June 03, 2024, 07:43:06 PM

Author Topic: Pfister enters camp with 25-man squad  (Read 14602 times)

Re: Pfister enters camp with 25-man squad
« Reply #60 on: August 29, 2011, 11:01:24 AM »
Quote from: just cool date=1314594829
when i mention scotty slowing up the game, what i meant to say was that he can't create for himself, since he don't fast break and run @ defenders, instead someone has to put him in scoring position, and that allows the opposing defense to organize and defend in numbers.

If yuh look at the vids you will see that he does take on defenders, contrary to what you claimed.  Yuh doh need to run 40 yards to take on men.  Plus yuh criticize him for not creating for himself. Well boy, when last KJ create a goal for himself?  
Another thing yuh need to know about Scotty, is that he is a real striker, his positioning and runs are very good and are what striker should do, things that KJ would benefit to learn.

Scotty had a bad EPL season yes, but Championship level players are still good for CONCACAF.
In fact I wish we had a whole squad we could pick from that league, instead of men playin in the lower US leagues.  Yes right now we seem to have 3 decent strikers on the team, but we might need to call on other men.

70 goals?  Forget that, KJ has 4, Scotty has 8.

scotland good where he is, OFF THE TEAM, he hasn't contributed to the national team and was lack luster in every game for the national colours

some men are good at club football but are below par at national football, scotty is that man

« Reply #61 on: August 29, 2011, 11:16:25 AM »
when i mention scotty slowing up the game, what i meant to say was that he can't create for himself, since he don't fast break and run @ defenders, instead someone has to put him in scoring position, and that allows the opposing defense to organize and defend in numbers.

If yuh look at the vids you will see that he does take on defenders, contrary to what you claimed.  Yuh doh need to run 40 yards to take on men.  Plus yuh criticize him for not creating for himself. Well boy, when last KJ create a goal for himself?  
Another thing yuh need to know about Scotty, is that he is a real striker, his positioning and runs are very good and are what striker should do, things that KJ would benefit to learn.

Scotty had a bad EPL season yes, but Championship level players are still good for CONCACAF.
In fact I wish we had a whole squad we could pick from that league, instead of men playin in the lower US leagues.  Yes right now we seem to have 3 decent strikers on the team, but we might need to call on other men.

scotland good where he is, OFF THE TEAM, he hasn't contributed to the national team and was lack luster in every game for the national colours

some men are good at club football but are below par at national football, scotty is that man

Then we really don't have any players to play.

Player Pos Active                      Goals                           Caps                             Strike Rate (%)
John, Stern F Yes                        70                             111                                 63.06
Eve, Angus M No                         34                             117                                 29.06
Latapy, Russell M No                    29                              81                                  35.80
Dwarika, Arnold M Yes                  28                              73                                   38.36
Glen, Cornell F Yes                       23                              62                                   37.10
Lewis, Leonson F No                     22                              36                                   61.11
Pierre, Nigel F Yes                        22                              56                                    39.29
Yorke, Dwight M No                      19                              74                                    25.68
David, Steve F No                        16                              16                                    100.00
Jorsling, Devorn F Yes                   13                              25                                     52.00
Baptiste, Kerry F Yes                    12                              50                                      24.00
Glasgow, Gary F Yes                     11                              53                                      20.75
Jones, Philbert M No                      11                              24                                     45.83
Nixon, Jerren F No                        11                               37                                      29.73

Where is KJ? Or any other current striker we have? As a matter of fact, if you look at the numbers carefully, other than SJ we have had no other outstanding Strikers for country like what you all harping about.

« Reply #62 on: August 29, 2011, 11:30:56 AM »

Player Pos Active                      Goals                           Caps                             Strike Rate (%)
John, Stern F Yes                        70                             111                                 63.06
Eve, Angus M No                         34                             117                                 29.06
Latapy, Russell M No                    29                              81                                  35.80
Dwarika, Arnold M Yes                  28                              73                                   38.36
Glen, Cornell F Yes                       23                              62                                   37.10
Lewis, Leonson F No                     22                              36                                   61.11
Pierre, Nigel F Yes                        22                              56                                    39.29
Yorke, Dwight M No                      19                              74                                    25.68
David, Steve F No                        16                              16                                    100.00
Jorsling, Devorn F Yes                   13                              25                                     52.00
Baptiste, Kerry F Yes                    12                              50                                      24.00
Glasgow, Gary F Yes                     11                              53                                      20.75
Jones, Philbert M No                      11                              24                                     45.83
Nixon, Jerren F No                        11                               37                                      29.73

Where is KJ? Or any other current striker we have? As a matter of fact, if you look at the numbers carefully, other than SJ we have had no other outstanding Strikers for country like what you all harping about.

roberts, stern, jones and touissant will do just fine.

roberts scored 2 goals for us just recently, he actually knows how to dribble and create opportunities.

its amazing how you guys love to call players back to the team who are a waste of time, just because they are playing in the UK

jones getting a 2nd chance and he will make an excellent target man up top for us, with players like roberts and touissant around him, we have contrasting strikers that will create opps for us to score

playing scotty up top with jones will be suicide, you might us well throw in the towel and say forget brazil >:(

like i said, some players play well at club level, but national level they are not up to the task, scotty is this player, he should be nowhere near the national team
« Last Edit: August 29, 2011, 11:36:01 AM by Controversial »

« Reply #63 on: August 29, 2011, 11:47:48 AM »

roberts scored 2 goals for us just recently, he actually knows how to dribble and create opportunities.

its amazing how you guys love to call players back to the team who are a waste of time, just because they are playing in the UK

jones getting a 2nd chance and he will make an excellent target man up top for us, with players like roberts and touissant around him, we have contrasting strikers that will create opps for us to score

playing scotty up top with jones will be suicide, you might us well throw in the towel and say forget brazil >:(

like i said, some players play well at club level, but national level they are not up to the task, scotty is this player, he should be nowhere near the national team

Why will Jones make an excellent target? What has he done to show he will? Following your reasoning, Scotty will make a very creative forward dragging defenders out of position to open up passing lanes for mids and also to allow midfielders to make deep runs and wingers to cut in.

« Reply #64 on: August 29, 2011, 12:04:59 PM »

Why will Jones make an excellent target? What has he done to show he will? Following your reasoning, Scotty will make a very creative forward dragging defenders out of position to open up passing lanes for mids and also to allow midfielders to make deep runs and wingers to cut in.

when have you seen scotty execute this for the national team?

he had umpteen chances and no return, following my reasoning, scotty cannot take roberts spot.

« Reply #65 on: August 29, 2011, 01:05:01 PM »
Contro who say Roberts is the one who will be replaced by Scotland?  Toussaint is the 4th striker. Comparing him and Scotland it is obvious who is playing at a higher level. How is Toussaint's form?  How many goals did he have in the last season?

Everyting allyuh say about Scotland re: performance for the national team is also true of KJ.
The hypocrisy!!!

« Reply #66 on: August 29, 2011, 01:43:31 PM »

he had umpteen chances and no return, following my reasoning, scotty cannot take roberts spot.

What has Jones done for the National team?

Controversial you full of it.

KJ has 4 goals in 45 appearances, while Scotty has 8 goals in 41 appearances.

What mess you arguing? Get real fella.

« Reply #67 on: August 29, 2011, 01:51:21 PM »

Jorsling is our next Stern.. hopefully he can get back on the team... Kind of suprised he didnt get called up.. hopefully he will soon.. goalscorers are priceless

Offline Jay10

« Reply #68 on: August 29, 2011, 01:58:56 PM »

Jorsling is our next Stern.. hopefully he can get back on the team... Kind of suprised he didnt get called up.. hopefully he will soon.. goalscorers are priceless

Jorsling been riding pine plenty this season...and he hasn't scored many...still a quality player though

« Reply #69 on: August 29, 2011, 02:59:17 PM »

next thing i hear will be that scotty is better in the air than KJ  ::) and will cause more trouble on corners than KJ ::) or that scotty stronger than KJ  ::)

are you factoring in all these elements or are you conveniently leaving them out?

touissant may not have scored the goals like scotty but he brings a much needed spark off the bench and gives us something i have never seen with scotty, ever.

next thing you will say scotty faster and is a better dribbler than touissant because he in the UK  ::)

i'm getting tired of rolling my eyes at your excuses for scotty failure at intl level for TT.

« Reply #70 on: August 29, 2011, 03:37:24 PM »
How much of the 45 has he played as a striker, I think a percentage of those caps were as a defender.

Nevertheless it's a poor conversion ratio, but i think becuase of the level he plays at there is a lot more hope of him upping the goals.

What doesnt work in his favour is that his success is heavily based on the quality around him. Especially from an attacking standpoint. I will be bold to say that he will win at least 1 of every 3 quality crosses floated in his direction but when last have we seen any national game with even 2 good quality centres put into the box.

I look at a coach like Pulis, a real no frills man but tactfully knowledgeable. He plays a system that works for KJ. If KJ is the skipper and the approach is to build the team around him then Pfister simply has to do what Pulis does, put two ball winners in the middle of the park to win the ball, play two wingers who can deliver a good cross and let KJ score d headers.

If an experienced coach like Pfister playing KJ and expect him to make diagonal runs and run the channels and expect any kind of productivity out of him then he's not being tactically smart.

Is either you find the players to fit into a system you want or play a system that fits the strengths of the players that are available.

« Reply #71 on: August 29, 2011, 04:08:52 PM »
I don't think KJ played much if at all as a defender for the senior team.

He played in midfield several times for sure.

« Reply #72 on: August 29, 2011, 04:14:47 PM »

next thing i hear will be that scotty is better in the air than KJ  ::) and will cause more trouble on corners than KJ ::) or that scotty stronger than KJ  ::)

are you factoring in all these elements or are you conveniently leaving them out?

touissant may not have scored the goals like scotty but he brings a much needed spark off the bench and gives us something i have never seen with scotty, ever.

next thing you will say scotty faster and is a better dribbler than touissant because he in the UK  ::)

i'm getting tired of rolling my eyes at your excuses for scotty failure at intl level for TT.

You talking in circles. Get out ah here with yuh madness.

Offline madness

« Reply #73 on: August 29, 2011, 04:19:11 PM »
let look at d team on friday to judge nah.... plz

« Reply #74 on: August 29, 2011, 04:26:49 PM »

i recall the same thing as well.

« Reply #75 on: August 29, 2011, 04:32:53 PM »

i recall the same thing as well.

He played defense once in a while under Beenie.
If I remember correctly whenever Beenie used him out of position, it was on the right either wide or in defense.l

« Reply #76 on: August 29, 2011, 04:34:04 PM »

You talking in circles. Get out ah here with yuh madness.

you could tell me to leave all you want but Pfister non selection of scotty is the writing on the wall.

scotty ain't up to it and not being selected just shows the team don't need his services 8)

« Reply #77 on: August 29, 2011, 05:01:16 PM »
Controversial, why are you wasting time with elan, that fella is ah dud! he just love tuh argue and never have anything to say.

they want scotty who in the last two hex scored zilch!! and as ah striker too,  :o that is unacceptable! last hex most of our goals came from the midfield with carlos being the top scorer.

i hear these members downing KJ's accomplishments, but last hex KJ was coming off a serious injury! and he still put one in playing in ah bad system against cuba in the semis. the hex before that was KJ's first run on the mens senior team as ah striker under beenie, in most those game the fella was coming off the bench a lot.

in the last campaign scotty started from A-Z with not one rass goal to show for it, as ah matter of fact he didn't even score in the hex of 2005, so in two hexogonals and ah whole campaign this guy failed to produce, so what we need him fuh!

we have two strikers who didn't get ah chance last campaign and they are proven goal scorers, so why not give someone else ah bleigh! since scotty eh able.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2011, 07:11:06 PM by just cool »

« Reply #78 on: August 29, 2011, 05:25:52 PM »
Controversial, why are you wasting time with elan, that fella is ah dud! he just love tuh argue and never have anything to say.

they want scotty who in the last two hex scored zilch!! and as ah striker too,  :o that is unacceptable! last hex most of our goals came from the midfield with carlos being the top scorer.

i hear these members downing KJ's accomplishments, but last hex KJ was coming off a serious injury! and he still put one in playing in ah bad system against cuba in the semis. the hex before that was KJ's first run on the mens senior team as ah striker under beenie, in most those game the fellas was coming off the bench a lot.

in the last campaign scotty started from A-Z with not one rass goal to show for it, as ah matter of fact he didn't even score in the hex of 2005, so in two hexogonals and ah whole campaign this guy failed to produce, so what we need him fuh!

we have two strikers who didn't get ah chance last campaign and they are proven goal scorers, so why not give someone else ah bleigh! since scotty eh able.

breds, they don't wanna hear that 8)

« Reply #79 on: August 29, 2011, 05:35:27 PM »

i hear these members downing KJ's accomplishments, but last hex KJ was coming off a serious injury! and he still put one in playing in ah bad system against cuba in the semis. the hex before that was KJ's first run on the mens senior team as ah striker under beenie, in most those game the fellas was coming off the bench a lot.

Scotty started 2 games and came off the bench 3 times in the last Hex. He wasn't even in the squad every game. Zero hex goals.
Jones started 8 games and played in every game.  Zero hex goals.

« Reply #80 on: August 29, 2011, 06:53:03 PM »
Messi, score how much last WC goal...ah Argentina keep selecting him, and getting wood...dem Argentine selectors doh know nothing nah  ::)

« Reply #81 on: August 29, 2011, 07:01:43 PM »
Messi, score how much last WC goal...ah Argentina keep selecting him, and getting wood...dem Argentine selectors doh know nothing nah  ::)

lol, u like to chain up ppl.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2011, 07:42:07 PM by Nightmare »

« Reply #82 on: August 29, 2011, 07:08:01 PM »

Scotty started 2 games and came off the bench 3 times in the last Hex. He wasn't even in the squad every game. Zero hex goals.

Breds, two things yuh missed, one KJ is ah targetman so the earnest is not on him to score, he's only there to support the striker, two , he was coming off ah serious injury! and not bc he was playing for sunderland means he was 100%. KJ even talked about that last season when he said that he hoped to do better with stoke in his first season bc he just fully recovered from injury, only to be injured again in his very first game in ah stoke shirt.

as for scotty only playing ah few games in the hex, breds scotty played the whole bloody campaign! he played the first game against bermuda, then he played every game in the semis, as ah matter of fact, KJ only played one game in that semis against cuba where he scored and he was fresh off ah serious knee injury so don't make excuses for scotland.

watch and see this time around, KJ would do great if he stays healthy, the man was seriously out of wack, but now he's fit and raring to go, my guess is we'll see the best of KJ in the coming future.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2011, 07:12:00 PM by just cool »

« Reply #83 on: August 29, 2011, 07:32:13 PM »
nice plug deh just cool. I agree and await dis man to prove all de naysayers wrong.

« Reply #84 on: August 29, 2011, 08:14:52 PM »
Breds, two things yuh missed, one KJ is ah targetman so the earnest is not on him to score, he's only there to support the striker, two , he was coming off ah serious injury! and not bc he was playing for sunderland means he was 100%. KJ even talked about that last season when he said that he hoped to do better with stoke in his first season bc he just fully recovered from injury, only to be injured again in his very first game in ah stoke shirt.

as for scotty only playing ah few games in the hex, breds scotty played the whole bloody campaign! he played the first game against bermuda, then he played every game in the semis, as ah matter of fact, KJ only played one game in that semis against cuba where he scored and he was fresh off ah serious knee injury so don't make excuses for scotland.

watch and see this time around, KJ would do great if he stays healthy, the man was seriously out of wack, but now he's fit and raring to go, my guess is we'll see the best of KJ in the coming future.

I didn't go after your opinion there, I went after the fictional statement you made about Scotty startin right through.

« Reply #85 on: August 29, 2011, 08:33:07 PM »

i hear these members downing KJ's accomplishments, but last hex KJ was coming off a serious injury! and he still put one in playing in ah bad system against cuba in the semis. the hex before that was KJ's first run on the mens senior team as ah striker under beenie, in most those game the fella was coming off the bench a lot.

You come here with yuh mad talk too? You and Controversial sharing the same chalice or what? What KJ score Tell me that?

What you talking about me eh know nothing. YOu can't talk about producing goals and talk about KJ better than Scotland.

I not arguing for Scotland to be on no team bad man. I just telling Controversial and now you that alyuh talking shyte when saying why KJ should be considered ahead of Scotland.

« Reply #86 on: August 29, 2011, 08:34:58 PM »
just wanna add something to this lil debate...fact of the matter is, KJ starting  every game..and producing....as a post to scotty, get a start bcuz 1st option was not available...and yea he scora ah goal...but he aint regular...and besides that..he hope he eh get sell...as maybe lets say an offer was made to stoke for KJ...in trini terms, stoke might say...come better than that...

KJ getting pick in Europe, Scotty aint getting pick in Europe...KJ getting pic home, and scotty aint...diesnt that alone speak volumes?! :beermug:

« Reply #87 on: August 29, 2011, 08:35:45 PM »

Breds, two things yuh missed, one KJ is ah targetman so the earnest is not on him to score[/b], he's only there to support the striker, two , he was coming off ah serious injury! and not bc he was playing for sunderland means he was 100%. KJ even talked about that last season when he said that he hoped to do better with stoke in his first season bc he just fully recovered from injury, only to be injured again in his very first game in ah stoke shirt.

That is the biggest load ah :bs: yuh talk dey.

« Reply #88 on: August 29, 2011, 08:46:48 PM »
allyuh good yes

lets HOPE and PRAY whoever plays do so with heart and commitment.. anybody score we taking dat..KJ.Stern,Roberts.scotty whoever...anybody..please score

« Reply #89 on: August 29, 2011, 08:52:52 PM »

Yuh come back with more toots!  In the playoffs and semi final round Scotty started 3 times and was on as a sub once.  Good ting I check.

5 starts and 4 sub appearances in the 18 qualifiers we played. Sorry just cool you are badly mistaken on this one.

Target man supposed to score goals eh. In fact a target man is supposed to be the primary source of goals for a team.  Target men supposed to get the ball in a goalscoring position and buss the net any way they can.  Crouch, Dzeko, Bierhoff, Jan Koller, Drogba, Stern John, all big target men and they were expected to score goals.