May 23, 2024, 04:21:59 PM

Author Topic: Major Earthquake hits Japan  (Read 23005 times)

Re: Major Earthquake hits Japan
« Reply #90 on: March 14, 2011, 10:30:36 AM »
Wow!!!

« Reply #91 on: March 14, 2011, 10:52:38 AM »
Is funny eh, I recall reading about tsunami when I was small. But it was like long-time, storybook thing. Now in less than a decade we have seen 2 massive ones, with an unfathomable death toll (250,000+) and unbelievable destruction. It is awesome and awful and depressing all at the same time. 

The word tsunami means harbor-wave in Japanese, because fishermen came back to port and found it all gone. You could imagine that feeling? that scene? You leave for work in the morning and come back to find everybody dead and everything gone? Everything. Houses, Trees, people and animals. The whole place scrape clean. wow...

« Reply #92 on: March 14, 2011, 11:01:41 AM »
As if that country need any more bad news....

The Japanese Volcano Shinmoedake on the Island of Kyushu Erupted on Sunday March 13

It is unclear at this point if the eruption of the Japan volcano is linked to the massive earthquake in Japan a few days ago, but at this point it certainly looks like that could be the case.

The Shinmoedake volcano started spewing ash and rocks into the sky, and the explosion from the eruption could be heard miles away.

It is located about 950 miles from the epicentre of the earthquake, and has lain dormant for a few weeks. Officials are not saying if it is related to the earthquake at this point, as eruptions are common in Japan's 'ring of fire'.

However, this is another blow to a country that is already struggling to recover from the worst earthquake in its history.

Hundreds of people have fled the area, as it is feared more volcanic activity could be coming.

http://www.nowpublic.com/environment/japan-volcano-eruption-2011-shinmoedake-volcano-erupts-march-13-2766505.html

« Reply #93 on: March 14, 2011, 12:10:42 PM »
Sometimes He calms the storms, to the winds He speaks be still
He can calm any sea, but it doesn't mean He will
Sometimes He holds us close and let the wind and waves go wild
Sometimes He calms the storms and other times He calms His child

« Reply #94 on: March 14, 2011, 12:14:47 PM »
hat I see is that he loves to use water to kill and destroy...ent?

« Reply #95 on: March 14, 2011, 12:24:24 PM »

In truth is science at it's best,  :beermug:

« Reply #96 on: March 14, 2011, 12:53:23 PM »

:-[  Yeah he does.   If I had the power to I guess I may have chosen differently but who I am to judge what the Almighty allow.  I am just a man.  I mean if God was to rid the world of suffering and all bad stuff.  No one would be left alive because everyone guilty at some level.  If God is just everyone needs to be wiped out.  U ever realize in situations like these not even Superman could help?   :-\   All you could do is hold yuh head and bawl Oh God, Lawd Fadder.

« Last Edit: March 14, 2011, 01:13:13 PM by Preacher »

« Last Edit: March 14, 2011, 01:43:42 PM by Dutty »

« Reply #98 on: March 14, 2011, 01:29:39 PM »
Dang.

« Reply #99 on: March 14, 2011, 03:33:26 PM »

:-[  Yeah he does.   If I had the power to I guess I may have chosen differently but who I am to judge what the Almighty allow.  I am just a man.  I mean if God was to rid the world of suffering and all bad stuff.  No one would be left alive because everyone guilty at some level.  If God is just everyone needs to be wiped out.  U ever realize in situations like these not even Superman could help?   :-\   All you could do is hold yuh head and bawl Oh God, Lawd Fadder.

God have nothing to do with that , its all science man   8) .

Offline D#_1_TrInBa

« Reply #100 on: March 14, 2011, 04:53:08 PM »
ok it can be serious...but it's still more water...anything that come down this earth is usable for profits...so hand in hand...

« Reply #101 on: March 14, 2011, 05:45:47 PM »
This graphic does a good job of simplifying the question of a meltdown... how it happens and the risks involved.

It briefly touches on a "partial meltdown", which is fully developed in another article elsewhere on the NYT site.

« Reply #102 on: March 14, 2011, 05:48:48 PM »

God have nothing to do with that , its all science man   8) .

God give we science to play wit an make we feel we in ting

« Reply #103 on: March 14, 2011, 06:35:26 PM »
somebody please explain to me why the Japanese Yen would strengthen in the aftermath of the quake.

The Nikkei and the Topix lost value, stocks dropped but the Yen increased.

I don't understand.

Bakes?

« Reply #104 on: March 14, 2011, 06:47:16 PM »
somebody please explain to me why the Japanese Yen would strengthen in the aftermath of the quake.

The Nikkei and the Topix lost value, stocks dropped but the Yen increased.

I don't understand.

Bakes?

Ha ha... nah, finances ent my thing.  If Kicker ever come 'rung these parts he might be able to shed some light.  Maybe Japan enjoys such a large market share among global exports (particularly autos and electronics) that the interruption in production would drive up prices?  SWAG

« Reply #105 on: March 14, 2011, 08:30:10 PM »
[10:12 p.m. ET Monday, 11:12 a.m. Tuesday in Tokyo] A fire has erupted in a fourth reactor at the damaged Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant, a top adviser to Japanese Prime Minister Naoto Kan announced Tuesday.
http://news.blogs.cnn.com/2011/03/14/japan-quake-live-blog-rescuers-from-all-over-pitch-in-to-help/

« Reply #106 on: March 14, 2011, 08:42:12 PM »
you would think that ppl ,who had nukes dropped on dem head,wouldn play with the technology eh .

« Reply #107 on: March 14, 2011, 08:57:51 PM »
you would think that ppl ,who had nukes dropped on dem head,wouldn play with the technology eh .

True, but Japan don't have oil and natural gas like others. That is why they heavy into nuclear for their electricity.

« Reply #108 on: March 14, 2011, 08:58:46 PM »
Serious thing now

Third blast at Japan nuclear plant

A quake-stricken nuclear plant in Japan has been hit by a third explosion in four days, amid fears of a meltdown.

The blast occurred at reactor 2 at the f**kushima Daiichi plant, which engineers had been trying to stabilise after two other reactors exploded.

The protective chamber around the radioactive core of reactor 2 has been damaged and radiation levels near the plant have risen, officials say.

---

people within a 20km (12 mile) exclusion zone around the plant had to leave, and that those living between 20km and 30km from the site should remain indoors.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-12740843

---------------------

Japan: New radiation leaks harmful to health

SOMA, Japan – Radiation is spewing from damaged reactors at a crippled nuclear power plant in tsunami-ravaged northeastern Japan in a dramatic escalation of the 4-day-old catastrophe. The prime minister has warned residents to stay inside or risk getting radiation sickness.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20110315/ap_on_bi_ge/as_japan_earthquake_nuclear_crisis

« Reply #109 on: March 14, 2011, 09:11:41 PM »
so how many plants they have ,could melt ?

« Reply #110 on: March 14, 2011, 09:17:58 PM »
man...japan getting hit from all corners.

can't believe what i saw in that video...all that destruction in 6 minutes and 21 seconds....geez

« Reply #111 on: March 14, 2011, 09:20:44 PM »
so how many plants they have ,could melt ?

i think its one plant that i know of so far that causing all the problems , 3rd explosion was a few minutes ago , now its leaking radiation

« Reply #112 on: March 14, 2011, 09:21:24 PM »

True, but Japan don't have oil and natural gas like others. That is why they heavy into nuclear for their electricity.
well they eint go need lights no more ,cause they would all be glowing .

« Reply #113 on: March 14, 2011, 09:23:55 PM »

well they eint go need lights no more ,cause they would all be glowing .

LOL  :'(

« Reply #114 on: March 14, 2011, 09:31:45 PM »
there f**ked ,so what are they saying a full meltdown like in Chernobyl .and if yes would it affect all of japan ?or just surrounding areas.

« Reply #115 on: March 14, 2011, 09:34:59 PM »
As if that country need any more bad news....

The Japanese Volcano Shinmoedake on the Island of Kyushu Erupted on Sunday March 13

It is unclear at this point if the eruption of the Japan volcano is linked to the massive earthquake in Japan a few days ago, but at this point it certainly looks like that could be the case.

The Shinmoedake volcano started spewing ash and rocks into the sky, and the explosion from the eruption could be heard miles away.

It is located about 950 miles from the epicentre of the earthquake, and has lain dormant for a few weeks. Officials are not saying if it is related to the earthquake at this point, as eruptions are common in Japan's 'ring of fire'.

However, this is another blow to a country that is already struggling to recover from the worst earthquake in its history.

Hundreds of people have fled the area, as it is feared more volcanic activity could be coming.

http://www.nowpublic.com/environment/japan-volcano-eruption-2011-shinmoedake-volcano-erupts-march-13-2766505.html

holy shit ,what them do boy.heard that quake moved the earth of its axis or shifted the poles or some thing so.

« Reply #116 on: March 14, 2011, 09:38:52 PM »
there f**ked ,so what are they saying a full meltdown like in Chernobyl .and if yes would it affect all of japan ?or just surrounding areas.

so far they say radiation levels high enough to impact human health and to evacuate surrounding areas. All that clear now is that it leaking , how bad they aint say.

« Reply #117 on: March 14, 2011, 09:41:27 PM »

so far they say radiation levels high enough to impact human health and to evacuate surrounding areas. All that clear now is that it leaking , how bad they aint say.
i know ...but...if it is big i wonder how much of japan would be affected .

« Reply #118 on: March 14, 2011, 09:42:58 PM »

i know ...but...if it is big i wonder how much of japan would be affected .

depends probably on how the wind blow, i assume most of japan would be in danger , that is my best guess.

« Reply #119 on: March 14, 2011, 09:43:54 PM »
« Last Edit: March 14, 2011, 09:45:57 PM by D.H.W »