Sports => Football => Topic started by: E-man on December 28, 2006, 11:59:13 AM

Title: Queen's Park after Avery
Post by: E-man on December 28, 2006, 11:59:13 AM
Queen's Park after Avery.

Trinidad and Tobago defender Avery John is set to become this country’s latest defender to join the English professional scene.
John, of American Major League Soccer’s New England Revolution, has been targeted by Queen’s Park Rangers and according to club manager John Gregory, will be signed on January 2 just as the transfer window opens.
John had been on trial at Leeds United but was unsuccessful. However soon after Queen’s Park of the Championship Division took note of him. Over the last couple of weeks, the club’s administration had been in contact with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation, requesting information on John and his overall international appearance status to which the TTFF cooperated.
Sampsa Timoska, of Finnish club MyPa  is also expected to sign with Queen’s Park and along with John could make his  debut for the club in the FA Cup third-round tie against Carlos Edwards’ Luton Town  on January 6.
“We have a couple of people in mind who are ready to come straight in, and they will be registered on January 2. I think they will enhance the squad. There is no point bringing someone in if he is not better than what we have, because we have 35 professionals,” said Gregory who once managed Dwight Yorke at Aston Villa.
Meantime, Sunderland, club of Yorke, has expressed interest in the services of Edwards. The former Wrexham player is now being targeted by Celtic, Newcastle United, Charlton Athletic, Watford and Birmingham City.
Sunderland manager Roy Keane added “Carlos Edwards is a player that I admire and he is someone I would like to add to the squad. We do intend to follow up our interest but it would be premature to assume that anything will definitely happen in that direction. We'll have to see what Luton's position is on the matter but he is someone we're interested in, yes."
It is also understood that St Johnstone striker Jason Scotland has received interest from and English club but time will tell what the former Defence Force striker decides on. And striker Stern John has been offered a contract extension at Coventry City but is still undecided. John has also been reportedly offered a lucrative deal by Israeli club Beitar Jerusalem.
Title: Re: Avery John to sign with QPR
Post by: andre samuel on December 28, 2006, 12:07:49 PM
Post by: FireBrand on December 28, 2006, 12:12:43 PM
Good news for de blade specialist. All de best Avery!
Post by: lickslikefire on December 28, 2006, 12:19:53 PM
NICENESS!    Congrats Avery :beermug:
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 28, 2006, 12:22:50 PM
good news, but im very surprised... :beermug:
Post by: FireBrand on December 28, 2006, 12:27:28 PM

Why TI? Yuh doh think he could make it at QPR or yuh think he could do better?
Post by: Ngozi on December 28, 2006, 12:30:28 PM
Congrats Avery well deserved....hardworker you'll fit in well in England
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 28, 2006, 12:31:26 PM

avery wasnt our best defender, he dont have de touches or dribbling skills to play at that level, de man passing is atrocious, sancho could more than make qpr or higher if john make qpr... juss my opinion
Post by: RGarcia on December 28, 2006, 12:35:09 PM
yuh have meh blessins sah, congrats!
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 28, 2006, 12:35:43 PM

and gray still in de pro league and he was a better defender than john, that doesnt make sense atall, its all about agents I guess, gray and sancho need a new agent...
Post by: RGarcia on December 28, 2006, 12:40:50 PM

yeah i agree with you its how the agent can market a player to the clubs.

and gray still in de pro league and he was a better defender than john, that doesnt make sense atall, its all about agents I guess, gray and sancho need a new agent...
Post by: duscam on December 28, 2006, 01:02:13 PM
some people should just not speak ??? and i guess hardest could play for manchester cause he hit a man a cap in training right??
Post by: Peong on December 28, 2006, 01:04:21 PM
Congrats Avery John.
Post by: supporter on December 28, 2006, 01:31:04 PM

avery wasnt our best defender, he dont have de touches or dribbling skills to play at that level, de man passing is atrocious, sancho could more than make qpr or higher if john make qpr... juss my opinion

shows how little you follow our footballers because Avery had a very good year in New England and many have seen improvement from him since the World Cup. All de best to Avery, at least the man finding work, unlike theobold and spann.
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 28, 2006, 01:40:27 PM

yeah i agree with you its how the agent can market a player to the clubs.

I agreewith yuh garcia how they get marketed yuh eh see what happened with them 3 JA players ... who else is an agent fuh tnt congrats avery
Post by: Quags on December 28, 2006, 01:53:35 PM
Yeah that was uncalled for ,the man had a great year and he get rewarded for it .This tread have nothing to do with other players . Congratulations Avery ,you deserve it .
Post by: trinbago on December 28, 2006, 02:17:18 PM
Congrats to Avery....it just shows what a little initiative will do....he didnt relax in the off season...he went out and showed what he has to offer in England....
Post by: big dawg on December 28, 2006, 02:35:58 PM
The good new is.. its always an improvement to move from the MLS to the Championship..The bad news is. the team is ranked 20 out of a possible 24 and can easliy face relegation to League One if no improvement is done.

None-the-less..Congrats the Avery.. he has worked hard since his days at Pres...well deserved. :beermug:
Post by: andre samuel on December 28, 2006, 02:42:02 PM
TI.........i understand your point about sancho and so on but that is no reason for you to sound like if you hating on de man

Post by: Ngozi on December 28, 2006, 03:09:46 PM
Not to say that gray and sancho doh deserve chances too but stop hating on the man you doh think he could mak4e it at that level but obviously the coach of qpr thinks otherwise....i think ill have to go with his opinion
Post by: truetrini on December 28, 2006, 03:25:54 PM
agents could market til dey blue in de face..yuh still have to try out, work hard and IMPRESS!

steups.

More tings change is more dey remain de same.

BIG up AVERY!
Post by: Peong on December 28, 2006, 04:02:32 PM
The glass is half empty.
Post by: truetrini on December 28, 2006, 04:05:00 PM
yes saboteurs trying to derail we football because we is ah BIG threat to British football.

Man why didn't I see dat all along/

Wait I know why?

I have a brain!
Post by: Jefferz on December 28, 2006, 04:06:42 PM
TI.........i understand your point about sancho and so on but that is no reason for you to sound like if you hating on de man

breds i not hating on de man, but i juss saying based on what i have seen of him, he is not our bess defender and is gettin a better chance than our better defenders who are younger and more talented, so what does that say? ??? im happy for him, but the joke is the uk teams know he is our oldest defender but he gettin de bess contract, but our younger defenders who have more time and maybe another 1 or 2 world cups not getting trials, tuh me that is bullshit, or juss sabotage...

buh wuh de f**k!? dred you really livin in lala land awa!?

If iz sabotage and lets say it is... and the english leagues are leavin our "younger, more talented" players back home... then our local league should be one of the best in the world not so...??

Sometimes I really feel your brain is a rotting carcass of shit.
Post by: Cowen on December 28, 2006, 04:41:39 PM
I must have missed it ...but when did this trial take place ???

Post by: che on December 28, 2006, 04:46:17 PM

breds i not hating on de man, but i juss saying based on what i have seen of him, he is not our bess defender and is gettin a better chance than our better defenders who are younger and more talented, so what does that say? ??? im happy for him, but the joke is the uk teams know he is our oldest defender but he gettin de bess contract, but our younger defenders who have more time and maybe another 1 or 2 world cups not getting trials, tuh me that is bullshit, or juss sabotage...

TI, Avery is left footed. Gray and Sancho are right footed. Maybe QPR needed a left footed player.
Post by: Grande on December 28, 2006, 04:54:02 PM
Well nothing set in stone  yet - the article did not say it was a done deal. But all the best to Avery...he reach as far as one could reach in de MLS and if he goes to QPR it will be a move to Europe, which is what he always tried for.
Post by: TRUwarrior on December 28, 2006, 04:57:50 PM
yea TI like a club that is 4 places from d drop go take a "young and inexperienced" defender  :-\ :-\
Post by: duscam on December 28, 2006, 05:00:20 PM
BUT GRAY AND SANCHO IS OLE MEN TOO YOU KNOW :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Feliziano on December 28, 2006, 05:28:20 PM
TI, Avery is left footed. Gray and Sancho are right footed. Maybe QPR needed a left footed player.
Che..dat make too too much sense  ;D
anyway Congrats Avery  :beermug:
Post by: samo on December 28, 2006, 06:01:00 PM
Congrats to Avery...I wish him a prosperous 2007
Post by: weary1969 on December 28, 2006, 06:58:54 PM
I happy but I go be more happy when he sign.
Post by: Mose on December 28, 2006, 07:12:10 PM
Same here.
Post by: Themanfriday on December 29, 2006, 06:50:27 AM
yes saboteurs trying to derail we football because we is ah BIG threat to British football.

Wait I know why?

I have a brain!

:rotfl: :devil: :rotfl: :devil: :rotfl: :devil: :rotfl: :devil: :rotfl: :devil: :rotfl: AH GO PEE MIHSELF :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Arimaman on December 29, 2006, 07:14:52 AM
Quote from: andre samuel on December 28, 2006, 03:42:02 PM

breds i not hating on de man, but i juss saying based on what i have seen of him, he is not our bess defender and is gettin a better chance than our better defenders who are younger and more talented, so what does that say?  im happy for him, but the joke is the uk teams know he is our oldest defender but he gettin de bess contract, but our younger defenders who have more time and maybe another 1 or 2 world cups not getting trials, tuh me that is bullshit, or juss sabotage...

Just because he signing with QPR doesn't mean he getting a better contract?  It means he is playing with a team in a higher league, but for all we know, Sancho could be making more money.
Post by: WestCoast on December 29, 2006, 07:31:04 AM
im happy for him, but the joke is the uk teams know he is our oldest defender but he gettin de bess contract, but our younger defenders who have more time and maybe another 1 or 2 world cups not getting trials, tuh me that is bullshit, or juss sabotage...
uuummmm
sabotage ???
(http://www.smileyhut.com/laughing/roll1.gif)(http://www.smileyhut.com/laughing/roflmao.gif)(http://www.smileyhut.com/laughing/rotflmao.gif)
you are kiddin, right!!!
(http://www.smileyhut.com/silly/tomaatit.gif)
Post by: Brownsugar on December 29, 2006, 07:49:31 AM
Same here.

True dat.... :praying:
Post by: TdotTrini on December 29, 2006, 08:15:30 AM
Congrats Avery, all the best. :beermug:
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 29, 2006, 08:34:47 AM
im happy for him, but the joke is the uk teams know he is our oldest defender but he gettin de bess contract, but our younger defenders who have more time and maybe another 1 or 2 world cups not getting trials, tuh me that is bullshit, or juss sabotage...

how does sabotage come into this is it  TTFF dat send avery on trials ?  avery went he tried out and get A CONTRACT  and yuh  gripe is  local clubs cause  avery dont even play in the pro league....
call up public connection and jabloteh and ask them why they dont send they player on trials...
Post by: SOBRIQUET on December 29, 2006, 12:29:35 PM
I know its a forum, with different personalities and ideas; but; I HATE TI.  Your way of thinking absolutely baffles me.
Post by: Peong on December 29, 2006, 12:44:42 PM
I know its a forum, with different personalities and ideas; but; I HATE TI.  Your way of thinking absolutely baffles me.

:rotfl: but did you ever release a cd?
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 29, 2006, 03:29:25 PM
QUEEN'S PARK AFTER AVERY QUEEN'S PARK AFTER AVERY 
Shaun Fuentes

Trinidad and Tobago defender Avery John is set to become this country’s latest defender to join the English professional scene.

John, of American Major League Soccer’s New England Revolution, has been targeted by Queen’s Park Rangers and according to club manager John Gregory, will be signed on January 2 just as the transfer window opens.

John had been on trial at Leeds United but was unsuccessful. However soon after Queen’s Park of the Championship Division took note of him. Over the last couple of weeks, the club’s administration had been in contact with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation, requesting information on John and his overall international appearance status to which the TTFF cooperated.

Sampsa Timoska, of Finnish club MyPa  is also expected to sign with Queen’s Park and along with John could make his  debut for the club in the FA Cup third-round tie against Carlos Edwards’ Luton Town  on January 6.

“We have a couple of people in mind who are ready to come straight in, and they will be registered on January 2. I think they will enhance the squad. There is no point bringing someone in if he is not better than what we have, because we have 35 professionals,” said Gregory who once managed Dwight Yorke at Aston Villa.

Meantime, Sunderland, club of Yorke, has expressed interest in the services of Edwards. The former Wrexham player is now being targeted by Celtic, Newcastle United, Charlton Athletic, Watford and Birmingham City.

Sunderland manager Roy Keane added “Carlos Edwards is a player that I admire and he is someone I would like to add to the squad. We do intend to follow up our interest but it would be premature to assume that anything will definitely happen in that direction. We'll have to see what Luton's position is on the matter but he is someone we're interested in, yes."

It is also understood that St Johnstone striker Jason Scotland has received interest from and English club but time will tell what the former Defence Force striker decides on. And striker Stern John has been offered a contract extension at Coventry City but is still undecided. John has also been reportedly offered a lucrative deal by Israeli club Beitar Jerusalem. (December 29, 2006)

Post by: TrinInfinite on December 29, 2006, 03:35:55 PM
I know its a forum, with different personalities and ideas; but; I HATE TI. Your way of thinking absolutely baffles me.

diz ok bredda, join de line :devil: ;D
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 29, 2006, 03:42:55 PM

Wait I know why?

I have a brain!

:rotfl: :devil: :rotfl: :devil: :rotfl: :devil: :rotfl: :devil: :rotfl: :devil: :rotfl: AH GO PEE MIHSELF :rotfl: :rotfl:

he mean ah brain that he doesnt use most of the times, when west indies were doing well in cricket, most of we players were over playing county cricket in england, nurturing that raw talent and skill, then english officials decided to cut this bc our cricket became too dominant and we were destroying everyone, its not so diff that they see the potential of our players, since we almost drew with them and could have beat them in the world cup, that is a scare alone, all of a sudden none of we players could make epl, b4 when we didnt make the world cup we had players in the epl and it wasnt a problem, scouts coming to scout we youths, now they have come to a realization, if we give these players the chance in the epl, they will be a deadlier team, it also is in better interest to the US and mexico that our players dont play in the best leagues...

yea i know this is an assumption but im basing it on what happened b4 with our other big sport in the caribbean, why is it so baffling to think they are so diff with football, an even bigger and much richer sport, allyuh stay dey and feel the uk want us to do well and outshine dem or any european, allyuh living in a bubble...

God is de BOSS....
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 29, 2006, 03:44:25 PM
Che..dat make too too much sense  ;D
anyway Congrats Avery :beermug:

good point but i didnt read anywhere dey were in desperate need for a left footed defender, but good point... :beermug:
Post by: WestCoast on December 29, 2006, 04:10:02 PM
:rotfl: but did you ever release a cd?
and say dat Austin have a copy?  :devil:
Title: Queen's Park after Avery
Post by: FireBrand on December 29, 2006, 04:24:53 PM
Queen's Park after Avery
By: Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

It is also understood that St Johnstone striker Jason Scotland has received interest from and English club but time will tell what the former Defence Force striker decides on. And striker Stern John has been offered a contract extension at Coventry City but is still undecided. John has also been reportedly offered a lucrative deal by Israeli club Beitar Jerusalem.

Title: Re: Queen's Park after Avery
Post by: trini supporter on December 29, 2006, 09:26:53 PM
Hope everything works out well for avery :beermug:
Post by: Eh! on December 30, 2006, 11:21:21 AM
Be patient, is just about the right set of circumstances and Sancho's will come soon enough.  Avery will do well and obviously he earned his spot but he is also lucky to be in his off season at a time when QPR is strugglin and needs new faces.  I'm sure Gillingham will be reluctant to let Brent go in the middle of the season.  After the World Cup though, I'm sure eyes are on Sancho as well.
Post by: davidephraim on December 30, 2006, 12:11:23 PM

If iz sabotage and lets say it is... and the english leagues are leavin our "younger, more talented" players back home... then our local league should be one of the best in the world not so...??

did you make dat up or did you read that somewhere?  Dat sound like something off of Animal Planet :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

a rotting carcass of shit.... Oh my goodness.  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Coop's on December 30, 2006, 01:16:55 PM

This is not about best player/defender,it's about a player getting an opportunity to improve/better himself,being rewarded for hard work,being in the right place at the right time,bold enough to take chances,this is something we hope all our players would aspire to do,for some reason the best players don't always make it,we have some in T&T are perfect examples,come on lets big up the guy and wish him well,if he is getting a contract it's because he is worth it.
Title: Reactions from the QPR message board
Post by: Tallman on December 31, 2006, 04:57:39 PM
Avery or ............. (http://www.qpr.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=98291)
Has JP lost it? Avery John an old man and only 5'8" to play RB (http://www.qpr.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=98059)
Post by: SUPA on December 31, 2006, 09:43:03 PM
One ah meh bois, did really mention dat tuh meh. He said Avery is not T&T best defender, but he is good enough tuh get ah contract in de Championship division, he said something must be going on behind closed doors, dat bredda cah leave England, without getting pull in on one ah dem team. Well he was really correct wid dat statement. Again Mr "BLADE" we does always support yuh and we wish yuh de best meh boi. Bless.
Post by: Flex on January 01, 2007, 07:59:22 AM
Fulham FC puts up $2.9 million to claim Dempsey.
Clint Dempsey Awaits ruling on work permit.
By Frank Dell'Apa, Globe Staff.

The Revolution's Clint Dempsey is on the verge of going to Fulham FC of England's Premier League. Fulham manager Chris Coleman said the West London club and Major League Soccer have agreed to a $2.9 million transfer fee for Dempsey, pending the approval of a work permit.
Players from outside the European Union are required to have played in 75 percent of the recent matches of their national team. Dempsey, 23, participated in 9 of 13 matches for the United States this year, tying Revolution teammate Taylor Twellman for the scoring lead with four goals. Dempsey missed a 1-0 win over Latvia May 28 with an injury and was left off a pre-World Cup visit to Germany after being suspended by the Revolution following a practice scuffle with captain Joe Franchino. Dempsey did not participate in a 3-0 loss to the Czech Republic in the World Cup but was among the team's top performers in the next two games.
A Professional Footballers Association tribunal will hear Fulham's appeal for a work permit.
Fulham tied Chelsea, 2-2, yesterday on a late goal by US national team defender Carlos Bocanegra and is tied for 10th in the Premiership standings with 26 points in 21 matches. The Cottagers, whose principal investor is Harrods owner Mohamed El Fayed , have two other former MLS stars: midfielder Simon Elliott and forward Brian McBride.
"We've agreed to a fee but it still has to go to the tribunal," Coleman said before yesterday's game. "He's had a few injury problems, so he's just a little bit short there. But it's not like he's coming here to sit on the bench. He's coming because we've bought him to make a big impact. Clint's a wide player up front, can play either flank, strong with pace, a good player, good touch.
"He has all the attributes to be a good player in the Premier League, is the right age, and was in our price range."
Revolution defender Avery John will move to Queen's Park Rangers of England's Championship League, according to the Trinidad & Tobago national team website. John, 32, participated in a tryout with Leeds United earlier this month.
Post by: Pointman on January 01, 2007, 10:06:49 PM
GO Avery

GO AVERY

GO AVERY!!!!
Post by: trinbago on January 02, 2007, 07:05:39 PM
Nutten concrete on Avery yet??
Post by: Rodney on January 02, 2007, 07:44:49 PM
Nutten concrete on Avery yet??

Here is something: http://www.soccernewengland.com/articles/view_article.php?id=2329
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 02, 2007, 07:54:19 PM
Pros

John set to be a loan Ranger? By Andrew Hush
January 1, 2007

Avery John’s proposed move to English Championship side, Queen’s Park Rangers, has hit a snag, Soccer New England has learned.

Avery John (Photo by Joyce Furia)

It is understood that QPR were originally keen to offer John a long term deal. However, MLS has exercised the option they held on the 31-year-old for 2007.

QPR manager, John Gregory, is still interested in signing the Trinidad and Tobago international, though may now be looking at a six-month loan deal rather than a permanent transfer.

John was formerly represented by Patrick McCabe of First Wave Sports. However, it is believed that he recently switched to Eric Walters of the London-based Base Soccer agency.

John is believed to have made a salary of approximately $36,000 in 2006, a year he began on the fringes of the Revs starting eleven. Following the World Cup in which he started two games for the ‘Soca Warriors’, John won a spot in Steve Nicol’s team.

Post by: SUPA on January 02, 2007, 09:32:58 PM
Pros

John set to be a loan Ranger? By Andrew Hush
January 1, 2007

Avery John’s proposed move to English Championship side, Queen’s Park Rangers, has hit a snag, Soccer New England has learned.

Avery John (Photo by Joyce Furia)

It is understood that QPR were originally keen to offer John a long term deal. However, MLS has exercised the option they held on the 31-year-old for 2007.

QPR manager, John Gregory, is still interested in signing the Trinidad and Tobago international, though may now be looking at a six-month loan deal rather than a permanent transfer.

John was formerly represented by Patrick McCabe of First Wave Sports. However, it is believed that he recently switched to Eric Walters of the London-based Base Soccer agency.

John is believed to have made a salary of approximately $36,000 in 2006, a year he began on the fringes of the Revs starting eleven. Following the World Cup in which he started two games for the ‘Soca Warriors’, John won a spot in Steve Nicol’s team.

Ah not trying tuh boast, or be cocky, but dat $36,000, I believe dat have tuh be US currency. Tuh go through all dat pressure in training, etc, dat money looking real small boi. Dat is why ah want meh people tuh move up and make dat cheese, cuz de people in de US who making descent money, all yuh know dat $36,000 is small money, especially when dat is broken up tuh be paid weekly, bi-weekly or monthly. Eh but cool thing, ah bredda have tuh start some where in life. Best of luck again Avery, you and yuh people sort out de thing boss, and go England and make dat paper. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: UnWiseSage (aka Jahyute) on January 03, 2007, 02:43:32 AM

did you make dat up or did you read that somewhere?  Dat sound like something off of Animal Planet :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

a rotting carcass of shit.... Oh my goodness.  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Oh Lord  :rotfl:

De chile watching too much national geographic and playin too much video game oui papa.

He funny no ass. Or maybe he just an ass.

Good luck Avery.

Interesting point SUPA. For ah proffesional dat looking like chicken feed.
Post by: real madness on January 03, 2007, 09:54:14 AM

Hush yuh ass nah TI..Anyway Avery was not expecting to get a contract in England because of his age but he was definitely trying to move somwehere in Europe this year. 

Post by: Jefferz on January 03, 2007, 01:34:17 PM

Hush yuh ass nah TI..Anyway Avery was not expecting to get a contract in England because of his age but he was definitely trying to move somwehere in Europe this year. 

yuh know... TI have ah point... but what pisses me off if that he acts like there cannot be reasons around his glorious all-knowing opinion...

Avery have plenty quality in certain areas alot of our defenders dont have like him...

For one...he is good in the air, he marks his man well.... AND most of all he is de smallest man in our back four and yet he does hit de biggest man de worse setta blade... he is also probably our fastest back four and hey... QPR have looked at PLENTY defenders most probably... If they want tuh call Avery who is all de way in American over Sancho who livin right dong de road... then obviously they have they're reasons....

steewps... sometimes i really believe you are a f**king infant.
Post by: spideybuff on January 04, 2007, 08:06:12 AM
U know..for a free agent it taking kinda long for QPR to sign Avery...like it have some hiccups somewhere?
Post by: Rodney on January 04, 2007, 07:22:30 PM
U know..for a free agent it taking kinda long for QPR to sign Avery...like it have some hiccups somewhere?

Well according to Skysports, Gregory is not finished yet in the transfer market....however there has been very little mention of Avery since QPR sign the Finnish Fella from Sancho's old team. Even the various QPR forums have lost interest. Still, I wish him the best of luck as he is ah Pres old boy after all and we have not produced many professional ballers.
Post by: Mose on January 05, 2007, 12:22:20 PM

Well according to Skysports, Gregory is not finished yet in the transfer market....however there has been very little mention of Avery since QPR sign the Finnish Fella from Sancho's old team. Even the various QPR forums have lost interest. Still, I wish him the best of luck as he is ah Pres old boy after all and we have not produced many professional ballers.
I don't think he's a  free agent. I remember reading a report somewhere that MLS/NERevolution is kicking a fuss and that is causing problems with the signing and they may have to try for some kind of loan deal.
Post by: Sando on January 09, 2007, 09:07:31 AM
New England's Taylor Twellman was the highest-paid player on the team at $181,000 but is ranked No. 28 on the MLS pay scale despite being the league's leading scorer over the last five seasons. Shalrie Joseph is second on the Revolution list at $167,500 but could earn much more if a $1 million transfer bid from Celtic FC comes through. Trinidad & Tobago defender Avery John, who earned $36,750, was the only player besides Dempsey to start in both the World Cup in Germany and the MLS Cup in Texas. Andy Dorman emerged as an impact player worth much more than the $29,400 he was paid. Jeff Larentowicz has advanced well beyond the developmental player contract of $16,000.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 09, 2007, 09:56:04 AM
look at the small money they paying avery  .. i wonder how much glen  and sealy makes
Post by: Cantona007 on January 09, 2007, 10:05:06 AM
New England's Taylor Twellman was the highest-paid player on the team at $181,000 but is ranked No. 28 on the MLS pay scale despite being the league's leading scorer over the last five seasons. Shalrie Joseph is second on the Revolution list at $167,500 but could earn much more if a $1 million transfer bid from Celtic FC comes through. Trinidad & Tobago defender Avery John, who earned $36,750, was the only player besides Dempsey to start in both the World Cup in Germany and the MLS Cup in Texas. Andy Dorman emerged as an impact player worth much more than the $29,400 he was paid. Jeff Larentowicz has advanced well beyond the developmental player contract of $16,000.
Can you provide a source for these salaries (I don't feel to use Google  ;D). If these figures are accurate, then these salaries are SHOCKING. For a full international and World Cup player to be making that kind of money is REALLY amazing. I couldn't believe that you could have pro players making $29K (a year???). Amazing...
Post by: Daft Trini on January 09, 2007, 10:36:11 AM
Can you provide a source for these salaries (I don't feel to use Google  ;D). If these figures are accurate, then these salaries are SHOCKING. For a full international and World Cup player to be making that kind of money is REALLY amazing. I couldn't believe that you could have pro players making $29K (a year???). Amazing...

Yeah I thought so too. I made more than $36k coming out of college and that was years ago! So I am a bit worried about Avery staying at NE Revolution! I was thinking he was making at least 70-90k a year. Man I go say some more prayers for meh bredda cause we go back to the Pres team of 93.
Post by: Mose on January 09, 2007, 10:53:55 AM
This info came out awhile back. Despite the Adus and Donovans the average salary in the MLS is actually rather low. Right around what Avery making if I remember correctly. I remember reading that some players actually preferred playing in the A-league for this reason, because they could get other off-season contracts (e.g. MISL) to supplement their income.
Post by: daryn on January 09, 2007, 10:58:31 AM

there was a previous thread here  (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=14223.0) about MLS 2006 salaries based on an article in the washington post
Post by: Daft Trini on January 09, 2007, 12:30:41 PM
So what is de current deal with him and QPR???
Post by: Cantona007 on January 09, 2007, 12:39:47 PM

there was a previous thread here  (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=14223.0) about MLS 2006 salaries based on an article in the washington post

Thanks for that link, Daryn. Not to hijack the thread, but I am still amazed; I mean, what if you live somewhere like LA, which is very expensive... how do you make out. I hope this deal with QPR really works out; a better standard of ball (arguably) and I am SURE more money... good luck to Avery, another great Presman :-)
Post by: Rodney on January 15, 2007, 10:54:23 AM
I forgot to post this a few days ago! Could'nt see it posted anywhere obivious in the forum so please accept my apologies if it has already been done. I was reading the Telegraph on the train thurday night and it had a short story on QPR ending their interest in Avery John.

Apparently, John Gregory was keen to sign him....but only on a free transfer! They were under the impression that he would cost nothing (as was Avery's representation apparently) so pressed ahead with signing him. The American article mentioned earlier in the thread was fairly accurate...however the Telegraph article mention nothing of QPR ever considering a loan move. QPR discovered that they had to pay some organisation (can't remember if it stated MLS or some other company) that held his registration, either $100,000 or £100,000 (again can't remember which). They tried to negoitiate the fee but the guys would'nt budge so....that is it, QPR will not sign him!

Unless opinions change and they can get him for free or very minimal sum.
Post by: trinbago on January 15, 2007, 11:16:06 AM
Sorry to hear that about Avery !!!
At least yuh went out there and give it a try.....do'n t give up....

The MLS designed their system so mainly US players will be easiest in the transfer market.
Post by: Peong on January 15, 2007, 01:53:58 PM
When is Avery's MLS contract up?
Post by: SUPA on January 15, 2007, 05:06:29 PM
I forgot to post this a few days ago! Could'nt see it posted anywhere obivious in the forum so please accept my apologies if it has already been done. I was reading the Telegraph on the train thurday night and it had a short story on QPR ending their interest in Avery John.

Apparently, John Gregory was keen to sign him....but only on a free transfer! They were under the impression that he would cost nothing (as was Avery's representation apparently) so pressed ahead with signing him. The American article mentioned earlier in the thread was fairly accurate...however the Telegraph article mention nothing of QPR ever considering a loan move. QPR discovered that they had to pay some organisation (can't remember if it stated MLS or some other company) that held his registration, either $100,000 or £100,000 (again can't remember which). They tried to negoitiate the fee but the guys would'nt budge so....that is it, QPR will not sign him!

Thanks Rodney, ah wish Avery all de best doh. Hold de faith bredda and fight de struggle, cuz ah know half ah bread is better dan none, but dat $36k a year in de US nah make it in dis times. IF yuh want tuh achieve basic stuff and have ah descent life, like ah house, condo, etc, good car, send kid or kids tuh school and pay everyday bills, forget it. Say wah, give thanks still. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: rastafari on January 16, 2007, 07:12:02 AM

What newspaper did you find that article in ? I tried the telegraph's online edition but there was nothing on that story.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: Rodney on January 16, 2007, 10:01:06 AM

What newspaper did you find that article in ? I tried the telegraph's online edition but there was nothing on that story.
JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

maybe it was a london paper I was reading (like metro or something  :-[ ). Anyway it matters little as the QPR fans are aware of the same info as me! Check this discussion on one of the bigger QPR messageboards.

http://www.qpr.org/forum/viewtopic.php?start=0&t=100226&topic_view=flat
Post by: rastafari on January 16, 2007, 11:02:24 AM

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

maybe it was a london paper I was reading (like metro or something  :-[ ). Anyway it matters little as the QPR fans are aware of the same info as me! Check this discussion on one of the bigger QPR messageboards.

http://www.qpr.org/forum/viewtopic.php?start=0&t=100226&topic_view=flat

Thanks Rodney!

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI