March 28, 2024, 08:12:59 PM

Author Topic: Bateau comfortable in Belgium.  (Read 2795 times)

Bateau comfortable in Belgium.
« on: October 16, 2014, 02:05:14 AM »
Bateau comfortable in Belgium.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

T&T defender Sheldon Bateau is enjoying every bit of his time with KV Mechelen in the Belgium Premier Division.

The former national Under-20 captain was among the list of overseas-based players who appeared for T&T in the just concluded Caribbean Cup Finals. He performed creditably in defence for Stephen Hart’s team, appearing in the three matches at the Ato Boldon Stadium,

“I felt good about my performances and the performance of the entire team during this tournament. It showed that something good is happening and we need to continue building on this,” Bateau said.

“At the moment I’m enjoying my career in Belgium. The club KV Mechelen is doing well and I’m happy to be a part of them. I’ve scored two goals this season and generally I’m very comfortable and enjoying my role over there.”

Bateau said he would welcome the addition of more T&T players to Belgium following reports that U-20 players Levi Garcia and others were set to join the League there.

“I’d encourage the players to come over. I saw them at the airport heading over there when I arrived and I hope they can settle in well and continue to develop their game over there. It’s a good place to come over to as a young player.”

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
Re: Bateau comfortable in Belgium.
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2014, 10:32:09 AM »
So Levi Garcia in Belgium.which club  ???
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2014, 05:48:37 PM »
Sheldon Bateau grounded by visa problems. Has not returned to Belgium since the Second Round of the Caribbean Cup ended on October 12th. Mechelen’s management quite upset.
http://www.nieuwsblad.be/sportwereld/cnt/dmf20141029_01350027

« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2014, 06:07:30 PM »
Very worrying news.
Sheldon. I hope things work out for you very soon. People prayin' hard.

« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2014, 07:24:42 PM »
he left knowing his visa was not in order  ...

« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2014, 07:35:20 PM »

What kind of visa is that?

« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2014, 07:38:06 PM »
ah little google translation from dutch to english

Sheldon Bateau, the 23 year old defender who was a fixture at KV Mechelen, is now 3.5 weeks stuck in his native Trinidad & Tobago by visa problems.

Jupiler Pro League Sportwereld.be
• News from first class
• LIVE domestic and foreign football
• Summaries Jupiler Pro League

Bateau After a match could not return to Belgium because of visa problems. Moreover, the nearest Belgian Embassy in Jamaica, 1,000 miles away from where he currently resides. Malinwa responded yesterday for the first time.

"Soon there again matches," said coach Aleksandar Jankovic. "Bateau may have to stay there, because this is incomprehensible. He's a pro? Yes, Sheldon sometimes, but he will call me in what condition his future? He has a training program, but it is exactly as if he takes a second summer. We will have to check how much he has recovered. Bateau should not expect that he will immediately get a new chance. A fine? That should determine the club. "

little respect

Here and there is even talk of a resignation, but that qualifies assistant athletic director Olivier Renard. "He will not fly out, but we will be dotting the i's (ie a fine). It is incomprehensible that Bateau is left anyway even though he knew that his visa was not in order. That shows little respect for us. We hope it's a matter of days before he's back and then we want to hear his version of the facts. This is too ridiculous for words.

« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2014, 08:22:00 PM »

It would appear so.

« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2014, 05:54:33 PM »
Sheldon Bateau is happy to be back in Belgium after a month-long absence

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/-tgVuL1afs4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/-tgVuL1afs4</a>

« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2014, 07:40:19 PM »
Glad that he made it back. He will have to eat humble pie in Belgium for a good while.
Cyah afford another Keon Daniel syndrome
We need Bateau for our defensive options.

« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2014, 11:16:02 AM »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/-tgVuL1afs4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/-tgVuL1afs4</a>

Funny how hes speaking English as if he was a Belgian lol

« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2014, 11:51:10 AM »

WTF!
Yo! Mr. Bateau... ENGLISH IS YOUR NATIVE LANGUAGE! That's just embarrassing. Stop looking like a fool...

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2014, 01:01:35 PM »

WTF!
Yo! Mr. Bateau... ENGLISH IS YOUR NATIVE LANGUAGE! That's just embarrassing. Stop looking like a fool...
Lol but Kompany and Eden Hazard speak English better than that. Peltier is the same way in his interviews

« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2014, 01:03:34 PM »
He sound Trinidadian to me. Not sure what the issue is.

« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2015, 06:29:28 AM »
WATCH Sheldon Bateau score the opening goal for KV Mechelen in a Belgian Cup match against Club Brugge. FINAL: Club Brugge 3-2 KV Mechelen.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/qUlmgSq4RSk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/qUlmgSq4RSk</a>

« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2015, 11:42:09 AM »
He sound Trinidadian to me. Not sure what the issue is.

Men just need something to complain about.  To me he's speaking haltingly because he's trying to speak to a non-English speaker and at times is trying to speak Flemish in-between, so it seems he's processing his words more than usual before speaking.  I found myself doing the same when speaking to native Spanish speakers in spain, alternating between halting English and Spanish.