so far so good..A couple B finals for MzTing (yaaaaayyy) and Lilman. Angel struggling this weekend. Not close to best time, didn't even make B final in 50 free(25.07, 2 secs slower than last week, maybe he should fly)..but still managed to make 50 fly final this evening, going in 6th with 25.75,MzTing finally bring home best times in 50, 100 & 400 free(27.80(prelim, B final tonight), 1:00.32, 4:44. respectively). Lilman achieve Panam Trial standard in 200 fly(2.03.86)and won a bronze. Other races made Bfinals, 50 free as well as 200 back tonight (no pb).
On the 2 minute ride home,
MzTing hit Lilman, "You playin ting, but you really have to consider reppin TT".
Lilman : "Why r u always saying that, I have nothing with TT "
MzTing: "What ! Your father,and grands born and grow in TT. Your parents, there cousins, grands and great relatives, rep TT. It like a family tradition, you might have born here, but your sports roots were born there. You are so connected you don't realize"
Me: *eye open, mouth drop, but proud
Lilman: that might be so, but Canada developed me, TT & I, will be just using each other.
MzTing: 10 ppl might have the standard for Games and Canada may only take one, not you. Unless you are #1 that day.TT will take you.
Lilman: TT may not take me, they don't know me, do they care about the ppl they know, farless don't know? they have ppl, they have George, Dylan, Jabari & Joshua, and maybe Angel if they ask him.
Me: How you know, like you somehow connected or wha ? Any of them fellas talk to you, including Angel ?
Lilman: No.
Me: You should keep options open. If a door is locked, don't give up, try another, all the while checking your pockets for keys. If is your house, all doors locked, and u HAVE to get in, break the damn door down, and fix it back later.
Lilman:
Dad..you always talking some wierd Trini stuff
Me: Trini stuff ?
MzTing: Yeah dad, we love you but you always only talk wierd Trini stuff..Break d damn door dong ?
me:
but..but..that isn't Trini stuff...ah forget it.. *look alyuh is good kids, we love allyuh no matter what allyuh do.