Sports => Football => Topic started by: vb on June 06, 2010, 03:06:08 PM

Title: Lara played today for World 11 vs. England
Post by: vb on June 06, 2010, 03:06:08 PM
Entertaining game.

Endless penalty kicks at the end.

I tuned in at the 60th minute. They had BL playing a deep defensive role, however after a few subs he started to be more offensive had a few good touches but really didn't see much of the ball in the last 30 minutes.

Gave a great through pass for the forward to have a one on one with the Gk but it was saved.

Took a powerful left footed shot that was wide.

World 11 had men like Zidane, Larson, Woody Harrelson, Joe Galzaghe (boxer), the Austin Powers actor. Nice game to watch.

Title: Re: Lara played today for World 11 vs. England
Post by: boss on June 06, 2010, 03:59:49 PM
Yeah, it was a good match played in a good spirit, although there were some hard tackles in there as well.

Lara played well and wasn't as involved towards the end as vb said. He scored his penalty in the shootout though, and as he is a Utd fan, he would have been thrilled to score at Old Trafford (though not at the Stretford End).

Woody Harrelson scored the winning penalty. The starting front two for the Rest of the World team was Zidane and Mike Myers. Crazy!  :rotfl: :beermug:
Post by: vb on June 06, 2010, 04:03:46 PM
The best part is Harrelson only pick up football about 8 yrs ago. He is now 48.

He trained with the world 11 for about a week. However, he was worried about his game so after practice he would go around London and ask anybody in the local parks if he could join their game  ;D

Imagine you playing football and WH come and ask for a sweat.

Post by: Jah Gol on June 06, 2010, 05:17:32 PM
The best part is Harrelson only pick up football about 8 yrs ago. He is now 48.

He trained with the world 11 for about a week. However, he was worried about his game so after practice he would go around London and ask anybody in the local parks if he could join their game  ;D

surreal  :rotfl:
Post by: theworm2345 on June 06, 2010, 07:17:27 PM
Not exactly convincing but not terrible either
(http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/7431/sequence01n.gif)
I've seen that movie, he'd play bad until his partner offers to put some money on it  :P
Post by: Tallman on June 06, 2010, 07:47:24 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/Vrzg7iLyONM
Post by: Peong on June 06, 2010, 09:27:09 PM
Thanks for de vid.  Woody, Shrek, Lara, the angry chef.  That look like real fun.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 06, 2010, 10:20:58 PM
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/06062010/2/photo/06062010175310.html

http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/blog/sow_experts/post/Woody-Harrelson-penalty-kick-master?urn=sow,246022

http://www.contactmusic.com/photos.nsf/main/danny_jones_2062368

A fans reaction-

Just came back from Old Trafford this evening.

The UNICEF match called Soccer Aid between England and Rest Of The World. A mixture between former Football legends and celebrities for both teams!

England had: Seaman, Shearer, Redknapp, Sheringham, Robbie Williams, Ricky Hatton... etc
ROTW: Zidane, Giggs, Larsson, Figo, Lara, Joe Calaghe, Mike Myers...etc

Zidane still has it! Amazing.

Brian Lara came on at half time. This guy was running non-stop for 45 minutes in midfield. Plyed very well. Gave a through ball to Henrik Larsson who missed.

It went to penalties and Lara slotted the first penalty for his team...I was quite surpised at the man's fitness and his ability in Football. Quite good.

Zidane, is just Zidane. He is....wow!!! No words.

Thanks Tallman..
Title: Lara spot-on in charity match.
Post by: Flex on June 07, 2010, 05:34:20 AM
Lara spot-on in charity match.
T&T Guardian.

West Indies cricket legend Brian Lara netted from the penalty spot in a winning effort for the Rest of the World over England‘s soccer team yesterday at Old Trafford. Lara’s exploits on the cricket field are well known, but he once wore national colours at the junior level for his native T&T.

The batting legend policed the midfield along with international stars Zinedine Zidane, Luis Figo, Ryan Giggs, Heinrik Larson, and Sammi Hyppia in a holding role in the centre of the park.

A spirited second-half performance saw the Rest of the World overcome a two-goal deficit against the likes of former England greats Alan Shearer, Teddy Sherringham, and Nicky Butt, as both teams used past task masters with a heavy mix of celebrities.

Lara slipped a delightful through ball that split the tiring England backline late in the contest, but the retired Swedish international Larson did not do justice to the quality ball sending the game into the dreaded shoot-out.

With the former internationals barred from spot-kicking, the celebrities were entrusted with the onerous task. Lara showed why he wore T&T colours with his close friend Dwight Yorke, when he opened the proceedings with a crisply slotted penalty into the onion bags for the Rest of the World.

There were saves and misses, after the former West Indies captain’s strike, sending the shooto-ut to sudden death.

Woody Harrelson of “Cheers” and “White Men Can’t Jump” fame sealed the Rest of the World triumph, as he thumped in the decider with great aplomb, even though he initially was unaware of the location of the penalty spot.

The Socceraid charity match is held every two years, and the proceeds go to UNICEF, and yesterday’s match raised over 1.5 million pounds sterling. (CMC)
Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 07, 2010, 07:23:59 AM
Thanks for de vid.  Woody, Shrek, Lara, the angry chef.  That look like real fun.

Man dat look like fun.  Wish I could have played...Lara rub sholders with some greats dey.  Wonder if he knew any of them from before?

Zidane will always be a general :beermug: :devil:
Post by: palos on June 07, 2010, 11:24:24 AM
...Lara rub sholders with some greats dey.  Wonder if he knew any of them from before?

Get it right.

Dem people rub shoulders wit THE GREAT BRIAN LARA!

Ah wonder if Woody Harrelson know jes who he was on de same field with?

The ONLY person on that field other than Lara who is considered to be among THE GREATEST EVER IN THEIR FIELD is Zidane.

And even Zidane not as close to being the greatest ever in football as Lara is in cricket.
Post by: kicker on June 07, 2010, 11:59:18 AM
...Lara rub sholders with some greats dey.  Wonder if he knew any of them from before?

Get it right.

Oh the irony....

The ONLY person on that field other than Lara who is considered to be among THE GREATEST EVER IN THEIR FIELD is Zidane.

And even Zidane not as close to being the greatest ever in football as Lara is in cricket.

Zidane cyah come around the world's greatest ping pong player either then?

Lara's successes aren't as large as winning FIFA world player of the year 3 times, winning the World Cup, Champions' league etc...

No disrespect to the world's greatest batsman, but Zidane larger than Lara dread...

not even close...
Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 07, 2010, 12:02:27 PM

Get it right.

Sorry man I ment greats in there own rights.  All good when it come out the wash
Post by: Deeks on June 07, 2010, 03:29:18 PM
Look, as a Trini I will take Lara side anyday. But to say Zidane ain't that big a deal is absolutely crazy. First of all you comparing a cricketer and a footballer. The 'whole world" knows about Zidane. Not so with Brian. The cricketing countries, yes.
Post by: Quags on June 07, 2010, 05:10:53 PM

Get it right.

Oh the irony....

Zidane cyah come around the world's greatest ping pong player either then?

Lara's successes aren't as large as winning FIFA world player of the year 3 times, winning the World Cup, Champions' league etc...

No disrespect to the world's greatest batsman, but Zidane larger than Lara dread...

not even close...
So every great football player greater than lara then ,cause the list would be long .Yah wrong only men like Pele ,Ali and Jordan  even Bolt up there with him.
Maybe woody knew who Zidane was maybe not .
Post by: Quags on June 07, 2010, 05:16:35 PM
Look, as a Trini I will take Lara side anyday. But to say Zidane ain't that big a deal is absolutely crazy. First of all you comparing a cricketer and a footballer. The 'whole world" knows about Zidane. Not so with Brian. The cricketing countries, yes.
Yah wrong he could walk around any town in North America ,and nobody would say hi.
Post by: WestCoast on June 07, 2010, 05:38:55 PM
nice one Lara

Yah wrong he could walk around any town in North America ,and nobody would say hi.
well I think there will be a few who will know who he is
There are many more footballs fan nowadays
Post by: Quags on June 07, 2010, 05:43:29 PM
West Coast where the hell you been hiding .
Post by: WestCoast on June 07, 2010, 05:55:33 PM
West Coast where the hell you been hiding .
been in court :devil:
Post by: Preacher on June 07, 2010, 10:00:33 PM
Allyuh mixing up popularity and field expertise.  Zidane maybe more popular than Lara around the world.  But Lara sits on a way higher pinnacle is his field of expertise than Zidane has ever sat on his.  Let me simply...Everything Zidane achieved has been achieved by many other great players in his field and the list is looong, not so in Lara's.  Lara is arguably the greatest batsman ever.  Can we say that about Zidane in his field?  Marginally at best.
Post by: kicker on June 07, 2010, 10:19:09 PM
Let me simply...Everything Zidane achieved has been achieved by many other great players in his field and the list is looong

Not true.

The list of players who have won FIFA World Player of the year on 3 occasions is very short...

Popularity makes a difference in the perception of greatness because it measures how much people appreciate and recognize the ability and accomplishments.  Who is the greatest female badminton player of all time?

If Lara was from Sri Lanka we wouldn't even be having this discussion....
Post by: congo on June 07, 2010, 10:54:43 PM
Ammmmm not to be out of place or anything...U comparing cricket to football...Right now they trying to figure out how to get crowds back into the grounds to watch cricket...lara might have all his awards and records but West Indies haven't won anything significant for awhile....Cricket today is probably played competitively by less than 12 countries but U wanna compare Lara with Zidane.....yeah right..!!!
Post by: vb on June 08, 2010, 12:52:03 AM
Ammmmm not to be out of place or anything...U comparing cricket to football...Right now they trying to figure out how to get crowds back into the grounds to watch cricket...lara might have all his awards and records but West Indies haven't won anything significant for awhile....Cricket today is probably played competitively by less than 12 countries but U wanna compare Lara with Zidane.....yeah right..!!!

Actually a lot more than 12 countries. Just because you don't have Test status doesn't mean Cricket isn't big in a particular country: Kenya, Afghanistan, Fiji for example.

Zidane and Lara are both legends - talk done.

There was only one black man on the field and only one cricketer - so I guess BL have some rank after all  ;)

Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 08, 2010, 04:09:10 AM
Allyuh mixing up popularity and field expertise.  Zidane maybe more popular than Lara around the world.  But Lara sits on a way higher pinnacle is his field of expertise than Zidane has ever sat on his.  Let me simply...Everything Zidane achieved has been achieved by many other great players in his field and the list is looong, not so in Lara's.  Lara is arguably the greatest batsman ever.  Can we say that about Zidane in his field?  Marginally at best.

Preacher
yuh on tuh something there...Lara is d only living human to score 400 NO and 501 NO.... no one else hasnt accomplished that...additionally he went back and break he record....  Zidane was playing with ah talented French team with likes of Henry et al.....who Lara really had to support him......(let me guess d WICBC)
Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 08, 2010, 06:07:55 AM
(http://cdn3.knowyourmeme.com/i/30009/original/Threadjack.jpg?1260338706)
Post by: spideybuff on June 08, 2010, 06:49:52 AM
At the end of the day, when Mandela, the Queen and Barack Obama came to Trinidad...they wanted to meet with Brian Lara, not the other way around.

U think they ever went to France and ask where Zidane is?

For every Zidane, there is a Ronalidiho, Ronaldo, Cristiano Ronaldo and Messi.

When Lara around, there is only Tendulkar.

Try this one on for size...in a "neutral" country that plays bothe like Australia, England or India, Lara would have more admirers than Zidane. I cah put my head on a block for S. Africa cause the blacks a lil more ostracised from cricket and thus more into football, but I am sure british based will say Lara have more fans than Zidane. Maybe not as many as Rooney, but more than Zidane.
Post by: vb on June 08, 2010, 07:50:12 AM
At the end of the day, when Mandela, the Queen and Barack Obama came to Trinidad...they wanted to meet with Brian Lara, not the other way around.

Try this one on for size...in a "neutral" country that plays bothe like Australia, England or India, Lara would have more admirers than Zidane. I cah put my head on a block for S. Africa cause the blacks a lil more ostracised from cricket and thus more into football, but I am sure british based will say Lara have more fans than Zidane. Maybe not as many as Rooney, but more than Zidane.

Lawwd...allyuh still beating up on dis topic.

I can see Palos has achieved his objective once again  ;D
Post by: Marcos on June 08, 2010, 08:10:24 AM
Allyuh smokin if y'all tink Lara gettin d same pips as Zizou.

Lara gets real pips cuz he's done great things and Trinidad is a small island. But you really can't compare the popularity, revenue-generating capacity and impact that football has compared to cricket. How many people watch the world cup final? How many people even know that there's a world cup in cricket.

You don't see FIFA experimenting with a 20 minute football game to generate interest in the sport.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 08, 2010, 08:12:26 AM

Well, we should try that ... but it might complicate his relationship to the no-fly list.  :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on June 08, 2010, 08:15:19 AM

Neutral yuh say? Australia? England? India? Laughable. I overs yuh point buh yuh head still on the chopping block and the guillotine dropping.

Yuh choose some unfortunate choices dey. India is not a footballing nation. Yuh would have to choose/find a nation that could honestly be described as both a footballing and cricketing nation to really approximate wha yuh trying to accomplish. Australia is not a footballing nation. Ask Pim Verbeek.

England? Hmm. Interesting ... yuh familar with the phrase 'French bastard'?
Post by: kicker on June 08, 2010, 08:20:44 AM
(http://cdn3.knowyourmeme.com/i/30009/original/Threadjack.jpg?1260338706)

Post by: Quags on June 08, 2010, 09:11:50 AM
Kicker using ping pong and badminton players ,let me help him out .Sergio Bubka ,Lance Armstrong,Micheal Phelps ,them men could walk in the same kinda ground.
Post by: kicker on June 08, 2010, 09:34:46 AM
Kicker using ping pong and badminton players ,let me help him out .Sergio Bubka ,Lance Armstrong,Micheal Phelps ,them men could walk in the same kinda ground.

I was just using extreme examples to make a point.  Funny you mention those names because I was going to compare Lance Armstrong to Michael Jordan.  I'd say they were equally dominant in their field (some might argue that Lance Armstrong was more dominant)....

There's no question that Micheal Jordan is of higher legendary status than Armstrong... Ain't as many people wanting to rub shoulders with Lance... Point is, it's not just about being the best at what you do... it's about being the best at what people love most.  The playing field is NOT even, and football is on a higher level than cricket globally....that's just how it is.

The cricketing equivalent of Andrea Pirlo is a nobody relatively speaking.   
Post by: Marcos on June 08, 2010, 10:01:43 AM
Pardon my ignorance, but I don't even know who Sergio Bubka is. That alone should prove the point.
And if it weren't for the Nike commercials, many people wouldn't know who Lance Armstrong is either.

Salaries are a pretty good indicator of popularity/status in world sport today. Don't know if Lara competes with Zidane on that basis. Don't even know if he competed with Dwight Yorke on that basis.

What about netball?
Post by: FF on June 08, 2010, 10:17:21 AM
Sergei Bubka was the all time greatest pole vaulter...

that said i could be passing he in the street everyday and never know... only if somebody point him out i might realise and say yeah boy that looking like him in truth
Post by: spideybuff on June 08, 2010, 11:30:15 AM

Very good point...I concede.

(Zidane still wouldn't get no medal from the Austalian Prime Minister though!)
Post by: Quags on June 08, 2010, 01:18:44 PM
Yeah Zidane deserve to be up there with them .He was that great .
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on June 08, 2010, 02:03:05 PM

Pardon my ignorance, but I don't even know who Sergio Bubka is. That alone should prove the point.
And if it weren't for the Nike commercials, many people wouldn't know who Lance Armstrong is either.

Funny you should mention Bupka and Nike, because that is partly the reason I know of him.

(http://www.four11productions.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/100403_nike.jpg)

I think it was Atlanta in 98 where they covered a whole building with him pole vaulting, typical Nike gorilla marketing.
Post by: Quags on June 08, 2010, 03:24:46 PM

that said i could be passing he in the street everyday and never know... only if somebody point him out i might realise and say yeah boy that looking like him in truth

The only athlete that could go any where in the world and be recognized by man woman and child ,that I could thing of is Hulk Hogan  very very few   ;D

Roger Federer ,Tiger Woods,Alexander Karelin ,Jim Brown Wayne Gretzky  are also greats
Post by: boss on June 08, 2010, 05:26:22 PM
I think it was Atlanta in 98 where they covered a whole building with him pole vaulting, typical Nike gorilla marketing.

It was in Barcelona '92, but that was the first I heard of him too. They also had a similar massive poster for Michael Jordan.  :beermug:
Post by: palos on June 08, 2010, 05:29:52 PM

The only athlete that could go any where in the world and be recognized by man woman and child ,that I could thing of is Hulk Hogan  very very few   ;D

Roger Federer ,Tiger Woods,Alexander Karelin ,Jim Brown Wayne Gretzky  are also greats

The most recogniseable athlete on the planet to this day is Muhammed Ali
Post by: Quags on June 08, 2010, 09:03:32 PM
Lara feelings to the game via a personal text ,I was given .quote
he wasn't too impressed by how his good work went to waste!
"Lara to Zidane,back to Lara,on to Larrsen,him and keeper. .missed"!!

http://www.footyhawk.com/highlights/item/89-soccer-aid-england-xi-vs-world-xi.html
Post by: Bakes on June 08, 2010, 09:21:54 PM

Salaries are a pretty good indicator of popularity/status in world sport today. Don't know if Lara competes with Zidane on that basis. Don't even know if he competed with Dwight Yorke on that basis.

What about netball?

Cycling... the Tour de France in particular is huge in Europe and the Caribbean.  Some ah allyuh men posting on pure emotion. 

I too know who Sergei Bubka is, but wouldn't be able to recognize him.  Lara is great in a niche sport... Zizou great in a global sport.  Not sure who is "greater" but no contest that Zizou is more famous.  Zidane also has achieved success at the pinnacle of his sport.  Lara achieved one of the all-time great individual accomplishments... in cricket.  Not trying to minimize his accomplishments in anyway, but cricket just doesn't get that much love.

That said, Lara did deserve a blurb in Sports Illustrated when he broke the record... Zidane eh even get fart on when he won his Player of the Year titles, lol.
Post by: Marcos on June 09, 2010, 05:59:02 AM
Zidane also has achieved success at the pinnacle of his sport.  Lara achieved one of the all-time great individual accomplishments...

Good point. I also think Lara would have gotten more recognition if he represented a winning team. People always gravitate toward winners and for the most part, lara's team rarely won.
Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 09, 2010, 06:29:38 AM
Isn't this about the fooball and not cricket :rotfl:

(http://img124.imageshack.us/img124/2376/threadjackedsx8.jpg)
Post by: Quags on June 09, 2010, 07:30:54 AM
Alyah saying cricket is a niche sport ,when we growing up cricket was the second biggest .Only it and Football ,having 4 year World Cups .
The American sports pushing themselves in now .couple days ago 16 years since lara scored 501 .
http://static.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/1994/ENG_LOCAL/CC/R06/WARWICKS_DURHAM_CC_02-06JUN1994
Post by: kicker on June 10, 2010, 06:24:09 AM

What about netball?

Cycling... the Tour de France in particular is huge in Europe and the Caribbean.  Some ah allyuh men posting on pure emotion. 

I too know who Sergei Bubka is, but wouldn't be able to recognize him.  Lara is great in a niche sport... Zizou great in a global sport.  Not sure who is "greater" but no contest that Zizou is more famous.  Zidane also has achieved success at the pinnacle of his sport.  Lara achieved one of the all-time great individual accomplishments... in cricket.  Not trying to minimize his accomplishments in anyway, but cricket just doesn't get that much love.

That said, Lara did deserve a blurb in Sports Illustrated when he broke the record... Zidane eh even get fart on when he won his Player of the Year titles, lol.

F*** Sports Illustrated lol