DIRECTV W Connection celebrated their 15th anniversary with an Awards Ceremony and Dinner on December 7 at the Point-a-Pierre Staff Club. Among the award recipients of the night were Joevin Jones and Akeem Awong, in the senior and youth categories, while Claudia Enda Fevrier received the President’s Award.

Renowned radio personality Selwyn Melville was the Master Of Ceremonies for the event which included guests such as Caledonia AIA coach Jamaal Shabazz, Central FC coach Zoran Vranes and former strike squad players Leonson Lewis (U-14 coach) and Kelvin Jones. 

The Senior Awards for the 2013/14 Season in which W Connection won a record fifth Pro League title consisted of Player of the Year, Most Improved Player, Most Disciplined Player, Best Midfielder, Best Defender, Best Striker and Most Goals Scored. 

Joevin Jones, who recently signed for Major League Soccer (MLS) team Chicago Fire, secured the Best Midfielder and Most Goals Awards. 

In the Youth category players were recognised for being the Most Valuable Player, Most Improved Player, Most Disciplined Player, Most Promising Player and Most Goals Scored for the 2013/2014 Youth Pro League Season in which the under-16 team triumphed. 

Due to its success, the U-16 team toured four-time World Cup champions Italy, becoming the first Caribbean Club team to do so, playing world renowned teams namely AC Milan, Inter Milan, Hellas Verona and Udinese. 

Seventeen-year-old goalkeeper Akeem Awong clinched the Most Valuable Player and Most Improved Player Awards. 

St Kitts and Nevis midfielder Gerard Williams, who received the Senior 2013/14 Player of the Year Award, got special praise from Technical Director/Head Coach Charles-Fevrier. He noted that the 26- year-old is one of the best defensive midfielders in the club’s history and professional football in Trinidad and Tobago. 

Despite the position being underrated, Charles-Fevrier noted that the role Gerard played for the club since his arrival in 2007 is just as significant as any of the former high profile forwards and defenders that have played for the “Savonetta Boys.” 

Special recognition was given to longstanding Staff members of DIRECTV W Connection and self-proclaimed number one fan Twain Wallace who was presented with a 2014/2015 Replica team jersey. 

The President’s Award was created by club owner David John-Williams to recognise an individual who has given years of loyal and selfless service to W Connection. It was first awarded to former stalwart players and current coaches, Earl Jean and Elijah Joseph in 2008 and 2013 respectively. 

Claudia Enda Fevrier, wife of veteran W Connection Technical Director/Head Coach Stuart Charles-Fevrier, became the first non-player to receive this prestigious club honour. 

According to John-Williams, she displayed all of the aforementioned virtues, since she gave up her life and job in St Lucia to follow her husband in his coaching career in Trinidad and plays an important role behind the scenes.

Senior Awards 

Most Improved Player 2013/14 – Alvin Jones 

Most Disciplined Player 2013/14 – Hashim Arcia 

Most Goals Scored – Joevin Jones 

Best Defender – Daneil Cyrus 

Best Midfielder – Joevin Jones 

Best Striker – Stefano Rijssel 

Player of the Year – Gerard Williams

Youth Awards 

Most Improved Player U-14 – Miguel Cedeno 

Most Promising Player U-14 – Jarelle Steadman 

Most Disciplined Player U-14 – Tyrique Andrews 

Most Goals Scored U-14 – Nikel Rawlins 

Most Valuable Player U-14 – Christian Ransome 

Most Improved Player U-16 – Kareem Riley 

Most Promising Player U-16 – Isaiah Hudson 

Most Disciplined Player U-16 – Enrique Changiah 

Most Goals Scored U-16 – Anthony Herbert 

Most Valuable Player U-16 – Kierron Mason 

Most Improved Player U-18 – Akeem Awong 

Most Promising Player U-18 – Amritt Gildharry 

Most Disciplined Player U-18 – Martieon Watson 

Most Goals Scored U-18 – Jabari Mitchell 

Most Valuable Player U-18 – Akeem Awong

Loyal Service: Denyse Wickham, Stuart Charles-Fevrier, John Jerry, Steve Trevor Nottingham, Brian Williams, Lennox St George, Raymond Mc. Lean, Wayne Lawson, Chandeo Troy Boodoosingh. 

Fan recognition: Twain Wallace 

DIRECTV W Connection President’s Award: Claudia Enda Fevrier.