April 26, 2024, 09:19:17 PM

Author Topic: Man City: The Science Behind The Champions  (Read 1914 times)

Man City: The Science Behind The Champions
« on: July 24, 2012, 02:11:56 PM »

Manchester City: The science behind the champions

By Sam Sheringham
BBC Sport

Attached to one of the walls in an anonymous corridor of Manchester City's Carrington training ground is a shelving unit.

Resembling a set of pigeon holes at a hall of residence, it is divided into narrow slots, each carrying a laminated tag bearing the name of one of City's multi-millionaire players: Aguero, Hart, Toure, Balotelli and so on.

Within each slot are two vessels, one large and one small. The bigger one will be filled with the given player's personalised recovery drink - a concoction of proteins, carbohydrates and nutrients blended according to detailed analysis of their blood and saliva.

The smaller pot will be used for any dietary supplements, such as fish oils and multi-vitamins, which tests have revealed to be lacking in a player's diet.

City's embrace of sports science is not unique in a league where every club is searching for the slightest edge over their rivals, but the extent of their commitment exemplifies a determination to leave no stone unturned in the pursuit of success.

It reflects an attention to the finest of details at a club that won Premier League by the finest of margins on that unforgettable afternoon in May.

BBC Sport Click Here for More

Re: Man City: The Science Behind The Champions
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2012, 02:54:21 PM »
We rel far behind. WHEY
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2012, 03:25:29 PM »
Stueps.

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2012, 03:36:41 PM »
Was telling men bout that article in d bbm group yesterday...good post Touches
It's only kinky the 1st time

« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2012, 05:02:16 PM »
The most important science is that they buying the best players.

« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2012, 05:22:33 PM »
steups i say is some revolutionary thing...juventus regimen is grimier and science even higher...when i get time i would post bits and pieces..

Offline congo

« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2012, 05:27:53 PM »
We rel far behind. WHEY

Can't afford to keep up.

« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2012, 05:25:33 AM »
steups i say is some revolutionary thing...juventus regimen is grimier and science even higher...when i get time i would post bits and pieces..

There was a post here some time ago about the sports science used by Wolverhamton Wanderers.  It was just as detailed as above. 

nb: it didnt help Wolves one bit last season, lol, but i can see how it allows for players to be at their maximum fitness level.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2012, 05:31:14 AM by andre samuel »

« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2012, 06:25:19 AM »
Plenty Arab money that is the secret