June 04, 2024, 12:07:02 PM

Author Topic: Darrel Brown (PB 9.99) & former 100m WJR Holder Aug 2003 to June 2014 @10.01  (Read 122508 times)

Re: darrel brown
« Reply #330 on: May 17, 2011, 05:32:22 AM »
Michael Jordan~~~~~  Was recognized as the greatest EVER before he retired, he came back and did what he was Accustomed to do!    Cannot be deemed a comeback..rather was a RETURN!

Diego maradona~~~ Regarded by MANY as the greatest ever to lace up a football boots....drugs and abuse ended his career...what come back are you referring to?  His "comeback ended after 2 games when he was busted for drugs!

Lance Armstrong~~~ steeped in controversy for most of his career...he recovered from cancer...won cycling greatest race for 6 or 7 years..what come back? 

Hasley Crawford....can never take away his 100 meters gold medal Olympics...but apart from that what come back?  you talking about pulling up in the finals in 1972? The man was in 4 olympics....still wanting to know what comeback?

Gene Samuel~~~  again this manw as at 4 consequtive olympics..what come back?  Steups..all athletes does have some injuried in their careers and does come back or end dey careers.....yuh comparing Brown to these men?  Tha is shit talk Jai John..totalt ta-ta.

Is every year brown promising...he go be like moses and promise for 40 years....den he go break down.

Shit alk about he running so relaxed...is 10.36 if he eh relaxed at that speed...at that time...den he wuss dan even I believe him to be.

Sometimes in life you see the benefits of age ... often age is not something you can boast about but in this case being around for long is a plus ..... lets start with Jordan ...are you aware that Michale jordan suffered  a serious knee injury that threatened to end his great career before it started ? Before he had won a single ring ? he could have given up but he didn't ...you know when a basketball player has knee problems you could take your bat and go home .,..game done ! ..but in Jordan's case he battled on ...in the swimming pool etc... and he came back ..better than before .

Diego Maradona was hacked down by the butcher of Bilbao playing for barcelona .....he had to have pins in his ankles ..he probably still does ... there goes the end of what would have been a great player ...many thought ..... he wont come back from that ....not at the highest level ... this was before Maradona won the World Cup with Argentina and he went on to dominate the game of  football like no other up to that time.

lance armstrong ...dying of cancer we thought .... You know anyone who recovered from that to go on to win the world's most gruelling cycle race ...once ??  Well not only did lance conquer cancer ...he won the race several times after ...

gene samuel gave up cycling ...too many disappointments ...then he decided that he would come  back ...another athlete who was written off and returned to be better than before ..

Hasley Crawford ....injury prone .....pulling up in a final ...going up against the young turks ....4 years later ...man does get injured at the wrong time ....he eh go make it ...not even to the final ...well we know how that ended ...he pulled up in the 200 ....just made it !!!

You must read a bit more ...you missed the point I was making about athletes coming back from injury after being written off ....I suspect you may not have known about the trials I just mentioned in their lives ....there often are stories behind great players ...
The great ones always have had to overcome some adversity ...it never is smooth sailing . Should I add Mohammed Ali ??..he was unbeaten as Cassius Clay ...his career took a 3 year suspension ..while he served his " jail time " ..you tink it easy to come back from that ......yet which period distinguishes the great boxer ...Ali or young undefeated Clay ? You see it is how you comeback that makes you ..

Brown may never come back better than he was ...but it has been done so many times by others that  a few of us, given his age, have not written him off ... you have anything better to hold on to right now ? In spite of his injuries he still made a contribution to our relay successes at the highest levels ...and you  want to write him off ??
You ever heard of a horse called sea biscuit ? ...get the movie ..it may change your outlook on life ... :beermug:

« Reply #331 on: May 17, 2011, 08:27:42 AM »
NOT one of the athletes you used to TRY and illustrate your point was ever written off!  Not even Lance Armstrong.

Athletes get injured all the time, and they MOST times try for full recovery and they do come back.  THAT SI A FACT!

I know a whole lot more than you feel, and you eh older than me either, neither do you know more about track and field than I do..doh feel cuz I doh post I doh know...trouble is, all dem who you mentioned were greats, had MINOR set backs and came back as strong and in some cases stronger than before.

Collate that to Brown?  Steups...The only ting he does do after he try to come back is get injured again..and again and again.

It is indeed admirable that he has so much support and I wish him well, as I said I wish I could be held to the fire and made to eat my words..will dat happen?  NAH!!!!!!!!

He is always going to be a second tier athlete at best, running the times he has ALWAYS run..dat sub ten was a miscalculation or maybe a short track...as he or anyone in dat field NEVER even came close to that time again!

Maybe if ALL T&T athletes got the love from allyuh dat Brown getting we would have much more successes.

Brown came, he shone for a while and fizzled...blame injuries, blame management....but he never lived up to the hype...his fault? or fault of his advisors or just plain bad luck ..it is what it is.

YUh jes way off base trying to compare Brown's career to that of the men you mentioned..chalk and cheese.

« Reply #332 on: May 17, 2011, 08:58:19 AM »
NOT one of the athletes you used to TRY and illustrate your point was ever written off!  Not even Lance Armstrong.

Athletes get injured all the time, and they MOST times try for full recovery and they do come back.  THAT SI A FACT!

I know a whole lot more than you feel, and you eh older than me either, neither do you know more about track and field than I do..doh feel cuz I doh post I doh know...trouble is, all dem who you mentioned were greats, had MINOR set backs and came back as strong and in some cases stronger than before.

Collate that to Brown?  Steups...The only ting he does do after he try to come back is get injured again..and again and again.

It is indeed admirable that he has so much support and I wish him well, as I said I wish I could be held to the fire and made to eat my words..will dat happen?  NAH!!!!!!!!

He is always going to be a second tier athlete at best, running the times he has ALWAYS run..dat sub ten was a miscalculation or maybe a short track...as he or anyone in dat field NEVER even came close to that time again!

Maybe if ALL T&T athletes got the love from allyuh dat Brown getting we would have much more successes.

Brown came, he shone for a while and fizzled...blame injuries, blame management....but he never lived up to the hype...his fault? or fault of his advisors or just plain bad luck ..it is what it is.

YUh jes way off base trying to compare Brown's career to that of the men you mentioned..chalk and cheese.

You know what. Trinity has finally convinced me.We have too much blind faith. I will be taking a similar position as Trinity and will be bashing DB in the same manner. Especially as he tries to make his comeback. Thanks for separating reality from fantasy for me!

Trinity based on your extensive knowledge of athletic careers and injuries....How do you explain someone like Jermaine Gonzales? His career been plagued with lots of injuries as well.

« Reply #333 on: May 17, 2011, 09:48:41 AM »
Did i say not to support him?  Saying shit like he looked relaxed running 10,36....etc...by the way what was gonzals' time in his comeback again?

I don't bash him, I tell allyuh the real shit..Brown is second tier, not world class and will never be...as i said could be injuries, bad karma, bad management , whatever it is what it is,,,I would be too happy to eat crow, but yuh know what?  He eh making me do so...wanna bet?

« Reply #334 on: May 17, 2011, 10:26:51 AM »
Did i say not to support him?  Saying shit like he looked relaxed running 10,36....etc...by the way what was gonzals' time in his comeback again?

I don't bash him, I tell allyuh the real shit..Brown is second tier, not world class and will never be...as i said could be injuries, bad karma, bad management , whatever it is what it is,,,I would be too happy to eat crow, but yuh know what?  He eh making me do so...wanna bet?

How come you eh bashing Burns ?? he just run second on sunday in Brazil in 10.38 ,,he gone thru too ?? You should be fair and bash burns ...seen his times this season ?? ..and he eh coming back from no long setta injuries ...he running every year and making finals !

with a name like Trinity Cross ..I would have thought that you above all others would be in support of someone rising again ???

Offline Aviator

« Reply #335 on: May 17, 2011, 12:52:39 PM »

As for Gonzo, his time was 44.40 and was consistently sub-45 last year. The same things you are saying about Brown were said about Gonzales, so you never know what could happen with one season of complete health, which is what Gonxales had for the first time last year in about 5 years.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #336 on: May 17, 2011, 07:42:03 PM »

How come you eh bashing Burns ?? he just run second on sunday in Brazil in 10.38 ,,he gone thru too ?? You should be fair and bash burns ...seen his times this season ?? ..and he eh coming back from no long setta injuries ...he running every year and making finals !

with a name like Trinity Cross ..I would have thought that you above all others would be in support of someone rising again ???

No one here does say dat Burns going and crush anyone,e specially the big three like allyuh kicksmen here does be saying about Brown..steups stupid analogy to make    Brown eh rising no wey..I say so,

« Reply #337 on: May 17, 2011, 07:46:28 PM »

As for Gonzo, his time was 44.40 and was consistently sub-45 last year. The same things you are saying about Brown were said about Gonzales, so you never know what could happen with one season of complete health, which is what Gonxales had for the first time last year in about 5 years.

My point exactly...Gonzalez came back running what was his normal times.  He came back faster than anticipated, and he is already sub 45.  Man here calling for brown to run sub 10 and challenge the big three..doh try and deny it, doh make me go and start digging up archives,,steups...Brown is a 10 flat man NOT a sub 10 man, In fact I say de time he run dat sub 10..it was a flase time...dat day T&T had the fastest trials anywhere in the world and NONE ah dem men came back to run anytime close to that after that!

As for Burns, he he making no setta finals again..Jamaica have 5 men way faster and then the US to boot...even Richard Thompson eh sure to get past second rounds if he eh do something drastic quickly like moving from dat shit coach he have ..straight talk, true talk!  Richard had to lean at the wire to beat ah Jamaican high schooler... because I am trini I must be delusional ent???  SHIT talk allyuh on.

« Reply #338 on: May 17, 2011, 07:47:16 PM »
If yuh eh running at least 9.90 yuh eh making no finals maybe even semis unless is ah fluke an damn false startng...I say so

« Reply #339 on: May 17, 2011, 08:00:41 PM »
Exciting things is sports ...you think you know ...then you realize that the script can easily be changed ...  Asafa powell breaking world records yet when he gets to a major final ...he is not quite the same .... It is just more than running fast times at least for major competitions ...one race ...there are specialists ...then there are the rounds ....
after running 4 rounds you eh getting no 9.8 from no setta people ...one off race sure ...the entire field could give you dat ... so lets see if Trinity eh have to take up his cross , put it on his back and walk with it ...I not saying this year ...but if Brown does not get injured again I not writing him off in the future as some have done...
My main concern is injuries .....the other things I leavin Brown to fix ...
So all who want to write off Brown free to do so ....just like horse racing ...every horse could find a fan ...and even in horse racing wid men studying form every night ...you do get surprises.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #340 on: May 17, 2011, 11:29:59 PM »

My point exactly...Gonzalez came back running what was his normal times.  He came back faster than anticipated, and he is already sub 45.  Man here calling for brown to run sub 10 and challenge the big three..doh try and deny it, doh make me go and start digging up archives,,steups...Brown is a 10 flat man NOT a sub 10 man, In fact I say de time he run dat sub 10..it was a flase time...dat day T&T had the fastest trials anywhere in the world and NONE ah dem men came back to run anytime close to that after that!

As for Burns, he he making no setta finals again..Jamaica have 5 men way faster and then the US to boot...even Richard Thompson eh sure to get past second rounds if he eh do something drastic quickly like moving from dat shit coach he have ..straight talk, true talk!  Richard had to lean at the wire to beat ah Jamaican high schooler... because I am trini I must be delusional ent???  SHIT talk allyuh on.

I cannot speak for the rest but I have never called Brown to challenge the big three, but i do believe if he can stay injury and get some solid training under his belt, he CAN be the best of OUR current crop of sprinters.

As for Gonzales coming back to run normal times, that is far from the truth as he only ran sub-45 three times before last year, back in 2006 with a 44.85 as his best. His 400m times in that 4 year gap,were comparable if not worst when compared to Brown's 100m times. Have a look here:- http://www.tilastopaja.org/db/athalltm.php?id=20316&event=70&sort=0

Said all that to say again to never underestimate the value of health. People were calling for Gonzo to run those kind of times he ran last year for years and only his health kept him from achieving those times earlier, likewise with Brown. The 9.9/9.8 potential is there but his lack of health is keeping him back...

« Reply #341 on: May 18, 2011, 06:41:56 AM »
Brown has never run no damn sub 10 that was legit!   Potential is there?  Maybe, but until he does it a few times in ONE complete season..ah eh buying dat shit!

Ok forget Gonzalez...show me Brown's times dais what important to this discussion!!!
« Last Edit: May 18, 2011, 06:44:18 AM by Trinity Cross »

« Reply #342 on: May 18, 2011, 06:43:11 AM »
Yuh know what...ah take dat back....leh he do it jes one time in a season and ah jumping on board....training with dem jokey men he dey with ....it seems i will never back him to be anything but lower second tier.

Sorry!

« Reply #343 on: May 18, 2011, 06:47:47 PM »

No one here does say dat Burns going and crush anyone,e specially the big three like allyuh kicksmen here does be saying about Brown..steups stupid analogy to make    Brown eh rising no wey..I say so,

Maybe the UNC should sponsor DB's come back and help him to rise!  :devil:

« Reply #344 on: May 19, 2011, 12:24:05 PM »

Maybe the UNC should sponsor DB's come back and help him to rise!  :devil:

Yuh really eh like DB if yuh want d UNC 2 help him.

« Reply #345 on: May 24, 2011, 10:22:32 PM »
Brown is now based in T&T and is coached by Trevor Hewitt and Ashwin Creed.
BIG ASS STEUPS, WHO DE HELL IS ASHWIN CREED TO TRAIN ANYONE?  Ashwin could not run away from ah pot hound if he get kecth tiefing ah damn mango.

In 2005, Brown ran a personal best 9.99 seconds in finishing second to Marc Burns (9.96) at the National Championships. Six years later, that 9.99 run is still his lone legal sub-10 clocking

That is becasue the times for that race were ALL fake...as good as a damn false start...steups.

Brown is confident he can challenge the Big Three of global sprinting—Jamaica's double Olympic and world champion Usain Bolt, American Tyson Gay and Powell.
"Anything could happen. Once I'm in tip, top shape, I could be up there with the top three, actually the top five guys, because you have (Jamaicans) Yohann Blake and Nesta Carter now.
::)

Oh gard...ah go pee!  That is some funny shit right there.  Get er done Brown!

lol  :rotfl: :rotfl: :devil:

« Last Edit: May 24, 2011, 10:26:36 PM by Trinity Cross »

« Reply #346 on: May 24, 2011, 10:23:44 PM »
Brown back on track

T&T sprint star in Quantum 100

By Kwame Laurence kwame.laurence@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: May 24, 2011 at 11:41 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 24, 2011 at 11:41 PM ECT
Almost two years after he last graced a local track, 2003 World Championship 100 metres silver medallist Darrel Brown will be on show on Saturday, at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium, in Marabella.
Sidelined by a strained left hip flexor for all of 2010, Brown competed for the first time in 20 months at the Hurricane Alumni Invitational, in Florida, USA, on April 16.
The 26-year-old athlete finished fourth in the 100m dash in a wind-assisted 10.34 seconds, and teamed up with Richard Thompson, Keston Bledman and Rondel Sorrillo for gold in the sprint relay in 39.04.
On May 6, Brown captured the 100m title at the Brigido Iriarte Memorial meet, in Caracas, Venezuela. He clocked 10.34 seconds to secure a comfortable victory.
On Saturday, Brown will face the starter at the Quantum Invitational Track Classic, his first meet on home soil since the 2009 National Championships, held at the Hasely Crawford Stadium 23 months ago. At that meet, he finished fourth in the 100m final in 10.05 seconds, and was part of the T&T 4x100m relay team that won in 38.78.
At the Quantum Invitational, Brown will do battle in the men's 100m dash.
"Just taking it like another race, leading up to the [National] Championships," the La Horquetta sprinter told the Express, during a training session at the Crawford Stadium warm-up track, on Monday. "I'm going in, trying to work out the kinks. I'm trying to get in as much races as possible before the national trials."
Brown said he has no specific time goal, ahead of Saturday's Quantum Invitational, at the Ramjohn Stadium.
"I'd like to run as fast as possible…would like to finish injury free and hopefully have a season best."
In October, 2006, Brown joined the MVP camp in Jamaica. But one year ago, he parted company with the Stephen Francis-coached training group.
"Around May, I made the decision to leave MVP. I was hurt. The same hip flexor was giving trouble, and I was telling them I was hurt, I was hurt, and they weren't really taking me on, so I just packed up all my stuff and came home."
While in the MVP camp, Brown trained alongside former 100m world record holder, Jamaican Asafa Powell.
"I take everything as a learning experience, but that's three years down the drain. I know how to start better, I got extremely strong, but the injuries kept holding me back. Last year I just got fed up and came home."
"They hooked me up with a guy out of Florida named Vern Gambetta."
An internationally renowned coach and Functional Training specialist, Gambetta has played a key role in Brown's rehabilitation.
"I've been working together with everyone to clear out the injuries and try to get back my form. The strained left hip flexor had been bugging me since February (2010) and it wasn't getting better, so we just decided to try and get everything correct for this season."
So far, so good. Brown is confident his injury woes are behind him, and he's comfortable with his new coaching arrangement.
"I'm back home," said the smiling sprinter, "so everything is good."
Brown is the 100m world junior record holder. He established the 10.01 seconds standard in the quarter-final round at the 2003 World Championships, in Paris, France.
In 2005, Brown ran a personal best 9.99 seconds in finishing second to Marc Burns (9.96) at the National Championships. Six years later, that 9.99 run is still his lone legal sub-10 clocking.
Brown hopes to set that right this season.
"My goals are to make the final at the World Championships (in Daegu, Korea), of course try and medal, and run a PB (personal best) again. I haven't run a PB since 2005."
Brown is confident he can challenge the Big Three of global sprinting—Jamaica's double Olympic and world champion Usain Bolt, American Tyson Gay and Powell.
"Anything could happen. Once I'm in tip, top shape, I could be up there with the top three, actually the top five guys, because you have (Jamaicans) Yohann Blake and Nesta Carter now.
"I'm thinking more medium to long term," the 2002 100m world junior champion continued, "but if it happens at the World Championships, I'll take that."
Brown's biggest career goal, however, is earning an individual Olympic medal.
"No matter what colour."

« Reply #347 on: May 24, 2011, 11:57:34 PM »
Darrel Brown coming back like Jesus

« Reply #348 on: May 25, 2011, 07:52:51 AM »
All the best DB....

You deserve your spot in the sun...

can't believe man here laughing down the guy...and at the same time will be bigging up usain bolt...

Brown back on track

T&T sprint star in Quantum 100

By Kwame Laurence kwame.laurence@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: May 24, 2011 at 11:41 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 24, 2011 at 11:41 PM ECT
Almost two years after he last graced a local track, 2003 World Championship 100 metres silver medallist Darrel Brown will be on show on Saturday, at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium, in Marabella.
Sidelined by a strained left hip flexor for all of 2010, Brown competed for the first time in 20 months at the Hurricane Alumni Invitational, in Florida, USA, on April 16.
The 26-year-old athlete finished fourth in the 100m dash in a wind-assisted 10.34 seconds, and teamed up with Richard Thompson, Keston Bledman and Rondel Sorrillo for gold in the sprint relay in 39.04.
On May 6, Brown captured the 100m title at the Brigido Iriarte Memorial meet, in Caracas, Venezuela. He clocked 10.34 seconds to secure a comfortable victory.
On Saturday, Brown will face the starter at the Quantum Invitational Track Classic, his first meet on home soil since the 2009 National Championships, held at the Hasely Crawford Stadium 23 months ago. At that meet, he finished fourth in the 100m final in 10.05 seconds, and was part of the T&T 4x100m relay team that won in 38.78.
At the Quantum Invitational, Brown will do battle in the men's 100m dash.
"Just taking it like another race, leading up to the [National] Championships," the La Horquetta sprinter told the Express, during a training session at the Crawford Stadium warm-up track, on Monday. "I'm going in, trying to work out the kinks. I'm trying to get in as much races as possible before the national trials."
Brown said he has no specific time goal, ahead of Saturday's Quantum Invitational, at the Ramjohn Stadium.
"I'd like to run as fast as possible…would like to finish injury free and hopefully have a season best."
In October, 2006, Brown joined the MVP camp in Jamaica. But one year ago, he parted company with the Stephen Francis-coached training group.
"Around May, I made the decision to leave MVP. I was hurt. The same hip flexor was giving trouble, and I was telling them I was hurt, I was hurt, and they weren't really taking me on, so I just packed up all my stuff and came home."
While in the MVP camp, Brown trained alongside former 100m world record holder, Jamaican Asafa Powell.
"I take everything as a learning experience, but that's three years down the drain. I know how to start better, I got extremely strong, but the injuries kept holding me back. Last year I just got fed up and came home."
"They hooked me up with a guy out of Florida named Vern Gambetta."
An internationally renowned coach and Functional Training specialist, Gambetta has played a key role in Brown's rehabilitation.
"I've been working together with everyone to clear out the injuries and try to get back my form. The strained left hip flexor had been bugging me since February (2010) and it wasn't getting better, so we just decided to try and get everything correct for this season."
So far, so good. Brown is confident his injury woes are behind him, and he's comfortable with his new coaching arrangement.
"I'm back home," said the smiling sprinter, "so everything is good."
Brown is the 100m world junior record holder. He established the 10.01 seconds standard in the quarter-final round at the 2003 World Championships, in Paris, France.
In 2005, Brown ran a personal best 9.99 seconds in finishing second to Marc Burns (9.96) at the National Championships. Six years later, that 9.99 run is still his lone legal sub-10 clocking.
Brown hopes to set that right this season.
"My goals are to make the final at the World Championships (in Daegu, Korea), of course try and medal, and run a PB (personal best) again. I haven't run a PB since 2005."
"I'm thinking more medium to long term," the 2002 100m world junior champion continued, "but if it happens at the World Championships, I'll take that."
Brown's biggest career goal, however, is earning an individual Olympic medal.
"No matter what colour."

Offline STMB

« Reply #349 on: May 25, 2011, 08:42:16 AM »
Cross,

Whether or not Ashwin Creed was mis-quoted by the journalist as a coach, he was actually the one to encourage none other than Richard Thompson to pursue track and field seriously.

You say Brown's 9.99 was false, so tell me what has Burns done since his 9.96 in the same race?

Which athlete with 10.01 WJR credentials and 9.99 PB wouldn't aspire to challenge the best in the world? Knowing what he has done before and given he is older (at 26/27 which is younger than Powell) and wiser about his craft, why shouldn't he have an encouraging outlook? I suppose young Lemaitre of France with his 9.98 PB is out of place in recently stating similar goals.

I suspect you come from a school of thought that the more you call a man a "shit hound" or something similar, that the shame of doing so will jolt that person into performing better. That is old school!! For the 2 athletes that might work for, there will be 8 others who will give up trying because of the negativity, believing that they are not good enough.

Regardless of your "balanced" comments in your previous post, you obviously have a case of bias vile towards DB. How else will someone consistently debase the man with such fervor. I suppose you must do the same with the T&T football team or the Windies cricket team? I suspect not, and their case is much more frustrating than Brown. The man has had a recurring hip flexor injury, it's not like he doesn't want to train hard. I have been disappointed with DB myself, thinking he was a "slacker" and wondering why he was "afraid" to run 200m given that he ran 20.40 as a 16 year old, but I have never had a hip flexor injury and tried to run a fast bend.

So my advice to you Cross is try to be impartial, don't down cry Brown yet big up Burns, you only make yourself look biased and/or uninformed.

At the end of the day, Brown is free to pursue his craft and nothing you say will impact his desire to persevere and do so, maybe even get back to where he was and further.

With Trinis like you, the rest of us do not need adversaries, you like a snake in we own chicken coop.
Before you lash out and cuss me for this as you usually do, think with that brain God give you.

BIG ASS STEUPS, WHO DE HELL IS ASHWIN CREED TO TRAIN ANYONE?  Ashwin could not run away from ah pot hound if he get kecth tiefing ah damn mango.

In 2005, Brown ran a personal best 9.99 seconds in finishing second to Marc Burns (9.96) at the National Championships. Six years later, that 9.99 run is still his lone legal sub-10 clocking

That is becasue the times for that race were ALL fake...as good as a damn false start...steups.

::)

Oh gard...ah go pee!  That is some funny shit right there.  Get er done Brown!

lol  :rotfl: :rotfl: :devil:

« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 09:11:23 AM by STMB »

« Reply #350 on: May 25, 2011, 10:24:45 AM »
what god you talking about?  steups.  Anyway listen, I said the times were false for the ENTIRE trials, not just Brown's time.  His times are pedestrian  and he can no more challenge the top 10 than I can!  Put that in yuh naive pipe and smoke it!

I dont cry down brown and big up Burns, wey you getting dat from.  I cry down people here who big up brown like he is de second coming...he is average and that is what he is, why would I suggest that he is anything but?

His one time under 10 was a flash in the pan, ooops I mean an short track or a misfiring timing equipment...NONE of the athletes in that race ever came close to such times again.  NONE, Brown or Burns or the other runners...NONE!

SO for the jokers here, and I categorize you as one ah dem eh...have no clue about reality.

Saying Brown looking relaxed running a 10.36//steups, He better look relaxed running dem times, any more relaxed he woulda be in a walking race to Burger King....

I doh hate him, I doh cry him down, I just call it AS IT IS>>>>>>>>try it.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 10:29:27 AM by Trinity Cross »

« Reply #351 on: May 25, 2011, 10:42:54 AM »
STMB he ran 20.4 when he was 14.

Makes you wonder if he didn't have injuries what he could have done in the double.

Darren always looks relaxed, like he's not trying whether it's 10.00 or 10.5.

Watch his silver medal performance at the World Sr. Champs when he was just 18 - that's just the way he looks.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #352 on: May 25, 2011, 11:38:41 AM »

Makes you wonder if he didn't have injuries what he could have done in the double.

Watch his silver medal performance at the World Sr. Champs when he was just 18 - that's just the way he looks.

Ummmmm.....He was 16 when he did that.

From the IAAF:- 2001     20.41         Port-of-Spain     06/05/2001

http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/biographies/country=tri/athcode=170098/index.html

Offline STMB

« Reply #353 on: May 25, 2011, 11:46:20 AM »
AGAIN, misinformed about No ONE performing anywhere near those times:
Here's Burn's profile (9.97 twice in 2008)
http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/biographies/letter=b/country=tri/athcode=177492/index.html

Brown (10.02 in 2007, 2008)
http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/biographies/letter=b/country=tri/athcode=170098/index.html
VB, the man ran 20.41 in 2001. He was born in 1984 - he was 16 when he ran the automatic time.

So now CROSS, I challenge you - TELL IT LIKE IT IS (in your own words).

Regarding your bias, just look at your last 4-5 posts re: Brown vs. Burns.

Naive??? You ever compete for T&T at either junior or senior levels, set regional age group or meet records, or win medals? When you "dream" about that come back and talk, yuh semp!!!

When Hasely Crawford pulled up in 1972, many wrote him off. When he won his race in 1976, few (even within the officiating bodies) provided him assistance. Yet he came back and prevailed. The first words out of his mouth after winning were expletives directed at all the doubters, people like you.

If you ever spent countless evenings on tracks, cane fields, running hills, fighting through injuries, being told there isn't enough money to take an entire team to a meet, enduring biased officials, enduring the pains of extremely hard weight, road, track workouts, listening to hecklers in the crowd when you down, getting pats on the back from to same MFs when you are up, you will understand what it is to RESPECT unconditionally, a talented athlete and current WJR 100m holder like Brown, regardless of where he is in his career, and understand why others still think that based on his awesome achievements, that he can rise again.

Dude, you have NOOOOOOOO clue what it takes to get to his level at 18 to be a silver medal at senior worlds and set a WJR, NOOOOOOOO clue how hard that is.

If you had an inkling you would understand what a dangerous talent like that can do regardless of the REASONING that says he can't. Special athletes like that can defy the odds

So wehther I like or dislike the personality of a medaled national athlete, I will never downcry them at any stage of their career, and I will always be on the case of carnival barkers like you!!!!

what god you talking about?  steups.  Anyway listen, I said the times were false for the ENTIRE trials, not just Brown's time.  His times are pedestrian  and he can no more challenge the top 10 than I can!  Put that in yuh naive pipe and smoke it!

I dont cry down brown and big up Burns, wey you getting dat from.  I cry down people here who big up brown like he is de second coming...he is average and that is what he is, why would I suggest that he is anything but?

His one time under 10 was a flash in the pan, ooops I mean an short track or a misfiring timing equipment...NONE of the athletes in that race ever came close to such times again.  NONE, Brown or Burns or the other runners...NONE!

SO for the jokers here, and I categorize you as one ah dem eh...have no clue about reality.

Saying Brown looking relaxed running a 10.36//steups, He better look relaxed running dem times, any more relaxed he woulda be in a walking race to Burger King....

« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 12:19:30 PM by STMB »

« Reply #354 on: May 25, 2011, 12:24:37 PM »

Ummmmm.....He was 16 when he did that.

From the IAAF:- 2001     20.41         Port-of-Spain     06/05/2001

http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/biographies/country=tri/athcode=170098/index.html

My mistake.

« Reply #355 on: May 25, 2011, 12:52:54 PM »
AGAIN, misinformed about No ONE performing anywhere near those times:
Here's Burn's profile (9.97 twice in 2008)
http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/biographies/letter=b/country=tri/athcode=177492/index.html

Brown (10.02 in 2007, 2008)
http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/biographies/letter=b/country=tri/athcode=170098/index.html
VB, the man ran 20.41 in 2001. He was born in 1984 - he was 16 when he ran the automatic time.

So now CROSS, I challenge you - TELL IT LIKE IT IS (in your own words).

Regarding your bias, just look at your last 4-5 posts re: Brown vs. Burns.

Naive??? You ever compete for T&T at either junior or senior levels, set regional age group or meet records, or win medals? When you "dream" about that come back and talk, yuh semp!!!

When Hasely Crawford pulled up in 1972, many wrote him off. When he won his race in 1976, few (even within the officiating bodies) provided him assistance. Yet he came back and prevailed. The first words out of his mouth after winning were expletives directed at all the doubters, people like you.

If you ever spent countless evenings on tracks, cane fields, running hills, fighting through injuries, being told there isn't enough money to take an entire team to a meet, enduring biased officials, enduring the pains of extremely hard weight, road, track workouts, listening to hecklers in the crowd when you down, getting pats on the back from to same MFs when you are up, you will understand what it is to RESPECT unconditionally, a talented athlete and current WJR 100m holder like Brown, regardless of where he is in his career, and understand why others still think that based on his awesome achievements, that he can rise again.

Dude, you have NOOOOOOOO clue what it takes to get to his level at 18 to be a silver medal at senior worlds and set a WJR, NOOOOOOOO clue how hard that is.

If you had an inkling you would understand what a dangerous talent like that can do regardless of the REASONING that says he can't. Special athletes like that can defy the odds

So wehther I like or dislike the personality of a medaled national athlete, I will never downcry them at any stage of their career, and I will always be on the case of carnival barkers like you!!!!

And I think that is where the problem lies. Everyone accepts that Brown has had his share of injuries and that his ship has likely passed. However, that is no reason to cry down the man or not support the effort that he is making on the comeback trail (which I hope is a wholehearted one).

I guess TC would cry down this fella too.......since he is 46

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AriFEalbZks
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #356 on: May 25, 2011, 06:35:59 PM »

http://bp3.blogger.com/_hVY6xYhtfBg/Rn-w_LZmWrI/AAAAAAAAAJ4/tyvG6YCqzdo/s1600-h/39227_W600XH400.jpg

Brown’s breezy 9.88 dash at Trinidad & Tobago Champs

Sunday 24 June 2007

Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago - Darrel Brown sizzled down the 100m straight at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, on Saturday (23).

The 22-year-old sprint star scorched the Mondo track in a wind-assisted 9.88 seconds to strike gold in the Sagicor National Open Track and Field Championship men’s 100 metres.

It is moments like these that keep the dream alive .... Go Darrel ....know that you have Jai in yuh corner ...it is not over until you say it is ...and I hope you dont give up anytime soon ...

« Reply #357 on: May 25, 2011, 06:37:23 PM »
Come on Mark ...we need you to be ready ..we eh giving up on you either ....

« Reply #358 on: May 25, 2011, 07:25:10 PM »
I agree, it is hard to rule DB out after his impressive performances at a younger age in his life.

I first heard that he was not getting the right support in JA after the Olympics (which is not surprising). I initially thought that it was a rumor. But this story really confirms.

Does anyone know who he will be lining up against on Saturday?

« Reply #359 on: May 26, 2011, 12:01:08 AM »
hahahahahahahahahahahahaha  Not one LEGAL time under 10 secs EXCEPT for that fake run in the T&T trials.  who vex lorse, yuh cyar argue with FACTS!

There are many, many athletes in all disciplines that excel at youth level and do not translate to senior levels..MANY!

Brown had great potential and I had high hopes, the hopes petered out as did Brown.

Sorry, but it is what it is.

As for me, yes I have won many races at 1500 m and was High school champion.  I also represented my country ina different sport at junior and senior levels.

That said I am not talking about me, no one is claiming that I was a world beater at any time nor did anyone claim that I was going to challenge Bolt...hahahahaha what a f**king joke.

9.88 in a hurricane tail wind is nutten to crow about and will never register as a record.

Who the hell is crying him down?  Is the f**king jokey supporters who keep crowing that he is some world beater that can't face the truth.  Brown is NOT going to be any champion again IN THIS LIFETIME...in any individual race.  NEVER!