March 18, 2024, 10:15:54 PM

Author Topic: Caligiuri looks back at goal that changed the course of US soccer history.  (Read 7239 times)

Re: Caligiuri looks back at goal that changed the course of US soccer history.
« Reply #30 on: November 19, 2009, 05:53:09 PM »
i find man like zeppo should get ban for post like that..

dat come like he cuss everybody on the forum.. steups

Yes, and then ban Flex for starting this thread and posting that article.

::)

For ture....  :rotfl:

« Reply #31 on: November 20, 2009, 10:55:49 AM »
THE MATCH

19 November 1989, National Stadium, Port of Spain

Trinidad and Tobago 0-1 USA
Scorers: Paul Caligiuri

USA: Meola, Windischmann, Doyle, Trittschuh, Krumpe, Caligiuri, Bliss, Harkes, Ramos, Vermes, Murray.

Trinidad and Tobago: Maurice, Morris, Williams, Francis, Faustin, Latapy, Lewis, Allen, Jones, Yorke, Jamerson.

VIDEO HIGHLIGHTS
« Last Edit: November 20, 2009, 10:57:36 AM by Sando »

« Reply #32 on: November 20, 2009, 11:30:56 AM »
THE MATCH

USA: Meola, Windischmann, Doyle, Trittschuh, Krumpe, Caligiuri, Bliss, Harkes, Ramos, Vermes, Murray.

Trinidad and Tobago: Maurice, Morris, Williams, Francis, Faustin, Latapy, Lewis, Allen, Jones, Yorke, Jamerson.

VIDEO HIGHLIGHTS

I does still STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS when I C Allen instead ah Charles

« Reply #33 on: November 20, 2009, 11:39:22 AM »
i find man like zeppo should get ban for post like that..

dat come like he cuss everybody on the forum.. steups

Yes, and then ban Flex for starting this thread and posting that article.

::)

yeah, i cool with that..

we should ban flex too.

« Reply #34 on: November 20, 2009, 04:32:13 PM »
THE MATCH

VIDEO HIGHLIGHTS

and because ah is ah glutton for punishment ah click on another youtube clip wid Charles beauty against de US in de US......ah lord.

« Reply #35 on: November 20, 2009, 05:11:15 PM »
I always wonder why Gally did not bring on Alibey earlier in the game.

« Reply #36 on: November 20, 2009, 05:13:06 PM »
THE MATCH

VIDEO HIGHLIGHTS

and because ah is ah glutton for punishment ah click on another youtube clip wid Charles beauty against de US in de US......ah lord.

« Reply #37 on: November 20, 2009, 07:27:04 PM »
THE MATCH

VIDEO HIGHLIGHTS

Slightly more extended highlights in this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SaycfnZSW0c

« Reply #38 on: November 20, 2009, 08:25:36 PM »

Since when was bringing on Alibey ever a good idea??

« Reply #39 on: November 20, 2009, 08:57:06 PM »

Since when was bringing on Alibey ever a good idea??

« Reply #40 on: November 20, 2009, 10:37:35 PM »
What was the issue with Alibey. He played good against the US in the 1st game. He had plenty pace and that was giving the US team trouble. Then Gally subbed him. But in the game in HCS, I thought Alibey speed would have cause some problem for the US. They used Dwight and Tab Ramos marked him out.

« Reply #41 on: November 20, 2009, 11:54:06 PM »
THE MATCH

VIDEO HIGHLIGHTS

Actually USA Players full names:Tony Meola, Mike Windischmann, John Doyle, Steve Trittschuh, Paul Krumpe, Paul Caligiuri, Brian Bliss, John Harkes, Tab Ramos, Peter Vermes, Bruce Murray. It had a live call in program on TTT the day after the loss with all the strike squad players present. Carter had alot to say about TTFA program at that time. It's touching when ever i look at it including the game.

« Reply #42 on: November 21, 2009, 12:42:35 AM »
There was alot going on inside the team through out the hex where by Gally controlled the team with an iron fist. He lived and die by his decisions and it showed in the last game. A few days before the game against the USA at El.Camino college ground in Los Angeles I had a long chat with a ranking senior team member whom i personally know and it became quite obvious to me from that point onwards as to what was happening on the inside.

Spiderman Carter should of been the goalkeeper in the last match.One wonder's if Gally will ever coach the national team again? It's left to be seen. Just my 2 cents.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2009, 12:57:51 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #43 on: November 21, 2009, 05:49:08 AM »
What was the issue with Alibey. He played good against the US in the 1st game. He had plenty pace and that was giving the US team trouble. Then Gally subbed him. But in the game in HCS, I thought Alibey speed would have cause some problem for the US. They used Dwight and Tab Ramos marked him out.

The issue was he couldnt score to save his life. Or get a shot on target. Even his handball goal against Costa Rica got disallowed.

Back den, an Alibey was another name for a $hit shot.

« Reply #44 on: November 19, 2013, 01:52:16 PM »
On the anniversary, a new video in which some of the U.S. players discuss the game and the atmosphere in T&T.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/AXawhyT6i1I" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/AXawhyT6i1I</a>

« Reply #45 on: November 19, 2013, 02:41:38 PM »
On the anniversary, a new video in which some of the U.S. players discuss the game and the atmosphere in T&T.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/AXawhyT6i1I" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/AXawhyT6i1I</a>
ahh why would you post that clip .!!!! It still hurts.

« Reply #46 on: November 19, 2013, 04:31:11 PM »
However, despite our loss, in those final moments we saw what this country is all about, we are not vengeful, spiteful, arrogant or revengeful people, no one ran onto the field to attack USA's team nor threw bottles, but applaud them with respect and cheered our team with tears in our eyes as they came back out heads towards the ........

That was then , I eh too sure about now.

« Reply #47 on: November 19, 2013, 05:51:26 PM »
However, despite our loss, in those final moments we saw what this country is all about, we are not vengeful, spiteful, arrogant or revengeful people, no one ran onto the field to attack USA's team nor threw bottles, but applaud them with respect and cheered our team with tears in our eyes as they came back out heads towards the ........

What would you expect now?

« Reply #48 on: November 19, 2013, 09:37:15 PM »

What would you expect now?

Might not have anybody in the stadium

Offline loyalist

« Reply #49 on: November 19, 2013, 10:07:39 PM »
Funny eh, that goal for argument sake is probably one of the turning points for US Soccer and the development of the game in their country. They have qualified for every World Cup since then.

« Reply #50 on: November 20, 2013, 01:40:58 PM »
Funny eh, that goal for argument sake is probably one of the turning points for US Soccer and the development of the game in their country. They have qualified for every World Cup since then.

I think they understood that their qualification was a fluke for Italy 90 and their federation took the decision to never let anything happen by fluke again. They drew up a plan for the future and are still executing it today.

« Reply #51 on: November 19, 2014, 05:33:21 PM »
25th Anniversary.