10 (17.9%)
Trinidad & Tobago
17 (30.4%)
United States
19 (33.9%)
Honduras
10 (17.9%)

Total Members Voted: 56

Author Topic: Thread for the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup.  (Read 58146 times)

Re: Thread for the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup.
« Reply #30 on: September 25, 2009, 11:34:45 AM »
Yellow Cards:

9.Umberto Eusepi (Italy).

3.Ronald Huth and 17.Nicolas Martinez (Paraguay).

If Ronald Huth which is Paraguay's best defender and Nicolas Martinez they best forward get one more vs Egypt then he will miss T&T game.

That result just made things a bit better for us, now its up to T&T.

Offline Sentinel

• Adapt, Improvise and Overcome
U-20 Match Updates
« Reply #31 on: September 25, 2009, 12:16:03 PM »
Italy 0 vs Paraguay 0 (Final - match done)

Venezuela 1 vs. Nigeria 0 (Nigeria down to 10 men) 20 mins left

Re: U-20 Match Updates
« Reply #32 on: September 25, 2009, 12:33:20 PM »
Still 1-0 - 10 mins to go. It has come to pass that Venezuela is now a better football nation than we.Who would have thought that would ever happen,what is wrong with Trinidad and Tobago. :(

Offline Sentinel

• Adapt, Improvise and Overcome
« Reply #33 on: September 25, 2009, 12:40:53 PM »
Venezuela 1 vs Nigeria 0 - Final (Game Done)

« Reply #34 on: September 25, 2009, 12:42:23 PM »
Still 1-0 - 10 mins to go. It has come to pass that Venezuela is now a better football nation than we.Who would have thought that would ever happen,what is wrong with Trinidad and Tobago. :(
       You have been sleeping or what,Venezuela is now a better Football nation than we?because you not hearing about somebody does not mean you are better than them,Venezuela better than us long time.

« Reply #35 on: September 25, 2009, 12:48:52 PM »
       You have been sleeping or what,Venezuela is now a better Football nation than we?because you not hearing about somebody does not mean you are better than them,Venezuela better than us long time.

a sleeping giant if you ask me...a huge population, endless oil dollars to put into youth development...if they was in concacaf they woulda be at a world cup long time

« Reply #36 on: September 25, 2009, 12:49:41 PM »
Final score Nigeria Real under 20s lose 0-1 to Venezuela.
Ah hear yuh Coops but why dat happen.

« Reply #37 on: September 25, 2009, 12:50:08 PM »
Coops,
            Tell this man something nah. Ven. is NOW a better football nation than we. That man dreaming or what. Ven. has ALWAYS been a better football nation than us. Anyhow, Nigeria only have themselves to blame for not getting at least 1 pt. They played the 2nd half like they had 2 extra men on the field. Ven, played a tactically sound game. Congrats to them. Let's see what the Eagles are really made of in the next tw0 ganes.

« Reply #38 on: September 25, 2009, 01:11:39 PM »
Venezuela was never always better than us,their football started looking good around the late 70s and we never used to think of playing them.The thing is, people talk bout plenty money making the difference in their football development, but many rich countries dont do well,money is not all but it helps as in many other walks of life.CR,ES,HONDURAS,GUATEMALA and CUBA are all poor countries in comparisson to us,and can all probably beat us at the moment.Lets put it another way,with all the money we have we are not sure to beat any of them.

« Reply #39 on: September 25, 2009, 01:32:59 PM »
Tahiti holding it's own against Spain still 0:0 ................ after 2 minutes  ;D

« Reply #40 on: September 25, 2009, 01:35:33 PM »
Tahiti holding it's own against Spain still 0:0 ................ after 2 minutes  ;D

« Reply #41 on: September 25, 2009, 01:39:49 PM »
danger for Spain!
keeper missed a Tahiti shot and it just deflected wide

edit: ok. they held up for 10 minutes. Niquez scores for Spain. 1:0

« Reply #42 on: September 25, 2009, 01:44:19 PM »
It's my understanding that some of Venezuela's progress in football has been attributed to changes in the CONMEBOL (South American) qualifiers for the WC. Apparently it used to be more of a knockout type of system so Ven. would usually get 1 or 2 games (depending on whether it was 1 or 2 game series) and that would be it for them. Now that they have a 10 team round robin Ven. get's more consistent games against quality opposition like Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, etc.

« Reply #43 on: September 25, 2009, 01:54:45 PM »
Venezuela was never always better than us,their football started looking good around the late 70s and we never used to think of playing them.The thing is, people talk bout plenty money making the difference in their football development, but many rich countries dont do well,money is not all but it helps as in many other walks of life.CR,ES,HONDURAS,GUATEMALA and CUBA are all poor countries in comparisson to us,and can all probably beat us at the moment.Lets put it another way,with all the money we have we are not sure to beat any of them.

The senior team record

2003-07-03 Hasely Crawford Stadium Port-of-Spain             D  2-2 Friendly
2003-04-30 Estadío Pueblo Nuevo    San Cristobal, Venezuela  L  0-3 Friendly
1996-01-07 Unknown                 Port-of-Spain             D  0-0 Friendly
1996-01-05 Industry Park           Palo Seco                 D  0-0 Friendly
1971-11-13 Unknown                 Caracas, Venezuela        L  0-1 Friendly

« Last Edit: September 25, 2009, 02:07:03 PM by E-man »

« Reply #44 on: September 25, 2009, 01:59:39 PM »

I remember back in the early 70's Venezuela came to T&T and the game played in South. We beat them 3-0, with DeLeon, Archibal, David and crew. Back then they were real nasty in their play. Coops feel free to correct meh. The old head going.

« Reply #45 on: September 25, 2009, 02:03:06 PM »

The senior team record

So we neva beat dem

« Reply #46 on: September 25, 2009, 02:04:41 PM »
Ah now log on and see Spain hit Tahiti 4 - 0 already.....laaawwwddd we cyar do worse than them

As for the Venezuela issue, they play against South American opponents so I suspect they'd be a tad better than us....

« Reply #47 on: September 25, 2009, 02:07:34 PM »

The senior team record

So we neva beat dem

We did once in 1933. Here are some other scores against Venezuelan opposition

1932-09-09 combined Shamrock/Casual vs. Venezuela L 0-2
1933-08-19 Senior teams W 2-1
1935-08-12 Trinidad vs Deportivo L 0-3
1935-08-14 comined POS XI vs Deportivo W 2-1
1965-10-07 San Fernando vs. Italia Club L 1-7
1974-01-20 Trinidad vs Valencia W 2-1
1974-01-22 Trinidad vs Valencia W 1-0

« Reply #48 on: September 25, 2009, 02:08:10 PM »
Ah now log on and see Spain hit Tahiti 4 - 0 already.....laaawwwddd we cyar do worse than them

As for the Venezuela issue, they play against South American opponents so I suspect they'd be a tad better than us....
spain might hit tahiti ah bakers dozen.

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #49 on: September 25, 2009, 02:16:02 PM »

Ah would expect Spain to have ah little compassion w/ah bebutant.Or is no such ting?
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #50 on: September 25, 2009, 02:18:06 PM »
That Nsue fella (ah think that's how its spelt...) from Spain??  or he is an import??

« Reply #51 on: September 25, 2009, 02:22:29 PM »

Ah would expect Spain to have ah little compassion w/ah bebutant.Or is no such ting?
compassion,this is war world cup.

« Reply #52 on: September 25, 2009, 02:23:43 PM »

compassion,this is war world cup.

They replaying the first half....Spain's first goal came after 11 mins...I feel they was just being nice to the Tahitians....they better score at least 6 on dem.....I eh expecting nothing less....

« Reply #53 on: September 25, 2009, 02:24:53 PM »
i backing tahiti to stage a second half comeback and win 5-4.

« Reply #54 on: September 25, 2009, 02:31:34 PM »
E-man that unknown game in 96 play in the oval... I went dat game... it had endless fight. Them payol real fiery and like to pelt blade and cuff and dive.

« Reply #55 on: September 25, 2009, 02:32:33 PM »

More than a tad that is y we should play dem at evry level and evry opportunity.

« Reply #56 on: September 25, 2009, 02:37:07 PM »
we in the mix with that Italy Paraguay result...

Come on boys..give it a go.. 90 minutes of blood in your shoes on Monday

« Reply #57 on: September 25, 2009, 02:42:53 PM »
i backing tahiti to stage a second half comeback and win 5-4.

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #58 on: September 25, 2009, 02:54:22 PM »
Nice movement dey.
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #59 on: September 25, 2009, 03:13:34 PM »
E-man,
           I think there are some more games played in TT around 71/72. I remember they send a team to Trini on a goodwill tour and we slaughtered them. The Ven. sent university students, thinking we were a cakewalk. That time Buggy and Steve David and Wilfred cave were the top forwards. One game ended in fight. They were not expecting that amount of licks. I think we played 3 games. We won all three. They then asked for a rematch in Ven. We went down there and lost 2 games. I think 3-1 and 1-0. I stand to be corrected on those scores.

But something happened on the tour. When the players came back they went on strike or demanded some compensation. TFA balked. Some players got suspended. Jimmy Springer(Maple) stopped playing football after that.