April 26, 2024, 10:09:59 AM

Author Topic: looking to get a camcorder  (Read 5385 times)

looking to get a camcorder
« on: January 12, 2012, 01:38:04 PM »
well I'm officially out of a job :-\ and looking to get my feet wet in VFX and 3d tech for real, while I weigh my options for the next few weeks.........dont plan on starting a new day job hunt for a while yet :) ......anyways I digress .......lookin for something that is fairly good in low\bad light situations that can do about 30-60 fps at about 720p HD, my budget is a laughable 300-400 u.s. dollars ............maybe :( .............. but say what, if this pans out better cameras will follow

I need something that will provide good footage even with shaking going on....goin an do some camera trackin tests any help will be greatly appreciated.

Re: looking to get a camcorder
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2012, 02:13:18 PM »
sorry to hear about your job loss....you dont sound like you're in a panic.  Looks like yuh have a few things on the horizon

with yuh new camera yuh could shoot porn in HD...create yuh own site= INSTANT revenue...dem freaks in florida go be fallin overdeyself to give you they discover card number

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2012, 02:21:39 PM »
Take out a loan for 3K get a Canon 7D with a fairly good prime lens.  They have good chooses and price ranges.  If possible never leave the blocks slow. 

« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2012, 02:34:12 PM »
sorry to hear about your job loss....you dont sound like you're in a panic.  Looks like yuh have a few things on the horizon

with yuh new camera yuh could shoot porn in HD...create yuh own site= INSTANT revenue...dem freaks in florida go be fallin overdeyself to give you they discover card number

Yeah Dutty right, BUT HURRY!!  Dem freaks go be leaving Florida en masse as soon as the weather warms up in Canada,,dey go be heading back North SOOOOOON!

« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2012, 05:42:31 PM »

LOL nah not in no panic............yet :P .....ah could eat comfortable for like 3-4 months...ah know dat eh plenty time\money but ah really wanted away from d grind of gettin up early and travellin lil bit too

@ preacher I out in trini if is 3k usd yuh sayin dey, dais ah good portion ah mih savings one way and way more seed dan ah willin or able to have ah bank bite into me for, but ah know bout dem canons checked out a 5D ah while back but dat lil hot for me right now.........but will go for someting like dis if VFX pans out, d market goh done be small  so ah have to keep it tight for a while still.

Yeah Dutty right, BUT HURRY!!  Dem freaks go be leaving Florida en masse as soon as the weather warms up in Canada,,dey go be heading back North SOOOOOON!

lol alyuh like shit oui

« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2012, 06:52:23 PM »
The thing with cams is the lens but you should be able to get something from any store like Best Buy to carry you until u ready. 

« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2012, 08:02:58 PM »
well I'm officially out of a job :-\ and looking to get my feet wet in VFX and 3d tech for real, while I weigh my options for the next few weeks.........dont plan on starting a new day job hunt for a while yet :) ......anyways I digress .......lookin for something that is fairly good in low\bad light situations that can do about 30-60 fps at about 720p HD, my budget is a laughable 300-400 u.s. dollars ............maybe :( .............. but say what, if this pans out better cameras will follow

I need something that will provide good footage even with shaking going on....goin an do some camera trackin tests any help will be greatly appreciated.

May I ask what is your intended use for this cam? Is it low light action? Do you need a long zoom? How important is sound capability? And is still imagery important in what you are doing?

« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2012, 10:28:41 PM »
most
May I ask what is your intended use for this cam? Is it low light action? Do you need a long zoom? How important is sound capability? And is still imagery important in what you are doing?

well essentially I need something that will as best as possible keep tracking markers in focus ....tracking markers can be anything, dots with a marker pen, a sticker, a piece of paper with an X  that denote a point in the "real world" which are then used to to place and sync virtual objects into the footage or even provide data for facial motion capture,.... as for audio it will be a bonus but not essential since it would probably be better to capture audio with an overhead mike and audio recorder anyways,

as for still imagery again bonus as it is better to work with image sequences in the compositor, but I think blender's clip sequencer and other software I have "all legal and free ;D" can already breakdown video... hell I used smplayer's screenshotter to breakdown reference fight footage already.

« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2012, 12:19:00 AM »
lookin for something that is fairly good in low\bad light situations that can do about 30-60 fps at about 720p HD, my budget is a laughable 300-400 u.s. dollars ............maybe :( .............. but say what, if this pans out better cameras will follow
Don't know too much about cameras but I think even iPhones can shoot at 30 fps and 720p (don't have one so I'm not sure) so you should be able to find a proper video camera with 1080i and 60 fps for $300-400 though don't know about lighting.

« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2012, 05:53:04 AM »
Don't know too much about cameras but I think even iPhones can shoot at 30 fps and 720p (don't have one so I'm not sure) so you should be able to find a proper video camera with 1080i and 60 fps for $300-400 though don't know about lighting.

1080i at 60fps will be a very good find at 300 to 400 I generally buy from amazon been looking at a few small ones and gradually going up the chain, in doing the research I've been also paying attention to customer reviews especially to see if people comment on how the camera perform when they are in motion and in low ligh, noise minimization will be key here, but again my budget means I have to balance quality with a minimal budget.

« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2012, 10:55:11 AM »
You will be hard pressed to find a good low light and focus performance HD cam with a $300-400 budget.

Here are some I would consider buying if I were in your shoes

Canon Vixia HF M40
Canon Vixia HF M30
Canon Vixia HF200/Vixia HF20
Panasonic HDC HS60
Kodak Zi8
Kodak Playsport

I would say your best bet is a used Canon HF M40 which is very highly rated as a low light performer and very good allrounder. Doh take on preacher with his 7D reccomendation...he looking to bankrupt you! :devil:

I don't know how much experience you have but keep in mind you will quickly reach the limits of a budget camera and be frustrated. And you will eventually end up spending more than you think on accessories. So think about buying the very best expandable SYSTEM you can afford so you have room to grow without too many repurchases.

Let us know what one you ended up with.

« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2012, 12:02:56 PM »
If you could live without the zoom consider a GoPro.  Really nice wide angle for the money you talking in True HD. 

« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2012, 12:36:58 PM »
You will be hard pressed to find a good low light and focus performance HD cam with a $300-400 budget.

Here are some I would consider buying if I were in your shoes

(Canon Vixia HF M40
Canon Vixia HF M30
Canon Vixia HF200/Vixia HF20)
shortlisted these at amazon

Panasonic HDC HS60 - this one was ok songin until I read a couple gotchas about the battery and memory card recognition still on d list though

(Kodak Zi8
Kodak Playsport)
may not fit my requirrements lots of reviews complained about having to hold them still or use tripods

found -link -->- Canon VIXIA HF R20 Full HD Camcorder with 8GB Internal Flash Memory (Black)  also but a reviewer stated that low light performance wasn't d greatest

I would say your best bet is a used Canon HF M40 which is very highly rated as a low light performer and very good allrounder. Doh take on preacher with his 7D recommendation...he looking to bankrupt you! :devil:

yeah read good things about it saved a refurbished and a used one......whats your view on buying refurbished cameras

I don't know how much experience you have but keep in mind you will quickly reach the limits of a budget camera and be frustrated. And you will eventually end up spending more than you think on accessories. So think about buying the very best expandable SYSTEM you can afford so you have room to grow without too many repurchases.

yeah I hear yuh loud and clear

Let us know what one you ended up with.

If you could live without the zoom consider a GoPro.  Really nice wide angle for the money you talking in True HD. 

will look into this

« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2012, 02:28:21 PM »
wait.. how you using ah video camera with one hand again? Wouldn't you need something basic and compact where all the controls are close?

« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2012, 02:48:13 PM »
wait.. how you using ah video camera with one hand again? Wouldn't you need something basic and compact where all the controls are close?

yeah essentially.............but not many of the very compact solution out there offer quality footage, I have already wagered that my "forced" left handedness will also be a concern, so yeah, ah watchin all dat, additionally I don't necessarily have to do all of the shooting myself..........plus I've pretty much mastered the art of improv, so yeah, there will be alot of "rigging" solutions to many problems normal people wont face .............."improvise or die" is one a mih motto so doh worry bout me ;D  the righty isn't completely useless though just can do anything to um complex, if that is the right word , with it

« Last Edit: January 13, 2012, 02:54:24 PM by lefty »

« Reply #15 on: January 13, 2012, 02:54:03 PM »
I have bought a lot of refurbished/used film and digital cameras back in the day. But most were mechanical and semi-automatic and so was a different beast altogether. But buying refurbished digital can make the difference between getting an OK cam for the price and getting a damn good cam for the same price. Depends on the seller and your knowledge. KEH.com, B&H photo video, Adorama are all higly reputable resellers. They are more pricey but less risky. Perhaps you can email them and ask if they can notify you when your camera of choice becomes a demo model for sale. As for ebay/craigslist/kijiji etc. the only experience I have is buying a $500 lens for $200. It worked perfectly. Caveat emptor.

I suggest you sell your liver or one of your kidneys to pay for a good cam! Its a worthwhile investment.

« Reply #16 on: January 13, 2012, 03:05:05 PM »
I have bought a lot of refurbished/used film and digital cameras back in the day. But most were mechanical and semi-automatic and so was a different beast altogether. But buying refurbished digital can make the difference between getting an OK cam for the price and getting a damn good cam for the same price. Depends on the seller and your knowledge. KEH.com, B&H photo video, Adorama are all higly reputable resellers. They are more pricey but less risky. Perhaps you can email them and ask if they can notify you when your camera of choice becomes a demo model for sale. As for ebay/craigslist/kijiji etc. the only experience I have is buying a $500 lens for $200. It worked perfectly. Caveat emptor.

I suggest you sell your liver or one of your kidneys to pay for a good cam! Its a worthwhile investment.

thanks for d advice ;D ......in the interim there are sites that offer free for non commercial stock footage specifically shot for tracking...but I live in Trini and feel it go be in mih best interest to "localize" the work I put out.................on ah side-note ???...........u do realize is one liver we does have right ??? :P :D ;D ................

« Reply #17 on: January 19, 2012, 06:55:14 PM »
So where did you land Lefty?

« Reply #18 on: January 19, 2012, 08:52:43 PM »
lookin at a used or refurbished m40,  but I had bit of good or maybe bad luck in a perverse sense..... apparently when my supervisors found out I wasn't coming back they kicked some brass and got the section head to lobby d boss so I have my job again......and without a single word of protest from me either......I was actually lookin forward to adventure ahead............I'm not dat good lookin so it has be that some people really value my input :) or generally good nature :-\ . what it means is that, I can get me that camera and not worry too much about d damage to the reserves.............I still feel slightly demotivated by not being initially called back and at d same time vexed that I was eventually called back...strange eh :P ......that I felt more optimistic and contented facing d uncertainty dat comes wit unemployment dan being back under d relative security of a salary ???

as an aside what is gratifying is that the people who stood up for me was from all different backgrounds read races, given the current climate in ministries in TT these days with employment practices, makes u wonder what TT could be like if when we look at each other we see ah person an not ah coolie or ah nigger...........................

« Reply #19 on: January 20, 2012, 12:04:20 AM »
Well brother that's a blessing.  I glad it worked out for you.  You never know these days so you got to take it when you could get it.

« Reply #20 on: March 09, 2012, 04:02:29 PM »
@Zandolie what about this one - 550D  or this one still sequences or even video capture on this seems nice and seen video shot with it it produce nice trackable video\image sequence footage that plus the removable/changeable lenses might ah plus what ah could maybe get dat and the cheapest lens first, den get d rest later, seems to have some advantages over d m40 too

what do u think.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2012, 04:22:30 PM by lefty »

« Reply #21 on: June 05, 2012, 08:18:42 AM »
just letting you know that I decide to get the Canon t3i\600D (body only)(read that the kit lens is crappy ) and  a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens to start, this combo is actually cheaper ???

saw this as a good all purpose lens its highly recommended, but the shit's expensive :-[ so I dont know yet, I figure I should wait and see how good my work is and if people will like my work before investing in other more expensive lenses..............also read that rolling shutter effect be pain for doing video with DSLRs but that the benefits of video with DSLRs outweigh the drawbacks

holding out at least until father's day see if I cant get a deal though
« Last Edit: June 05, 2012, 08:27:14 AM by lefty »

« Reply #22 on: June 05, 2012, 08:32:39 AM »
Boy when i see them prices , i just had to put my camera ambitions on hold, them shit expensive  :-[

« Reply #23 on: June 05, 2012, 09:01:06 AM »
Boy when i see them prices , i just had to put my camera ambitions on hold, them shit expensive  :-[

u tellin me I miss out on a 100 u.s. discount deal on a T2i I eh too vex doh, I think the articulating screen on the T3i will allow better improvisation for my handycap......that's what I see in my minds eye anyways :-\

« Reply #24 on: June 05, 2012, 03:18:57 PM »
just letting you know that I decide to get the Canon t3i\600D (body only)(read that the kit lens is crappy ) and  a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens to start, this combo is actually cheaper ???

saw this as a good all purpose lens its highly recommended, but the shit's expensive :-[ so I dont know yet, I figure I should wait and see how good my work is and if people will like my work before investing in other more expensive lenses..............also read that rolling shutter effect be pain for doing video with DSLRs but that the benefits of video with DSLRs outweigh the drawbacks

good choice. you could get serious results with that combo and bank coin for a full professional model later. if you looking for a long zoom take a look at tamron 18-200. No IS/VC but it supposed to be a decent lens at close to half the price of the canon. if you want IS/VC then check out the 18-270.

you using final cut or adobe premier to edit?

« Reply #25 on: June 05, 2012, 05:31:46 PM »

good choice. you could get serious results with that combo and bank coin for a full professional model later. if you looking for a long zoom take a look at tamron 18-200. No IS/VC but it supposed to be a decent lens at close to half the price of the canon. if you want IS/VC then check out the 18-270.

you using final cut or adobe premier to edit?

yeah thanks especially on the 18-200 lens

about editing write bout now open source is my go I use blender3d that got 3d modelling, animations, fx (fire, smoke, fluids, ocean),physics, video sequence editor, video clip editor, node based compositor, positional sound objects, and a rapidly developing discreet render......it still not on final cut and premier level .....yet ....but it getting there ........pre and post production tools all in one for free and a development release cycle of six months ;D................. might still spring for Photoshop though but generally with tinkering and study u can pretty much achieve most things in the compositor.........just got done building a tornado sim based on a tutorial I followed but it will be more fun to drop dem on d promenade or near mih water taxi...... I think ;D

« Reply #26 on: June 08, 2012, 08:53:33 AM »
you may want hold off on the t3i purchase for now. canon just released a t4i with significant changes in video and AF capability. the price looks to be about the same. at the very least you can now get the t3i a fair bit cheaper.

good find with that blender software.

« Reply #27 on: June 08, 2012, 09:38:30 AM »
I like the Nikkon 3100

« Reply #28 on: June 08, 2012, 10:22:09 AM »
you may want hold off on the t3i purchase for now. canon just released a t4i with significant changes in video and AF capability. the price looks to be about the same. at the very least you can now get the t3i a fair bit cheaper.

good find with that blender software.

yeah ah see it ah even put one in mih wishlist...but ah still lookin for d t3i hopefully I'll get ah lower price and den get ah t4i later dis year or early nex year dependin on budget and how tings go otherwise...thanks man :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #29 on: June 08, 2012, 10:39:26 AM »
I like the Nikkon 3100

dat look ok but what drawing mih to d t3i and now d t4i is d vary angle screens................might allow me to cradle td camera more effectively with one hand and a strap, if I turn the screen out for filming.......dont plan on doing too much tripod shooting with the ideas I have rolling around in my head, we will see. plus camera tracking needs a fair bit of perspective shift so stationary tripods doh really work.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2012, 10:41:27 AM by lefty »