June 05, 2024, 05:01:47 AM

Author Topic: Warner to sue Lasana Liburd  (Read 12857 times)

Re: Warner to sue Lasana Liburd
« Reply #30 on: February 17, 2012, 02:03:19 PM »
This man, if you can call him that, is disgusting, just when you think he couldn't sink to another low.

« Reply #31 on: February 17, 2012, 02:20:16 PM »
go Lasana

« Reply #32 on: February 17, 2012, 03:24:31 PM »
Jack Warner silent as Trinidad Soca Warrior spirit fades
Players concerned about accuracy of T&TFF accounting

Published  10/9/2006
TrinidadExpress.com

Port-of-Spain---9 Oct. 2006---FIFA vice-president and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) special adviser, Jack Warner, maintained his silence yesterday, as the Soca Warriors continued to slide towards disbandment. 

On Friday evening, the Warriors, led by team captain Dwight Yorke, declared their intention to resign from international duty due to an alleged breach of contract by the T&TFF.

A hasty release from T&TFF general secretary Richard Groden, which erroneously accused the players of planning a boycott of Saturday's friendly against St Vincent and the Grenadines, suggested that the problem lay with the distribution of sponsorship money.

Groden submitted an unaudited statement of income and expenditure to the national media, which claimed that the T&TFF received $18,255,952 for its part in the Germany 2006 World Cup.

The players are believed to be concerned about the accuracy of the T&TFF's accounting.

For starters, there was no mention of money accrued from television rights. The deal, which was agreed to between the players and Warner two days before the first leg World Cup play-off against Bahrain, controversially failed to share television money for the Bahrain legs, as well as a host of friendly matches against the likes of Iceland, Wales and the Czech Republic. These matches were televised throughout Europe by high-profile stations like Sky Sports and Euro Sports.

There is worry that several sponsors were omitted or figures doctored as well.

The T&TFF's accountant for this project, by its own admission, is Kenny Rampersad, who was revealed to be Warner's business partner during investigations on Simpaul Travel Services last December. Rampersad, at the time, was mandated to act on Simpaul's behalf.

Worse, as far as the players were concerned, the T&TFF then deducted expenses before handing over the Warriors' share. And a $9 million share was reduced to $141,102 to be split 25 ways-24 players and one share for the players' committee.

Last Thursday, Yorke and his teammates were told that their reward for taking Trinidad and Tobago to its inaugural World Cup-a feat that secured them a place in FIFA's history book as well as $1 million and a Chaconia (Gold) medal each from the Government-was worth TT$5,644.08 per player to the T&TFF.

In short, Groden contended that sponsors hustling to get on board after the team's qualification for the Germany World Cup insisted that the T&TFF put aside one third of their money for the 2010 campaign, which must not benefit the present players.

Even if the T&TFF was honest in its assessment that money be split only after deducting expenditure, the local body calculated expenses from February 2005 while the deal with the players was done nine months later.

The income and expenses section had questionable figures too.

In near two years-a period that included six World Cup qualifiers and the farewell fixture for retired legend Russell Latapy-the T&TFF claimed to receive just $5,217 from its bar. The bar was clearly a monumental failure considering that, in the expenses column, $238,715 was subtracted for refreshments.

A paltry $20,000 was budgeted for the sale of banners over the same period, with $300,000 for broadcast rights as well as $9.3 and $8.6 million for ticket sales and sponsorship, respectively.

Yorke might have been surprised to note that the players were paying their own salaries too. The players' match fees, allowances, accommodation and transportation were all deducted from their World Cup bonus package, as were the T&TFF's "FIFA/CONCACAF dues", gate equipment and scouting fees.

Yorke does not hold an accounting degree, but he clearly felt that something was awry.

"We cannot see how we can build on anything if the contracts that we enter into are not worth the paper they are written on. It is for these reasons we now feel the need to say goodbye to the international stage," said Yorke, who read from a prepared statement on Friday.

It is Warner who agreed a contract with the Warriors, but, to date, only Groden has defended the T&TFF's interpretation of it.

Yorke was scheduled to leave Trinidad yesterday evening to return to his employers, Sunderland FC in England. The Warriors' 5-0 win over St Vincent might be the last time that local fans see him sport national colours.

T&TFF press officer Shaun Fuentes could not confirm Warner's whereabouts yesterday.

« Reply #33 on: February 22, 2012, 05:28:11 AM »
Warner promises pay-off... High Court alerted
By: Lasana Liburd (wired868).

Chaguanas West MP and ex-FIFA VP Jack Warner promised to pay $1 million in prize money for the Chaguanas Carnival Committee by March 3. What could go wrong?

In related news, Wired868 was unreliably informed that the "Soca Warriors" and TTFF will pay mas in Chaguanas for Carnival 2013.

« Reply #34 on: February 22, 2012, 03:27:55 PM »

« Reply #35 on: February 22, 2012, 05:40:32 PM »
Warner promises pay-off... High Court alerted
By: Lasana Liburd (wired868).

Chaguanas West MP and ex-FIFA VP Jack Warner promised to pay $1 million in prize money for the Chaguanas Carnival Committee by March 3. What could go wrong?

In related news, Wired868 was unreliably informed that the "Soca Warriors" and TTFF will pay mas in Chaguanas for Carnival 2013.
Xtra, Xtra, Weed all about it. 10,000 people herbed. The joker is at it again in Gotham City. Will the dynamic 13 get to him in time? Or will the joker prevail? Stay tuned. C U tomorrow.

« Reply #36 on: February 22, 2012, 07:30:05 PM »
Trinidadian Journalist Threatened with Defamation Suit
Former FIFA Official Angered over Reports Linking Him to Financial Scandal
By: Scott Griffen, IPI Associate

Beleaguered former FIFA Vice President Jack Warner has threatened to sue a Trinidadian journalist for defamation after the journalist reported on Warner’s alleged role in a growing financial scandal involving a missing half-million euros meant for Haiti’s football federation.

Speaking to the International Press Institute (IPI), the journalist, Lasana Liburd, called the threat an act of “intimidation,” designed to deter other members of the press from following the story.

The Sunday Times (U.K.) recently quoted Haitian football officials as saying they had received only US$60,000 (€45,000) out of a total US$750,000 (€566,000) jointly donated by FIFA and a South Korean businessman, Chung Mong-Joon. FIFA confirmed to media outlets that it had wired the funds—intended as emergency aid to the earthquake-stricken nation—in early 2010 to a bank account controlled by Warner, then president of the North, Central American, and Caribbean football association (CONCACAF).

Liburd continued to investigate allegations that Warner had mishandled the funds in a series of articles for a Trinidadian news website, Wired868.com. Warner is a well-known public figure in Trinidad and Tobago, currently serving as the country’s Minister for Works and Development.

Trinidadian media reported last week that Warner was planning to sue Liburd for libel and had retained the services of British barrister William McCormick.

According to Wired868.com, Warner appeared to be angered by a tweet sent by the website that linked him to the scandal. Warner, who has categorically denied misappropriating aid money intended for Haiti, was quoted in local media reports as saying: “The message [posted by Liburd] was re-tweeted by numbers of equally deranged and malicious persons who never checked Liburd’s claim for its veracity.”

He added, “I am thoroughly disgusted by the level of malice and nastiness some persons resort to and have decided that I can no longer tolerate the continued lies and wrongful allegations permanently levied against me by people who consider themselves to be above the law.”

Liburd told IPI that Warner has threatened him with a defamation suit several times over the past 10 years but has never initiated legal action. At the time of this statement, Warner had not yet filed charges in this case either. The journalist said Warner’s latest threat was a “frivolous way for him to avoid tackling the issue.”

In the coming months, IPI plans to work with various Caribbean governments, including that of Trinidad and Tobago, as part of a campaign to abolish criminal-defamation laws across the region.

IPI will also hold its annual congress this year in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago’s capital, in June.

FIFA, unsatisfied with the lack of explanation for the money’s disappearance, has frozen funding to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF), to which Warner previously served as “special adviser,” according to news reports. The global football governing body also announced earlier it would suspend Warner’s pension payments. Warner resigned as a FIFA vice president last year just as a FIFA-led bribery investigation involving him was set to begin.

The TTFF last week released a statement accepting responsibility for the missing funds, but set the blame squarely on Warner, Wired868 reported. The group said Warner had requested the funds to be diverted to an account separate from the one that governs day-to-day expenses – and one over which the TTFF had given Warner, as special adviser, authority. 

The statement added that the TTFF did not know what had become of the money and that it, like FIFA, was awaiting an explanation from Warner. “We never questioned his authority or actions and are now in a position of despair as we are starved of funds by FIFA until full disclosure, which we are unable to provide without Mr. Warner’s input,” the TTFF said. 

Liburd says he has given Warner plenty of opportunities to tell a different side to the story. Just one day after the media reported the lawsuit threat, Liburd addressed a letter to Warner urging him to respond with information on where the half-million euros went so that the journalist could “state your version of the accounts in my subsequent stories.” Liburd told IPI that the letter, in addition to several phone calls, has gone unanswered.

Warner initiates legal action
« Reply #37 on: February 24, 2012, 01:34:07 PM »
Warner initiates legal action
ctntworld.com

Former FIFA Vice President, Mr. Jack Warner, has sent a pre-action protocol letter to journalist Lasana Liburd following the publication of what Mr. Warner called a "defamatory article against him."

In a letter, Mr. Warner's attorney, Om Lalla, stated that the article alleged that Mr. Warner had fraudulently stolen or had dishonestly appropriated monies that were approved by FIFA and South Korea for victims of the January 2010 earthquake in Haiti. Mr. Lalla stated that the imputations are false, malicious and misleading, and calculated to damage Mr. Warner's reputation.

The attorney also stated that Mr. Warner is demanding that a full and unequivocal public retraction of the publication be made, as well as an apology.

Mr. Warner is also demanding payment of a substantial sum in damages and compensation for the injury to his reputation and distress caused to him.

24th February, 2012

Mr. Lasana Liburd
c/o The Trinidad Express Newspapers Limited
35-37 Independence Square
Port of Spain

Dear Sir,

We act with Mr. William Mc Cormick Q.C. for and on behalf of Mr. Jack Warner.

We are instructed that on the 12th February 2012 you wrote an article captioned "Warner Named in Haitian Aid Scandal" and "FIFA stops TTFF funding” and caused it to be published on several internet websites.

The article states inter alia that close to $4.4 million (US$690,000.00) donated by FIFA and South Korea never made it lo the Federation of Haitian Football.

The article further states that "Warner in his capacity as CONCACAF and Caribbean Football Union (CPU) president, collected $4.76 million on behalf of Haiti after the Caribbean Island was stunned by a massive earthquake on 12th January 2010. The Haitian government estimated that 316,000 persons were killed including over 30 football officials as the FHF building was reduced to rubble. However, FHF Yves Jean-Bart told Sunday Times reporters James Corbett, Jonathan Calvert and Heidi Blake that only $381,000 (US$60,000.00) made it to grief-stricken nation from the said money allegedly given to Warner.

We are instructed that our client has made all due payments to Haiti from money paid by FIFA and South Korea and has accounted for it.

The words in the said article meant and were understood to mean that our client has fraudulently stolen and or dishonestly appropriated monies that was provided by FIFA and South Korea for victims of the January 2010 earthquake. The imputations that our client took and misappropriated the monies due to Haiti is false, malicious and misleading and calculated to damage our client's reputation.

Moreover, the allegations are defamatory and libellous and have caused and continue to cause our client serious distress and embarassment and wilfully and maliciously imputes that our client has dishonestly taken and misappropriated monies allocated for victims of the Haiti earthquake.

Further the article has been wilfully and maliciously published and re-published several times on the internet and has attracted defamatory blogs. The articles remain on the internet together with the defamatory blogs relating to our client.

In the circumstances our client requires of you as a matter of urgency:

1. A full and unequivocal public retraction of the publication and an apology in terms to be approved by us and to be published in sufficient prominence and in both the print and electronic media and via the internet.
2. An undertaking not to repeat or republish the false allegation.
3. An undertaking to remove forthwith all blogs posted electronically in relation to the said article.
4. The payment of a substantial sum in damages to our client to demonstrate the baselessness of the allegation and compensation for the injury to his reputation and distress caused to him.
5. The payment of client's legal costs.

We look forward to hearing from you without delay and in any event within fourteen (14) days from the date hereof. If we do not receive a satisfactory response within the said period of time, our instructions are to issue a claim form against you without further notice.

We trust that good sense will prevail and this matter will be amicably resolved.

Yours faithfully,
K. R. LALLA AND COMPANY
By Om Lalla
« Last Edit: February 24, 2012, 06:46:33 PM by Flex »

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #38 on: February 24, 2012, 02:37:06 PM »
If mr Warner has receipts to prove all the money was disbursed ! I guess he will have a case but we are seeing with the Soca warriors how difficult it is to get certified accounts! I remember Mr Panday asking him to account or 30 million campaign funds and he took the same douse of action which whittled away subsequently! Is this some form of intimidation of the free press?

« Reply #39 on: February 24, 2012, 06:41:54 PM »
Bla Bla Bla

:notlistening:   :yapping: :yapping: :yapping:

« Reply #40 on: February 24, 2012, 09:25:39 PM »
Evrybody and dey brudder know Lasana leave d express long time but dey writing him c/o d express. GAMES JACK GAMES.

« Reply #41 on: February 24, 2012, 10:56:42 PM »
Well, as you all know, I'm no lawyer, but until Lasana receives a letter at his correct address, be that his residence or his workplace, I would ignore it. I would, however, write to Mr Warner stating that I understand he has attempted to contact me, and send the letter to CONCACAF in New York and FIFA in Switzerland. 

« Reply #42 on: February 24, 2012, 11:55:45 PM »
'axe yuh mudder'

TM Big Mag

« Reply #43 on: February 25, 2012, 05:22:00 AM »
So wait, wait, wait.....Om Lalla with all the resources at his disposal eh know Lasana eh wukking at the Express no more.....steups!!

And let me see if I understand this, Lasana was the one who wrote the initial article or was it first reported in the Sun Times in the UK??  Either way, Lalla and he kakahole client going to sue the other news organisations as well??

Also, he going to sue the Haitians and FIFA too??  Both organisations have said they eh know where the money is.....Jack send dem the receipts by now I guess???

Jackula, you and Om Lalla hold dis yuh nasty stinking dutty old tief....... :yellowcard: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :puking:

« Reply #44 on: February 25, 2012, 05:58:39 AM »
Jack have Om Lalla like a puppet, he hire him and fire him about 10 times already.

What a joke.

Lasana should counter sue for wasting his time.

« Reply #45 on: February 25, 2012, 07:19:51 AM »
I ain't no lawyer, but this seem like a waste of time. Correct me if I'm wrong

« Reply #46 on: February 25, 2012, 08:04:07 AM »
I certainly feel that Ian Alleyne should feature this on CrimeWatch...oh, but wait, can't get Mr Lalla-by into trouble!

I'm just shocked by the blatant lies being told, by either Mr Warner & Mr Lalla or by FIFA, H.F.U., TTFF and the guy from South Korea. And instead of sueing the author of the piece at the mighty London Times, he goes after Liburd. And what kind of inept, lazy lawyer sends a pre protocol letter to the wrong address?
Doh hurt up yuh head, Mr Lalla. 

« Reply #47 on: February 25, 2012, 05:06:51 PM »
stand firm Las

« Reply #48 on: May 23, 2012, 07:54:03 AM »
Jack sues journalist over Twitter comment

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Jack_sues_journalist_over_Twitter_comment-152839815.html

FORMER FIFA vice president Jack Warner has sued former Express journalist Lasana Liburd for libel arising out of a statement he (Liburd) allegedly published on the social networking site www.twitter.com on February 16.

The lawsuit was filed yesterday in the Port of Spain High Court by attorneys Om Lalla and Dereck Balliram.

On April 18, Liburd was issued a pre-action protocol letter by Warner's attorneys who called on him to give an undertaking, in writing, that he will not repeat, publish or cause to be published, any further statements which may be deemed to be defamatory. Liburd was also called upon to retract the statement and apologise on Twitter and on his website wired868.com.

The pre-action letter read in part: "The seriousness of the defamatory words is compounded by the fact that it purports to shed light on fraudulent appropriation of monies which were donated to the earthquake stricken country of Haiti. It is apparent that the words published are done with the dominant motive of discrediting the intended claimant's (Warner's) credibility in the political party locally as well as his reputation of good standing internationally in the sport of football.

Warner, the chairman of the United National Congress (UNC) party, is also the Member of Parliament for Chaguanas West and the Minister of Works and Infrastructure.

Liburd, through his attorney Dave de Peiza, responded in writing on May 10. De Peiza said his client (Liburd) will vigorously defend any claim brought against him by Warner since, prior to publishing the article, he (Liburd) contacted Warner for his side of the story but Warner declined.

Warner is seeking compensation and an injunction restraining Liburd from further publishing, or causing to be published, the said words or any similar words defamatory of him (Warner). —KS

« Reply #49 on: May 23, 2012, 01:30:43 PM »
Must be nice tuh be Om Lalla yes... not only does representing Jack guarantee yuh work (and never a dull day in the office at that), but yuh getting one setta free money with these dotish litigation Jack does be filing.

Meanwhile, back at the farm...

The revelation of Warner's legal ownership of a $22.5 million CONCACAF center of excellence in his native Trinidad and Tobago stunned officials. They were also outraged to learn that Warner and former CONCACAF vice president Lisle Austin took out an unauthorized mortgage on the sprawling property in 2007.

Read more

Lord... this man (and by extension, his government) eh have no shame nah.  The man take FIFA funds earmarked for CONCACAF and built himself a top-notch facility.  Yuh mean nobody else in Trinidad find this disturbing??
« Last Edit: May 23, 2012, 01:32:19 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #50 on: May 23, 2012, 01:42:08 PM »
Must be nice tuh be Om Lalla yes... not only does representing Jack guarantee yuh work (and never a dull day in the office at that), but yuh getting one setta free money with these dotish litigation Jack does be filing.

The revelation of Warner's legal ownership of a $22.5 million CONCACAF center of excellence in his native Trinidad and Tobago stunned officials. They were also outraged to learn that Warner and former CONCACAF vice president Lisle Austin took out an unauthorized mortgage on the sprawling property in 2007.

Read more

Lord... this man (and by extension, his government) eh have no shame nah.  The man take FIFA funds earmarked for CONCACAF and built himself a top-notch facility.  Yuh mean nobody else in Trinidad find this disturbing??

What killing me is that this is common knowledge for more than 10 years.... how dey shocked now?

« Reply #51 on: May 23, 2012, 01:44:19 PM »

Read more

What killing me is that this is common knowledge for more than 10 years.... how dey shocked now?

Cause they was only looking for king chupid all de time now we know they are.

« Reply #52 on: May 23, 2012, 02:03:43 PM »

I dunno, but I doh think it's fair to say that.  I think many people knew it was rumored that he owned the COE, but no one knew for sure.  Nobody knew because he was protected by the likes of Austin, Burrell and Blazer... they covered for him because they themselves got their share from him.  The Cayman islands and Puerto Rico were among the whistleblowers in the bribe scandal.  I was skeptical, thinking they were in Blazer's pocket, but now that they pushing for FIFA to bring charges against him, I think we have to give them the benefit of the doubt that they really trying to clean up CONCACAF

« Reply #53 on: May 23, 2012, 02:22:13 PM »
as well as his reputation of good standing internationally in the sport of football.

Is this a real joke or what?

« Reply #54 on: May 23, 2012, 02:30:56 PM »

I dunno, but I doh think it's fair to say that.  I think many people knew it was rumored that he owned the COE, but no one knew for sure.  Nobody knew because he was protected by the likes of Austin, Burrell and Blazer... they covered for him because they themselves got their share from him.  The Cayman islands and Puerto Rico were among the whistleblowers in the bribe scandal.  I was skeptical, thinking they were in Blazer's pocket, but now that they pushing for FIFA to bring charges against him, I think we have to give them the benefit of the doubt that they really trying to clean up CONCACAF

well dis is what i had mean... it was one of them rumours that so well known that you "know" it was true IN trinidad and the caribbean and the CFU heads including Jeffery had to have known, so for them to claim ignorance, just making me laugh. (just like Jack buying WC rights for $1) You know how long that talk was going around (umpteen years) and it turn out to be true.

Also I believe E-man went and get the information concerning that through whatever freedom of information act we have in Trinidad.. i.e. that Jack was the legal owner of the COE... (I could be remembering wrong here)

« Reply #55 on: May 23, 2012, 02:33:51 PM »

I had no doubt whatsoever that he own that COE. That was a gift from Havalenge for all the work Jack did for him. Maybe the other CFU members belief it belong to CONCACAF.  I don't think the Mex, US and Central American thought is was not his. he set that up nicely to cover his tracks. And most people in the football fraterniy and even die hard like Coops knew that the COE was Jack's toy.

« Reply #56 on: May 23, 2012, 02:37:08 PM »
If the COE realy belong to Concacaf could they have made a claim on it. Bakes and the other legalees??!!

« Reply #57 on: May 23, 2012, 02:42:46 PM »
If the COE realy belong to Concacaf could they have made a claim on it. Bakes and the other legalees??!!

Not if they built it on land owned by Warner....!

And I think it was a gift from the Koreans for getting the World Cup...

« Reply #58 on: May 23, 2012, 03:05:02 PM »
as well as his reputation of good standing internationally in the sport of football.

Is this a real joke or what?
That line almost make me spit out my drink from laugh!  :rotfl:

« Reply #59 on: May 23, 2012, 04:31:07 PM »

Not if they built it on land owned by Warner....!

And I think it was a gift from the Koreans for getting the World Cup...

Even if the structure was built on land owned by Warner they could still retain ownership rights.