Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on January 22, 2009, 03:45:06 PM

Title: Important announcement for all forum members.
Post by: Flex on January 22, 2009, 03:45:06 PM
Ok guys, this is what.

Heather MacKenzie of MLF sports, the agent who is responsible for getting many of our players contracts to play overseas asked me politely to tell you guys to tone it down a bit when players are going on trials as clubs have been reading your reviews and it could affect the players getting contracts.... (IE Kerwyn Jemmott). - who didn't get an offer because of the things written on the forum which was part of the problem.

As you all might know our forum is very popular and you wouldn't believe who reads the forum an a regular basis.

She said she loves the forum and reads it everyday and she is "not" against freedom of speech or anything but just wanted you guys to say "good stuff" if you really care about the players getting any contracts.

She said she is not blaming anyone in particular, she just wanted us to cooperate with her a little.

In the Jamal Gay thread people asking if he's connected with Joe Public (not speculations) and so on and it seems the clubs in now a little suspicious. I agree with what she says and I am pleading with you guys too tone it down at least until the player officially signs and this goes for every player from here on, not just Jamal.

She said "I know the blogging is important but the clubs and foreign press read these threads as well. I hope you see I am trying to do right by the players and appreciate all the support. I am just trying to stay a bit under the radar if possible on this one, thanks, Heather"

Thank you and I hope you guys understand.
Title: Re: Important announcement for all forum members.
Post by: FF on January 22, 2009, 04:29:24 PM
Ok guys, this is what.

Heather MacKenzie of MLF sports, the agent who is responsible for getting many of our players contracts to play abroad asked me politely to tell you guys to tone it down a bit when players are going on trials as clubs have been reading your reviews and it could affect the players getting contracts.... (IE Kerwyn Jemmott). - who didn't get an offer because of the things written on the forum which was part of the problem.

As you all might know our forum is very popular and you wouldn't believe who reads the forum an a regular basis.

She said she loves the forum and reads it everyday and she is "not" against freedom of speech or anything but just wanted you guys to say "good stuff" if you really care about the players getting any contracts.

She said she is not blaming anyone in particular, she just wanted us to cooperate with her a little.

In the Jamal Gay thread people asking if he's connected with Joe Public (not speculations) and so on and it seems the clubs in now a little suspicious. I agree with what she says and I am pleading with you guys too tone it down at least until the player officially signs and this goes for every player from here on, not just Jamal.

She said "I know the blogging is important but the clubs and foreign press read these threads as well. I hope you see I am trying to do right by the players and appreciate all the support. I am just trying to stay a bit under the radar if possible on this one, thanks, Heather"

Thank you and I hope you guys understand.

Flex.. I hear wha she saying.. but i having a hard time believing that Hardest ent get a contract because of what we saying here on the board!
In any case, how yuh make yuh bed, yuh have to lie down in it!
Post by: Observer on January 22, 2009, 04:53:36 PM
Pure tata! If professional clubs reading a forum and making decisions on signing a player/ How unprofessional is that!
Post by: Jumbie on January 22, 2009, 05:01:09 PM
BS. Teams reading forums now for player profile? Lawd, next thing one of the many coaches here might get wuk too.
Post by: TriniItalian on January 22, 2009, 05:02:29 PM
It may not be unprofessional this seems to be a new approach at finding out how the players are in their comfort zone after they've stopped "acting their best" to gain a contract. In fact it may be a little personality trait that a two men at a club may be disputing and one man might suggest they find a forum where the locals talk about the player to see if it was mentioned. Remember clubs don't want to make bad investments this is just an innovative way of doing so, it may form let's say 5% of the decision but if they thought the man was iffy in the first place it's a big 5%

Anybody in HR here? with the hundreds of resumes in an office with everybody qualified doesn't it come down to what personal qualities you can discern on the interview? However saying it's the sole basis for selection is rubbish, no need to go overboard and suggest man might pick a coach from a web page.
Post by: dinho on January 22, 2009, 05:10:07 PM
understandable sentiment, but i watching the details provided in this announcement and cant help but wonder if this is kinda defeating the purpose.
Post by: WestCoast on January 22, 2009, 05:13:08 PM
OK, I hear ya loud and clear

Pure tata! If professional clubs reading a forum and making decisions on signing a player/ How unprofessional is that!
very well said
obviously the players PERFORMANCE on the field is not taken into account then. ::)
 like any other job interview process I am SURE that they dont need us on here to be the deciding factor

excuse meh eh........buh ah next thing.........arent MOST comments made in response to articles posted right here on this site....or am I mistaken
Post by: palos on January 22, 2009, 05:21:05 PM
Dis is a interestin one.

On de one hand Observer and dem very correck dat professional clubs would not be making decisions on signing a player taking into consideration some posts on a fan forum.  If dat was de case, how de hell Drogba and dem does get sign or interest from clubs when dey own fans turn on dem?

On de other hand, Drogba and dem does get constant exposure on TV etc so dese clubs have ample footage at dey disposal to make more informed decisons.  A player like Hardest I'm going to guess doh have dem kinda resources available at he disposal.

I'm sure that clubs everywhere use whatever means they have at their disposal to learn more about potential signings, especially those from non traditional footballing countries such as ours (in the overall scheme of global football).  

While it's ultimately Ms. Mackenzie's responsibility to provide the necessary information so that clubs can make the best INFORMED decision, I see nothing wrong in toning down SOME of the rhetoric in general..not jes wit Hardest.  We not as bad as some...but all things not equal and our players need as much help as they could get.  At the end of the day, Ms. Mackenzie cyah use a fan forum as a point of blame for Hardest or any of her other client's inability to land a contract.  Ah not sure daz wha she tryin to do in dis instance but jes de inference alone is tata.

That said, if turnin down de rhetoric in general means we could play a lil role....no matter how small....in helpin out one a we players, it eh really no skin off we back to criticise when necessary and when warranted, but do so without de tantana dat does SOMETIMES accompany it.  

My 2 cents.
Post by: Babalawo on January 22, 2009, 05:37:55 PM
I 2nd that. That saved Jemmott cause who would want to be in club that runned by idiots like that  :rotfl:
Post by: WestCoast on January 22, 2009, 05:39:21 PM
I 2nd that. That saved Jemmott cause who would want to be in club that runned by idiots like that  :rotfl:
Post by: Babalawo on January 22, 2009, 05:42:55 PM
ent? next time they cut him for poming in the team bus  :rotfl:
Post by: WestCoast on January 22, 2009, 05:44:35 PM
ya see...dat is exactly wha she talkin bout

ya just ruined de man career
Post by: Babalawo on January 22, 2009, 05:54:36 PM

but seriously i get the point. IT ALL ABOUT CONTRACT NEGOTIATIONS.  Initially people will think how stupid it is but, clubs would like to get players for the cheapest they can. so when they see thing like man might play for Caledonia AIA, they might get scared and think there agent lied to them in a ploy to drive up the price with another club .  It's like hearing about your player was flirting and meeting with another club and that will get the other club upset. plain and simple fellow forumites just post facts instead of rumors.  If you dont have a source don't post it.  Or we should make a separate section for rumors only, maybe.
Post by: WestCoast on January 22, 2009, 06:11:58 PM

but seriously i get the point. IT ALL ABOUT CONTRACT NEGOTIATIONS.  Initially people will think how stupid it is but, clubs would like to get players for the cheapest they can. so when they see thing like man might play for Caledonia AIA, they might get scared and think there agent lied to them in a ploy to drive up the price with another club .  It's like hearing about your player was flirting and meeting with another club and that will get the other club upset. plain and simple fellow forumites just post facts instead of rumors.  If you dont have a source don't post it.  Or we should make a separate section for rumors only, maybe.
Orrite den, permit me to be Devil's advocate here then
IF that was true, STERN would NEVER get ah work if they did read all Disgruntled post an dem :devil:

I cant see how this will negatively affect somebody's ability to find ah work
is like saying......that ya go in Zen and ya over hear some body's EX gurl bad talking ah man and ya disregard him from negotitions fa dat...sorry.................in other words, the information has to come from a Credible source ;)
Post by: saga pinto on January 22, 2009, 06:31:35 PM

Well said!!!
Post by: Jefferz on January 22, 2009, 06:40:11 PM
Ok guys, this is what.

Heather MacKenzie of MLF sports, the agent who is responsible for getting many of our players contracts to play abroad asked me politely to tell you guys to tone it down a bit when players are going on trials as clubs have been reading your reviews and it could affect the players getting contracts.... (IE Kerwyn Jemmott). - who didn't get an offer because of the things written on the forum which was part of the problem.

abroad?

Tobago?
Post by: Babalawo on January 22, 2009, 06:40:44 PM

Orrite den, permit me to be Devil's advocate here then
IF that was true, STERN would NEVER get ah work if they did read all Disgruntled post an dem :devil:

I cant see how this will negatively affect somebody's ability to find ah work
is like saying......that ya go in Zen and ya over hear some body's EX gurl bad talking ah man and ya disregard him from negotitions fa dat...sorry.................in other words, the information has to come from a Credible source ;)

true, looking at socawarrior.net "FAN" forum as a source is ah big joke.  Any way what other sources can those foreigners look for in a small, undeveloped nation like tnt.  i would recommend them stay out the forum and only look at the front page news section.  :devil:
Post by: injunchile on January 22, 2009, 06:42:42 PM
This is an Epiphany moment for this forum. Men getting or not getting contract based on views expressed on this Forum. Tallman/ Palos/ Flex take a bow= We reach.We all want to support our players but truth must not be sacrificied on the altar of expediency. However having said that , those of us living outside of T&T get our information from this site. A case in point, when I read of a player or hear a coach in the normal press big up a player -a la lasana- I talk to touches about it and it may be subjective but my knowledge of that player is based on information received.
 This may very well be true about outsiders reading this Forum. However I will be surprised in this day of technology that a contract is based on reading a forum.
 The Truth shall set us free.
Post by: saga pinto on January 22, 2009, 07:04:46 PM

But wait a minute we don't only criticise our players on this forum,we go after footballers all over the world,so should we be expecting a similar post from every other countries PR officer asking that we tone down the criticism,because some of there players lost out on contracts as a result of the soca warriors forum,look here pure madness the proof in puddin is in the eating,it may be old school to some but still the most effective way of judging a player,this forum has been a success for years because of it's ability to allow criticism whether good or bad,praises to the moderators for their efforts in keeping this forum the number one in my book, on the other hand if  there is a  threatening remark to  another person on this site it is quickly dispatched with an taken off the forum.

Post by: Brownsugar on January 22, 2009, 07:13:01 PM
Huh??.....am I being censored??.... :-\

Ok guys, this is what.

abroad?

Tobago?

Jefferz yuh doh come by often enough these days..... ;D
Post by: Daft Trini on January 22, 2009, 07:14:24 PM
Ah guess no one scouting yardies should come to this site :devil:
Post by: Bakes on January 22, 2009, 07:19:21 PM

Thank you!

I love the job that Ms. Mackenzie is doing on the part of her clients but if she can't provide prospective employers with sufficient information to counter the speculation that's occuring in cyberspace... then who's fault is that bloggers and posters?  Give me a f**king break.

Additionally... if clubs get jittery over the comments made by anonymous posters on a messageboard then just how 'professional' are these clubs?  Don't they have scouting departments and emissaries that they can send out... I mean shit, have some low level admin call up the pro-league outfit and derive information about what's being said.  Speak with our own journalist poseur, Fido Fuentes and see what info the TTFF can provide.

This whole situation... from the alleged reaction of the clubs to the 'request'... is in a word, nonsensical.
Post by: saga pinto on January 22, 2009, 07:28:22 PM

Thank you!

I love the job that Ms. Mackenzie is doing on the part of her clients but if she can't provide prospective employers with sufficient information to counter the speculation that's occuring in cyberspace... then who's fault is that bloggers and posters?  Give me a f**king break.

Additionally... if clubs get jittery over the comments made by anonymous posters on a messageboard then just how 'professional' are these clubs?  Don't they have scouting departments and emissaries that they can send out... I mean shit, have some low level admin call up the pro-league outfit and derive information about what's being said.  Speak with our own journalist poseur, Fido Fuentes and see what info the TTFF can provide.

This whole situation... from the alleged reaction of the clubs to the 'request'... is in a word, nonsensical.

Well said!!!! :applause:
Post by: weary1969 on January 22, 2009, 07:32:08 PM
Flex u know u iz meh horse but what u post dey ...

Congrats bois and gyuls we realllllllll impt and popular
Post by: Babalawo on January 22, 2009, 08:06:32 PM

But wait a minute we don't only criticise our players on this forum,we go after footballers all over the world,so should we be expecting a similar post from every other countries PR officer asking that we tone down the criticism,because some of there players lost out on contracts as a result of the soca warriors forum,look here pure madness the proof in puddin is in the eating,it may be old school to some but still the most effective way of judging a player,this forum has been a success for years because of it's ability to allow criticism whether good or bad,praises to the moderators for their efforts in keeping this forum the number one in my book, on the other hand if  there is a  threatening remark to  another person on this site it is quickly dispatched with an taken off the forum.

nah man you off topic. its about threads that say This player signed here and there, not bad talking them.  its putting rumors like "Birchall signed with the San Jose Earthquakes" with out having to put a credible source.  But still poor on the part of such an unprofessional club using socawarrior.net forum as a source.  Try the front page news section or the TTFF or Pro league. This is we thing!
Post by: Savannah boy on January 22, 2009, 08:18:43 PM
Dis sounding kinda ridiculous to me.  Men talking like Hardest still young.  So why we doh make de forum sign in for members only now.  Iz not like we doh have de numbers to do that.  We boasting talk yuh talk...now is bite yuh tongue.  I eh see nobody posting dat we 4qing up de potential County Cricket and IPL Contracts for Windies Players by roasting dem in de Caribbean Cricket Website's Rum Shop and on this very Website too.  ??? :-X
Post by: College on January 22, 2009, 08:25:54 PM
Well said Bakes!!!

But on the other side, I'm sure we all welcome the work that Ms MacKenzie is doing and I appreciate her point of view because I saw two instances where high school recruits' invitations for tryouts were recalled because of what was on their myspace page.

Now this is not quite the same situation here, and this is football on a toatally different level.... but I'm sure allyuh could see whey ah comig from. I could see comments on cyberspace impacting a club's decision, no matter how petty or unprofessional it may seem.  

We have to remember, the rest of the football world don't necessarily need us...we need them....  my 2 cents.
Post by: Flex on January 22, 2009, 08:33:30 PM
Ms MacKenzie just ask if we can tone it down, at least until the player signs. She never said to not post anything.

And if you guys cant understand that, then by all means continue, its your choice.

Our players (Jamal) for example is unknown to the world and believe it or not clubs use the internet to research players and when you google a player name from T&T this website comes up first.

Teams may not use the forum to gauge players, but I am sure they will use it to understand more about players they hardly know to get to know them a little better off the field.

Imagine I google your name and all I could find is bad things being said about you.... now you could be a good player but when I google your name and it shows you play for 10 different clubs and you were missing training and had off the field problems that eventually cost you your job dont you think that would have some sort of impact on the clubs decisions.

MacKenzie told me she got Jemmott to turn a new leaf and the forum was PART of the problem.... the club's press will research the player (as we do here) and write news on them. I see many clubs using stuff on this site that I wrote myself. The internet is a strong tool.... it saves you time and money...

Our players are going on trial with small teams, remember this, these clubs will use anything possible to research players who they never saw or heard from in their life.

I dont understand why MacKenzie who has been getting many contracts for a lot of our players lately will lie. I see no problem just keeping low or congratulating a player if he goes on a trial anyway.

BTW - Thanks Palos...
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on January 22, 2009, 09:25:45 PM
if its a major issue then tighter moderation is needed........
Post by: arrow on January 22, 2009, 09:38:53 PM
I guess the club didn't read any of T.I. posts?
Post by: elan on January 22, 2009, 09:40:23 PM
I going and start talking about all the US players who does drink and drive, hang out in the ghetto, dog fight, and go to the Pink Pony. I find a way to help T&T progress. Now no US players will get contract in the MLS or foreign cause I talk about them having bad personailty traits.

Or and by the way I just saw Hyland help an old lady to cross the street and into a bus.  :angel:
Post by: Themanfriday on January 22, 2009, 09:48:22 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: De best player in de world  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 22, 2009, 09:50:40 PM
This is quite an amazing assertion.  I understand that many of these clubs are not "tier 1", but at the same time they are financially capable of hosting our players for trials (albeit quite brief on occasion), thus, I truly wonder how much unprofessionalism plagues these clubs to the point where they "rely" on socawarriors.net for info. on our players regarding their work ethic, talent, footballing skills as whole; even in the age of the internet and modern technology.

All the same and as Federick said, w/o struggle there is no progress, best of luck to all our players currently on trial or have trials pending.  
Post by: WestCoast on January 22, 2009, 10:30:35 PM
OK when was the last time (before this thread) that anyone posted anything negative about TI # 1 Footballer

well, dem DEFINITELY ent professional

I going and start talking about all the US players who does drink and drive, hang out in the ghetto, dog fight, and go to the Pink Pony. I find a way to help T&T progress. Now no US players will get contract in the MLS or foreign cause I talk about them having bad personailty traits.
Or and by the way I just saw Hyland help an old lady to cross the street and into a bus.  :angel:
yeah, do it   ;D

and yes, all ah we players doh drink, doh smoke nor......(how it does go again) :devil:
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on January 22, 2009, 10:36:46 PM
The internet is a powerful tool.......employers do background checks on employees by tracking thier emails to social networking sites like myspace, facebook, hi5, bootyclub, etc..........allyuh know how hard it is to do  a background check on a Trinbagonian........so why not read forums like this 1........of course dey would have to be dotish to base their final decision on what you wise morons be saying on here.........but some of what is being said could be accurate..........and remember folks because things looking professional from d outside......doesnt mean it is on d inside.........is like d fella wit brand new gears looking rell professional but does pull rell stones on d field.  
Post by: Jefferz on January 22, 2009, 11:01:40 PM
well, well, im gunna start posting things solely to improve our young and upcoming (hardest) players,

for instance, not only is Jamal Gay an excellent player, but he also bakes delicious cookies.

Take that jittery scouts!
Post by: weary1969 on January 22, 2009, 11:03:01 PM
well, im gunna start posting things solely to improve our young and upcoming (hardest) players,

for instance, not only is Jamal Gay an excellent player, but he also bakes delicious cookies.

He can help out in d kitchen his multi taskin skills
Post by: Savannah boy on January 22, 2009, 11:39:33 PM
Flex we kinda get wha yuh saying.  I feel we low on de info hierarchy though.  Ah mean players have agents.  Dey in a position to dispel any rumours, not so?  If not dem, man could always call Shaka or Jackula.  I dunno...I still a bit surprised at dis but I doh intend to make any waves.

"MacKenzie told me she got Jemmott to turn a new leaf and the forum was PART of the problem"

It could have been part of de solution too.  It jes depends how yuh look at it.  De fella check heself after seeing peeps writing stuff about him.  I hope he come back strong.  We all know how talented he is.
Post by: legal alien on January 23, 2009, 12:50:56 AM
It may not be unprofessional this seems to be a new approach at finding out how the players are in their comfort zone after they've stopped "acting their best" to gain a contract. In fact it may be a little personality trait that a two men at a club may be disputing and one man might suggest they find a forum where the locals talk about the player to see if it was mentioned. Remember clubs don't want to make bad investments this is just an innovative way of doing so, it may form let's say 5% of the decision but if they thought the man was iffy in the first place it's a big 5%

Anybody in HR here? with the hundreds of resumes in an office with everybody qualified doesn't it come down to what personal qualities you can discern on the interview? However saying it's the sole basis for selection is rubbish, no need to go overboard and suggest man might pick a coach from a web page.
Very well said.
Post by: legal alien on January 23, 2009, 12:52:53 AM

Another good point.
Post by: WestCoast on January 23, 2009, 12:54:37 AM
It could have been part of de solution too.  It jes depends how yuh look at it.  De fella check heself after seeing peeps writing stuff about him.  I hope he come back strong.  We all know how talented he is.
best post so far
Post by: legal alien on January 23, 2009, 12:56:41 AM
The first thing that come out most people mouth here  is the moderaters trying to gag we  for criticizing players.Our forum is popular. I think that's amazing.
 At the same time, I would hope that  a compromize will come about where we will find out about the players, and Flex suggestion that we could at least wait til they get sign could work for now
Post by: Quags on January 23, 2009, 01:07:58 AM
The first thing that come out most people mouth here  is the moderaters trying to gag we  for criticizing players.Our forum is popular. I think that's amazing.
 At the same time, I would hope that  a compromize will come about where we will find out about the players, and Flex suggestion that we could at least wait til they get sign could work for now
ent ,if a player on a trial with ah club ,hush yah f**king mouth ah little bit nah.
Post by: Organic on January 23, 2009, 04:03:29 AM
lol...allyuh trinis have no broughtupsy what so ever...lol...thanks for the laugh..

It have enough yes men and bottom shiners in here to help out the situation, each month we chose ah trini players and start ah big thread and then get west coast and dem to just argree with everythign everyone say, he go be in he glee.
jefferz yuh come outta hiding to give trouble..steups yuh exams done???.lol
Post by: Sam on January 23, 2009, 05:10:17 AM
Allyuh men real dotish boy, especially Jefferz, man making kicks out of something serious.

Flex has never ask for nothing from allyuh fools here and only ask to keep allyuh ass shut about de speculation or condemning of players on trial, just a little bit and yet allyuh talking shit and aiming on ONE point. Flex never came out and say de club didn't sign de players because of we here, he said he were told we were part of the problem and rightfully so, we blast Jemmott so much I am sure it had some negative impact on him, in de end, is de club make de decision, and I am sure its not based on us ALONE, but Flex only relaying de message.

Just cool it a bit for one week and allyuh cah hush allyuh ass and support de players. Give them a good review. We have nothing to lose.
Post by: fari on January 23, 2009, 06:22:48 AM
waay sah, a thread that make jefferz come out of hiding oui...glad to see yuh back fadder
Post by: sinned on January 23, 2009, 07:09:04 AM
I really think some posters here should listen more carefully to what Flex has to say.

The reality of the situation is that many of our T&T players are not well known internationally and any information that clubs glean on these players (even the bits and pieces on forums such as these) is useful to a club interested in their services. The level of professionalism can be questioned but don't doubt that it happens - maybe not to the extent Ms. Mackenzie is arguing though.

Many companies I know use Facebook to look up potential job candidates and make judgments based on their Facebook pages, walls and pictures. You'd be surprised at how many seemingly 'professional' companies have people in HR do this. Similarly, it can be conceived that clubs use forums in a similar manner. After all, I know some forumites who visit other club forums (Sunderland etc.) to get an idea how our players are viewed by the club's fans.

Of course many would disagree, laugh it off or simply not care. I'm not saying criticism of players isn't welcome but I'd think carefully before posting rumors, speculations and ole talk at a time when a player is on trial with a club.

Post by: SabreWolves on January 23, 2009, 07:17:54 AM
Clubs will be able to judge players talent on the field but there is more to a player than his talent.

Their attitude on and off the field bears a big part of the complete player.

A player may look good in tryouts and tries hard, but if that club reads here that the player in a
"lazy bitch" or what ever negative,  a club may wonder down the road, if that attude will show up....

maybe???? maybe not???

Post by: jai john on January 23, 2009, 08:01:06 AM
does this mean by extension that we go see some big contracts for players we big up here ? tHIS IS A BIG JOKE ..... the woman might have good intentions but she might also be clueless on how these matters are dealth with.
Post by: Sando on January 23, 2009, 08:04:41 AM
Ms MacKenzie just ask if we can tone it down, at least until the player signs. She never said to not post anything.

And if you guys cant understand that, then by all means continue, its your choice.

Our players (Jamal) for example is unknown to the world and believe it or not clubs use the internet to research players and when you google a player name from T&T this website comes up first.

Teams may not use the forum to gauge players, but I am sure they will use it to understand more about players they hardly know to get to know them a little better off the field.

Imagine I google your name and all I could find is bad things being said about you.... now you could be a good player but when I google your name and it shows you play for 10 different clubs and you were missing training and had off the field problems that eventually cost you your job dont you think that would have some sort of impact on the clubs decisions.

MacKenzie told me she got Jemmott to turn a new leaf and the forum was PART of the problem.... the club's press will research the player (as we do here) and write news on them. I see many clubs using stuff on this site that I wrote myself. The internet is a strong tool.... it saves you time and money...

Our players are going on trial with small teams, remember this, these clubs will use anything possible to research players who they never saw or heard from in their life.

I dont understand why MacKenzie who has been getting many contracts for a lot of our players lately will lie. I see no problem just keeping low or congratulating a player if he goes on a trial anyway.

BTW - Thanks Palos...

Doh study them Flex.... Technology has change and we have to go with the times. The internet is a good place to research unknown players to get to know them upclose a little better.

Remember Silvio Spann was a free agent and could have gotten a contract in Croatia and but they found out he was resign by W Connection (illegally) who was then asking for a transfer fee and he end up losing out.
Post by: davidephraim on January 23, 2009, 08:05:17 AM
BS. Teams reading forums now for player profile? Lawd, next thing one of the many coaches here might get wuk too.

This is funny but understandable. Question... wouldn't de same clubs see this post also and feel like de info purported on our site is phony? At any rate to add a little validity to de story.... For anyone who have recently applied for a job in de corporate world..... Managers and employers do ask for a face book entry to check you out so to speak so to say that clubs reading up on players is foolish is prehistoric. Its the new world. However to say that a club would accept or dismiss a person/player on de merits that we transmit is dumb.
Post by: dinho on January 23, 2009, 08:20:08 AM

if this forum was PART of the problem then the blame hadda rest solely at the feet of T.I.

Is he who singlehandedly adopt Hardest and turn him into a larger than life cult hero, trying to ram the fellah down the forum throat as the second coming of Pele. Is he who make the man such an easy target and such ah forum phenomenon that as soon as a thread on Hardest pop up, it guaranteed at least two pages. Doh blame de forum. I sure he is aware of the damage done too given his conspicuous absence.

Funny thing is, most of the criticism of players on this site come from people who don't even reside in Trinidad and who have know little about a player beyond a Touches match report or watching them perform in a single game on tv. Never see them play for their club, never see them live and have little or no substantial evidence to refer to and ascertain what it is have a player consistently selected by successive coaching regimes..

But Trinis love nothing better than to criticize and fight down.. That is a known fact. Just ask Lara, Ato and Yorke.

But in any case.. What goes on in this forum is pretty docile in comparison to your run of the mill football fan forum. Trinis nowhere near as venomous..

my 2 cents.
Post by: kiffysmooth on January 23, 2009, 08:50:41 AM
Yuh know....I watching and listening and I fed up with all yuh chupidness.  Ah was going and let all yuh bask in all yuh ignorance, but evidently is either all yuh in de work force long time, or all yuh doh have no wuk, or all yuh not currently looking for ah wuk, or all yuh have no idea the extent to which HR departments all over the world now operate.  
Fus ting Fus......De thread not saying dat all clubs does use de forum to make decisions on de players at hand.  It is jes dat sometimes, when yuh have more than one qualified applicant, yuh might resort to alternative sources as a determining factor.  It is not like on ah man resume dey have a section stating "What forum should we go to, to check on your ability?"  because das how all yuh interpreting it.....de men who claim to be "intahlec".  I happen to have a little knowledge about how recruiters does do it now in the US, and they going as far as to check man FACEBOOK profile behind dey back and digging up dirt on dem.  Orrr, and dey checking de myspace bizness too.  It jes goes to show that companies want to make sure that they making de best choice all de time.  Is big money involved, and de wus ting yuh want to do is make ah bad investment.  So what de thread saying is dat, SOMETIMES, people might resort to de forum for a second opinion.  STOP being Chupid people, and jes say hard luck, we wouldnt do it again.  No need to justify de assness all yuh trying to do.  
Post by: Star Child on January 23, 2009, 09:00:01 AM
Yuh know....I watching and listening and I fed up with all yuh chupidness.  Ah was going and let all yuh bask in all yuh ignorance, but evidently is either all yuh in de work force long time, or all yuh doh have no wuk, or all yuh not currently looking for ah wuk, or all yuh have no idea the extent to which HR departments all over the world now operate.  
Fus ting Fus......De thread not saying dat all clubs does use de forum to make decisions on de players at hand.  It is jes dat sometimes, when yuh have more than one qualified applicant, yuh might resort to alternative sources as a determining factor.  It is not like on ah man resume dey have a section stating "What forum should we go to, to check on your ability?"  because das how all yuh interpreting it.....de men who claim to be "intahlec".  I happen to have a little knowledge about how recruiters does do it now in the US, and they going as far as to check man FACEBOOK profile behind dey back and digging up dirt on dem.  Orrr, and dey checking de myspace bizness too.  It jes goes to show that companies want to make sure that they making de best choice all de time.  Is big money involved, and de wus ting yuh want to do is make ah bad investment.  So what de thread saying is dat, SOMETIMES, people might resort to de forum for a second opinion.  STOP being Chupid people, and jes say hard luck, we wouldnt do it again.  No need to justify de assness all yuh trying to do.  

:applause:  :applause:  :applause:  :applause:
Post by: Marcos on January 23, 2009, 09:03:28 AM
BS...with a capital "S"

There are  message boards all over the internet with much harsher comments than those expressed here. If you want to start censoring the comments we might as well shut this entire site down. Last I checked this is a "discussion forum" and it would lose all credibility if all posts were unjustifiably positive.

How about getting some game film and recommendations, hell even hire a private investigator if you want to do a background check.

Sorry if you feel some responsibility for a player not getting a contract, but the truth of the matter is, if he has a good enough trial, he'll get picked up. No amount pecong and ole talk would change that. And if d man doin sh*t, i.e. he has a poor work ethic or questionable character, he'll be found out eventually and this would have a much worse effect on all Trini players.

How dese foreign scounts even understand half d tings we'z be sayin anywayz?

And for kiffysmooth, "big money" is relative. And speaking truthfully or speaking your mind is only "assness" if you're a communist.
Post by: Bakes on January 23, 2009, 09:15:42 AM
I really think some posters here should listen more carefully to what Flex has to say.

The reality of the situation is that many of our T&T players are not well known internationally and any information that clubs glean on these players (even the bits and pieces on forums such as these) is useful to a club interested in their services. The level of professionalism can be questioned but don't doubt that it happens - maybe not to the extent Ms. Mackenzie is arguing though.

Many companies I know use Facebook to look up potential job candidates and make judgments based on their Facebook pages, walls and pictures. You'd be surprised at how many seemingly 'professional' companies have people in HR do this. Similarly, it can be conceived that clubs use forums in a similar manner. After all, I know some forumites who visit other club forums (Sunderland etc.) to get an idea how our players are viewed by the club's fans.

Of course many would disagree, laugh it off or simply not care. I'm not saying criticism of players isn't welcome but I'd think carefully before posting rumors, speculations and ole talk at a time when a player is on trial with a club.

This is funny but understandable. Question... wouldn't de same clubs see this post also and feel like de info purported on our site is phony? At any rate to add a little validity to de story.... For anyone who have recently applied for a job in de corporate world..... Managers and employers do ask for a face book entry to check you out so to speak so to say that clubs reading up on players is foolish is prehistoric. Its the new world. However to say that a club would accept or dismiss a person/player on de merits that we transmit is dumb.

The Facebook analogy is flawed... many recruiters will indeed run a search of 'social networking' sites to see if candidates have posted any questionable content to their profiles.  For some, 'questionable content' aside, the mere fact that a candidate has a social networking profile is to them proof positive of a lack of discretion on the part of said candidate, and a strike against their candidacy.

That is vastly different from this present situation.  Here you don't have players posting "questionable content" or otherwised displaying any lack of discretion... or anything else that may serve as a primary source for guiding the judgment of a player's skill or character.  Put another way, there is nothing done here by the players themselves that can be used as a strike against them, unlike the Facebook job applicant.  What happens on discussion forums such as this is that you have a bunch of overly eager and often times overly emotional posters who anonymously post speculative, disparaging, and often unfounded information about players.  As I said earlier... any talent representative worth their salt should be able to dispel these with accurate information... it's really not that difficult to find more accurate sources.  

That said... I am not entirely unsympathetic to Ms. Mackenzie's position.  Most of the talent on her client roster is marginal, these guys are lucky that people are even looking at them (being completely objective), so they start out the recruitment process with strikes already against them.  To make it worse, they are competing with god knows however many other similarly situated players out there (other marginal talents), so clubs might be less inclined to take the time to sift thru the negative chatter when they know they can cut their losses early and just move on to the next prospect.

While I disagree on principle with the request, and with the overall premise on which it was made... I also fully agree that people should think twice before lambasting some of these players.  I personally make it a point not to be overly critical of players, after all, there is a reason why I do what I do and they're doing what they do.  All that aside, these fellas are just trying to make a living, in the least we should be understanding of that.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on January 23, 2009, 09:29:59 AM
scouts, press, everyone else
we speak freely on our forum, we speak freely on our players and our nation for one reason...we care.  It may be hard, cold, and sometimes bitter but we only expect the best from our warriors.

I have been part of this website years ago when the old forum was up, and once the new forum came into play I only recently re-signed up however I have been reading consistently in the interim.  We are a tough group, and all the scouts, players, and everyone else should know it's all love.
Post by: Marcos on January 23, 2009, 09:33:12 AM
While I disagree on principle with the request, and with the overall premise on which it was made... I also fully agree that people should think twice before lambasting some of these players.  I personally make it a point not to be overly critical of players, after all, there is a reason why I do what I do and they're doing what they do.  All that aside, these fellas are just trying to make a living, in the least we should be understanding of that.

People should just be honest...not fabricate or sensationalize things, particularly about the players' character. Evaluators checking this site are likely more interested in investigating the players' personal attributes since they should be well experienced in evaluating skill.

But having said that, you can't sugarcoat things. If he's a bad egg iz better he doh get the contract rather than embarrass the entire coutnry and give us a bad reputation.
Post by: Fantastic on January 23, 2009, 09:36:05 AM
Yuh start back making sense since ah had to buff yuh last time Bake and Shark. Well said. ;D ;D
Post by: palos on January 23, 2009, 10:11:18 AM
Yuh start back making sense since ah had to buff yuh last time Bake and Shark.

Is a rag or a chamois u use?  :devil:
Post by: Dutty on January 23, 2009, 10:25:39 AM
Kerwynn Jemmot once helped my elderly grandmother cross the busy intersection of Frederick Street

If there are any scouts trying to find info on him,I'm sure your club and the members grandmothers will benefit greatly from his altruism
Post by: Babalawo on January 23, 2009, 10:34:12 AM

:rotfl: Nah you dont get it. this is the BEST and maybe only rescource people have on players from our tiny island. the US have hundreds of other website to do research on their players, so your ploy wont work.  Maybe on smaller nations and Jamaica, etc.
Post by: Babalawo on January 23, 2009, 10:35:50 AM
Kerwynn Jemmot once helped my elderly grandmother cross the busy intersection of Frederick Street

If there are any scouts trying to find info on him,I'm sure your club and the members grandmothers will benefit greatly from his altruism
I see him give the whiner man in front of smokey & bonty ah dollar.
Post by: kicker on January 23, 2009, 10:57:39 AM
I think the level of dotishness communicated by some in this thread alone could possibly render this forum an inappropriate place to gather any credible info...

People are always so sensitive about their right to free speech that it clouds their sensibilities.  A right doesn't negate the accompanying responsibility, and just because you have the right and the freedom to say what you like, it doesn't make everything you say appropriate for the given situation.

The contention that an organization shouldn't put too much stock into what is being said here has nothing to do with what is being asked.  It is what it is (unless you think that Flex & McKenzie are being dishonest).  How organizations should go about getting their info is a different discussion.

All that is being asked for is some discretion in cases where indiscretion could have (and has had in the past) negative ramifications.  I don't see what all the fuss is about.
Post by: palos on January 23, 2009, 11:29:13 AM

Totally off topic but I curious.

Since when WINE become WHINE?  I doh get it.  Ah have meh theory dat is because of a jamaican influence whey dem does drop een a "HAYCH" before every vowel.  If dat theory is accurate...is EVERYTING we have to try and copy so?  Winin to de bess of my knowledge is a Trini term.  We so anxious to emulate others dat we have to copy how dey spell we own terminology too?  If daz de case..we might as well start heatin homelet, hegg, & happle.

Jes had to ask.  Proceed.

Post by: Dutty on January 23, 2009, 11:38:58 AM

Since when WINE become WHINE?  I doh get it.  Ah have meh theory dat is because of a jamaican influence whey dem does drop een a "HAYCH" before every vowel.  If dat theory is accurate...is EVERYTING we have to try and copy so?  Winin to de bess of my knowledge is a Trini term.  We so anxious to emulate others dat we have to copy how dey spell we own terminology too?  If daz de case..we might as well start heatin homelet, hegg, & happle.

yuh see how allyuh does cause stress..Balawo get ah offer to teach english at ah u.s.university...now dey go pull back de offer
Post by: palos on January 23, 2009, 11:44:21 AM

yuh see how allyuh does cause stress..Balawo get ah offer to teach english at ah u.s.university...now dey go pull back de offer

Ah should tun dong de rhetoric hent?   ;D

Dutty hallyuh good yes!  :rotfl:
Post by: elan on January 23, 2009, 12:05:10 PM
Guys chill out no one being dotish. Men get what the oman asking for and understand. How it come over and the information that was included in the request must get licks. As Trinbagonians it is our right to hit said statements for 4s and sixes all over the park. Make no mistake though everyone understand and would abide by such a request, cause with all the "fight down" thing, we want to see our players succeed and represent (else there will be no TIA thread).

At the same time though, these fellas have to understand the need to sought out their business if they looking to enter a professional outfit abroad. They cannot be partaking in questionable acivities and then want peopl eto stay quiet. They never watch The Pursuit of Happiness or what? You have to protect your dream. Whose fault is it that they signing illegally with a local club while trying to secure another contract. They have to handle their own situation if they expect help from others.
Post by: kicker on January 23, 2009, 12:14:54 PM
They cannot be partaking in questionable acivities and then want people to stay quiet.

Very good point...however

Full disclosure and impartiality ought to be the social responsibility/duty of journalism, and such responsibility need not always extend to an opinion-based message board upon which no onus is placed by the social powers.  That's where discretion and the ability to exercise it can and sometimes should be used....as is being requested. 
Post by: Marcos on January 23, 2009, 12:27:27 PM
I think the level of dotishness communicated by some in this thread alone could possibly render this forum an inappropriate place to gather any credible info...

People are always so sensitive about their right to free speech that it clouds their sensibilities.  A right doesn't negate the accompanying responsibility, and just because you have the right and the freedom to say what you like, it doesn't make everything you say appropriate for the given situation.

The contention that an organization shouldn't put too much stock into what is being said here has nothing to do with what is being asked.  It is what it is (unless you think that Flex & McKenzie are being dishonest).  How organizations should go about getting their info is a different discussion.

All that is being asked for is some discretion in cases where indiscretion could have (and has had in the past) negative ramifications.  I don't see what all the fuss is about.

It's unfortunate that we may be forced to censor our opinions (as ridiculous as they may be) and consequently some of the fun due to the increased popularity/credibility that the forum has enjoyed. To quote Peter Parker, "With more power comes more responsibility." I truly believe that each forum member has the best interest of our nation's football and our nation's footballers at heart and will try to exercise more discretion in the future.

However, let me ask this question. Is it okay for someone to post that he dislikes an aspect of a player's game? Or that he doesn't think that the player is very good? Or one-dimensional? How about if he saw that player in Zen lashing real beers the night before a WCQ?
Post by: Marcos on January 23, 2009, 12:31:56 PM
At the same time though, these fellas have to understand the need to sought out their business if they looking to enter a professional outfit abroad. They cannot be partaking in questionable acivities and then want peopl eto stay quiet.

Good post. And I think you meant "sort". Trinis love a "-ough-" though. daz d second time today i see dat here.
Post by: Coop's on January 23, 2009, 12:35:05 PM
This forum is the greatest,i stop posting here for the same reason,posters on here have taken putting down people to another level,the thing is to them is kicks but not realizing what damage they are doing to peoples lives,a lot of what's put on here about these guys are not only about Soccer but about their personal lives just to prove that they know the guy,i commend Flex for taking this action,as i said before these things are not good,nobody can't make anybody change so stop fooling ourselves,people change because they want too,this forum suppose to be friendly to our players,regardless of what we have to be there for them.
Post by: kicker on January 23, 2009, 12:38:36 PM

It's unfortunate that we may be forced to censor our opinions (as ridiculous as they may be) and consequently some of the fun due to the increased popularity/credibility that the forum has enjoyed. To quote Peter Parker, "With more power comes more responsibility." I truly believe that each forum member has the best interest of our nation's football and our nation's footballers at heart and will try to exercise more discretion in the future.

However, let me ask this question. Is it okay for someone to post that he dislikes an aspect of a player's game? Or that he doesn't think that the player is very good? Or one-dimensional? How about if he saw that player in Zen lashing real beers the night before a WCQ?

I think personal opinions on how good a player is is fair game. 

I think what Flex was talking about were sensitive aspects of the player's personal life etc... that the world need not be privy to.

I may be wrong but that's how I interpreted it.
Post by: Marcos on January 23, 2009, 12:48:30 PM
So cussin' a man for screwing up our chances because he was liming the night before a game is forbidden?
Post by: Quags on January 23, 2009, 12:50:12 PM
I think when a player on trial is crucial ,thats when the clubs will be reading .e.g rite now we should not diss Hector Sam ,Hyland ,Curtly Ambrose ,,cause them on trials rite now ,I even see something about Evan Wise but I eh even going there.
So is not always just for a week or so ,but especially doh diss him in the tread talking about his trial .
Post by: dumpalewie on January 23, 2009, 12:50:39 PM
As unprofessional as employers looking at the Facebook pages of prospective employees!!!
Post by: acb on January 23, 2009, 01:01:44 PM
As unprofessional as employers looking at the Facebook pages of prospective employees!!!

not only prospective, but current employees too.
Post by: Marcos on January 23, 2009, 01:02:18 PM

don't really see anything wrong with it. Applicants are responsible for their own facebook pages. Suppose they have pics saying i hate so-and-so company?
Nothing wrong with background checks.

Post by: #8 on January 23, 2009, 01:09:10 PM
For the people making remarks like 'what kinda unprofessional club uses a fan forum to sign a player etc etc' look at it from another angle....

1.if you have a decision to make between two talented footballers competing for the same position at your club and they both have had successful trial spells but DUE TO THEIR LACK OF ACCOMPLISHMENTS ON THE CLUB/INTERNATIONAL LEVELS..you have to find another way to make a decision on signing one of them,so you decide to use character traits/off the field behaviour as a means of separating both players

2..who better to inform you of a player that has been marketed to you as one of the most talented/popular footballers to grace his country,than the people of that country

3.if you're looking for personal traits/off the field behaviour etc a fan forum..ESPECIALLY this one.. can give you alot of harsh/behind de scenes info that a former employer/players agent/former coach may have doctored or not given you to help the player's image and increase his/her chances of landing a contract

4.Look at the two players mentioned in the thread..you can't ask questions like 'well how come drogba and stern can still get contracts even though so much negative stuff is said about them on the forum' etc etc the answer is simple cause they're PROVEN/ACCOMPLISHED footballers on the club/international stage so their off the field behaviour/character traits don't come into serious consideration when potential signings come about.

As forumites of this site we all can agree that at some point a thread or post by a fellow forumite/moderator has been more informative on a particular topic than that of a 'supposed' reliable source..media etc

So If it was me and I didn't know much about a player from a particular country and I was on the verge of signing him/her.I would be extremely glad if i recieved information that saved me from making a overall bad investment REGARDLESS of where that info came from.

My opinion
Post by: Filho on January 23, 2009, 01:09:16 PM
 :bs:

Forumites..we are being asked to say only 'nice stuff' when a player is on trial. wtf?  :devil: None of us would begrudge helping on of our own. MLF has probably noticed that clubs are looking at us as an information source and see us as an easy free marketing tool. How bout we use these guys to our benefit. We'll blame them for railroading a deal or two...but not the full blame or they'll get angry. The combination of guilt and patriotism and they'll help us sell players..and best of all..it's all free.

It would be one thing if she took issue with dishonest or speculative comments...But I don't think that is the case. The club is suspicious Jamal may be involved with JP? what does that mean? Involved how..I don't understand..Don't they know if there is a transfer fee involved? Hardest didn't get a contract because of things said here? When? 1 year ago? 6 months ago? yesterday? Are we really being asked to tone down around trials..or tone down for all MLF players, all the time. Oh..and don't forget to write 'nice stuff'.

I'm sorry to hear clubs are using a fan forum as a way to get 'information' on a player. They are obviously misguided and don't have a clue what the main purpose of a fan forum is. pity. but if the forum is that powerful, then it is a useful tool to help players act like professionals on the field and role models off the field. It shouldn't be our aim, but it's not a bad by-product.

BUT.....I do feel for our players. Because we have a less developed media machine and fewer verifiable sources of information, maybe our comments do take on more significance than those on the average forum. It's not bad to be reminded that we have a responsibility to think about what we write here and it should not only be governed by the forum guidelines, but our good conscience.  Noone here will begrudge helping one of our own...but only as far as not making comments that are dishonest, speculative or inappopriate according to the forum guidelines, and not necessarily what does not shine the best light on the player.

Read the request again..and then ask yourself what next? Are we prepared when every agent representing a T&T player starts asking us to make nice comments only. What happens when a club says they saw something unfavorable written 6 months ago? a year ago? i guess we'll get lists of players saying to tone it dwon until they retire lest we affect contract renewals or transfers to other teams in the future.

this is a fan forum. We are all adults, and we all want to help..so forumites only need a reminder now and then of the importance of their comments..not requests of specific instances when to jump, sit and stay.

Post by: Quags on January 23, 2009, 01:14:32 PM
What the hell Milf is the only ppl hooking our players up in Europe .Is a flicking dream come true .
Post by: freakazoid on January 23, 2009, 02:03:09 PM
freakazoid. great right footer, with a left foot rated at 4/5 . jus over 6 feet and is an excellent header of the ball. fit 4 days. brings his own water to trainning and to games.

now i hear what is being said and i am never really critical of much players . but ppl who coming and say men dotish ah having a prob with that. my sister does not use her real name on face book because of  the hr ppl checking up  on those things. but if i find ah man is ah shithong . why shouldnt i say that? thats an opinion.  ppl will always see things differently and thhings said abpout players on this board is very close  to the mark.

so i think the kind hearted lady should address her concerns to the footballers of this country. once yuh have a poor attitude and poor work ethic towards the game clubs will know, because of this forum.

back to matters of importance............freakazoid is a very versatile player he can play anyway on the right side and can even stand between the uprights, if strongly persuaded.belives in 1 man 2 1 woman so the tabloids will never have stories or pictures of him that can  be damaging to a clubs rep
Post by: dinho on January 23, 2009, 02:09:17 PM
freakazoid. great right footer, with a left foot rated at 4/5 . jus over 6 feet and is an excellent header of the ball. fit 4 days. brings his own water to trainning and to games.

now i hear what is being said and i am never really critical of much players . but ppl who coming and say men dotish ah having a prob with that. my sister does not use her real name on face book because of  the hr ppl checking up  on those things. but if i find ah man is ah shithong . why shouldnt i say that? thats an opinion.  ppl will always see things differently and thhings said abpout players on this board is very close  to the mark.

so i think the kind hearted lady should address her concerns to the footballers of this country. once yuh have a poor attitude and poor work ethic towards the game clubs will know, because of this forum.

back to matters of importance............freakazoid is a very versatile player he can play anyway on the right side and can even stand between the uprights, if strongly persuaded.belives in 1 man 2 1 woman so the tabloids will never have stories or pictures of him that can  be damaging to a clubs rep

nice try, but your career done gone thru after i sully yuh name in the fantasy cup thread last year.. no morals, so no coming back for you..  :devil:
Post by: st john strikers on January 23, 2009, 02:11:19 PM
Some employers now use MySpace and Facebook to help in their hiring process. I can see where a player may or may not be offered a contract based on the views of prior playing experience.

Just a thought.  8)

GO WARRIORS.
Post by: freakazoid on January 23, 2009, 02:15:31 PM

nice try, but your career done gone thru after i sully yuh name in the fantasy cup thread last year.. no morals, so no coming back for you..  :devil:

no morals? u feel this is the games we use to play forum o wat. ::).

excellent fantasy manager maybe able to do some scouting for the  club. ( omar can testify as to how good a scout i am, ah beat the man about 2 years ago and he car forget that licks yes)
Post by: davidephraim on January 23, 2009, 03:10:38 PM

The Facebook analogy is flawed... many recruiters will indeed run a search of 'social networking' sites to see if candidates have posted any questionable content to their profiles.  For some, 'questionable content' aside, the mere fact that a candidate has a social networking profile is to them proof positive of a lack of discretion on the part of said candidate, and a strike against their candidacy.

That is vastly different from this present situation.  Here you don't have players posting "questionable content" or otherwised displaying any lack of discretion... or anything else that may serve as a primary source for guiding the judgment of a player's skill or character.  Put another way, there is nothing done here by the players themselves that can be used as a strike against them, unlike the Facebook job applicant.  What happens on discussion forums such as this is that you have a bunch of overly eager and often times overly emotional posters who anonymously post speculative, disparaging, and often unfounded information about players.  As I said earlier... any talent representative worth their salt should be able to dispel these with accurate information... it's really not that difficult to find more accurate sources.  

That said... I am not entirely unsympathetic to Ms. Mackenzie's position.  Most of the talent on her client roster is marginal, these guys are lucky that people are even looking at them (being completely objective), so they start out the recruitment process with strikes already against them.  To make it worse, they are competing with god knows however many other similarly situated players out there (other marginal talents), so clubs might be less inclined to take the time to sift thru the negative chatter when they know they can cut their losses early and just move on to the next prospect.

Bake and shark, this may be so in the US and Canada but  in Asia & parts of Europe, to not have a facebook account for your employer to look at is almost a certainty that you wont even be considered for the position. your seen as a social dinosaur and social misfits are seen as unstable, non team players and the most likely to blow up de dam building de day yuh get vex.

So you owe me a bake and Shark.

P.S. Note to self....  Get a facebook account pronto!
Post by: WestCoast on January 23, 2009, 03:19:56 PM

if this forum was PART of the problem then the blame hadda rest solely at the feet of T.I.

Is he who singlehandedly adopt Hardest and turn him into a larger than life cult hero, trying to ram the fellah down the forum throat as the second coming of Pele. Is he who make the man such an easy target and such ah forum phenomenon that as soon as a thread on Hardest pop up, it guaranteed at least two pages. Doh blame de forum. I sure he is aware of the damage done too given his conspicuous absence.
my 2 cents.
ya kno...out of idleness
one day, back in his heyday, I counted 12 threads just on the first page alone.......
Post by: Socafan on January 23, 2009, 05:47:29 PM

[/u]

Exactly
Post by: weary1969 on January 23, 2009, 05:59:57 PM
If u want to learn bout Hardest check d 1001 club he play 4. Anyother player check dey previous coaches. Doh come here this is a cyber rum shop where most of d time peeps drunk. As 4 d facebook analogy if u dotish enough 2 post someting 2 prevent u from gettin a wuk u should not get d wuk.
Post by: College on January 23, 2009, 08:11:43 PM
Well yes ..."everybody peepin!!" :) :)
Post by: spideybuff on January 23, 2009, 09:25:01 PM
Allyuh men real dread...

I understand freedom of speech but i was just surprised at the volume of replies here saying that it too hard to NOT criticise the socawarriors that we all love, wish the best for and hope would improve tthe state of our football.

And i was also surpised at how people didn't focus on the compliment this request paid to us, the fact that our opinions and judgement of players are held in such high esteem overseas; that we are very much the be all and end all of information on local players to the redt of the world and our word is pretty much gospel now.
Post by: weary1969 on January 23, 2009, 09:53:37 PM
Allyuh men real dread...

I understand freedom of speech but i was just surprised at the volume of replies here saying that it too hard to NOT criticise the socawarriors that we all love, wish the best for and hope would improve tthe state of our football.

Is not dat we eh happy we arrive but arrive where? We is a banana republic so an agent could tell we what 2 say in a cyber rum shop.

Not dat we cyah not criticise but please what kind ah horse and pony show dem clubs runnin dat dey takin we opinion on d MB instead of linkin 2 d site where d they have school and info bout Jamal Gay there lots of it.
Post by: Jefferz on January 23, 2009, 09:58:21 PM
hahah, i like how i was "in hidin"

couldnt be that things are simply busy and that readin is just about the only thing i have time for in this forum, but indeed, recently pressure has eased up a bit.

but in terms of the topic of this thread, whether or not its unprofessional if it is that its a legitimate concern then ill tone it done without bitterness.
Post by: WestCoast on January 23, 2009, 10:00:54 PM
Allyuh men real dread...

Is not dat we eh happy we arrive but arrive where? We is a banana republic so an agent could tell we what 2 say in a cyber rum shop.
the crux of the matter ???
Post by: truetrini on January 23, 2009, 10:02:36 PM
some could cry to Flex and Palos and E-Man and Tallman in dis cyber rum shop doh.

haul allyuh modder arse and do like me go on ah f**king diet
Post by: Preacher on January 23, 2009, 10:19:57 PM
This is a big ethical debate that could easily fill a semester at any major university.  Real interesting reads.
Post by: just cool on January 23, 2009, 11:14:24 PM
some could cry to Flex and Palos and E-Man and Tallman in dis cyber rum shop doh.

haul allyuh modder arse and do like me go on ah f**king diet

:devil: :devil: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Jefferz on January 23, 2009, 11:22:39 PM
BS...with a capital "S"

There are  message boards all over the internet with much harsher comments than those expressed here. If you want to start censoring the comments we might as well shut this entire site down. Last I checked this is a "discussion forum" and it would lose all credibility if all posts were unjustifiably positive.

How about getting some game film and recommendations, hell even hire a private investigator if you want to do a background check.

Sorry if you feel some responsibility for a player not getting a contract, but the truth of the matter is, if he has a good enough trial, he'll get picked up. No amount pecong and ole talk would change that. And if d man doin sh*t, i.e. he has a poor work ethic or questionable character, he'll be found out eventually and this would have a much worse effect on all Trini players.

How dese foreign scounts even understand half d tings we'z be sayin anywayz?

And for kiffysmooth, "big money" is relative. And speaking truthfully or speaking your mind is only "assness" if you're a communist.

this is more or so my sentiment.
Post by: warmonga on January 24, 2009, 01:35:18 AM
Flex I hear yu eh , But when dem man guh a fareign and pop dung dem selves , dem nuh let dung themselve  alone nuh dread, dem does let dung all a we . suh a full time now dem fellas come and check we forum out and clean up dem act if dem wah get contract, cya we eh holding back nothing innah this forum!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Post by: Brownsugar on January 24, 2009, 05:39:04 AM
well, well, im gunna start posting things solely to improve our young and upcoming (hardest) players,

*in tears*
Post by: truetrini on January 24, 2009, 07:11:27 AM
Is it entirely feasbly that a club trialist is doing ok at trials and someone from that club happens to be researching the player, does a google search and stumbles upon the negative things in some thread here.  That person reports to the club and they do a deper investigation into the player etc. and decides that they cnnot take the risk on that player now?

There are smaller clubs out there that may just rely on the internet for information, further info that is, other than what is presented to them by a agent?

Suppose hardest was presented as a skillful midfied player by his agaent, a full interenational player, goes on trial and impresses enough for the club to have some interest, then someone from that club reads negative things and does an indepth investigation and the man is denied an opportunity?

Not entirely impossible or improbable bitches.
Post by: Filho on January 24, 2009, 09:43:36 AM
Again..let me reiterate...this is  :bs:

First question: If the forum banter was so decisive in club's decision making..wouldn't it be monumentally retarded to create a post asking forumites to only write 'nice things' about players on the very same forum being scrutinized. This makes the players look like they really have something to hide.

Second Question: Didn't anyone notice the thinly veiled threat when Ms MacKenzie said we were partly to blame for Hardest not getting a contract. What a great way for the player or the agency to never take the blame themselves. It's a nasty precedent and it will encourage other agents to tell their players that their deal was severely hurt by the forum. Worst yet..wait til they start saying that kind of stuff on interviews on TV and radio..allyuh go still feel we reach then? It's  :bs:

Third Question: What happens when other agents have the same request. Here's a list of players..here's when they're on trial, up for contract renewal, working on a transfer..here's what to say and what not to say. What a f**king joke...Imagine, with everything going on in our football, we will allow agents to dictate the one pure source of football info and entertainment. We'll be the BIGGEST forking mickey mouse message board on the internet dancing to agents' wishes. I want no part of that...umm..what's the term again..oh yaeh.... :bs:

Look..I don't have anything nasty to say about any player, except when they play utter garbage. BUt I will big up that same player if I think he played well. And I doh feel the need to always comment on a player anyway. I also stay away from criticizing youth players, or inexperienced senior players whose confidence can be hurt by what we say. Yeah we enjoy freedom of speech..but Ms MacKenzie and Flex are correct in that people read this stuff and we have to develop out own ideas of what is appropriate or not. If a player or his agent asks us to give him a bligh, as is the case here, no worries. But what I don't like is what compliance to one such request can lead to in the future. If we are not careful we will be set up as a free, and distorted marketing tool for agencies. The purity of the site will be tarnished and both players and agents will have the right to blame us for scuppered deals cuz one player got nicer comments than another..or one player was too harshly criticized after a game while another player who did even worse was left alone. There is no measure for what is 'nice' or 'too critical'. So blaming the forum will be all too easy and Ms MacKenzie has started it.

Players will act more professionally on the field and be better role models off the field if they think people will discuss them on any media, including the message board. AT the same time..ease up on the unnecessary negative comments on a player. We all have enough judgement to know what is overboard and inappropriate. But let us not develop into the only manipulated mickey mouse message board on the net. Daiz all
Post by: Quags on January 24, 2009, 10:18:29 AM
Filho u know the funny thing ....You is never say a bad word or diss anybody lol
Post by: Filho on January 24, 2009, 10:26:26 AM
Filho u know the funny thing ....You is never say a bad word or diss anybody lol

ent? lol. I call Dog a shittong once when I first join the forum and a few older heads show me ah form and I agree with what they had to say. since then, you eh go hear me dis any local player like that, or say i doh like them. the most i will say is they play some good toots. and I doh dis de youths. good talk. Other than that..yeah..ah could get a lil 'talkative' from time to time. lol
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on January 24, 2009, 10:48:36 AM

You had to be ah syphilis, beat out, slack, crab louse infected c__t to say something like that.

Heather MacKenzie would like me to believe that PART of the reason Hardest didn't get sign to a club was because of what was said on a discussion board. So it couldn't be because of his lack of discipline, his lazy play, his age and his past coming back to haunt him? Heather MacKenzie give we a break nuh! Furthermore, if yuh reading this, create an account come on the site and give we the real story - doh send no message through Flex.

I could just see the email the coach a the club send.

Dear Ms MacKenzie,

It is with great regret that we cannot sign Hardest at this time. Though he impressed us in the trial with his slick passing and knowledge of the game. In the end it all came down to a web site we came across that had some less than stellar things to say about Hardest. His past discipline problems aside we feel that after reviewing the soca warriors website properly that he is just not the kind of person we want to represent out club at this time. 

Regards,
Coach Cacahole

(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/originals_bullshit1_ranndino.jpg)

I do not believe in censorship of any kind. Free speech comes with responsibility and players must also be responsible with their lives and not do shit that could come back to haunt them.

WHat next?

Stern manager writing Flex in an effort to stop people from calling him ah unmitigated shithound. PUUUHLEASE!!

Post by: Flex on January 24, 2009, 11:07:16 AM
You guys taking this to far..... and making it out to be bigger than it really is...

If you were Jamal's agent and we are good friends and you ask me to do you a LITTLE favor just this one time then I see no problem with it as I will do it for anyone here if they were in that position....

We may not agree all the time, but I try to be simply and cool with everyone.....

Feel free to continue posting as you please, none of you dogged Jamal and I see no problem with anyone of you guys post....

I will speak with Heather today and explain to her. I also do not see a problem keeping (some stuff) low a bit, as she assured me the club did read the forum. And I doubt they will make a decision on what we say here. But a little good stuff will not hurt.
Post by: Filho on January 24, 2009, 12:03:51 PM
You guys taking this to far..... and making it out to be bigger than it really is...

If you were Jamal's agent and we are good friends and you ask me to do you a LITTLE favor just this one time then I see no problem with it as I will do it for anyone here if they were in that position....

We may not agree all the time, but I try to be simply and cool with everyone.....

Feel free to continue posting as you please, none of you dogged Jamal and I see no problem with anyone of you guys post....

I will speak with Heather today and explain to her. I also do not see a problem keeping (some stuff) low a bit, as she assured me the club did read the forum. And I doubt they will make a decision on what we say here. But a little good stuff will not hurt.

Flex. Some of the responses are strong, but it is nothing personal. You may think it is one little favor this one time..but I can't see how that makes any sense. Is Jamal the last player MLF will send on a trial ever? Once you use the forum to serve your friend's interest, you open up yourself to other agents asking the same. Worse, we're now being blamed when things don't work out and that is unacceptable. Friend or not..you should not let Ms MacKenzie try to manipulate the forum to suit her needs, no matter how innocuous it may seem. It makes sense to me to ask yourself what it could possibly lead to in the future..and to me, it can lead to a lot of negative things easily.

Ask yourself Flex..if noone has dogged Jamal..then exactly what are we supposed to tone down? When is the last time anyone wrote anything critical..or anything about Hardest period? There are many ways to promote a player on this site without explicitly trying to manipulate forumites. We're basically being told to hush and be nice with MLF players. Ok I've said a lot on the topic. I hope I've been balanced tho, cuz I accept that there are appropriate and inappropriate ways to discuss a footballer. BUt that is something that should always be part of the forum, not to be turned on and off to suit MLF.

No hard feelings...all the best to Ms. MacKenzie, MLF, Jamal, Hardest and all T&T players.
Post by: Bakes on January 24, 2009, 01:05:46 PM

You had to be ah syphilis, beat out, slack, crab louse infected c__t to say something like that.

Great, now Jack TV contract not going and get renewed...
Post by: Bakes on January 24, 2009, 01:09:42 PM

Flex I think is just how it came across the first time... I think most of us understand the situation a little better now, I know I do.  It's easier for me since I doh get into slamming players and thing, for others it might be harder but people just need to be responsible with what they're saying.. especially now that we know external eyes are on us.
Post by: WestCoast on January 24, 2009, 01:58:54 PM

Great, now Jack TV contract not going and get renewed...
Hopefully it will blow over in 24 Hours ;D ;D
Post by: Filho on January 24, 2009, 02:44:36 PM
At the end of the day, we all want the best for our players, and the best for the forum. Despite differences of opinion, I'm sure we'll figure it out as we go along.
Post by: MEP on January 24, 2009, 05:44:53 PM
What I take umbrage to is that by asking to tone down the comments she is applying or asking the board controllers to apply some form of censorship albeit mild it is still a form of censorship. What if the TTFF were to ask the board to be less critical of its organization or of Jackula how many of us would comply?
Post by: Touches on January 24, 2009, 05:56:49 PM
Ah boy...it is because of me certain man reach world cup and others cyar even get a trial.

For a mere 1% of your earnings I shall put you on to the path of riches and opportunity.

Post by: WestCoast on January 24, 2009, 06:03:51 PM
Ah boy...it is because of me certain man reach world cup and others cyar even get a trial.
For a mere 1% of your earnings I shall put you on to the path of riches and opportunity.
I can just imagine it now

"Touches Internet Football Forum Referrals Incorporated.
Suppling ALL the Positive information that you require to Sign that elusive Player
Complete Match Reports available upon request"
Post by: acb on January 24, 2009, 06:11:50 PM
Scouts should have a separate log-in.
Post by: verycute1 on January 24, 2009, 06:23:59 PM

1%????  1% is nothing if the site reach where it going. If you reach that far that your posts cause man to lose or gain contract then you could be the man agent instead of his errr... real agent. Take a 25% and post away.  :rotfl: :rotfl: Better yet, mebbe the site should be earning royalties or referral fees from players and agents.  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: acb on January 24, 2009, 06:41:31 PM

1%????  1% is nothing if the site reach where it going. If you reach that far that your posts cause man to lose or gain contract then you could be the man agent instead of his errr... real agent. Take a 25% and post away.  :rotfl: :rotfl: Better yet, mebbe the site should be earning royalties or referral fees from players and agents.  :rotfl: :rotfl:

don't forget the retainer .... otherwise the authorities will remove every post that ever mention a player's name - good or bad.
Post by: palos on January 24, 2009, 06:48:21 PM

Buh is u blight we wit Evans Wise yes... :devil:
Post by: Touches on January 25, 2009, 04:38:51 AM
Fellas...

Look the line that sunk Hardest Career and after reading this all scouts and possible deals fell through.

Quote from: Sam on August 13, 2008, 05:36:46 PM

Yo TI, give up on that Jemmott thing boss, yuh jocking ah dead prick.

Post by: kiffysmooth on January 25, 2009, 07:15:01 AM
Ah hearing all dis talk bout bad talking Hardest and giving de Jamaal ah bligh.....but all yuh aint goh talk bout how nobody does ever have anyting good to say bout Bleedah.  I pray to God, dat a potential employer for Theobald doh read dis website, because all yuh would screw him over.   But doh dig no horrors, big players will always persevere...Dats why he back in de national mix.   All yuh is imps :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: HM on January 25, 2009, 11:26:23 AM
Clarification

This is the first time I have posted on this forum and do not think it is appropriate for me to regularly do so or engage in a lengthy debate. I would just like to clarify my position. I regret not posting directly or saying anything for that matter. I believe I was misunderstood. I have never met Flex and was not asking a personal favor, but rather as a friend of Trinidad football asked him to remind members that this is a public forum. I appreciate the forum and the passion of its members. In the registration agreement members are asked to refrain from posting anything that is hateful or defamatory. Truth is always a defense to defamation. I think that members on this forum are often unduly critical and harsh toward players and coaches that are already under a tremendous amount of pressure. At the same time, as an attorney I fully appreciate the right to freedom of speech. I may disagree with some members as to what constitutes hateful speech. All I ask is that members refrain from speculation and negative comments that maybe untrue or irrelevant. The pressure on all professional athletes is tremendous and they must accept the negative press and blogging that comes with it, as must I. As all of you know, it is extremely difficult to get trials and contracts and the period when players are on trial is extremely sensitive. I think that SocaWarriors is one source of information which cannot be ignored but must be put in context. I am asking for no special treatment for myself or for players I represent. All I meant to say is that fans of Trinidad football consider the consequences of speculation on this forum as it may impact ALL players ability to go on trial. I regret any misunderstanding on this and I am willing to take the criticism as it comes, I would just respectfully request that we all appreciate that as a public forum the comments hereon are read worldwide.
Respectfully,
Heather MacKenzie
MLF Sports
PS MLF stands for MacKenzie Law Firm
Post by: Bakes on January 25, 2009, 11:38:55 AM
...All I meant to say is that fans of Trinidad football consider the consequences of speculation on this forum as it may impact ALL players ability to go on trial.

I think this is an extremely fair point.
Post by: D.H.W on January 25, 2009, 11:42:46 AM
Clarification

This is the first time I have posted on this forum and do not think it is appropriate for me to regularly do so or engage in a lengthy debate. I would just like to clarify my position. I regret not posting directly or saying anything for that matter. I believe I was misunderstood. I have never met Flex and was not asking a personal favor, but rather as a friend of Trinidad football asked him to remind members that this is a public forum. I appreciate the forum and the passion of its members. In the registration agreement members are asked to refrain from posting anything that is hateful or defamatory. Truth is always a defense to defamation. I think that members on this forum are often unduly critical and harsh toward players and coaches that are already under a tremendous amount of pressure. At the same time, as an attorney I fully appreciate the right to freedom of speech. I may disagree with some members as to what constitutes hateful speech. All I ask is that members refrain from speculation and negative comments that maybe untrue or irrelevant. The pressure on all professional athletes is tremendous and they must accept the negative press and blogging that comes with it, as must I. As all of you know, it is extremely difficult to get trials and contracts and the period when players are on trial is extremely sensitive. I think that SocaWarriors is one source of information which cannot be ignored but must be put in context. I am asking for no special treatment for myself or for players I represent. All I meant to say is that fans of Trinidad football consider the consequences of speculation on this forum as it may impact ALL players ability to go on trial. I regret any misunderstanding on this and I am willing to take the criticism as it comes, I would just respectfully request that we all appreciate that as a public forum the comments hereon are read worldwide.
Respectfully,
Heather MacKenzie
MLF Sports

thanks for stopping by , and clearing things up  :). keep representing our players. :beermug:
Post by: Cowen on January 25, 2009, 11:43:24 AM
Fellas...

Look the line that sunk Hardest Career and after reading this all scouts and possible deals fell through.

Quote from: Sam on August 13, 2008, 05:36:46 PM

Yo TI, give up on that Jemmott thing boss, yuh jocking ah dead prick.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
ah just reading but lawd ...... this nearly kill me
Post by: Quags on January 25, 2009, 12:10:04 PM
Clarification

Respectfully,
Heather MacKenzie
MLF Sports
Hi ,good job ,your doing with the guys in Europe ......But don"t worry about the Coaches I cant support you there we will represent the Coaches .Thats is C.O.B.O.S job.
Post by: kaliman2006 on January 25, 2009, 12:10:37 PM

Agreed. As strange as it seems many business entities (not just professional football clubs) check public forums/personal webpages for additional info about prospective employees.

To draw an analogy, the other day, my boss at work admitted that she viewed an applicant's facebook profile to get an idea of the type of individual he is. While facebook may or may not be the same as a public football supporters website, it clearly demonstrates a recent trend in hiring practices.
Post by: Midknight on January 25, 2009, 12:16:49 PM
Whey sah. When u big u large...

SW.net run things...
Post by: acb on January 25, 2009, 12:26:44 PM
Clarification

Respectfully,
Heather MacKenzie
MLF Sports

I don't see anything wrong with this request.
I actually don't see anything wrong even if the previous request could be construed as asking a personal favour.

MLF is acting in the best interests of their client - the player(s) - and if that means dispelling any negative press or comments that can affect a contract or a player's value - it is in their business and player's best interest to dispel those notions, even if we believe it infringes on our right to free speech.

I don't think that anyone ever tried to censor the opinion of any of the forumites. I'm quite sure some of the players may have had things pointed out that some coaches couldn't communicate effectively to them. At the same time, I am also sure that some of the comments and criticisms levelled against players here would only serve to fire them up to prove those opinions wrong.
Post by: Dutty on January 25, 2009, 12:27:54 PM

Agreed. As strange as it seems many business entities (not just professional football clubs) check public forums/personal webpages for additional info about prospective employees.

To draw an analogy, the other day, my boss at work admitted that she viewed an applicant's facebook profile to get an idea of the type of individual he is. While facebook may or may not be the same as a public football supporters website, it clearly demonstrates a recent trend in hiring practices.

For real...although I still think an anonymous opinion on a message board about xyz baller is radically different from the image xyz baller would create on their own facebook page

I willin to give the lady the benefit of the doubt,,, lookin at dem website, the lady aint no rookie lawyer...she have long tooth experience so she protecting her client/s from all angles

Then again I never post no negativity on any T&T player...so my han clean  :angel:
Post by: Bakes on January 25, 2009, 01:04:40 PM

What trend is that... and how does it apply to this situation, pray tell?  Any other examples of these "many business entities" who check public forums for info on prospective employees?

Filho, I dunno why these men insist on trying to compare the two when they're clearly not even remotely the same.
Post by: Blue on January 25, 2009, 02:43:15 PM
so hold on...all those who was cussin and carryin on for 4 whole pages....now everyone change dey tune? Did Ms MacKenzie say something that Flex didn't?  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Filho on January 25, 2009, 02:53:03 PM

What trend is that... and how does it apply to this situation, pray tell?  Any other examples of these "many business entities" who check public forums for info on prospective employees?

Filho, I dunno why these men insist on trying to compare the two when they're clearly not even remotely the same.

doh know nah. i actually pulled my post before I saw your response so sorry it look like you call me name out of the blue. but the facebook analogy is poor. how can you compare  a profile that the candidate actually created themselves, and a fan message board where the player has no input...i dunno
Post by: WestCoast on January 25, 2009, 02:55:04 PM
doh know nah. i actually pulled my post before I saw your response so sorry it look like you call me name out of the blue. but the facebook analogy is poor. how can you compare  a profile that the candidate actually created themselves, and a fan message board where the player has no input...i dunno
well said there Filho
you would think that what a fan says about a player should be taken with a "Grain Mine of Salt" ;)

AND when some fellas start to talk ah set ah shit about a player, dont the MORE knowledgeable poster on here point out those indiscretions and get them to smarten up about posting a bunch of garbage about a player?

Why is that not taken into account to dispel how a player is....just asking eh
Post by: Babalawo on January 25, 2009, 02:59:53 PM
In other words. YOU ALL ARE F***ING WITH Ms Mckenzie money.  If the players don't get a contract she cant make money ;D allyuh doh ms with the woman money.
Post by: WestCoast on January 25, 2009, 03:02:11 PM
In other words. YOU ALL ARE F***ING WITH Ms Mckenzie money.  If the players don't get a contract she cant make money ;D allyuh doh ms with the woman money.
understandable, eh :D
Post by: Blue on January 25, 2009, 03:08:52 PM
ent  ;D

I think she used to secretly post as TI  ;)
Post by: WestCoast on January 25, 2009, 03:10:47 PM
ent  ;D

nah nah :devil:
oh shit man :devil:
Post by: Babalawo on January 25, 2009, 03:15:10 PM
ent  ;D

nah nah :devil:
oh shit man :devil:

times and the economy is hard.  An agent and gm from the NFL recently send out hate emails to fans. Them fighting back online. Look at the Premiere league trying to block online streaming games.  They fighting back the fans lol
Post by: Filho on January 25, 2009, 03:19:02 PM
so hold on...all those who was cussin and carryin on for 4 whole pages....now everyone change dey tune? Did Ms MacKenzie say something that Flex didn't?  :rotfl: :rotfl:

yep..she clarified that she is not Flex's friend  :devil:
somebody bess warn Flex

i done say what i had to say. nothing change there
Post by: Organic on January 25, 2009, 03:31:28 PM
Trinis are indeed a special breed. lol If i go back and count the negative replies prior to the Hm posting i am sure before this thread  reaches the end of its significance 99.9 % ah allyuh will have changed allyuh tune.
No integrity, cajones, or common sense.

Just kiss ass and fawing. Steups.
I dont have an serious opinion on the topic of this thread, but my word. I wouldnt trust most ah allyuh with a shilling nah!!!

Though i use to pound Ti going n coming and we  had our disagreements, one thign i go give the man...he more or less have integrity. He didnt run with the tide with hardest, de man believed in him till the bitter end.
Someone's opinion or belief may change, but that change must be earned for it to mean something.

I will just sit back and fetch real kicks as usual, cause i know in hear allyuh is just a bunch of talkers anyways doh ever really do nuttin, and this present topic/thread/situation just verifies that.

thats why whether scouts come in here or not, the fact that they gives much ear to anythign being said stuns me..goes to show, for good or bad.......few other people on the planet could truly understand what it means to be a trini

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on January 25, 2009, 03:37:47 PM
Trinis are indeed a special breed. lol If i go back and count the negative replies prior to the Hm posting i am sure before this thread  reaches the end of its significance 99.9 % ah allyuh will have changed allyuh tune.

I dont have an serious opinion on the topic of this thread, but my word. I wouldnt trust most ah allyuh with a shilling nah!!!

Though i use to pound Ti going n coming and we  had our disagreements, one thign i go give the man...he more or less have integrity. He didnt run with the tide with hardest, de man believed in him till the bitter end.
Someone's opinion or belief may change, but that change must be earned for it to mean something.

I will just sit back and fetch real kicks as usual, cause i know in hear allyuh is just a bunch of talkers anyways doh ever really do nuttin, and this present topic/thread/situation just verifies that.

thats why whether scouts come in here or not, the fact that they gives much ear to anythign being said stuns me..goes to show, for good or bad.......few other people on the planet could truly understand what it means to be a trini

Seems to me people's opinions are pretty much the same as before she posted...  those in favor remained in favor, those opposed remained opposed... the few who saw it both ways remained unchanged.  Not really sure where you get off questioning people's integrity.
Post by: kicker on January 25, 2009, 03:46:33 PM

I don't think that people are directly comparing the two (as in to say that they are the same).  I think people were responding to the contention that a message board should or should not be a place where professional organizations receive info about an individual because of the credibility of the info posted on this site, and the mere fact that potential misinterpretation looms heavy over words and images posted on unofficial webpages...and saying that it's arguable that neither should facebook or myspace or whatever be used for such purposes, yet such sites are still used by professional organizations to make character assessments of employment candidates...

While people do have alot more control over what their facebook profiles contain, your facebook friends can still make off-colour comments about your photos, photoshop your pics in joke or gest, post unprofessional or inappropriate messages and images on your wall...etc... and even without that, a person's sense of humor could manifest itself in a way that could easily be misinterpreted by a potential employer.... all of which could compromise your public image (or the image that you wish to have others be made privy to)...or at the least cause one to fall victim to "discrimination by association".. Many people do not diligently monitor their facebook profiles, or may not be saavy enough with the tool to define privacy settings or to protect themselves from falling victim to viruses or spamming applications that can sabotage a profile..

So agreed- a site like facebook would more likely give a better impression than sw.net of an individual's character so the analogy is not the best- but I think it is still somewhat relevant and in this context the two scenarios are comparable in the sense that both this forum, and sites like facebook have the power to invade privacy or at the least leave an individual vulnerable to sensitive content which is subject to (fair or unfair) interpretation.
Post by: Filho on January 25, 2009, 04:04:44 PM

organic..yuh talking level toots. you come to that conclusion from the grand total of 4 posts that can be construed as in favor with the request after the 'clarification' message. how many of those are a change of tune post. i bet you can't call one. yuh jess talking out your ass. and doh make general statements about posters here only talking and not doing. dat is just plain wrong and direspectful. is a forum..most of it go be just talk. but yuh doh have a clue about some of the posters here. pure dunce post
Post by: Bakes on January 25, 2009, 04:30:14 PM
I don't think that people are directly comparing the two (as in to say that they are the same).  I think people were responding to the contention that a message board should or should not be a place where professional organizations receive info about an individual because of the credibility of the info posted on this site, and the mere fact that potential misinterpretation looms heavy over words and images posted on unofficial webpages...and saying that it's arguable that neither should facebook or myspace or whatever be used for such purposes, yet such sites are still used by professional organizations to make character assessments of employment candidates...

While people do have alot more control over what their facebook profiles contain, your facebook friends can still make off-colour comments about your photos, photoshop your pics in joke or gest, post unprofessional or inappropriate messages and images on your wall...etc... and even without that, a person's sense of humor could manifest itself in a way that could easily be misinterpreted by a potential employer.... all of which could compromise your public image (or the image that you wish to have others be made privy to)...or at the least cause one to fall victim to "discrimination by association".. Many people do not diligently monitor their facebook profiles, or may not be saavy enough with the tool to define privacy settings or to protect themselves from falling victim or to viruses or spamming applications that can sabotage a profile..

So agreed- a site like facebook would more likely give a better impression than sw.net of an individual's character so the analogy is not the best- but I think it is still somewhat relevant and in this context the two scenarios are comparable in the sense that both this forum, and sites like facebook have the power to invade privacy or at the least leave an individual vulnerable to sensitive content which is subject to (fair or unfair) interpretation.

This amounts to a whole lot of rationalizing after the fact... and as a matter of fact, much of it isn't on point.  While friends can make off-color comments and post unflattering pictures to a Facebook member's profile... that member STILL has the ability to control the content on their profile by deleting any such photos, comments etc.  in fact, one can lock down one's profile so that recruiters don't access information on their profile... one can even control which among your friends can post to your profile and who among them can access your photos.  Needless to say, one always has the option of masking one's identity so that even if the profile is accessed the identity cannot be established.

There simply is no such measure of control over the content of sites such as this where anonymous nobodies (as I like to call them) can pluck whatever they like from their collective stream of consciousness and share with the rest of cyberspace.  While some of that may be slanderous or defamatory, it hardly constitutes the breach of privacy that you peg it to be.

I also don't know how you can say that people weren't making a direct comparison between the two media when in fact that is precisely what was done time and time again.  No they didn't say they were the same... but there are other ways to make a direct comparison between two things than to say that they are identical in character and make up.  You yourself say that the "the analogy is not the best"... how could you make that assessment, calling it an analogy if the comparison wasn't directly made between the two in the first place?  An analogy cannot be drawn without there being a direct comparison.

Rather than go on any further we ought to just put the silly comparison, direct or not to rest.  Even if we disagree with employers using Facebook to gauge the content of a person's character... the information upon which that judgment is made is controlled by ONE person, the owner of the account.  There is no measure of control that any of us, certainly not the subjects of conversation... can take to limit what's being said about us.  Short of the moderators getting involved we are at the mercy of the discretion of random, anonymous posters on this forum.  The Facebook analogy fails and should be put to rest.
Post by: acb on January 25, 2009, 04:34:46 PM
so what does happen to footballers who have Facebook pages?

dem in double trouble if Facebook tell one story and SW.net tell another story?

Didn't it have some footballer who didn't get a phonecall, didn't get a text message ..... but get a Facebook Instant Message that he did get drop? ... and then post it as his status update?
Post by: Organic on January 25, 2009, 04:46:05 PM

organic..yuh talking level toots. you come to that conclusion from the grand total of 4 posts that can be construed as in favor with the request after the 'clarification' message. how many of those are a change of tune post. i bet you can't call one. yuh jess talking out your ass. and doh make general statements about posters here only talking and not doing. dat is just plain wrong and direspectful. is a forum..most of it go be just talk. but yuh doh have a clue about some of the posters here. pure dunce post

if u say so breds.. i not arguing ,and i also said before the thread finsihed i made sure and ssay that..just cause i know some ah allyuh will tote feelings on time.
lol@ worng and disrespectful..in this place that is a big joke. and i do know quite a few posters in here personally. at any rate ....your have your opinion i have mine.
bless up.
but doh tote feelings bro!!
Post by: Filho on January 25, 2009, 05:30:55 PM

if u say so breds.. i not arguing ,and i also said before the thread finsihed i made sure and ssay that..just cause i know some ah allyuh will tote feelings on time.
lol@ worng and disrespectful..in this place that is a big joke. and i do know quite a few posters in here personally. at any rate ....your have your opinion i have mine.
bless up.

no scene. i doh take anything on here personally. i jess find yuh talk toots. no feelings behind it. yeah..the 'wrong and disrespectful' was a lil jokey :beermug:

so it go
Post by: kicker on January 25, 2009, 05:33:20 PM

This amounts to a whole lot of rationalizing after the fact... and as a matter of fact, much of it isn't on point.  While friends can make off-color comments and post unflattering pictures to a Facebook member's profile... that member STILL has the ability to control the content on their profile by deleting any such photos, comments etc.  in fact, one can lock down one's profile so that recruiters don't access information on their profile... one can even control which among your friends can post to your profile and who among them can access your photos.  Needless to say, one always has the option of masking one's identity so that even if the profile is accessed the identity cannot be established.

Did you even read my post? I addressed all of that.  Look at where I spoke of people's failure to adjust privacy settings and people's failure to monitor their profile diligently- I began by saying that ppl have alot more control over their facebook profiles but some don't exercise that control to the fullest, and are hence left vulnerable to an invasion of privacy just as they would on a public message board...Are you even responding to me?

There simply is no such measure of control over the content of sites such as this where anonymous nobodies (as I like to call them) can pluck whatever they like from their collective stream of consciousness and share with the rest of cyberspace.  While some of that may be slanderous or defamatory, it hardly constitutes the breach of privacy that you peg it to be.

I also don't know how you can say that people weren't making a direct comparison between the two media when in fact that is precisely what was done time and time again.  No they didn't say they were the same... but there are other ways to make a direct comparison between two things than to say that they are identical in character and make up.  You yourself say that the "the analogy is not the best"... how could you make that assessment, calling it an analogy if the comparison wasn't directly made between the two in the first place?  An analogy cannot be drawn without there being a direct comparison.

WTF ?!?! Yuh talkin' some high grade sh*t here. The comparison often used in this thread was indirect i.e. Facebook is used by potential employers as this forum can be used by certain football scouts i.e. indirect (not comparing the two forms of media themselves, but drawing a parallel between how they can be used by employers)....In other words A is to B, what C is to D = indirect comparison...how else can I say it?

Filho's post said "how can you compare  a profile that the candidate actually created themselves, and a fan message board where the player has no input...i dunno" - that implies a direct comparison (comparing the two forms of media- as opposed to comparing how the two forms of media can be used by employers)  That is what I was addressing.

An analogy is parallel drawn between two things by identifying similarities within a given context...whether the comparison is direct or indirect is irrelevant...you like you just talking for talking sake because you're not addressing what I said, and in the process not making full sense either

I said the analogy is not the best agreeing with you & filho, but I can see how the comparison is relevant.  You're searching for an argument that isn't even there- Like I said- What you're saying does not address my post

Rather than go on any further we ought to just put the silly comparison, direct or not to rest.  Even if we disagree with employers using Facebook to gauge the content of a person's character... the information upon which that judgment is made is controlled by ONE person, the owner of the account.  There is no measure of control that any of us, certainly not the subjects of conversation... can take to limit what's being said about us.  Short of the moderators getting involved we are at the mercy of the discretion of random, anonymous posters on this forum.  The Facebook analogy fails and should be put to rest.

I think if you re-read my post, you will see that you didn't address anything I said.  Like I said, an analogy as I know is a parallel between two things which on the surface appear different,  but in a given context have similarities.  I mentioned where the two forms of media appear different (which you regurgitated for whatever reason) and then mentioned some potential similarities in the given context...and gave my opinion as to how I can see the analogy (as weak as it may be- even that I said) being relevant. simple.   :-\

This is how I drew the analogy: the two scenarios are comparable in the sense that both this forum, and sites like facebook have the power to invade privacy or at the least leave an individual vulnerable to sensitive content which is subject to (fair or unfair) interpretation.  ....

Show me where you address that.
Post by: Babalawo on January 25, 2009, 05:36:24 PM

Didn't it have some footballer who didn't get a phonecall, didn't get a text message ..... but get a Facebook Instant Message that he did get drop? ... and then post it as his status update?

Who's that? That cyah be Jason Scotland
Post by: Quags on January 25, 2009, 05:37:03 PM

bless up.

no scene. i doh take anything on here personally. i jess find yuh talk toots. no feelings behind it.

so it go
Well what makes something really  organic eh Filho not toots .

press L1 for defense ,press L2 for stone Armour defense .  
Post by: Filho on January 25, 2009, 05:44:48 PM

bless up.

no scene. i doh take anything on here personally. i jess find yuh talk toots. no feelings behind it.

so it go
Well what makes something really  organic eh Filho not toots .

press L1 for defense ,press L2 for stone Armour defense .  

??? breds..yuh taking lesson from weary or what..I go press F4 for 'do not comprehend'

I will give organic one thing..after reading again I hadda laugh at mehself with the 'wrong and disrespectful' too  ::). went a lil overboard dey. say wha. so it go

Post by: Quags on January 25, 2009, 05:49:58 PM
sorry the L1 is a videogame analogy for blocks and defend, cause when organic read the first part ,he go hit me hard ,and Ill need to defend.
The first line was for you lol ,sorry .
Post by: superoli on January 25, 2009, 05:58:02 PM
gosh I take a sabbatical from de forum and I miss all this fun !
Post by: Bakes on January 25, 2009, 06:35:28 PM
Did you even read my post? I addressed all of that.  Look at where I spoke of people's failure to adjust privacy settings and people's failure to monitor their profile diligently  Are you even responding to me?

Considering how I methodically responded to your post, dissecting it non-point by non-point... I can only chalk up this line of questioning to an inability to read... or lack of acknowledgment of the relevance.  Either way, take your pick.

WTF ?!?! Yuh talkin' some high grade sh*t here. The comparison often used in this thread was indirect i.e. Facebook is used by potential employers as this forum can be used by certain football scouts i.e. indirect (not comparing the two forms of media themselves, but drawing a parallel between how they can be used by employers)....In other words A is to B, what C is to D = indirect comparison...how else can I say it?

You can say it however you feel it would make the most sense to you... as I see it, and I'm sure there are others, the comparison was direct.  Phenomenon A happens on Facebook, so it isn't beyond the pale to think that phenomenon A to also happen on SW.net.  Was there a one-to-one comparison of the technology behind both sites? No. But such isn't the only way to make a direct comparison between the two... unless one wants to deliberate construe the comparison narrowly.  You made an argument about the relative "privacy" issues inherent to both sites... others compared how both sites can factor in impugning people's characters.  I call it a direct comparison you insist it's indirect... six on one hand, half a dozen on the other.  But if you're convinced that your argument is substantive then that is your right.  Personally, I don't care that much to be splitting hairs with you.

Filho's post said "how can you compare  a profile that the candidate actually created themselves, and a fan message board where the player has no input...i dunno" - that implies a direct comparison (comparing the two forms of media- as opposed to comparing how the two forms of media can be used by employers)  That is what I was addressing.

An analogy is parallel drawn between two things by identifying similarities within a given context...whether the comparison is direct or indirect is irrelevant...you like you just talking for talking sake because you're not addressing what I said, and in the process not making full sense either

Again, see above.

I said the analogy is not the best agreeing with you & filho, but I can see how the comparison is relevant.  You're searching for an argument that isn't even there- Like I said- What you're saying does not address my post

You really flatter yourself to think that I'd go out of my way to seek out an argument with you.  I respond to you as I would to anyone else when I disagree with something posted.  I get enough of argument in my real life that I don't need to come here "searching for an argument" with you or anyone else and my motivation for posting is nowhere as trivial as you'd like to paint it.  You say that you don't see the relevance of my response to your post... well I can't help you see it, it is what it is.

I think if you re-read my post, you will see that you didn't address anything I said.  Like I said, an analogy as I know is a parallel between two things which on the surface appear different,  but in a given context have similarities.  I mentioned where the two forms of media appear different (which you regurgitated for whatever reason) and then mentioned some potential similarities in the given context...and gave my opinion as to how I can see the analogy (as weak as it may be- even that I said) being relevant. simple.   :-\

You gave some nebulous disclaimer about people not adjusting privacy settings then sought to contradict your non-point by making the same inane characterization that others tried to make, that employers coud legitimately use information from both sites to help cull information about prospects.  What you fail to acknowledge is that the self-same privacy settings you mention is the fulcrum of the argument.  Privacy controls are in place in one medium (Facebook), and aren't as effective/available in the other (SW.net).  This renders the comparison void.  Any information found on Facebook is ultimately the responsibility of the profile owner, because they have the ability to control that.  I'm not about to continuing pointing out how fundamentally different the situation is for a footballer to control what you or anyone else say about them.

This is how I drew the analogy: the two scenarios are comparable in the sense that both this forum, and sites like facebook have the power to invade privacy or at the least leave an individual vulnerable to sensitive content which is subject to (fair or unfair) interpretation.  ....

Show me where you address that.

The sum of my response addressed it, you just refuse to acknowledge the point.  Facebook can leave you vulnerable as you term it... only if you yourself (by your own negligence) create that vulnerability... therefore it's a false comparison to liken it to SW.net where even the most stringent of precautions still leaves you vulnerable to slander.

If I shoot myself in the head, or you shoot me in the head the threat to my life is the same.  The comparison seems on point until one stops to contemplate the source of the threat.  Surely one can see the fallacy in falsely comparing a condition created by one's own hands and countenancing it as the same as a condition created by another.  One threat can easily be negated, the other more problematically so.  One you can control, the other you can't... a fundamental dissimilarity.

... but this is where I get off this circular track.
Post by: acb on January 25, 2009, 06:54:24 PM

Who's that? That cyah be Jason Scotland

SHHHHHHHHHH ..... lol
Post by: kicker on January 25, 2009, 07:02:44 PM

The sum of my response addressed it, you just refuse to acknowledge the point.  Facebook can leave you vulnerable as you term it... only if you yourself (by your own negligence) create that vulnerability... therefore it's a false comparison to liken it to SW.net where even the most stringent of precautions still leaves you vulnerable to slander.

If I shoot myself in the head, or you shoot me in the head the threat to my life is the same.  The comparison seems on point until one stops to contemplate the source of the threat.  Surely one can see the fallacy in falsely comparing a condition created by one's own hands and countenancing it as the same as a condition created by another.  One threat can easily be negated, the other more problematically so.  One you can control, the other you can't... a fundamental dissimilarity.

... but this is where I get off this circular track.

Thanks master of the obvious.  

The point is, whether by negligence or not, so long as your infomation is on a public site, there is potential vulnerability to the interpretations of others.  And it is a well known fact that employers use sites like facebook to assist in character assessments, and supposedly according to Heather MacKenzie, talent scouts & recruiters also use SW.net to get inside scoop on football recruits.....How is this done? publicly available information...within one's control or not notwithstanding....so if the facts themselves don't draw an obvious real life analogy, feel free to live in your own world believing that no comparison can be drawn between the two.  

Post by: Sando on January 26, 2009, 07:30:39 AM
Clarification

Respectfully,
Heather MacKenzie
MLF Sports

Well said !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 26, 2009, 09:46:11 AM
Clarification

Respectfully,
Heather MacKenzie
MLF Sports

Heather doh mind dem kissmeh-ass kiss-ass and dem who wearin' apron and dustin' off yuh boots wit dey tongue eh. If I could offer yuh some chupid advice here, look...take it:  Take your fight to the Honorable Jack Warner (  :-[ ah cyah believe I actually use cyapital letters fuh dis man name!) Lincoln Philips, Oliver Camps and the stellar organization that is the TTFF.  Tell dem that yuh having a hard time selling exceptionally talented but underweight players with marginal skill development to the top flighted football teams around the world.  Tell dem that teams are wary of signing players that have sssssssso much natural born ability but lack the foundational and structural growth that would make them an easy pick for most team managers.  Tell dem we our football federation needs to teach we players about passin', trappin', shootin', tactics, NUTRITION and GOALKEEPIN' to the level that would make YOUR job easier, our nation more successful, the fans happier (which would then have a direct effect on all the shit-talk, of course) and, inherently, their pockets much, much fatter.   Dat shouldn't be a hard sell dat to jackula and dem, and see how fast dem teams fuhget bout "dubya-dubya-dubya-dot-socawarriors-dot-whatever!"   

P.S.  I hope your 1-post association with the site now neither harms your signings of prospective clients nor hinders your current negotiations.
Post by: Brownsugar on January 26, 2009, 11:24:17 AM
And de congregation say Amen Mango Chow!!....I feel we being made scapegoats for something that is more deep seated and/or fundamental than this forum........
Post by: WestCoast on January 26, 2009, 11:25:48 AM
And de congregation say Amen Mango Chow!!....I feel we being made scapegoats for something that is more deep seated and/or fundamental than this forum........
WE HAVE A WINNING POST ;)

Mango...is "Triple Dubya" ya say there  ;D
Post by: fordy on January 26, 2009, 11:35:37 AM
Clarification

Respectfully,
Heather MacKenzie
MLF Sports

Heather doh mind dem kissmeh-ass kiss-ass and dem who wearin' apron and dustin' off yuh boots wit dey tongue eh. If I could offer yuh some chupid advice here, look...take it:  Take your fight to the Honorable Jack Warner (  :-[ ah cyah believe I actually use cyapital letters fuh dis man name!) Lincoln Philips, Oliver Camps and the stellar organization that is the TTFF.  Tell dem that yuh having a hard time selling exceptionally talented but underweight players with marginal skill development to the top flighted football teams around the world.  Tell dem that teams are wary of signing players that have sssssssso much natural born ability but lack the foundational and structural growth that would make them an easy pick for most team managers.  Tell dem we our football federation needs to teach we players about passin', trappin', shootin', tactics, NUTRITION and GOALKEEPIN' to the level that would make YOUR job easier, our nation more successful, the fans happier (which would then have a direct effect on all the shit-talk, of course) and, inherently, their pockets much, much fatter.   Dat shouldn't be a hard sell dat to jackula and dem, and see how fast dem teams fuhget bout "dubya-dubya-dubya-dot-socawarriors-dot-whatever!"   

P.S.  I hope your 1-post association with the site now neither harms your signings of prospective clients nor hinders your current negotiations.

well said mango chow. at first i cudnt believe the request. and after reading the official MLF response im still kinda baffled. now i totally agree that no one should be posting things on the board that are blatantly false and speculative, but for you to say that men have to "tone it down" because a player is on trial cant saddle well with me. i am one of the biggest supporters of our local players but to tell me i can only praise them when they do good and cant criticise them when they mess up is out of order, because they on a trial? no way!! who gets more public criticism than american and british athletes and they get contract offers all de time. shoot if pac man jones cud sign for the cowboys last season anybody (including hardest) could get a contract....BASED ON THEIR ABILITY!!! i understand totally the concept of an organization performing a character check on their prospective signing, its smart business to do so but thats why players have representatives...to dispell those allegations they have found! :beermug:
Post by: Sando prince on January 26, 2009, 11:45:46 AM

I was about to say the same thing...
Post by: Peong on January 26, 2009, 01:02:00 PM
Flex allyuh should put a reminder for visitors to the forum that the forum is for fans and is usually filled to the brim with opinion, rumour and speculation, and that comments made here should not be used to evaluate a player.
Direct them to the news section for that.
Post by: supporter on January 26, 2009, 01:49:16 PM
I wish i was represented by MILFs  ;D
Post by: freakazoid on January 26, 2009, 03:05:05 PM
great post mango chow
Post by: weary1969 on January 26, 2009, 05:44:40 PM
Well said Mango.
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 27, 2009, 10:03:09 AM

Just as Fordy said in his post, Brownsugar, I am all for responsible.........commentary, if you will.  In other words, man cyah be on the forum sayin' dey see a player smokin' crack wit tree spanish up in Villa Capri..........if it eh true  ;).  But to tell people to temper their opinions and feelings and for a so-called team to take some angle of using an informal non-representative forum as to evaluate the strengths, weaknesses, abilities, character and mindset of a prospective signing is jes' plain dog shit and something that any lawyer or agent worth a bucket of urine sample should be able to deflect and dismiss as irrelevant to their client's cause.
If the football universe could allow joey barton to continue playing football then what de hell anybody on this forum could say to hinder a prospect that his/her own shortcomings wouldn't hinder on their own?

WE HAVE A WINNING POST ;)

Mango...is "Triple Dubya" ya say there  ;D

:-X  Ah done missin' de man arready boy, WestCoast.   ;D
Post by: fishs on January 27, 2009, 10:22:14 AM

Right, allyuh give mih boy Akile ah chance to make a living now.

Some of allyuh does come acros like football fascists and players allyuh have a problem with condemn them to the forum football player holocaust.
Post by: kicker on January 27, 2009, 11:49:18 AM

If the football universe could allow joey barton to continue playing football then what de hell anybody on this forum could say to hinder a prospect that his/her own shortcomings wouldn't hinder on their own?

lol true
Post by: verycute1 on January 28, 2009, 06:02:29 AM
Good post mango.

SO reading this made me  think about  baseball. During the season and the playoffs and when the yankees choke yet again and all the angry fans write letters to the editors and post on their blogs and on fan forums, and yet still some of the most undeserving players still get re-signed in spite of public opinion. Freedom of speech exists and will continue to exist as long as those who believe in it continue to post letters or write articles calling an idiot an idiot for failing to produce. Freedom of speech should not be dependant on wether the player is someone's client. All players are someone's client and if all lawyers issued gag requests then the sport pages in many a newspaper would be blank.

And the agents and lawyers of these undeserving players don't (to the best of my knowledge but I could be wrong) go after fans and fan sites and the Daily News or the Post or the NY Times editorials to complain that their client is getting a bum's rush. Most of these cases the players know that they suck, they did wrong,they choked and in most cases they have a news conference to apologise to the fans for letting them down. Now granted one can never dare to compare a baseball player like A-Rod with someone like Dwight Yorke... oh wait we can. A-Rod is well know on this continent and Dwight Yorke is a well known name in England and Europe, both stars in their field, but (and again I could be wrong) I have yet to hear either of them blame fans for their shortcomings and failures to succeed. A-Rod screws up onfield he takes it like a man says sorry to the press and the people and goes on his merry way. I'm sure Yorke has done the same.

I can see it now, if T&T don't make it to the WC is there going to be a press conference by the MLF represented players saying that their confidence was lost, shot, torn to pieces because of the cruel heartless comments made by the posters at this Socawarriors.net?  You can tell that MFL has represented T&T players for a Long time because they have adopted a trini mentality which is to blame everybody else for failures but themselves. Welcome to the big leagues players. If you are out there in public, people will scrutanise your every move and they will post about it. Get used to it.

Post by: saga pinto on January 28, 2009, 06:16:52 AM
Clarification

Respectfully,
Heather MacKenzie
MLF Sports

Great post mango chow,much respect,don't go after the players go after the system,there lies the problem..... 
Post by: saga pinto on January 28, 2009, 06:17:53 AM

I love it!!!!
Post by: WestCoast on January 28, 2009, 09:51:14 AM
Good post mango.
I can see it now, if T&T don't make it to the WC is there going to be a press conference by the MLF represented players saying that their confidence was lost, shot, torn to pieces because of the cruel heartless comments made by the posters at this Socawarriors.net?  You can tell that MFL has represented T&T players for a Long time because they have adopted a trini mentality which is to blame everybody else for failures but themselves. Welcome to the big leagues players. If you are out there in public, people will scrutanise your every move and they will post about it. Get used to it.
very well said there meh Lady
double speak to deflect, is what it is about in my opinion
as you also know there are the wanna be lawyers on here who argue about crap and tryin to convince people about things.....i am sure if they woke up on the wrong side of the bed they would argue that the sky is not blue but cloud colour......smoke screen alert my dear people
Post by: verycute1 on February 16, 2009, 08:33:24 AM
SO I'm just wondering........... how they like the comments on the board now  :devil: :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on February 16, 2009, 08:54:11 AM
Dey eh on we again d checkin facebook so if anyting go wrong wit number 14 in d future in eh go b we fault.
Post by: verycute1 on February 16, 2009, 09:09:22 AM
Dey eh on we again d checkin facebook so if anyting go wrong wit number 14 in d future in eh go b we fault.

Saved by facebook!  :rotfl:
Post by: Sando on March 27, 2009, 10:09:23 AM
How come when you google socawarriors.net and then click on MAPS the Mackenzie Law Firm shows up ?
Post by: elan on March 27, 2009, 10:41:54 AM
How on this green earth give you the idea to search socawarriors.net and click on Maps? Alyuh good yes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/iocPpL_5Q7Y

Or if yuh does use knife and fork now..... ::)

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/_GjHL0FkYoY&feature=related
Post by: verycute1 on March 27, 2009, 10:55:23 AM
How come when you google socawarriors.net and then click on MAPS the Mackenzie Law Firm shows up ?

You know, I thought you was making a joke then I tried it just for kicks.... an realize you not joking.

But I think this is why. If you go into maps under their link and click on more info these pages pop up, I just copy and paste but if you scroll down you'll see why it comes up.

The MacKenzie Law Firm - Contact Us
The Mackenzie Law Firm 407 Summit Street Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27101 office 1 (336) 722 9944 fax 1 (336) 722 9981. Please enter your contact information and a member of The ...

www.mackenzielawfirm.com/contact.php
Email: mackenzie@mackenzielawfirm.com Payment Options: VISA, Master Card
Email: mackenzie@mackenzielawfirm.com. Payment Options: VISA, Master Card ...

yellowpages.superpages.com/profile~SRC_l...
Email: rawlings@mackenzielawfirm.com Additional Info: Immigration and ...
Email: rawlings@mackenzielawfirm.com. Additional Info: Immigration and Deportation, Immigrant Visas, Non-Immigrant Visas, Citizenship, Deportation Defense, Our Lawyers speak your ...

yellowpages.superpages.com/profile~SRC_l...
[ More results from yellowpages.superpages.com ]

Bennet and Gold to Trinidad « News
Bennet and Gold to Trinidad. In the recent hundred-year anniversary of country’s history with football, a new force is coming that is sure to make waves in the football community. ...
mlfnews.wordpress.com/.../

Jamal Gay on trial with German team Rot-Weiss Oberhausen
Jamal Gay on trial with German team Rot-Weiss Oberhausen. mlfsports.com. Jamal Gay is currently on trial in German 2nd Bundesliga team Rot-Weiss Oberhausen (currently 13th in the ...
www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/48...

Winston-Salem, North Carolina Attorneys & Law Firms - Lawyers Winston-Salem ...
Winston-Salem, North Carolina Attorneys & Law Firms – Lawyers Winston-Salem. Search for an attorney, lawyer, law firm in Winston-Salem by name and practice area ...
www.hg.org/.../Winston~Salem.html

Passport & Visa Services Greensboro NC | Passport Services Greensboro
Passport & Visa Services, ADD YOUR PASSPORT & VISA SERVICES BUSINESS ...
greensboro-nc.yellowusa.com/Passport_and...

Local Personal Injury Lawyers in Kernersville, North Carolina 27284 with ...
... Gibbs Jr, James S - Mac Kenzie Law Firm 407 Summit St Winston-Salem, NC 27284 (336) 722-9944 http://mackenzielawfirm.com ...

www.personallawyers.org/North_Carolina/K...
Winston Salem Lawyers | Attorneys in Winston Salem, NC
Winston Salem zipcodes ...

www.magicyellow.com/category/Lawyers_and...
Ron Paul Racing site up! | Ron Paul Wins! | Campaign for Liberty at the ...
Ron Paul Racing site up. Posted January 18th, 2008 by rcon1. I put up www.ronpaulracing.com to put a Ron Paul message on a NASCAR cup car for the Daytona 500! We need a ...

www.dailypaul.com/node/27283

Post by: davidephraim on March 27, 2009, 12:30:07 PM

lol true

down wid de commies! :devil: :devil:
Post by: davidephraim on March 27, 2009, 12:33:33 PM
does this constitute as speculation or fact? Let de people decide! ;D ;D

[/quote]
Bleeder??? Watch Kenwyne and Scotland get fustrated they aint getting no balls their way cuz Bleeder gonna throw away nuff possessions
[/quote]

milf alert milf alert! :o :o :o
Post by: Sam on March 28, 2009, 09:18:40 AM

The Mackenzie Law Firm is 407 Summit Street Winston-Salem, North Carolina, ent we going they to see T&T vs USA on April 01st, maybe we could invite Heather to buss a lime with us.....
Post by: MEP on March 28, 2009, 09:29:02 AM
woy woy woy look ting.....
Post by: weary1969 on March 28, 2009, 11:02:44 AM

Things dat make yuh go hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.