May 28, 2024, 07:09:43 PM

Author Topic: 45th CARIFTA Games 2016: 26th~28th March @National Athletics Stadium, Grenada  (Read 32915 times)

Offline jason23

hmmm these games not easy na!!

What is our day 1 medal count looking like?

Offline jason23

lawd adell run and look like he pull ah hamstring.
lawd i eh no what to say na......
also i doh even no what the medal count is cause i hardly see any tnt athletes medel

lawd adell run and look like he pull ah hamstring.
lawd i eh no what to say na......
also i doh even no what the medal count is cause i hardly see any tnt athletes medel

I have been watching on and off and I have not seen any  :-[

Offline Aviator

These clowns cut the feed just before the marquee races of the night....real schupidness!!!
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Since these fools cut the feed

Someone post a video from youtube or elsewhere so I can see how St Fort won the 100m for T&T

By my count Team T&T 2 G 1 S 2 B

I know we have two gold medals so far. One from Horsford and one from Khalifa. Not sure how many silver and bronze.

For me if we cannot achieve ten gold medals this year Carifta is not a success because there has not been any improvement. Let us see what happens on day two

Since these fools cut the feed

Someone post a video from youtube or elsewhere so I can see how St Fort won the 100m for T&T

She won going away too

Offline Trini1

Khalifa said she wanted to run 11.17 and guess what 11.4 -2.7 basic is...11.17. She is in very good form.

Congrats to Khalifa.

You think she will beat Sade Williams in the 200?

Offline Trini1

Congrats to Khalifa.

I don't think she is ready for Sada yet but 22.9/22.8 I'd say is a good mark for her.

Did Chelsea James only won bronze? Hmm she was expected to bring Gold in the shot put for T&T.

ow this one gold medal less

I was surprised as well.

She said she picked up an injury.
See link: https://www.facebook.com/trackalerts/videos/vb.125617770808079/980538358649345

Khalifa St. Fort 11.40 (-2.7) wins U20 Girls 100m Final Carifta 2016

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/QaADqTZs2Dc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/QaADqTZs2Dc</a>
« Last Edit: March 26, 2016, 09:53:44 PM by Sando prince »

Parade of the Athletes Carifta Games 2016 Grenada
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/wzYyWH5CJdQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/wzYyWH5CJdQ</a>

Tyriq Horsford Breaks Carifta Javelin Record with 73.00m Carifta Games 2016
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/15Y8rXwIDXw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/15Y8rXwIDXw</a>

Event 2  Boys Javelin Throw UNDER 18
=======================================================================
       World: W 98.48m  5/25/1996   Jan Zelezny, CZE                   
     Carifta: C 70.73m  4/5/2015    Tyriq Horsford, Trinidad & Tobago 
    Name                    Year Team                    Finals  Points

Finals                                                                 
  1 Horsford, Tyriq              Trinidad and Tobago     73.00mC       
      64.58m  73.00m  FOUL  67.18m  66.93m  67.25m                     
  2 Burton, Keyon                Dominica                64.87m       
      61.90m  FOUL  62.52m  63.42m  FOUL  64.87m                       
  3 Thomas, Adrian               Grenada                 60.97m       
      56.76m  FOUL  51.57m  54.16m  54.31m  60.97m                     
  4 Brown, Leshawn               St. Maarten             58.83m       
      58.83m  FOUL  57.85m  56.47m  49.71m  45.16m                     
  5 Compton, Dunason             Grenada                 58.81m       
      FOUL  57.52m  58.81m  58.40m  FOUL  50.57m                       
  6 Joseph, Ahmed                US Virgin Islands       52.53m       
      45.85m  48.86m  52.53m  46.77m  FOUL  49.56m                     
  7 Regy, Camille                Dominica                51.96m       
      FOUL  FOUL  46.48m  FOUL  38.52m  51.96m                         
  7 Moise, Devon                 St Lucia                51.96m       
      FOUL  51.21m  50.52m  51.31m  49.36m  51.96m                     

Medal Ceremony Javelin U18 Boys Tyriq Horsford New Record 73m Carifta 2016
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/DEaFMq9ymdk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/DEaFMq9ymdk</a>
« Last Edit: March 27, 2016, 06:30:05 AM by Socapro »

Adell Colthrust (TTO) 10.66 and 3rd in Boys U18 100m Final Carifta Games 2016
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ou8FIaZxe70" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ou8FIaZxe70</a>

Event 7  Boys 100 Meter Dash UNDER 18
============================================================================
       World: W  9.58  8/16/2009   Usain Bolt, JAM                         
     Carifta: C 10.27  4/20/2014   Raheem Chambers, Jamaica                 
    Name                    Year Team                    Finals  Wind Points

Finals                                                                     
  1 Matherson, Jhevaughn         Jamaica                  10.42   1.4       
  2 Russell, Dejour              Jamaica                  10.60   1.4       
  3 Colthrust, Adell             Trinidad and Tobago      10.66   1.4       
  4 Brathwaite, Rikkoi           B.V.I.                   10.69   1.4       
  5 Clarke, Matthew              Barbados                 10.78   1.4       
  6 Smith, Johnathan             Bahamas                  10.83   1.4       
  7 Reid, Djymon                 Bermuda                  11.00   1.4       
  8 Allen, Jamol                 Grenada                  11.06   1.4       
« Last Edit: March 27, 2016, 06:31:54 AM by Socapro »

Khalifa St. Fort 11.40 (-2.7) wins U20 Girls 100m Final Carifta 2016

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/QaADqTZs2Dc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/QaADqTZs2Dc</a>

Event 8  Girls 100 Meter Dash UNDER 20
       World: W 10.49  7/16/1988   Florence Griffith-Joyner, USA           
     Carifta: C 11.03  4/11/1998   Tamicka Clarke                           
World Junior: J 11.12  10/18/2000  Veronica CAMPBELL- BROWN, JAM           
W. Jr. Qual.: * 11.80                                                       
    Name                    Year Team                    Finals  Wind Points

Finals                                                                     
  1 St. Fort, Khalifa            Trinidad and Tobago      11.40* -2.7       
  2 Moody, Patrice               Jamaica                  11.68* -2.7       
  3 Bethel, Brianne              Bahamas                  11.75* -2.7       
  4 Fahie, L'Tisha               B.V.I.                   11.86  -2.7       
  5 Reid, Shanice                Jamaica                  11.87  -2.7       
  6 Soleyn, Bliss                Antigua and Barbuda      12.05  -2.7       
  7 Jack, Nia                    US Virgin Islands        12.26  -2.7       

Onal Mitchell (lane 8, TTO) 48.72 and 3rd in Boys U18 400m Final Carifta Games 2016;
Guyanese runner Daniel Williams was DQed

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/y89A9bQb6Wk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/y89A9bQb6Wk</a>

Event 11  Boys 400 Meter Dash UNDER 18
       World: W 43.18  8/26/1999   Michael Johnson, USA                     
     Carifta: C 46.64  4/4/2015    Christopher Taylor, Jamaica               

Finals                                                                       
  1 Taylor, Christopher          Jamaica                  47.36             
  2 Hoyte-Small, Antoni          Barbados                 48.23             
  3 Mitchell, Onal               Trinidad and Tobago      48.72             
  4 Harpon, Wardhy               Martinique               49.46             
  5 Poitier, Kaze                Bahamas                  49.52             
  6 Jack, Rackeel                B.V.I.                   49.57             
  7 Jennings, Colby              Turks and Caicos         51.02             
 -- Williams, Daniel             Guyana                      DQ   Rule 163.3B
« Last Edit: March 27, 2016, 08:08:14 AM by Socapro »

Renee Stoddard (lane 2, TTO) 56.14 and 7th in Girls U20 400m Final - GARIFTA Games 2016
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/tJBOjY05Rtg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/tJBOjY05Rtg</a>

Event 12  Girls 400 Meter Dash UNDER 20
       World: W 47.60  10/6/1985   Marita Koch, GDR                   
     Carifta: C 51.30  4/15/2006   Sonita Sutherland, Jamaica         
World Junior: J 50.50  7/13/2012   Ashley SPENCER, USA                 
W. Jr. Qual.: * 55.25                                                 

Finals                                                                 
  1 Williams, Sada               Barbados                 52.07*       
  2 Dorsett, Shaquania           Bahamas                  52.50*       
  3 James, Tiffany               Jamaica                  52.70*       
  4 Hemmings, Semoy              Jamaica                  53.89*       
  5 Moses, Tarika                B.V.I.                   54.02*       
  6 Rossen, Kim                  Curacao                  56.03       
  7 Stoddard, Renee              Trinidad and Tobago      56.14       
  8 Richardson, Artesha          Anguilla                 56.57       
« Last Edit: March 27, 2016, 08:32:50 AM by Socapro »

Horsford lights up Grenada with Carifta record
« Reply #50 on: March 27, 2016, 08:54:58 AM »
Horsford lights up Grenada with Carifta record
CLAYTON CLARKE Sunday, March 27 2016 (T&T Newsday)

Tyriq Horsford (TTO) retained Boys U18 javelin with record of 73.00m at Carifta 2016
 --- PHOTO: Courtesy of TrackAlerts

Tyriq Horsford (Signal Hill Sec) was the star of the opening morning of action of the 45th Carifta Games at the Grenada Athletic Stadium, Queen’s Park, Grenada, yesterday.

The defending champion retained his title with a massive round throw of 73m to erase the 70.73m record he set in taking the 2015 title in St. Kitts. Horsford took the lead with 64.58 before unleashing the mammoth effort before many of the spectators had settled in the stadium. Taking silver was Kenyon Burton of Dominica (64.87) ahead of Grenada’s Adrian Thomas (60.97). Horsford’s gold came moments after Ianna Roach (Bishop Anstey) took silver in the girls under 18 shot put with a distance of 14.48m.

Roach was beaten out of the top spot by Lacee Barnes of Cayman Islands who took gold with a mark of 14.90m. Jamaican Aiko Jones (14.32) was third. Roach’s father, Ian, and her mother were in the stands cheering her on.

Although finishing second, Roach’s achievement has been getting rave reviews as she only picked up the sport five months ago. She previously represented TT at waterpolo but later made her switch to the field event.

Safiya John (Scarborough Sec) was first in action in the girls under 18 high jump but failed to clear her opening height. Jamaica’s Shiann Salmon took the event with 1.82m.

Oral Mitchell (Point Fortin East Sec) copped bronze in the boys under 18 400m finals in 48.72.

Mitchell was beaten to the line by World Youth champion Christopher Taylor of Jamaica (47.36) and Antoni Hoyte-Small of Barbados 48.23. Mitchell advanced to the finals with the fifth fastest time in the heats in the morning (49.31). Che Lara (Arima North Sec) missed out on a place in the finals when he was ninth best 49.85.

Late last evening, Chelsea James (Signal Hill Sec) copped bronze in the girls under 20 shot put with 13.66m to finish behind the Jamaican pair of Janell Fullerton (14.52) and Sahjay Stevens (13.74).

Renee Stoddard (Providence Girls ) was seventh in the girls under 20 400m finals in 56.14.

Alikah Lewis (Bishops Anstey) and Jenea Spinks (Holy Name Convent-POS) were 12th (12.08) and 13th (12.13) in the girls under 18 100m prelims and missed out on qualifying for the finals.

TT gold medal hopeful Khalifa St Fort was the quickest in the girls under 20 00m heats, running 11.39 to win heat one. Sarah Wollaston was 11th best in 12.29 and did not advance.

Adel Colthrust (Debe Sec) advanced to the boys under 18 100m finals with the fastest time in the prelims (10.68) in winning the fourth and final heat. Tyrel Edwards (Toco) failed to moved on to the final eight when he was 12th overall in the heats (10.97).
« Last Edit: March 27, 2016, 02:52:33 PM by Socapro »

St Fort, Hosford strike Carifta gold
« Reply #51 on: March 27, 2016, 09:41:44 AM »
St Fort, Hosford strike Carifta gold
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Guardian)
Published: Sunday, March 27, 2016

Khalifa St Fort --- Photo by TrackAlerts

Tyriq Horsford and Khalifa St Fort of T&T both won gold medals on day one of the 45th Annual Carifta Games at the National Athletics Stadium in Grenada, yesterday.

Horsford was a class above the rest in the boys Under-18 javelin event. He defended his title and broke his own Carifta record when he threw the spear 73.00 metres on his second of six attempts to break his 70.73m Carifta record he set last year in St Kitts. Finishing a distant second was Keyon Burton of Dominica with a top throw of 64.87m, while Grenadian Adrian Thomas was third in 60.97m.

It was a dominant performance by Horsford in the second event of the meet. In his first attempt, he threw the javelin 64.58m before breaking the record in his second attempt. After fouling his third throw, he recorded distances of 67.18m, 66.93m and 67.25m on his remaining throws.       

After winning the event for a second consecutive year Horsford said, “It’s a wonderful feeling breaking the record again. It was very competitive with a few throwers getting over 60 metres.”

St Fort, trained by former T&T sprinter Ato Boldon, won gold in the girls U-20 100m finals in 11.40 seconds, ahead of Jamaican Patrice Moody (11.68) and Brianne Bethel of Bahamas (11.75).

Ianna Roach won T&T’s second medal of the day, grabbing silver with a season’s best in the girls Under-18 shot put finals. Roach was out the blocks early, with a throw of 14.49m in her first attempt which ensured her a podium finish. The T&T athlete did not improve on her first attempt. She recorded a distance of 13.40m in her second effort, followed by 13.35m, 14.41m, a fouled attempt and 14.13m.

Lacee Barnes of Cayman Islands won gold with a top throw of 14.90m on her first attempt, while Jamaican Aiko Jones grabbed bronze ending with a best throw of 14.32m.

Chelsea James, Onal Mitchell and Adell Colthrust all won bronze medals for T&T. James copped third place in the girls Under-20 shot put event with an effort of 13.66m on her third attempt, while Mitchell won bronze in the boys U-18 400m finals in a time of 48.72 seconds. In the boys Under-18 100m final, Colthrust ran 10.66 seconds to claim bronze.

SELECTED RESULTS

Boys Under-18 Javelin Finals

1 Horsford, Tyriq - T&T - 73.00 metres (Carifta record)

2 Burton, Keyon - Dominica - 64.87m

3 Thomas, Adrian - Grenada - 60.97m 

Girls 100m U-20 Finals

1 St. Fort, Khalifa - T&T -  11.40

2 Moody, Patrice - Jamaica - 11.68

3 Bethel, Brianne - Bahamas - 11.75 

Girls Shot Put U-18 Finals

1 Barnes, Lacee - Cayman Islands - 14.90m       

2 Roach, Ianna - T&T - 14.49m       

3 Jones, Aiko - Jamaica - 14.32m

Girls Shot Put U-20 Finals

1 Fullerton, Janell -  Jamaica - 14.52m       

2 Stevens, Sahjay - Jamaica - 13.74m       

3 James, Chelsea - T&T - 13.66m       

Boys 400m U-18 Finals

1 Taylor, Christopher - Jamaica - 47.36 sec             

2 Hoyte-Small, Antoni - Barbados - 48.23             

3 Mitchell, Onal -  T&T - 48.72

Boys 100m  U-18 Finals

1 Matherson, Jhevaughn - Jamaica - 10.42     

2 Russell, Dejour - Jamaica - 10.60   

3 Colthrust, Adell - T&T - 10.66
« Last Edit: March 27, 2016, 03:14:39 PM by Socapro »

Congrats to Khalifa.

I don't think she is ready for Sada yet but 22.9/22.8 I'd say is a good mark for her.

think again she beat her at the world youth in the 100 meters ..... she will beat her in that 200 meters but to bad she is not running it

Offline Trini1

Trini, the Bajan that she beat at world youth was Tristan Evelyn not Sada. Sada is a 200/400 specialist. Sada ran 22.61 nearly a whole second faster than Khalifa and a time that would be a good opener for Semoy or KAB. I have nothing but love for my fellow countrymen but realistically speaking I don't feel that Khalifa is ready to run that fast YET over 200m. Of course I am no expert and anything can happen so.

Now I'm just wishing Khalifa a speedy recovery. I know she is in good hands.

So did T&T win any Gold medal on day two? hmmm

Online Deeks

So did T&T win any Gold medal on day two? hmmm

Guava season, Breds

What's going on with our track.and field? We're about 5th right now with just 2 golds

I hope NAAA TT President Ephraim Serrette doesn't try to blame the athletes when the dust clears and instead takes some of the blame.

You don't leave serious medal prospects like Jacob St Clair at home and not field relay teams for Boys U-20's and expect to maximize your medal chances. Recession is no excuse as Grenada is less than an hour away from us.

This looks like it could be one of our worse Carifta Games ever if general performances don't improve.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2016, 06:13:39 PM by Socapro »

Online Deeks

I think we have 3 golds. But we are terrible. Where are our female athletes.? We are poor. If Ato did not encourage Khalifha to come with TT. What would be the situation?  :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead:

As of right now T&T has two and not three gold medals. And if Khalifa was not there we would just have one gold medal less. So, that will be the situation to answer your question.