June 04, 2024, 03:26:12 AM

Author Topic: Haiti Intl Friendly Cancelled in August  (Read 9802 times)

Haiti Intl Friendly Cancelled in August
« on: July 30, 2011, 11:48:40 AM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2011/07/30/national-cricketers-get-3m

National footballers not playing Haiti

Lack of money coming from SporTT is also affecting the T&T Football Federation (TTFF) as it is understood that the national senior team would not be keeping their date with Haiti on August 10 in that country. It is understood SporTT has informed the TTFF they have no money and will not be able to supply any until October. Guardian also got information that former special advisor Jack Warner has been approached but cannot assist at this point in time. Today in the draw for World Cup qualifying and national coach Otto Pfister would have gotten his first chance to see the foreign pros in action but the TTFF cannot afford to bring them in.

Re: Haiti Intl Friendly Cancelled in August
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2011, 11:52:56 AM »
 :rotfl: What a surprise

« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2011, 11:53:27 AM »
hopefully we could play T&TEC or Savannah FC, i am sure they looking for good friendly games.

« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2011, 12:00:06 PM »
Really ???

« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2011, 12:05:22 PM »
Really ???

very disappointed, its funny because they squeezed the article into a cricket thread about lack of funding

TT is the richest island in the region and can't fund their football or cricket, there is no excuse for this, the govt and private sector should be ashamed of themselves

that is why i always feel our nation should be run by ex-pats who know what they are doing, locals can't run a lemonade stand  >:(

« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2011, 12:08:16 PM »
 :heehee:

« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2011, 12:09:49 PM »

« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2011, 12:16:57 PM »
not yet, i think africa, asia then concacaf...south american fixtures have been released.

« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2011, 12:18:32 PM »
not yet, i think africa, asia then concacaf...south american fixtures have been released.

thanks breds, just saw that  :beermug:

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2011, 12:23:02 PM »
Playoffs

Asia vs South America

CONCACAF vs New Zealand
« Last Edit: July 30, 2011, 12:27:52 PM by Dynamite Warrior »

« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2011, 12:40:10 PM »
CONCACAF vs New Zealand

;D , if we ever make it that far. Although NZ is a good team

« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2011, 01:01:45 PM »
this is shamefull

« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2011, 01:10:28 PM »
this is shamefull

We reached shameful proportions years ago...

« Reply #14 on: July 30, 2011, 01:16:05 PM »
this is shamefull

We reached shameful proportions years ago...

This will separate the sheep from the goat with players no more luxury time to digg deep

« Reply #15 on: July 30, 2011, 02:09:08 PM »
Oh How we miss Jack

« Reply #16 on: July 30, 2011, 02:15:56 PM »
Jack will raise again!!!!

« Reply #17 on: July 30, 2011, 02:22:07 PM »
From Otto's agent's twitter:

DamianDowney: Just thought I'd break my twitter silence to state my utter disappointment in the int. match I arranged between T&T & Haiti being cancelled.

DamianDowney: Today's World Cup draw has now been overshadowed by a failure to keep to promises made to fund a World Cup qualification campaign.

DamianDowney: Understandably, I am not happy and very concerned. T&T must now go straight into WC qualification without playing a single friendly match.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2011, 02:28:18 PM by boss »

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #18 on: July 30, 2011, 02:31:07 PM »
TT is the richest island in the region and can't fund their football or cricket, there is no excuse for this, the govt and private sector should be ashamed of themselves

Would be the same result if you were the poorest in the region as well. In this case, its obvious that the TTFF is run by incompetent people. Makes no sense blaming the private sector and government...theire role is merely to assist, not to implemet strategies and plans...thats the role of the TTFF.

What exactly you guys paying Pfister US$50K per month to do?

What is evn more laughable is the fact that this game was being hsoetd by Haiti. So it must be that the TTFF is unable to provide funding for airfare and accomodation. Obvioulsy those would be the only costs incurred by the TTFF since its an away game.

Looks like T&T football was being run with FIFA money all these years.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2011, 02:33:00 PM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #19 on: July 30, 2011, 02:45:21 PM »

Would be the same result if you were the poorest in the region as well. In this case, its obvious that the TTFF is run by incompetent people. Makes no sense blaming the private sector and government...theire role is merely to assist, not to implemet strategies and plans...thats the role of the TTFF.

What is evn more laughable is the fact that this game was being hsoetd by Haiti. So it must be that the TTFF is unable to provide funding for airfare and accomodation. Obvioulsy those would be the only costs incurred by the TTFF since its an away game.

obviously...

i cyah believe ppl blaming the govt and private sector... TTFF can't eve come up with a budget, much less financial books

« Reply #20 on: July 30, 2011, 03:04:31 PM »

obviously...

i cyah believe ppl blaming the govt and private sector... TTFF can't eve come up with a budget, much less financial books

are both of you forgetting that the govt is an extension of the ttff

the private sector has always been stingy for years, look at our national cricket team, cannot get funding in advance for the champions league

the private sector like making money but hate giving back to the nation, i have dealt with many of them and know their attitude, the blame does not lie with the ttff alone

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #21 on: July 30, 2011, 03:09:30 PM »

the private sector has always been stingy for years, look at our national cricket team, cannot get funding in advance for the champions league

the private sector like making money but hate giving back to the nation, i have dealt with many of them and know their attitude, the blame does not lie with the ttff alone

Private sector is not about throwing money at national teams. It sup to the TTFF to convince them to get on board. Whats init for them? You really cant expect a man with his private firm to throw his hard earned money into a national football team that hardly pulls 500 people to stadium. Government funds should also be used in more of a developmental role...Paying for airfaires and hotel accomodations should never have to be done with Governemnt funding, unless of course T&T is a socialist nation (which i dont think it is).  I am certain TTFF gets a periodic allocation from Governemnt sport funding agencies (in Jamaica its the SDF)...its up to the TTFF to manage that money accross the board. The TTFF itself is a business, who in a perfect world should be realising a PROFIT form its operations. The whole structure of football in T&T is flawed...how many T&T pro league clubs even own their own stadia?
« Last Edit: July 30, 2011, 03:16:02 PM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #22 on: July 30, 2011, 03:12:12 PM »

Private sector is not about throwing money at national teams. It sup to the TTFF to convince them to get on board. You really cant expect a man with his private firm to throw his hard earned money into a national football team that hardly pulls 500 people to stadium. Government funds should also be used in more of a develeopmental role...Paying for airfaires and hotel accomodations should never have to be done with Governemnt funding, unless of course T&T is a socialist nation (which i dont think it is)

the cricket team pulls a sell out crowd, your argument is baseless, i have had personal dealings with them, i know the environment

the private sector in TT even if the ttff were operating like the US soccer fed would not put money into it, they are stingy

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #23 on: July 30, 2011, 03:30:25 PM »

Private sector is not about throwing money at national teams. It sup to the TTFF to convince them to get on board. You really cant expect a man with his private firm to throw his hard earned money into a national football team that hardly pulls 500 people to stadium. Government funds should also be used in more of a develeopmental role...Paying for airfaires and hotel accomodations should never have to be done with Governemnt funding, unless of course T&T is a socialist nation (which i dont think it is)

the cricket team pulls a sell out crowd, your argument is baseless, i have had personal dealings with them, i know the environment

the private sector in TT even if the ttff were operating like the US soccer fed would not put money into it, they are stingy

Cricket is perhaps the last place I'd want to throw my money if I'm looking to give back to the community via sports. Next time the west indies play in the west indies, take a look at the stands and you will find there is NO ONE watching cricket. Football would be a far more attractive sport than cricket...but like I said, 1000 fans showing up in a 25000 capacity stadium is not goiung to inspire the private sector. I believe it would be more attractive for the private sector companies to sponsor one of the pro-league teams...more visisbilty for them concidering the state of the game at the national level.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2011, 03:33:02 PM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #24 on: July 30, 2011, 03:51:58 PM »

Explain how its possible that the government is an extension of the local office of a large multinational concern based in Zurich.

You trying to muddy the waters...cricket is far more supported than football. Why is that? How much of this is due to the fact that local football is run by a secretive organization intimately connected to a person widely recognized around the globe as being corrupt and is now 'banned for life' from international football. Ask a fella name Arthur Suite about private investment in football.

Since when is the private sector obligated to come rushing in to save said multi-millionaire from himself?

The  private sector is not perfect...but since you seem to be able to identify market inefficiencies and see all this wealth of Ronaldhinios begging to be put to good use why don't you put your money where your mouth is and invest in Southend or Tobago United. Or better yet send the money to the TTFF. Tell them to spend it however they wish because you have faith they will allocate the funds in the best possible way and give you a detailed summary thereof.

« Reply #25 on: July 30, 2011, 04:04:42 PM »
Explain how its possible that the government is an extension of the local office of a large multinational concern based in Zurich.

you explain to me how fifa and the ttff are viewed as a single entity?  ::)

jw was and is the ttff and is also a mp of our current government

You trying to muddy the waters...cricket is far more supported than football. Why is that? How much of this is due to the fact that local football is run by a secretive organization intimately connected to a person widely recognized around the globe as being corrupt and is now 'banned for life' from international football. Ask a fella name Arthur Suite about private investment in football.

both yourself and reggaefan have not grasped the point i was making, even if the ttff were run well by a organization not affiliated with jw, the private sector would still hold on to their money

Since when is the private sector obligated to come rushing in to save said multi-millionaire from himself?

The  private sector is not perfect...but since you seem to be able to identify market inefficiencies and see all this wealth of Ronaldhinios begging to be put to good use why don't you put your money where your mouth is and invest in Southend or Tobago United. Or better yet send the money to the TTFF. Tell them to spend it however they wish because you have faith they will allocate the funds in the best possible way and give you a detailed summary thereof.

they are not obligated to anyone, in fact even if the ttff was poor and well run they wouldn't invest in it either because the majority of companies are selfishly run, from personal knowledge and dealings.

when i am in a better position i would love to invest in our football, since thats out of the way, how about yourself? when are you going to invest in our football, of course you could choose the easy way out of answering that question by saying you did not bring up the topic  8)
« Last Edit: July 30, 2011, 04:14:09 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #26 on: July 30, 2011, 04:24:25 PM »
(1) Since when is the private sector obligated to invest in football? Why should they when league organizational principles, retail business models, accounting system and development structures in place right now are completely unsustainable. So why is football entitled to injections of millions of private investment or any further taxpayer money with no returns in sight.

(2) Understand this, the whole of Trinbago football system, including the Pro-League concept that replaced some of our organic traditions such as community-based football and North-South clash s Jack Warner's baby. He bears great responsibility for the decline of the local game. Now you want the country to sink even more money into these dead-end ideas?

(3) How do you know whether I have not put money into football?

« Reply #27 on: July 30, 2011, 04:36:57 PM »
I think we should send Angus Eve and the u23 Olympic footballers masquerading as a senior national team after all we are good at masquerading.

« Reply #28 on: July 30, 2011, 04:41:54 PM »
(1) Since when is the private sector obligated to invest in football? Why should they when league organizational principles, retail business models, accounting system and development structures in place right now are completely unsustainable. So why is football entitled to injections of millions of private investment or any further taxpayer money with no returns in sight.

(2) Understand this, the whole of Trinbago football system, including the Pro-League concept that replaced some of our organic traditions such as community-based football and North-South clash s Jack Warner's baby. He bears great responsibility for the decline of the local game. Now you want the country to sink even more money into these dead-end ideas?

(3) How do you know whether I have not put money into football?

1.) answered this question already, furthermore, there are methods at which the money does not need to go to the fed, for instance, caribbean airlines can provide tickets for travel for all players selected to haiti, they can also provide hotel accomodation as an added, if they cannot, then another sponsor can be sourced and could pay directly to the hotel in haiti, without ttff controlling the money.

there are ways to deal with an entity that still leaves the investor, sponsor in control.

2.) fully aware of jw and his actions for donkey years now, don't need to be reminded, i have spoken to the pro league, had meetings and suggested ideas, they never implemented them and they are failing to this day, not the ttff problem, its their problem entirely now. furthermore, name the local sponsors that would put money into the cricket team, who is the best in the region and one of the best in the world, you can't.

doesn't matter if the program is well run, the private sector is greedy and selfish, that is a fact, like i said and i will repeat again, from personal experience.

3.) i don't know and i never stated that, now tell me, will you invest or have you invested, since you called me out on it and i answered, whats your answer?

« Reply #29 on: July 30, 2011, 05:10:17 PM »
There is potential to invest in the pro-league. But only in certain limited areas. I won't get into it here, but what is the primary purpose of the league but to showcase local talent to foreign scouts. Target a few talented players and take the system to its logical conclusion.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2011, 05:16:34 PM by ZANDOLIE »