Wed, Jul


Recent TT Pro League signing Darren Mitchell was recognised as the top performer in last year’s blink/bmobile National Super League, when the second tier football competition held its annual awards ceremony and launch at the Queen’s Park Oval, St Clair, on Tuesday, days before the new season is due to kick off.

Mitchell, 23, who has spent the last five years playing for 1976 FC Phoenix, got the award after being named in the honour roll of the top five players of the year for the past two seasons. Mitchell was also the only player to be named in the top five for the past two seasons.

Joining him in the honour roll were Jahhan Hernandez, who played a large part in WASA FC’s 2012 title-winning campaign; Ellis Dyett of Joe Public, which finished second; Troy Thompson of third-placed finisher Westside Superstarz and Junior Granger from Real Maracas, which took fourth. All five players won $2,500 each, while Mitchell took away an additional $5,000.

Mitchell, a former Scarborough Secondary standout, took the spotlight in a season which awarded him two recent international call-ups for T&T for friendlies against Peru and Belize. It also won him the recognition of the newest TT Pro League club Central FC which he recently signed with. 

Speaking briefly at the awards function Mitchell said, “It’s a great achievement for me being named in the top five for two seasons, and coming to win the big trophy. I just want to thank my (former) coach at Phoenix and those who supported me.” 

He said his recent switch allowed him an opportunity to prove his talent, which he said will hopefully see him move abroad for more exposure.

At the function, WASA FC was recognised for an outstanding season, which saw it capture the National Super League crown for the first time in five years. The club finished two points ahead of 2012 treble winner Joe Public. WASA was then awarded with $200,000 in prize money for their efforts.

Before the Super League prizes were distributed, the winners of last season’s NLCB National Youth League were presented with their prizes.

Taking the under-14 crown was Moruga FC, while Southern Football Academy and Stokely Vale FC, were presented as joint winners of the under-16 division. FC Santa Rosa and 1976 FC Phoenix were also named joint winners in the under-18 division.

Santa Rosa’s Andre Rampersad copped the MVP trophy in the under-18 division, while Derice Biggard (SFA) and Romano Steeling (Moruga FC), won the MVP awards for the under-16 and under-14 divisions, respectively.

This season’s blink/bmobile National Super League will feature 13 club, with three promoted from the Champions of Champions qualification competition: Guaya FC, Bethel United and Malabar FC,
Honour roll

Blink/bmobile National Super League League

Winner- WASA FC ($200,000)

Runner-up- Joe Public ($100,000)

Third- Westside Superstarz ($50,000)

Fourth- Real Maracas ($22,500)

Knockout competition

Winner- Stokely Vale FC ($75,000)

Runner-up- $35,000

Top Five Players of the Year

Jahhan Hernandez (WASA FC)

Ellis Dyett (Joe Public)

Troy Thompson (Westside Superstarz)

Darren Mitchell (1976 FC Phoenix)

Junior Grainger (Real Maracas)

Most Valuable Player- Darren Mitchell

NLCB National Youth League


Winner- Moruga FC

Runner-up- FC Santa Rosa

Most Promising Player- Romano Steeling (Moruga FC)

Joint winners- Southern Football Academy and Stokely Vale FC

Most Promising Player- Derice Biggart (Southern Football Academy)

Joint winners- FC Santa Rosa and 1976 FC Phoenix

Most Promising Player- Andre Rampersad (FC Santa Rosa)

Super League Fixtures


WASA FC v Club Sando, WASA Ground, St Joseph

Real Maracas v Siparia Spurs, Maracas, St Joseph

Joe Public v Guaya United, Marvin Lee Stadium, Mavoya

FC Santa Rosa v Malabar FC, UTT, O'Meara


Westside Superstarz v 1976 FC Phoenix, St Anthony's College Ground, Westmoorings

Stokely Vale v Defence Force, Plymouth Recreation Ground, Tobago

Next Super League Matches

Super League Results

Super League Top Scorers