsies.

« Reply #25 on: February 26, 2011, 09:50:50 AM »
Somebody was really incompetent on one of those two autopsies.

correct

« Reply #26 on: February 26, 2011, 05:59:43 PM »
3rd autopsy being done now

« Reply #27 on: February 26, 2011, 08:51:09 PM »
3rd autopsy being done now

STEUPSSSSSS

« Reply #28 on: February 26, 2011, 09:44:20 PM »
I so pissed at this whole affair, I don't even want to comment. RIP lil yute. You may have been the Messi for the future Warriors. But God has his plans. I do hope God also has plans for the person who did this(if it was a homocide). Lord please put ah hand!!!!