May 23, 2024, 01:34:03 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the London Olympics 2012: Fri.27th July to Sun.12th August!  (Read 106110 times)

Re: Thread for the London Olympics 2012: Fri.27th July to Sun.12th August!
« Reply #540 on: August 11, 2012, 07:33:26 PM »
How I saw it..Canada beat we...buh doh study me, man..

When the TnT women dropped the baton yesterday... they shoulda keep running ent?
Huh? Nah, dey shouldn't ah even bother waiting to pass it, just let all 4 legs run same time,  the gun go..as a matter of fact, Doh even wait for the gun. ...just run  :D

« Reply #541 on: August 11, 2012, 07:42:37 PM »
vb  Turkey 1st and 2nd in women's 1500 meters, their first gold medal in athletics

Ah watch that thing repeatedly ... real feel Uceny should have completed that event.

« Reply #542 on: August 11, 2012, 07:48:05 PM »
3rd ever TT athlete to compete in a field event @ the olympics yes?  Borel-Brown, Candace Scott and now him?  Unbelieveable

wendell williams was a long jumper that competed at the Olympics. I am sure we had other field athletes besides borel, williams and scott.

I know 1 olympics he get a free ride as d time was not accepted.

1996 he couldnt compete cause we didnt translate his stuff from german into english (the efficient NAAA)...he competed in 2000.

yea i google it

Looking fwd to the day we have pole vaulters.

« Reply #543 on: August 11, 2012, 07:50:53 PM »
Looking at the medal table ... Brazil could be such a player on the stage.

« Reply #544 on: August 11, 2012, 08:29:34 PM »
FYI, we've had long jumpers in the OG since 1972.

talked to my brother who is a track fanatic and off the top of his head he named some field athletes that he recalls representing us in the OG in addition to those already mentioned.

rhonda watkins (long jump), kirt thompson (javelin), lejuan simon (triple jump).

i am sure flex or tallman probably have a list somewhere.

« Reply #545 on: August 11, 2012, 08:32:15 PM »
vb  Turkey 1st and 2nd in women's 1500 meters, their first gold medal in athletics

Ah watch that thing repeatedly ... real feel Uceny should have completed that event.

Agree 100%

Offline Michael-j

Caribbean Spice
« Reply #547 on: August 12, 2012, 04:14:05 AM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,164666.html

Caribbean Spice
Sunday, August 12 2012

Interestingly, Caribbean athletes have won more medals in the premier track and field events than the United States in the 2012 Olympics in London.

The events that are regarded as premier and attract the largest crowds, the biggest viewing audience and are the most eagerly anticipated of any Olympics are the 100 metres, 200 metres and 400 metres. In these three events the Caribbean won 11 medals and the USA 6.

The table below shows the figures:

In the Men’s 100 metres, Jamaica won both Gold and Silver.

In the Women’s 100 metres, Jamaica again won two medals, Gold and Bronze.

In the Men’s 200 metres, Jamaica swept the field winning Gold, Silver and Bronze.

In the Women’s 200 metres, Jamaica won Silver.

In the Men’s 400 metres, the Caribbean achieved a full sweep with Grenada winning Gold, Dominican Republic winning Silver and Trinidad and Tobago winning Bronze.

In the Women’s 400 metres, USA won Gold, Jamaica won Silver and USA won Bronze.

In comparison the USA won 6 medals in the three premier track and field events. The USA won no medals in the Men’s 200 metres event, all three going to Jamaica.

In addition another medal came from the Dominican Republic when Felix Sanchez won Gold in the men’s 400 metres hurdles.

WALCOTT CLAIMS T&T SECOND OLYMPIC GOLD
« Reply #548 on: August 12, 2012, 04:18:40 AM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,164663.html

WALCOTT CLAIMS TT SECOND OLYMPIC GOLD
Sunday, August 12 2012

KESHORN WALCOTT shocked not only his fans in the twin-island republic but the entire track and field fraternity by claiming gold in the men’s javelin yesterday on the penultimate day of the 30th Olympic Games in London, England.

The 19-year-old, who is the national, Carifta (Caribbean Free Trade Area) and World Junior champion, brought a virtual ray of sunshine on a gloomy Trinidad and Tobago yesterday, with an epic performance at the Olympic Stadium.

Following news of at least two deaths in the Diego Martin region, after hours of heavy downpours yesterday morning, the local sports fans were glued to their televisions, or on the worldwide web, to either witness or follow the performance of the Toco-born San Juan resident on the world stage. And Walcott, with his second throw of 84.58 metres, not only bettered his national record of 83.51 (which he set with his first throw), but became the second Trinidad and Tobago Olympic gold medallist, after Hasely Crawford, in the men’s 100-metre sprint, at the 1976 Olympics in Montreal, Canada.

Walcott fouled on his third and fifth throws, though he registered a distance of 80.64 on his fourth of sixth throws.

His main rivals Oleksandr Pyatnytsya of Ukraine (84.51m) and Antti Ruuskanen of Finland (84.12m), who finished second and third respectively, had already completed their six efforts and it was left to Vitezslav Vesely of the Czech Republic, the last of 12 throwers to feature in Round Six, to halt his gold medal quest.

After Vesely had his best effort of 83.34m, Walcott was all smiles as he rushed to his Cuban-born coach Ismael Lopez Mastrapa in the crowd to embraced him in delight.

Andreas Thorkildsen, who was vying for his third straight Olympic javelin throw, was sixth with 82.63m.

“I told myself that once I work hard I would be successful,” said the soft-spoken Walcott after his gold-medal efforts. Steve Backley, triple Olympic javelin medallist, said on BBC, “a surprise win for Keshorn Walcott. Everyone else struggled with the wind and he has walked away with the gold medal.”

John Andalcio, coach of Toco TAFAC club and the person instrumental in guiding Walcott from obscurity to national fame, commented, “I feel especially good for the country that we’ve gotten another gold. I feel especially good for all field athletes that (a) field athlete has gotten a gold. We showed that we can do that. We’re especially proud of Keshorn because of his work ethic and ability to rise to the occasion.”

Asked how he felt the moment he knew the result, Andalcio replied, “I was ecstatic yes. But it’s something that we, who are into javelin throwing, know could happen. As a matter of fact, Keshorn’s (local) training partner Hakim Smith predicted exactly what Keshorn would throw.

“Ismael used to train Hakim Smith also, some excellent work were done there. We know how the javelin competition could go. You noticed that, to the people from Toco, it wasn’t as big a surprise as everybody else. We know that if he go inside there, he has nothing to lose.”

Andalcio continued, “he could put questions to them and have them under pressure.”

Referring to Thorkildsen, Andalcio noted, “the man who was throwing 88 (metres) every single day, he can’t throw it, because he’s under pressure. Keshorn didn’t have that pressure, so he could put pressure onto them and they can’t respond.”

Looking at Walcott’s immediate future, Andalcio stated, “the plan wasn’t for this Olympics. The plan this year was World Junior gold (in Barcelona, Spain last month).

“He done get Olympic gold, we get bonus already. Rio (2016 Olympic venue) is what we were planning for. That’s what the plan was for.

“We’re ahead of the plan, we’re four years ahead of the plan. He’s 19 years old. He must be have three more Olympics (again) and he have an Olympic gold. Barring injury and God’s willing, more golds are possible.”

Dexter Voisin, manager of the TT track and field team in England, admitted, “right now, we’re still in a bit of shock too, you wouldn’t believe.”

At the time of the interview from London, Voisin noted that Walcott was undergoing his mandatory doping test at the Stadium, so they were unable to get a feedback from the teenager.

He continued, “everybody is, words can’t describe it. It’s a real joyful (mood). To crown it off with the 4x100m bronze. Definitely this has been a tremendous Olympics.”

Voisin emphasised, “praises must go out to the support staff. For far too long, they have been forgotten. Yes, the athletes perform but the staff has been with them throughout, supporting them, managing their performance. The medical team, all the coaches, they’re really working hard since we arrived here in the UK. Some credit must go to the support staff.”

The world of Twitter was abuzz with congratulatory messages to Walcott.

Athletes need mental training
« Reply #549 on: August 12, 2012, 04:23:04 AM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,164671.html

Athletes need mental training
By COREY CONNELLY Sunday, August 12 2012

United States sprinter Tyson Gay turned to music for comfort ahead of his semi-final heat in the Men’s 100-Metre event at the Olympic Stadium in London, United Kingdom, early last week.

Pacing the warm-up track, Gay was spotted with headphones swaying to a tune, either as a means of soothing his frayed nerves or to inspire him to greatness.

It may well have been that the music also served as a distraction from preparations for his hope — for qualification to the Men’s 100-Metre finals in which he was yet to win an Olympic medal.

Gay, who had been dogged by injury within recent years, eventually placed fourth in the competition, but still left the Olympic Stadium in tears.

Gay’s long time rival, veteran Jamaican sprinter, Asafa Powell, meantime, who also ran in the Men’s 100-Metre final, slumped to the ground in pain — the result of a groin-related injury — metres away from the finish line. A bewildered look on his face, Powell’s dream of acquiring an Olympic medal, too, had been dashed.

Alternatively, a once injury-plagued US quarter-miler, Sanya Richards-Ross, shed tears on the podium after a narrow win the Women’s 400-Metre race, a victory which had eluded her at the Beijing Olympics four years ago.

The Dominican Republic’s, Felix Sanchez, had a very personal agenda when he set out to win the Men’s 400-Metre hurdles. With a photograph of his late grandmother affixed to his chest, ran the race of his life in complete dedication to her.

Sanchez, who had won the event in the 2004 Athens Olympics, had failed to repeat the feat in Beijing when he woke up on the morning of his preliminary heat to the news that his grandmother, who raised him, had died.

The Olympic Games enjoys its “last hurrah” today but the apprehension, nostalgia, triumph and agony, synonymous with international sporting meets of this stature, will forever be remembered by the athletes who experienced these emotions over the past few weeks.

Trinidad and Tobago’s athletes are no exception. Despite swimmer George Bovell 111’s seventh place finish in the Men’s 50-Metre Freestyle and TT’s botched handover on the second leg of the Women’s 4x100 relay — which many felt could have been an easy medal — and Njisane Phillips spirited cycling sprint (although he did not receive a medal), the country still delivered gutsy performances alongside the best in the world.

Nineteen-year-old Keshorn Walcott yesterday registered TT’s second gold medal in Olympics history with an outstanding win in the Mens Javeling, days before Lalonde Gordon, who came into the Games as a virtual unknown, received a bronze medal after placing third in the Men’s 400-Metre event. He later joined fellow athletes Jarrin Solomon, Ade Alleyne-Forte and Deon Lendore to secure another third place finish in the Men’s 4x400 Metre relay on Friday.

Dexter Voisin, manager of the TT team, said last week he was proud of the team’s accomplishments in London.

“We can safely say, so far we are having one of the better Olympics in terms of the number of finals that we are in. And, not just track and field, but the whole Trinidad and Tobago team,” he said.

“Njisane Phillip (and) George Bovell reaching semi-finals (respectively in cycling and in Bovell’s case, 50 metre freestyle final).

Several former athletes have also said this year’s performances were TT’s best to date.

The reality, though, is that performing at the Olympic Games, regarded as the pinnacle of sporting excellence, requires tremendous commitment and perseverance both on the part of the athletes, staff and their supporters.

Psychologist Laila Valere said in order for athletes to perform at their peak, training must go beyond physical activity into the realm of psychological, mental and emotional discipline. “These are very important, but I feel very sad to say that Trinidad is yet to fully embrace this concept,” she told Sunday Newsday during an interview on Friday.

Valere lamented that mental and emotional training in this country was being done in an almost piecemeal approach quite unlike developed countries in which sporting programmes are regarded as incomplete without such emotional and psychological preparation.

“So that the gymnast who falls off the beam can jump right on again because they know what they have to do,” she said.

“In the same way, in Trinidad, we have some ongoing, regular training in sporting skills but there is not the ongoing mental and emotional training available to our athletes. This one-and-done programme will not suffice.”

Referring specifically to mental training, she said, “They have to be able to control their thoughts and inner dialogue so that it would be positive. They have to be able to do mental rehearsal, through visualisation and imagery to build their confidence.

“They have to do attention control training. Those things are essential as well as being able to control their emotions.”

She added that athletes must also be able to control their stress, anger, frustration and other anxieties.

“Those are essential if they want to become a professional athlete but we do not do that sort of training in Trinidad which is really a pity,” she said.

Valere, who had done extensive pyschological training with the members of the senior West Indies cricket team more than a decade ago, said the managers of the team had seen the benefits of the exercise.

She said, “Cricket was leading the way in that (mental training) a long time ago. It started in 1997 when they took the senior West Indies cricketers. I designed a programme for them. This was in the time of Alloy Lequay who had the foresight and the vision that this is the concept we have to use.”

Valere said the players had undergone a six-week retreat programme, where, apart from mental, emotional and spiritual training, they also received assistance in financial planning.

“I don’t know if that was ever continued,” she said, alluding to subsequent teams.

“After Alloy left I think all those things fell down because he had extended that programme to the Under-13 cricketers as well as the Under-15, 17, 19.

“In the Under-15, we had won the regional tournament for four years. And the first time the Under-15 won the World Cup in England was after they were mentally trained consistently.”

Another psychologist, Courtney Boxill, said it was quite possible that local athletes were not being exposed to much science and technology when preparing for major international sporting engagements.

Failure to adopt this practice, he said, will lead to sub-standard performance among local athletes.

Boxill told Sunday Newsday: “If a company or individual is using science and technology and the company or individual’s competitors are not using science and technology, the company or individual who is using science and technology will always do better than the company or individual who is not using science and technology. It is very likely that our athletes are not using enough science and technology and that is very important.”

Boxill said research indicated that an athlete performs at his or her best if he or she is in an ideal performance state.

“At present, so-called developed countries are using machinery to get athletes into his or her ideal performance state. If an athlete is in his ideal performance state, then he is likely to be competing in his zone,” he observed.

Claiming that many sporting administrators were not aware of this concept, Boxill said Sports Minister Anil Roberts was the exception.

He said, however, Roberts had not put the structures in place to allow for athletes to be in their ideal performance state. “Fortunately, our Minister of Sport, knows about the ideal performance state and whereas he has been commended for ensuring that villages have adequate grounds for cricket, track and field, football, my complaint is he is not providing the infrastructure for our athletes who have to perform internationally.

“It’s time that he provides these structures so that when we go to international meets we can perform at our very best,” he said.

Like Valere, Boxill also made a plug for visualisation as a vital ingredient in an athlete’s regimen.

“The evidence is that most, if not all top athletic performers are very good at visualisation,” he said, citing former West Indies batting star Brian Lara as an example.

“Most top athletes use it because it can point our errors better than the camera and then they can seek to correct it when they have identified their errors through visualisation.”

Reviewing the performance of the Jamaicans, who dominated several major events at the Olympics, including the Men’s 200-Metre race, Boxill said he was surprised to learn from a commentator at the Games that the country had a sports science centre where it groomed athletes.

“We don’t have that. What are we waiting on? We have plenty more money than Jamaica.” he said of TT.

Boxill, a retired senior lecturer in psychology at the St Augustine campus of the University of the West Indies, urged Roberts to initiate the process in establishing a similar facility locally.

“I am pleading with Anil Roberts who knows about these things to bring these things here,” he said.

“We will be able to pay for it through sport tourism because athletes from all over the Caribbean would come here to prepare for athletic events. We have to provide the infrastructure for our athletes to achieve their potential. Without that, we will remain Third World in our preparation of our athletes.”

The psychologists also shared strategies for helping athletes cope with defeat and tragedy either during or before an event.

Valere said she has often used what she called confidence recovery strategies to assist the athletes by way of recalling their past successes.

“One of the things they could do is to recall their best ever performances and that will help them to make a recovery. They have to manage their self-thought so it is not negative. That will help to motivate them after the defeat,” she said.

Also, Valere noted that most athletes usually enjoy a short professional career and many of them should think seriously about life after the sport.

She said, “There is an expiry date as an athlete so they have to plan their life after the sport to be able to motivate themselves to move on. They must decide whether they want to stay in the sporting field or move somewhere else.”

Nervousness is also a common trait among many athletes. And, believe it or not, even the indomitable Usain Bolt experiences pre-race jitters.

“I was really under a lot of pressure,” Bolt had told reporters after delivering a 9.63 seconds win in the Men’s 100-Metre competition, alluding to the back problems he experienced and which had hampered him during the Jamaica Olympic trials in June.

Valere again suggested that athletes use imagery to stay calm.

“Once they have developed their energy and skills, they can be able to recall good performances and anchor them. They have to have positive self-thought. They have to keep things in perspective by knowing it is not a matter of life and death,” she said.

Valere also advocated deep relaxation routines, such as effective breathing techniques.

“This will determine how they manage their anxiety,” she said.

She said anxiety is contagious and athletes should try to stay away from people who display this tendency.

On the issue of financial and emotional support, Valere said apart from the Government, the corporate community, as well as citizens, also needed to do much more to assist athletes.

“The corporate community can do more to sponsor some of our athletes by facilitating the kind of training they would need,” she said.

“We have to plan and develop something more comprehensive to support our athletes and follow them through. We have to be able to identify those that need extra training. That is what needs to be done.” Boxill said it appeared as though the Jamaican team had a tremendous support system both through the Government and its citizens.

“That, to me, is one of the reasons why Jamaica is where Jamaica is (in athletics). When you have an athletic event in Jamaica, its stands are filled to capacity. In Trinidad, the stands are ten percent filled. In Jamaica it is 100 percent. That kind of support is reflected in how the Jamaicans perform. We do not seem to be as patriotic as the Jamaicans and that is important,” he said.

Another psychologist, who wished to remain anonymous, minced no words in saying that maximum performance was required of all athletes at every level.

“Maximum performance can be the mastering of athletic, physical, technical and mental strengthening,” he told Sunday Newsday on Friday via an e-mail.

He said there were many ways in which athletes could motivate themselves, particularly in defeat.

“The very basics would be to remain firmly committed to their short, medium and long term goals and achieving them,” he said.

The psychologist said the athletes’ supporters also had a responsibility to them.

“Society can aid by always positively supporting their athletes through all elements of their progress and development. One way in which persons can be more supportive is by educating themselves on the facts and knowledge of the sport.”

Second relay bronze for T&T
« Reply #550 on: August 12, 2012, 04:31:11 AM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,164697.html

Second relay bronze for TT
Sunday, August 12 2012

THE QUARTET of Keston Bledman, Marc Burns, Emmanuel Callender and Richard Thompson copped Trinidad and Tobago’s fourth and final medal in the 30th Olympiad in London, England yesterday, as they teamed up to get the bronze in the men’s 4x100-metre relay at the Olympic Stadium.

The result came less than an hour after Keshorn Walcott captured gold in the men’s javelin and on the heels of a pair of bronze medals for TT - Lalonde Gordon in the men’s 400m sprint and the 4x400m relay outfit.

Ironically, the Bledman-Burns-Callender-Thompson group took silver, behind Jamaica, in the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, China. That time, Callender replaced American-born Aaron Armstrong for the final.

Yesterday, TT made an alteration to their line-up, with Thompson anchoring the group and Bledman starting proceedings.

Bledman and Burns had good displays in their respective first and second legs, but Callender were unable to maintain the pressure and, when he handed the baton to Thompson, Trinidad and Tobago were in the pack, with the United States having a slight advantage over Jamaica.

But Usain Bolt, who anchored the Jamaican team, overtook US’ Ryan Bailey to cross the finish line in 36.84 seconds, smashing the previous World record of 37.04 (in 2011) and Olympic record of 37.10 (in 2008) — both held by Jamaica.

The US were second in 37.04 seconds while Trinidad and Tobago, who completed the distance in 38.12, were promoted from fourth to third after Canada were disqualified, when Jared Connaughton, on the third leg, was ruled to have stepped inside his lane, mere metres before the final change-over.

After the Canadians’ appeals were rejected, a visibly stunned TT quartet were recalled to the track to celebrate their bronze medal feat.

Keshorn Walcott is youngest ever Olympic javelin champion
« Reply #551 on: August 12, 2012, 04:38:28 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/GOLD_-165884446.html

GOLD!
Keshorn Walcott is youngest ever Olympic javelin champion

By Kwame Laurence
Story Created: Aug 12, 2012 at 12:02 AM ECT

Keshorn Walcott produced a shocker at the Olympic Stadium here in London, England, yesterday, becoming only the second Olympic gold medallist from Trinidad and Tobago.

The 19-year-old from Toco emerged victorious in the men's javelin, hurling the spear 84.58 metres in the second round to upset a strong field, including Norway's two-time Olympic champion Andreas Thorkildsen.

At the 1976 Games in Montreal, Canada, Hasely Crawford struck gold for T&T in the men's 100 metres dash. It took 36 years for the country's second Olympic gold.

But it was worth the wait. The Trinbagonians at the Olympic Stadium yesterday savoured the moment, singing along lustily as "Forged from the Love of Liberty" blared from the speakers during the victory ceremony.

"I'm more than stunned," said Walcott, after receiving his medal. "I just went into the final to enjoy it, so to come out with the gold medal is a feeling I can't describe right now.

"I know everyone is proud of me," he continued. "I'm just thankful for all the support. I'm going back to the Games Village to celebrate with the team, and we're leaving (today), so we'll celebrate in Trinidad too. I know they're going mad in Toco."

The newly crowned Olympic champion is expected to touch down at Piarco International Airport close to midnight, tonight, on Caribbean Airlines flight BW903.

Walcott opened yesterday's competition with a new Pan American junior and national open record, landing the spear 83.51m to move from fifth to fourth on the all-time world junior (under-20) list. There was a big smile from the reigning world junior champion as he took an early lead.

It was a lead Walcott would never relinquish. In round two, he produced the big one, the 84.58m effort moving him into second spot on the all-time junior list, resetting his records in the process. The teenager could not contain himself. Another huge smile broke out, he spread his arms wide and he hit his chest.

Though he fouled on his third attempt, Walcott remained in the gold medal position.

Already in the history books by becoming the first male field athlete from T&T to appear in an Olympic final, the four-time Carifta Games champion was threatening to write an even bigger story.

An 80.64m effort in the fourth round was followed by a foul in round five. The T&T thrower, however, was still in pole position.

It was do or die for Thorkildsen and company in the final round. Well, any hopes of removing the youngest man in the competition from the top spot died. There was no one to match the 84.58m throw.

Walcott was exultant, T&T's second Olympic gold medallist racing over to his coach, Cuban Ismael Lopez for a tight hug. The celebration had begun.

"I want to thank my mom for believing in me throughout; my coach who has been guiding me, doing a great job. And thanks to the entire country for believing in me and supporting me."

Walcott told the Sunday Express he could not believe he had emulated Crawford's historic feat.

"I can't really believe it right now. Knowing that Mr Crawford was the biggest name in track and field when I was small, and remembering when I was hoping to meet him…"

Ukraine's Oleksandr Pyatnytsya earned silver, yesterday, with an 84.51m effort, while bronze went to Finland's Antti Ruuskanen, who threw 84.12m. Thorkildsen had to settle for sixth spot, the Norwegian's hopes of completing a hat-trick of Olympic triumphs dashed when he could only manage a best effort of 82.63m.

The Olympic men's javelin event has been dominated by Europeans. In 23 previous competitions, between 1908 and 2008, European throwers won 22 times. The only blemish on that record came in 1952, in Helsinki, Finland, American Cy Young claiming the top spot.

Sixty years later, Keshorn Walcott has brought the title to the western hemisphere for only the second time in Olympic history, the T&T golden boy's heroics creating one of the biggest stories of London 2012.

Walcott takes fast track to javelin glory
« Reply #552 on: August 12, 2012, 04:45:55 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/Walcott_takes_fast_track_to_javelin_glory-165884536.html

Walcott takes fast track to javelin glory
Story Created: Aug 12, 2012 at 12:02 AM ECT

l LONDON

Trinidad and Tobago's first Olympic gold medal in a field event was forged in the unlikely setting of an old school field by a teenager larking around with his cousins.

Less than four years on and still not yet out of his teens, Keshorn Walcott became Olympic javelin champion yesterday with a victory that surprised himself, let alone the sporting world and beyond.

More surprising was that the winner, only 19, hails from a nation and region, Cuba aside, not usually associated with field events.

Trinidadian sprinters? Yes. Think 1976 Olympic champion Hasely Crawford, Trinidad's first and only other Games gold medallist.

Trinidadian cricketers? Yes. Think former West Indies captain Brian Lara. Even footballers. Tobago-born Dwight Yorke who enjoyed a stellar career with Aston Villa and Manchester United.

Javelin throwers? Not until Walcott first picked up a javelin for fun as a 16-year-old and launched it 55 metres.

His rise to the top has come at a phenomenal rate and reached a crescendo in the Olympic stadium when, with no expectation of success despite being crowned world junior champion last month, he upstaged the sport's biggest names.

A sporty youngster who enjoyed cricket and football, Walcott said he realised quickly he was not cut out for the track.

"I was never really any good at sprinting so I didn't stick with that. I tried triple jump because my brother does that...I was doing that along with the javelin so I needed to make a choice. I was always better at javelin," Walcott said smiling, the gold medal proudly around his neck.

"In my first year I just went out there for fun."

His first major competition was the 2010 world juniors in which he flunked. But it hardened his attitude and resolve to come back a better athlete.

"I was 16th or something. I said to myself I would come back hard and better things will come."

His desire to improve paid off. Success came at regional level and then in Barcelona last month he became world junior champion.

His work ethic and endless hours put in at a pre-Games training camp in Wales paid off on Saturday, first setting a personal best with his opening effort of 83.51 metres, then bettering that with 84.58 on his next attempt.

One by one, his rivals tried to go longer. Each time they failed.

"Most of the other guys were under pressure coming into the competition because of the expectations on them," he said.

"There wasn't any on me and I was relaxed. After the fourth round and I was still in the lead, I thought 'things are coming close now'.

"The fifth and sixth throws I was really frightened. Then it hit me when the second guy (in silver medal position) threw and I told myself 'I just won gold'...I couldn't believe it."

Worryingly for his rivals, Walcott said deficiencies in his throwing technique meant "he had not been doing it right".

"I've got a lot to work on with my technique. The next few years I will hopefully get things right, get a lot stronger. I would like to throw over 90 metres...get into that bracket."

Expectations will be high for the future, he acknowledged.

"We will go back to the drawing board. Go home...hopefully my coach will allow me some rest, then we'll start again.

"I'm not famous. I'm proud of myself and hopefully everyone back home is proud of me."

Walcott now hopes to meet triple Olympic javelin champion and world record holder Jan Zelezny before he returns home to Trinidad.

Czech Zelezny, coach to women's javelin gold medallist Barbora Spotakova, dominated the sport for a decade, winning Olympic gold in 1992, 1996 and 2000.

"I only learned of him when I got into the javelin," Walcott said.

"I saw him over here (in London). I was shocked at his size. I look up to him as the best javelin thrower ever. Hopefully someday I'll get up to that standard."

In another sign that the sport has truly expanded beyond its traditional European heartland, Kenyan Julius Yego also made the final, finishing 12th of 12.

"The two of us...from different parts of the world, mixing with the Europeans... I don't think we were looked at (as finalists). Making the finals itself was a big achievement," Walcott said.

Jamaica, through the exploits of Usain Bolt and others, has evolved as a powerhouse of sprinting but they could also have a potential Olympic field event champion in future years in world junior discus champion Frederick Dacres.

"Hopefully, more and more people (from the Caribbean) will push forward into these events," said Walcott, who has been offered college scholarships in the United States but plans to continue working in Trinidad with his Cuban coach.

Jamaica break relay record
« Reply #553 on: August 12, 2012, 04:53:30 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/Jamaica_break_relay_record-165884726.html

Jamaica break relay record
Story Created: Aug 12, 2012 at 12:03 AM ECT

l LONDON

Usain Bolt and Jamaica's speedsters smashed the 4x100 metres world record, Britain's Mo Farah brought London to its feet with another golden distance win and Mexico broke Brazilian football hearts in a thrilling penultimate day of Olympic action.

But yesterday's sporting highs were tempered by news that a Syrian runner was expelled from the Games for doping and a South Korean football player was barred from a medal ceremony for staging a political protest after a bronze playoff with Japan.

In a day brimming with golden opportunities—32 titles were up for grabs— Bolt kissed off his one-man Olympic show to lead Jamaica home for gold in a blistering relay that brought London's track and field events to a shimmering close.

Bolt added that title to the 'double double' he won in the 100m and 200m, defending both after his Beijing triumphs and writing his way into Olympic history as one of the finest—and zaniest—sprinters the world has known.

As he crossed the line, Bolt cupped his hands in an 'M' shape above his head—a nod to Farah who had earlier run away from the pack to win the hosts' first men's 5,000m gold.

"It's always a beautiful feeling to end off like this," Bolt said. The quartet of Bolt, Yohan Blake, Michael Frater and Nesta Carter darted around the track in 36.84 seconds, beating their own record and leaving the United States trailing in their wake.

Farah, who snatched the 10,000m crown in London just days ago, is the seventh man to win both races at the same Olympics and the trailblazer of a British team that has claimed more medals than at any Games in more than a century.

"I wanted a gold medal for each of my two girls on the way," said the 29-year-old, whose wife Tania is heavily pregnant. "They could come any day now."

Russia's world champion Mariya Savinova saw off South African Caster Semenya to win the women's 800m, the US triumphed in the women's 4x400m relay and Trinidad and Tobago's Keshorn Walcott struck a surprise gold in the javelin.

The final few moments of Olympic glory in track and field bring a close to an eventful penultimate day of the Games in which startling athletic prowess did not always dominate the headlines.

Syrian athlete Ghfran Almouhamad, who competed in the women's 400 metres hurdles, was the 11th athlete to be thrown out of the Games since the start of the Olympic period, which began on July 16, after testing positive for a banned substance.

The 10-strong Syrian team has attracted considerable media attention during London 2012, less for its sporting achievements than the bloody conflict raging at home between rebels and forces loyal to President Bashar al-Assad.

Politics also crashed the party when the International Olympic Committee (IOC) called for a South Korea football player to be banned from a medal ceremony after he held up a poster referring to his country's long-running territorial dispute with Japan—after the two teams had just battled for the bronze.

Five-time world champions Brazil's long quest for Olympic football gold continues after Mexico stunned the usually stylish South Americans with a 2-1 win.

Oribe Peralta put Mexico ahead after just 28 seconds and added their second in the 75th minute with a header before Hulk replied for Brazil in stoppage time in front of a London Games record crowd of 86,162 at Wembley Stadium.

The Brazilians, glittering with the considerable talents of Neymar, Hulk and Oscar, had been favourites for the title but failed to threaten a more direct and efficient Mexican side.

Brazil's women provided some consolation, beating the United States to gold in the volleyball.

The upsets spread to the pool where Chinese divers Qiu Bo and Lin Yue could not better the efforts of American David Boudia in the 10m event. Qiu won silver and Britain's Tom Daley, cheered on by English football player David Beckham, took bronze.

But there was no surprise in the women's basketball where the US claimed a fifth straight gold by thrashing France 86-50 to extend their Olympics winning streak to 41 games.

In the ring, Ukraine's Oleksandr Usyk claimed the men's heavyweight crown while classy light-welterweight Roniel Iglesias Sotolongo won Cuba's first boxing gold in eight years and Britain's Luke Campbell took the bantamweight title.

The hosts have claimed 28 gold medals, comfortably beating their Beijing tally of 19. It puts them third in the overall medals table, which the United States top on 44 to China's 38.

With one day of Olympian effort left, today's highlights include the toughest running event—the marathon—and the showcase men's basketball final, which sees pre-tournament favourites the US taking on a dangerous Spain side.

Organisers have less than 24 hours to prepare the stadium for the closing ceremony, which artistic director Kim Gavin said would celebrate British pop music from the last 50 years.

The Spice Girls, One Direction, George Michael and The Who are expected to perform as London prepares to bid goodbye to what the Guardian newspaper dubbed the "feelgood Games".

Games chief Sebastian Coe declined to compare London with other Olympics, but said simply: "I'm pretty pleased with the way we've delivered."

"Party, party, party," he told a news briefing when asked to describe the closing concert ending a drama-filled few weeks.

Forecasters point to a warm and dry day in London to bring to a close a festival of sport that has helped to lift the gloom in recession-hit Britain.

As well as a "hit list" of more than 30 popular songs, the closing ceremony will feature thousands of athletes and performing volunteers as well as a section devoted to the next summer Olympic hosts, Rio de Janeiro.

"I think it's a gift that we've got Rio next because their eight minutes is so wonderful and really full of that samba beat," Gavin said of the 2016 hosts.

Pound: Jamaican sprinters should expect more drugs tests
« Reply #554 on: August 12, 2012, 05:09:55 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/Pound__Jamaican_sprinters__should_expect_more_drugs_tests-165884606.html

Pound: Jamaican sprinters should expect more drugs tests

l LONDON

Jamaican athletes, who have dominated the sprint events at the London Olympics, should now expect more visits by drugs testers, former anti-doping chief Dick Pound said yesterday.

Usain Bolt stormed to victory in both the 100 and 200 metres with Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce snatching gold in the women's 100 as the Caribbean island consolidated its domination of the blue riband events.

"No, they are one of the groups that are hard to test, it is (hard) to get in and find them and so forth," former World Anti-Doping Agency chief Pound told Reuters Television when asked whether he was happy with the way Jamaica tested its athletes.

"I think they can expect, with the extraordinary results that they have had, that they will be on everybody's radar," said Pound, an International Olympic Committee member.

Jamaica won a clean sweep in the men's 200 with Yohan Blake and Warren Weir winning silver and bronze behind Bolt.

Blake was also second to Bolt in the 100 and the duo also combined with Nesta Carter and Michael Frater to retain the 4x100 relay title in a world record time. It was Bolt's third gold for the second successive Games.

Veronica Campbell-Brown of Jamaica also claimed bronze in the women's 100m behind Fraser-Pryce.

Pound said the IOC was still a long way away from winning the fight against doping with 11 athletes being expelled from the Games since the start of the Olympic period on July 16.

"I think it is too soon to say. I think we are gaining and getting better at science," said Pound, WADA's first president.

"We are starting to get better at smart testing. But there is a long way to go yet. In Churchillian terms, it is not the beginning of the end, but the end of the beginning."

Victor Conte, convicted owner of the now-defunct BALCO laboratory that was at the centre of a global doping scandal, had said last week that 60 per cent of athletes at the Games were on drugs.

"He is probably more likely to know than we are. I hope it is not 60 per cent, but it is certainly a lot more than we are catching," Pound said.

"The drug testing that will be done here is first class. I would not expect many cases at the Olympics because if you test positive here you fail not a drugs test but an IQ test."

The IOC will run more than 5,000 tests at the Games that end today.

More than 100 athletes were also caught using banned substances in the months leading up to the Games following increased testing by national and international anti-doping agencies, designed to root out cheats before they arrived in London.

Best Olympics ever ...Sprint relay bronze makes four medals
« Reply #555 on: August 12, 2012, 05:21:03 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/Best_Olympics_ever-165884736.html

Best Olympics ever
Sprint relay bronze makes four medals

By Kwame Laurence

"With darkness there is always a ray of sunlight. And this day in sport I hope is the ray of sunlight for the country."

Marc Burns had just helped Trinidad and Tobago earn bronze in the Olympic Games men's 4x100 metres relay, here in London, England. But the veteran sprinter took time out from celebrating to commiserate with the flood victims back home.

"Disheartening news. Anyone who lost valuables…the man who passed, our condolences go out to his family."

The "ray of sunlight" referred to by Burns came in the form of men's javelin gold from Keshorn Walcott and the sprint relay bronze.

Keston Bledman, Burns, Emmanuel Callender and Richard "Torpedo" Thompson, running in that order, finished fourth in the 4x100 final. The Canadians, however, were disqualified and T&T were promoted to third.

The bronze always looked on the cards, but on the final handover, Thompson had to pause and then reach for the baton. Callender eventually got the stick into the anchorman's hand. Thompson battled valiantly on the home straight, throwing himself over the line in a desperate attempt to secure bronze.

But there was disappointment, T&T finishing fourth in 38.12 seconds.

Jamaica won in a world record 36.84, beating United States into second spot. The Americans clocked a national record time of 37.04.

After sorrow, however, there was joy for T&T, thanks to the disqualification of third-placed Canada.

"We moved from being so sad and down," Thompson told the Sunday Express, "to being on the next end of the spectrum. We give God thanks, and we give him all the glory. Without him we wouldn't be able to claim the bronze medal today."

Callender said that Walcott's golden throw was a fillip for the relay team.

"Everyone was motivated by Keshorn."

Though he was battling with hip and groin injuries, Bledman decided to run in yesterday's final. He gave his heart and soul, his leadoff leg setting the stage for Olympic bronze.

Afterwards, Bledman paid an emotional tribute to his late grandmother.

"I dedicate this race to God, my fans and my grandmother that passed away. I wanted to give up at a point in time, and she told me to do it for her, so I dedicate this race to her."

The sprint relay bronze was T&T's fourth medal at London 2012. Walcott was the star of the show as the country earned one gold medal and three bronzes in its best-ever Olympic performance.

T&T's biggest haul before London 2012 came at the 1964 Games, in Tokyo, Japan—one silver medal and two bronzes.

Yesterday, at the Olympic Stadium, Walcott and the sprint relay men added to Lalonde Gordon's men's 400m bronze and the bronze earned by Gordon, Jarrin Solomon, Ade Alleyne-Forte and Deon Lendore in the 4x400m.

"Big, big day in sport for Trinidad and Tobago," said Burns. "Bronze from the 4x1 team, gold from Keshorn, anthem being played. Words can't describe that feeling."

2012 Summer Olympic Medals Table
Nation G S B Tot

United States 44 29 29 102
China 38 27 22 87
Britain 28 15 19 62
Russia 21 25 32 78
South Korea 13 7 7 27
Germany 11 19 14 44
France 10 11 12 33
Italy 8 7 8 23
Hungary 8 4 5 17
Australia 7 16 12 35
Japan 6 14 17 37
Netherlands 6 6 8 20
Kazakhstan 6 0 4 10
Ukraine 5 4 9 18
New Zealand 5 3 5 13
Iran 4 5 3 12
Jamaica 4 4 4 12
Cuba 4 3 5 12
North Korea 4 0 2 6
Spain 3 9 4 16
Brazil 3 4 8 15
Belarus 3 4 5 12
Czech Republic 3 3 3 9
South Africa 3 2 1 6
Ethiopia 3 1 3 7
Romania 2 5 2 9
Denmark 2 4 3 9
Kenya 2 3 4 9
Poland 2 2 6 10
Azerbaijan 2 2 5 9
Turkey 2 2 1 5
Croatia 2 1 1 4
Norway 2 1 1 4
Switzerland 2 1 0 3
Canada 1 5 12 18
Colombia 1 3 4 8
Mexico 1 3 3 7
Sweden 1 3 3 7
Georgia 1 3 2 6
Ireland 1 1 3 5
Argentina 1 1 2 4
Lithuania 1 1 2 4
Slovenia 1 1 2 4
Serbia 1 1 1 3
Tunisia 1 1 1 3
Dominican Republic 1 1 0 2
Trinidad & Tobago 1 0 3 4
Uzbekistan 1 0 3 4
Latvia 1 0 1 2
Algeria 1 0 0 1
Bahamas 1 0 0 1
Grenada 1 0 0 1
Venezuela 1 0 0 1
Thailand 0 2 1 3
Egypt 0 2 0 2
India 0 1 4 5
Mongolia 0 1 3 4
Slovakia 0 1 3 4
Armenia 0 1 2 3
Belgium 0 1 2 3
Finland 0 1 2 3
Bulgaria 0 1 1 2
Estonia 0 1 1 2
Indonesia 0 1 1 2
Malaysia 0 1 1 2
Puerto Rico 0 1 1 2
Taiwan 0 1 1 2
Botswana 0 1 0 1
Cyprus 0 1 0 1
Gabon 0 1 0 1
Guatemala 0 1 0 1
Montenegro 0 1 0 1
Portugal 0 1 0 1
Greece 0 0 2 2
Moldova 0 0 2 2
Qatar 0 0 2 2
Singapore 0 0 2 2
Afghanistan 0 0 1 1
Bahrain 0 0 1 1
Hong Kong 0 0 1 1
Kuwait 0 0 1 1
Morocco 0 0 1 1
Saudi Arabia 0 0 1 1
Tajikistan 0 0 1 1
« Last Edit: August 12, 2012, 05:25:09 AM by Socapro »

Today's London Olympics schedule
« Reply #556 on: August 12, 2012, 05:32:38 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/Today_s_London_Olympics_schedule-165884706.html

Today's London Olympics schedule

Athletics At The Mall
Men's Marathon, 11 a.m.

Basketball At North Greenwich Arena Men
Bronze medal, 11 a.m.
Gold medal, 3 p.m.

Boxing At ExCeL
Men's Flyweight (52kg); Men's Lightweight (60kg); Men's Welterweight (69kg); Men's Light Heavyweight (81kg) and Men's Super Heavyweight (+91kg) finals, 1:30 p.m.

Cycling (Mountain Bike) At Hadleigh Farm, Essex
Men's Cross-Country race, 1:30 p.m.

Gymnastics At Rhythmic Wembley Arena
Women's Group All-Around final, 1:30 p.m.

Modern Pentathlon
Women

Fencing (At Olympic Park-Handball Arena), 8 a.m.
Swimming (At Olympic Park-Aquatics Centre), 12:35 p.m.
Riding (At Greenwich Park), 2:35 p.m.
Combined Event (At Greenwich Park), 6 p.m.

Team Handball At Copper Box
Men

Bronze medal match, 11 a.m.
Gold medal match, 2:30 p.m.

Volleyball At Earls Court
Men

Bronze medal match, 9:30 a.m.
Gold medal match, 1 p.m.

Water Polo At Olympic Park-Water Polo Arena
Men

Classification matches (5th-6th, 7th-8th places), 10:20 a.m.
Bronze and Gold medal matches, 2:30 p.m.

Wrestling (Freestyle) At ExCeL
Men's 66kg and 96kg qualifications, 1/8 finals, quarterfinals, semifinals, 8:30 a.m.
Men's 66kg and 96kg repechage rounds, bronze and gold medal contests, 12:45 p.m.

Biggest Olympic surprise
« Reply #557 on: August 12, 2012, 05:46:07 AM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/olympics/2012-08-12/biggest-olympic-surprise

Biggest Olympic surprise
Published: Sunday, August 12, 2012
Rachael Thompson-King

Keshorn Walcott’s gold medal may have been the biggest surprise of the Olympic Games in London, England. Yesterday, Walcott shocked everyone at Olympic Stadium when his second throw of 84.58 metres topped the Men’s Javelin event, less than a month after he became the world junior champion. He astonished himself also, saying, “I’m surprised I even made the final. I just went out there to relax and enjoy it and it worked out. “It means everything to me. This is what it’s all about.” Walcott, from Toco, pushed T&T’s medal count to three before the men’s 4x100m relay team of Richard Thompson, Keston Bledman, Emmanuel Callender and Marc Burns added a bronze medal to make it four—T&T’s best medal haul at an Olympic Games.

The others came from Lalonde Gordon, who won bronze in the men’s 400m on Monday, and the the men’s 400m relay final. The local men finished fourth in the men’s 4x100m relay, but were promoted after Canada, which was originally third, was disqualified for stepping out of lane. But yesterday clearly belonged to Walcott, who made it the second time in the history of the Olympics that T&T’s anthem was played and its flag lifted above all others during the medal ceremony. The first was sprinter Hasely Crawford, who won gold in the Men’s 100m final in the 1976 Montreal Games in Canada. Walcott gave T&T its first victory in an Olympic field event and also became only the second non-European athlete to take the crown in 100 years of the Olympic Games. “Honestly, I was just glad to make it into the final. I was just looking to do a personal best,” said the soft-spoken Walcott. 

He established the lead in the opening round with a throw of 83.51 metres, to break his own national record of 82.83, and increased it in the second round with 84.58 which proved enough to win on the night. The only other thrower who came close was Ukraine’s Oleksandr Pyatnytsya, whose third effort, of 84.51, was some seven centimetres short. Finland’s Antti Ruuskanen was third with a throw of 84.12. “My heart was beating really fast going into the last throw. I knew these guys were experienced. But I’m so happy now.” Defending Olympic champion Andreas Thorkildsen from Norway and Czech Republic’s Vitezslav Vesely, who threw 88.34 metres in qualifying, were the favourites coming into the final. Thorkildsen had to settle for sixth place with his attempt of 82.63. “I just trained my hardest and tried to enjoy every time I come out,” Walcott said. He had only great things to say of his mother, Beverly, and his coach, Ishmael Mastrafa Lopez.  “I want to thank the entire country. Firstly my mom, she believed in me throughout from since I started. My coach had been guiding me. “I just want to say thanks again to the entire country for supporting me and believing in me,” said the golden Walcott.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2012, 05:47:58 AM by Socapro »

Disappointment, jubilation as relay men grabs bronze
« Reply #558 on: August 12, 2012, 06:02:39 AM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/olympics/2012-08-12/disappointment-jubilation-relay-men-grabs-bronze

Disappointment, jubilation as relay men grabs bronze
Rachael Thompson-King

It was a delayed celebration for the T&T men’s 4x100 metres relay team, who escaped with a bronze medal after Canada was disqualified in the final event yesterday in the Olympic Games in London, England. The quartet of Richard Thompson, Marc Burns, Emmanuel Callender and Keston Bledman crossed the line in fourth place in the time of 38.12 seconds and, for a moment watched, as Jamaica celebrated its gold medal, USA, the silver and Canada, the bronze. But disappointment turned to jubilation when the replay of the race showed the left foot of Canada’s most veteran runner, Jared Connaughton, making contact with the inside lane marking, as he rounded the curve before handing the baton to anchor man Justyn Warner. T&T was already heading off the track at the Olympic Stadium while the Canadians had grabbed their flags to begin their celebratory lap, when the message appeared on the scoreboard indicating that they were disqualified. Their joy turned to despair and they dropped to the track in tears. Thompson, who ran the anchor leg, said:  “When we crossed the line in fourth, my emotions went from two extremes, from sad to ecstatic.”

Canada appealed the disqualification, but it was denied, and T&T was awarded the bronze. “It was a good feeling. We knew what was on the line. We did our part and the results did the rest,” said Burns His teammate Bledman added, “We put our hearts into it. This is the greatest team. I just can’t explain this feeling,” said Bledman, who seemed to be in extreme pain after the race. “I wasn’t even sure I could run today (yesterday). My leg was cramping and I was getting a pain in my hips but I decided just to leave it out on the track.” The quartet fed off the success of T&T’s second Olympic gold medal which was achieved earlier in the day by javelin thrower Keshorn Walcott, who beat a more experienced field to follow up his success earlier this year when he won the event at the World Junior Championships.

However, they had no answer for Usain Bolt and his Jamaican teammates who destroyed their own world record by fully 2/10th of a second, running a remarkable 36.84 seconds while the Americans, which included Trell Kimmons, Justin Gatlin, Tyson Gay and Ryan Bailey, equalled the former world mark of 37.04, a new national record. Olympic 100m and 200m champion Bolt and his teammate Blake, double-silver medallist, did not disappoint as the latter ran a blistering third leg to set up the victory. This was after Nesta Carter and Michael Frater produced excellent first and second legs, respectively. Bolt pulled away to leave Bailey in his dust, to delight of the capacity crowd. Callender on behalf of the unit sent out appreciation from to T&T for the support and also included his fellow teammates who did not run but played a great part in the team’s success. “I must mention Jamol James and Rondel Sorrillo because they supported us. They didn’t get a chance to run but they had an important role in us going out there and running our hearts out.” He also went on to thank Aaron Armstrong for also being supportive of the group.

Results
Men's Javelin Throw
1  Keshorn Walcott, TRI  84.58
2  Oleksandr Pyatnytsya,  84.51
3  Antti Ruuskanen, FIN  84.12
4  Vitezslav Vesely, CZE  83.34
5  Tero Pitkamaki, FIN  82.80
6  Andreas Thorkildsen, NOR  82.63
7  Spiridon Lebesis, GRE  81.91
8  Tino Haber, GER  81.21
9  Stuart Farquhar, NZL  80.22
10  Roderick Genki Dean, JPN  79.95
11  Ari Mannio, FIN  78.60
12  Julius Yego, KEN  77.15

Men's 4 x 100m Relay
1  Jamaica  36.84
2  United States  37.04
3  Trinidad & Tobago  38.12
4  France  38.16
5  Japan  38.35
6  Netherlands  38.39
7  Australia  38.43

Online Deeks

« Reply #559 on: August 12, 2012, 06:19:49 AM »
This Olimpic squad is far more crazy than a roller coaster at disney. You talk about highs and low. Jeez. A GOLD medal from Keshorn. Never in my dream I would have expected this. The man is just a junior. But faith does do funny things with your life. Yes, we all agree about his potential. But not now. Rio, yes. But yesterday!! ?? No way!!. Yesterday was just his day. Congrats, Yute. You have delivered.You can pump your chest just like Crawfie. Maybe the PM will name she helicopter after you. I serious, eh. From underachievers to overachievers in such a short space of time will drive any prognosticator bazodie(deservedly so).

Olympics draw to a close with mega-party weekend
« Reply #560 on: August 12, 2012, 06:25:49 AM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2012-08-12/olympics-draw-close-mega-party-weekend

Olympics draw to a close with mega-party weekend

LONDON—The Olympic finishing line is almost in sight. With just a few events to go, athletes and Londoners alike are set for the mother of all celebrations—the finale to a weekend of gold-medal parties and a pop-tastic closing ceremony. It’s about time, say some social observers, who claim that London’s party scene has been muted during the games, dragged down by economic recession and a downturn in central London businesses as a result of the games further east.

Britain’s economic gloom means nightclubs and pop-up venues have had to work to lure athletes and celebrities. But they are giving thanks for Olympic swimmers, whose events ended last weekend, leaving them free to party. The paparazzi were also thankful, filling newspaper pages with party-hardy Olympians. US champion Michael Phelps—who ended his Olympic career with 22 medals, 18 of them gold—has been spotted in London’s Soho nightlife district.

Teammate Ryan Lochte was photographed leaving the Chinawhite nightclub—long a favourite of partying British royalty. This time around, the club has drawn athletes in droves by offering gold medallists a free Golden Cocktail—a concoction of champagne, cognac and real gold flakes priced, for the rest of us, at £2,012 (US$3,150). Lochte emerged looking a bit bleary-eyed, but it could have been the chlorine. Zara Phillips, granddaughter of Queen Elizabeth II and a member of Britain’s silver medal-winning equestrian eventing team, was spotted drinking champagne and dancing shoeless at the club.

“I’ve heard it’s not been easy for a lot of venues in London, but we’ve been very lucky,” said Chinawhite club manager James Spallone. He said the venue was designed to be “a safe haven for athletes to let their hair down.” “They are amongst their peers. They know everybody,” he said. “It’s fun. It’s like a prom.” Swimmers have not been the only athletes blowing off steam. Cyclist Bradley Wiggins tweeted pictures of himself celebrating with a drink in front of St Paul’s Cathedral after winning gold in the road race. “Getting wasted,” he tweeted.

Another cyclist—20-year-old Gijs van Hoecke of Belgium—was sent home after photos appeared of him looking very drunk while leaving a London nightclub. Still, that was all prologue to the final weekend blowout, which certainly won’t be confined to Olympic athletes. Some of the action will centre on national hospitality houses set up by the Dutch, the Russians and the French, among others. A lucky elite, however, will take to the water for a handful of yacht parties. Nearly a dozen of the world’s most luxurious vessels, including the 413-foot Octopus, owned by Microsoft co-founder Paul Allen, are docked in east London near the Olympic site.

On land, Olympic sponsors such as Adidas and Omega plan parties at invitation-only pop-up clubs set up for the games. Omega hosted a Brazilian night last Friday to celebrate Rio’s turn as host of the 2016 Games, while Adidas is sponsoring a closing-night party with DJ team Livin’ Proof on the decks. Sportswear rival Puma—Usain Bolt’s sponsor—plans a closing-night celebration at its Jamaica-themed venue in London’s Brick Lane.

Budweiser is sponsoring Club Bud, transforming the Roundhouse music venue in north London into a party destination expected to draw US athletes—including its biggest stars, the basketball team—as well as big-name hip-hop artists. More accessibly, London’s Hyde Park is the location for a closing-night outdoor concert featuring Blur, New Order and The Specials.

For some 80,000 spectators inside Olympic Stadium and millions of television viewers worldwide, the celebrations will include watching an Olympic closing ceremony that music director David Arnold promises will be “the greatest after-party in the world.” “If the opening ceremony was the wedding, then we’re the wedding reception,” he told the Daily Telegraph.

Between director Danny Boyle’s emotion-churning opening spectacle and the record medal haul for Team GB, these games have left Britain revelling in a warm bath of patriotism. That looks set to continue with the closing ceremony, billed as “a symphony of British music” and celebration of the nation’s creativity in design and the arts. There will be a few solemn ceremonial elements, including an athletes’ march, the raising of the flags of Greece—birthplace of the Olympics—current host Britain and 2016 games’ host Brazil, speeches and the extinguishing of the Olympic cauldron, marking the handover of the games to Rio.

But the main event will be a mashup of music, theatre, circus and hit parade, created by a team used to creating rock spectaculars. Director Kim Gavin has overseen tours for the band Take That and directed London’s 2007 Princess Diana memorial concert. Designer Es Devlin has created sets for everyone from Lady Gaga to the Royal Opera. As with the opening ceremony, London is aiming for a plucky, irreverent tone far removed from Beijing’s 2008 Olympic closer, which was heavy on precision displays of fireworks, acrobatics and dancing.

“Hopefully it will wrap up the spirit of what these games have been, which is slightly anarchic, slightly mischievous, funny, heartwarming, emotional, inspiring, and uniquely British,” Arnold said. The Daily Mail newspaper published photographs of what it said was the set, involving reconstructions of London landmarks such as St Paul’s Cathedral and Tower Bridge. The show also features thousands of volunteer performers, and Allen says it will include about 30 British hit singles from the past five decades.

Organisers are doing their best to keep the lineup of closing ceremony live artists under wraps, but the Muse, The Who and George Michael have all said they will take part. Tips and photos have leaked out of the rehearsal venue, an old car plant in east London. So will the The Spice Girls sing Wannabe? Quite probably. Will Ray Davies of The Kinks perform his London ballad Waterloo Sunset? Very likely. Will there be members of Queen for the old-timers and acts like Jessie J and Tinie Tempah for the kids? Definitely maybe. Whoever is on the bill, one thing is certain—it will end with fireworks.

Olympic fire sale: A price list

A partial list of the items up for sale from the 2012 Summer Olympics in London:

Athletes’ Village beanbag chair
— £15 (US$23.50)

Purple branded sun umbrella
— £39 (US$61)

Olympics world map coffee table
— £29 (US$45.50)

Single mattress — £49 (US$77)

Desk lamp — £7 (US$10)

Stripey deck chair — £29 (US$45.50)

Chaise longue and ottoman
— £299 (US$470)

Changing bench & three hooks
— £49 (US$77)

Large pebble pattern rug
  — £99 (US$155)

Reception desk (walnut)
— £575 (US$902)

Bookcase — £9 (US$61)

AP

Gold 36 years later—worth the wait
« Reply #561 on: August 12, 2012, 06:47:36 AM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2012-08-12/gold-36-years-later%E2%80%94worth-wait

Gold 36 years later—worth the wait
Alvin Corneal

Who would have thought that Keshorn Walcott, a 19-year-old would have toppled the world in throwing the javelin, one of the most challenging field events in the Olympic Games. Yes, we had taken note of his Carifta success, his World Youth Championships victory and now the greatest prize of all, an Olympic gold medal. All of a sudden, we begin to reminisce about the year 1976, when Hasely Crawford produced a wonderful run to bring T&T its first gold medal. The people of this state were overjoyed by that day when the fastest man in the world was from our industrial capital San Fernando. Today, the people of Toco must take a bow. The country must recognise the brilliance of Walcott and the NAAA must immediately return to the drawing board in preparation for Brazil 2016.

This is not to say that we must underscore the bronze medals by our Lalonde Gordon, and our two men’s relay teams. It shows that there was consistency.

One may say that despite the fact neither George Bovell III and Njisane Phillips were among the medals, reaching the final in their events was commendable and it demonstrated that they all entered the Olympics with adequate preparation. In the case of the young cyclist, maybe it was his inexperience or just the physical pressure of having to ride his races in such proximity that his young muscles may not have been able to recover fully to ensure his best result. No doubt Wayne Davis II and Jehue Gordon have also done reasonably well and have left us with the belief that a full year of regular scientific training and the ultimate exposure can find the names of these athletes in medal places in Brazil 2016.

Of course there are Commonwealth Games, Pan Am Games, World Championships and CAC Games all to show our mettle before Brazil, and it will probably be a most enjoyable period of sports enjoyment for the people of T&T. For the entire Caribbean, the joy of success was even greater, especially since our Jamaican friends brought glory to their own country and the region as well, with some scintillating performances, by both their men and women. The organisation and management committees of the British Olympic committee must be pleased with the results on and out of the stadia. They created an atmosphere which was conducive to traveling and walking around the venues safely. Their volunteers were not only helpful with the answering of questions about transport, historic sights but almost any others which were thrown at them. Their medal haul was better than they ever had and it is with great appreciation that the sporting world can comfortably say many thanks to London for a marvelous experience.

Farewell lessons from London
« Reply #562 on: August 12, 2012, 06:50:18 AM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/olympics/2012-08-12/farewell-lessons-london

OLYMPIC JOURNAL—DAY 17
Farewell lessons from London

The London Olympics Games have been quite revealing. Sports is no longer part time. It is no longer a casual fellow or just by the way. It is no longer a passing moment, a pastime or a hobby. Sports now is serious business.  British Prime Minister David Cameron announced yesterday that sports is a great way to unify people. Perhaps he is not alone. In T&T, we only have to look at the Strike Squad and Soca Warriors in football and our T&T cricket team at the Champions League, to understand the unbridled joy which sports bring to the nation.

Prime Minister Cameron is planning several changes: “If we want to have a great sporting legacy for our children, and I do, we have got to have an answer that brings the whole of society together.”

He noted that the problem, as far as sports goes, was not simply one of money, but of “some teachers not wanting to join in and play their part.” Do we have that same problem in T&T? Because most sporting organisations complain that it is hard to make inroads in schools for one reason or the other. In that regard, our sports and education ministries need to work together. We need to ensure that our teachers understand their role in this. We must build on the success of this 2012 Olympic group—12 finals, one gold and three bronze medals. The spirit and feeling of unity in the nation could be felt throught the country. 

Just as Deon Lendore said after the 4x400 metres relay team won bronze: “When I looked to the ground in the home straight and saw the shadow of the British runner, I said to myself: ‘No Way, No Way  he is going to pass me now...” These are telling lessons on the desire to succeed. It is this attitude we must adopt. We have learned of the outstanding support given to some of the foreign performers—Chris Hoy and Jason Kenny in cycling are the best example. There are 12 backroom staff with these cyclists. Our own Njisane Phillips participated in both the match sprint and keirin. He had two support staff. We must understand that to achieve what we did, with the little we had, was a tribute to our young athletes.

Offline STMB

« Reply #563 on: August 12, 2012, 02:46:57 PM »
So I hope we can all realize the key to Keshorn's success, his coach.

Through providence, an IAAF-certified, Cuban coach, married to a Trini ended up coaching Keshorn, a young man with a healthy upbringing, right attitude, and thirst for success, who initially tried track, then the triple jump, and found the javelin. This is almost a lottery sequence of events.

But we should not have to rely so heavily on providence. We need to have all the building blocks in place, so that should any elements appear (talent, coaching, meets, facilities, etc) the chances of success can be maximized. Talking about:
(i) a more frequent program of caravans for T&F promotion,
(ii) a program to develop certified coaches to demonstrate the crafts, guide and coach athletes (without them all talent in the world can't be developed),
(iii) the sponsorship and commitment from both the government and private sector (with incentives for the latter to get involved),
(iv) a frequent program of clinics by event groupings (sprints, hurdles, middle distances, long distances, jumps, throws) in case athletes cannot find the coaching expertise in their clubs,
(v) guaranteed access to strength, hill work, and track, jumping and throwing facilities,
(vi) construction of more rural training facilities (not expensive "bobol" stadia, just tracks and field event locales),
(vii) financial support for sending contingents to a healthy itinerary of local, regional, and US T&F meets (other than just Carifta and CACs) for the athletes to test their progress and get "big meet" exposure and experience
(viii) an 8 year/2OG cycle goal for a gradual increase in targeted medal count at junior and senior meets,
(ix) a funding strategy for existing pros, returning collegiate athletes replete with checks and balances for fair determination of funding for the deserved
(x) an incentive structure for medalling performance
(xi) a serious drug testing program to weed out those lured more by rewards than hard work and national glory
(xii) programs to develop skills in the supportive areas - sports management and administration, T&F meet officiating, T&F meet technical expertise (timing/starting/wind gauge/electronic board systems), sports promotion, sports agency, physio/psycho-therapy and sports science, facilities and equipment management
(xiii) Government/private sector co-promotion of at least 2 IAAF-level meets annually to bring international talents to our shores (without the funding strappings that challenge the likes of a single club ie Hampton Games for example)
(xiv) a cascading strategy to evolve athletes from primary to secondary to club to national level selections, or some hybrid.

Some of these elements are already in place, some in rudimentary stages, some more mature, but there needs to be a synergistic, over-arching, multi-year strategy and "project" in place with goals for so many OG gold, silver, and bronze by 2020, interspersed with goals for Carifta and junior/senior CAC medal hauls in 2-4 years, Commonwealth, Panam, NACAC U-23 and World Champs medals in 4-6 years, and finally OG medal count in 8 years. Intermediate marker/goals would be set to gauge progress.

It is time we get past the age of surprise/unexpected medals, and get to a level of full expectation of performance excellence in most or all levels and events of T&F.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2012, 02:51:30 PM by STMB »

« Reply #564 on: August 12, 2012, 03:05:57 PM »
So I hope we can all realize the key to Keshorn's success, his coach.

Through providence, an IAAF-certified, Cuban coach, married to a Trini ended up coaching Keshorn, a young man with a healthy upbringing, right attitude, and thirst for success, who initially tried track, then the triple jump, and found the javelin. This is almost a lottery sequence of events.

But we should not have to rely so heavily on providence. We need to have all the building blocks in place, so that should any elements appear (talent, coaching, meets, facilities, etc) the chances of success can be maximized. Talking about:
(i) a more frequent program of caravans for T&F promotion,
(ii) a program to develop certified coaches to demonstrate the crafts, guide and coach athletes (without them all talent in the world can't be developed),
(iii) the sponsorship and commitment from both the government and private sector (with incentives for the latter to get involved),
(iv) a frequent program of clinics by event groupings (sprints, hurdles, middle distances, long distances, jumps, throws) in case athletes cannot find the coaching expertise in their clubs,
(v) guaranteed access to strength, hill work, and track, jumping and throwing facilities,
(vi) construction of more rural training facilities (not expensive "bobol" stadia, just tracks and field event locales),
(vii) financial support for sending contingents to a healthy itinerary of local, regional, and US T&F meets (other than just Carifta and CACs) for the athletes to test their progress and get "big meet" exposure and experience
(viii) an 8 year/2OG cycle goal for a gradual increase in targeted medal count at junior and senior meets,
(ix) a funding strategy for existing pros, returning collegiate athletes replete with checks and balances for fair determination of funding for the deserved
(x) an incentive structure for medalling performance
(xi) a serious drug testing program to weed out those lured more by rewards than hard work and national glory
(xii) programs to develop skills in the supportive areas - sports management and administration, T&F meet officiating, T&F meet technical expertise (timing/starting/wind gauge/electronic board systems), sports promotion, sports agency, physio/psycho-therapy and sports science, facilities and equipment management
(xiii) Government/private sector co-promotion of at least 2 IAAF-level meets annually to bring international talents to our shores (without the funding strappings that challenge the likes of a single club ie Hampton Games for example)
(xiv) a cascading strategy to evolve athletes from primary to secondary to club to national level selections, or some hybrid.

Some of these elements are already in place, some in rudimentary stages, some more mature, but there needs to be a synergistic, over-arching, multi-year strategy and "project" in place with goals for so many OG gold, silver, and bronze by 2020, interspersed with goals for Carifta and junior/senior CAC medal hauls in 2-4 years, Commonwealth, Panam, NACAC U-23 and World Champs medals in 4-6 years, and finally OG medal count in 8 years. Intermediate marker/goals would be set to gauge progress.

It is time we get past the age of surprise/unexpected medals, and get to a level of full expectation of performance excellence in most or all levels and events of T&F.
Great stuff! It’s people like you that need to be hired by our NAAA as you obviously have your head screwed on the right way about implementing a strategic plan to see T&T, discover, develop and nurture more athletic talent and win many more medals at future Olympics than we did this time round.

It's a pity those dinosaurs at the NAAA, etc keep chasing away those with fresh progressive ideas and the right skills and know how to offer to implement them like Ato, etc.

Offline STMB

« Reply #565 on: August 12, 2012, 03:37:53 PM »
Well I have a lot of experience working with "dinosaurs" albeit in other industries.

The trick is to have a solid framework in mind, then be careful to weave some of their ideas into the solution to stroke their egos, while making them feel that they came up with the solution themselves. But it's all for the greater good in the end.

T&T is small so I am sure somebody in here knows people in the NAAAs and Ministry of Sports, so this is my 2-cents that they can shelve, take bits and parts, or adopt as they wish, with valuable contributions from others in the forum as well.

It is just hard watching our potential go to waste or get there only part way, for too long. While we celebrate our best OG showing we have to recognize that we are much better than this and we should be dominant in the sport.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2012, 03:45:18 PM by STMB »

« Reply #566 on: August 12, 2012, 03:50:08 PM »
Well I have a lot of experience working with "dinosaurs" albeit in other industries.

The trick is to have a solid framework in mind, then be careful to weave some of their ideas into the solution to stroke their egos, while making them feel that they came up with the solution themselves. But it's all for the greater good in the end.

T&T is small so I am sure somebody in here knows people in the NAAAs and Ministry of Sports, so this is my 2-cents that they can shelve, take bits and parts, or adopt as they wish, with valuable contributions from others in the forum as well.

It is just hard watching our potential go to waste or get there only part way, for too long. While we celebrate our best OG showing we have to recognize that we are much better than this and we should be dominant in the sport.

« Reply #567 on: August 12, 2012, 07:26:06 PM »
Does Alvin Corneal know the meaning of the word underscore???  Man his writing is puerile...shimps  why de f**k he eh jes go away now?

Offline STMB

« Reply #568 on: August 13, 2012, 11:11:01 AM »
OC withdraws gold medal from shot put athlete Nadzeya Ostapchuk

13/08/2012
The International Olympic Committee (IOC) today announced that it has disqualified, withdrawn the medal from, and excluded Belarus’s Nadzeya Ostapchuk (athletics, women’s shot put) from the Games of the XXX Olympiad in London.

The athlete was first requested to provide a urine sample for a doping control on 5 August. She competed the next day in the women’s shot put event, where she placed first, and was asked to provide a sample straight after her competition. Both samples indicated the presence of metenolone, which is classified as anabolic agent under the 2012 Prohibited List.

Upon the recommendation of the IOC Disciplinary Commission, composed for this case of Thomas Bach (Chairman), Denis Oswald and Frank Fredericks, the IOC Executive Board decided:

I. The Athlete Ms Nadzeya Ostapchuk, Belarus, Athletics:

(i) is disqualified from the women’s shot put event, where she had placed first;

(ii) is excluded from the Games of the XXX Olympiad in London in 2012;

(iii) shall have her medal, diploma and medallist pin in the above-mentioned event withdrawn;

(iv) shall have her Olympic Identity and Accreditation Card immediately cancelled and withdrawn.

II. The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) is requested to modify the results of the above-mentioned event accordingly and to consider any further action within its own competence.

III. The NOC of Belarus is ordered to return to the IOC, as soon as possible, the medal, diploma and medallist pin awarded to the Athlete in relation to the above-noted event.

IV.  The IOC administration is instructed to reallocate the medals, diplomas and medallist pins to the athletes who finished behind Ms Nadzeya Ostapchuk in the above-mentioned event, the first three being:

- Valerie Adams, New Zealand, first
- Evgeniia Kolodko, Russian Federation, second
- Lijiao Gong, People’s Republic of China, third

V. The NOC of Belarus and LOCOG shall ensure full implementation of the Executive Board decision.

VI. This decision shall enter into force immediately.

« Reply #569 on: August 13, 2012, 12:14:41 PM »
OC withdraws gold medal from shot put athlete Nadzeya Ostapchuk

- Valerie Adams, New Zealand, first
- Evgeniia Kolodko, Russian Federation, second
- Lijiao Gong, People’s Republic of China, third

V. The NOC of Belarus and LOCOG shall ensure full implementation of the Executive Board decision.

VI. This decision shall enter into force immediately.

Happy for the Chinese athlete... talk about a roller coaster of emotions.  The Russian chick was disqualified or she had a foul throw or something so, but then they reverse theyself and reinstated her attempt, right after medals were decided.  The poor Chinese girl was half way around the track celebrating with fans in the stands when they come and tap she on she shoulder telling she "oops, we reinstate the third place finisher so you ent getting a medal after all".  She was very gracious in accepting it, after initial sadness and bewilderment, and went up and congratulate the three medalists.  Happy that she got her bronze medal after all.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2012, 12:17:58 PM by Bakes »