June 08, 2024, 03:49:09 PM

Author Topic: Any predictions on the Arsenal vs Man U game on Tuesday?  (Read 13558 times)

Re: Any predictions on the Arsenal vs Man U game on Tuesday?
« Reply #30 on: January 02, 2006, 12:02:40 AM »
I now read that Vieira may be on his way back to Arsenal.

http://www.4thegame.com/club/afc/news/182843/vieira_linked_to_gunners_return.html

« Reply #31 on: January 02, 2006, 05:55:29 AM »
I now read that Vieira may be on his way back to Arsenal.

http://www.4thegame.com/club/afc/news/182843/vieira_linked_to_gunners_return.html
Steups. Some people cant let go

Offline Solo

« Reply #32 on: January 02, 2006, 08:06:23 AM »
Exquisite Rooney gives hope to United and England

Daniel Taylor at Old Trafford
Monday January 2, 2006
The Guardian

"Goodbye and good riddance to Manchester United's annus horribilis." So says the front cover of the latest United We Stand fanzine, a publication that displays about as much seasonal goodwill to Sir Alex Ferguson as a snowball in the face. Ferguson will be glad to see the back of December, never mind 2005, although it would be wrong to say nothing has gone right when Wayne Rooney's family must be running out of scrapbooks to contain all the cuttings.

It is difficult for United's supporters to be too melancholic when in their midst lurks a player who by rights should have been sitting beside Ronaldinho at Fifa's global awards night, a footballer opposition fans taunt as fat but who in full flight looks as though he would not make footprints in snow.
Rooney, perhaps, is the single reason why the fans on Sir Matt Busby Way can regard 2006 with a modicum of optimism. He makes robust centre-halves look flimsy. He does things on a football field that cannot even be found on a computer game.

On New Year's Eve it was the turn of Bruno N'Gotty and Tal Ben Haim to feel the force. Ben Haim, an old foe, was substituted at half-time. N'Gotty traipsed off the pitch at the final whistle with the expression of a vegetarian walking out of TGI Fridays.

Sam Allardyce, the Bolton manager, shook his head as he floated the possibility that he might never have seen such a more capable demonstration of the centre-forward's trade. Rooney had bewitched United's opponents with a performance brimming with pace, strength, anticipation, guile and craft. Everything, in fact, apart from a goal. "He terrified us," Allardyce reflected. "I think I've just seen one of the most outstanding young players I've ever seen."

Bolton are no Barcelona but there was still something exhilarating about the way Rooney elevated himself to a different level. "It bodes well for England in 2006," said Allardyce. "He not only frightened us with his skill but his work-rate and his physical attributes. He was brushing off our players and some of his touches were just magnificent. You can plan all you want but when a player of his ability is in that sort of mood what can you do?"

Rooney has become so influential that opposition managers have started giving serious consideration to deploying a man-marker to stick to him like a tick. Bryan Robson of West Bromwich Albion was the first to use such a method only for Rooney to conjure up a 3-0 victory once his designated shadow, Paul Robinson, had left the field with concussion.

"We contemplated it too," said Allardyce. "But the truth is we didn't think we had a player capable of doing it. The concentration needed to man-mark a player of Rooney's talent for 90 minutes would be absolutely mega. We would effectively be asking someone not to get involved in the game when we were in possession and there isn't a player in our camp with the self-discipline and concentration for that sort of job."

One suspects there will be a distinct lack of raised arms should other managers ask for volunteers. Bolton's defenders were so flustered they began to make uncharacteristically simple errors. N'Gotty deflected Kieran Richardson's cross into his own net when it should have been a routine clearance. Gary Speed equalised with Bolton's first effort on goal but Ben Haim promptly sold Jussi Jaaskelainen short with a back-header and Louis Saha re-established United's lead. From that moment Old Trafford sat back and basked in the Rooney Show, supplemented by Cristiano Ronaldo's most productive match for longer than he would care to remember.

There was a kaleidoscope of moments to choose from but none more exquisite than the way Rooney bulldozed a route into the penalty area to set up Ronaldo's first goal. After the strength came the subtlety. Which other player in English football would have had the awareness and ability to flick the ball to the far post, using the outside of his right boot, when there was an orthodox left-foot shot on? Some observers were so dumbfounded they initially presumed he must have miscued his shot. It turned out to be the pass of a genius.

Ronaldo added a final flourish as the game went into stoppage time, drifting inside N'Gotty to score with a left-foot drive, but long before then Rooney had established a sense of harmony inside Old Trafford that has not always been there this season.

Flick through any United fanzine or log on to any chat-room and the criticism of Ferguson is unrelenting. It is difficult, indeed, to find anyone who is willing to advocate that he should stay beyond the end of the season. Yet the crowd serenaded him here with a chorus of Happy Birthday followed by "Sixty-four? You're having a laugh".

Convincingly beating Bolton does not mean United have eradicated the shortcomings that were so obvious during the wretched string of performances that passed as their European campaign. It does not make up for the fact that their season has, in all probability, descended into a contest with Liverpool for second place and automatic qualification for the Champions League. And it will not have United We Stand's editorial team fretting that they have gone over the top with their latest edition. Yet Ferguson, like Sven-Goran Eriksson, is blessed with a player whose very presence offers hope. If 2006 is another annus horribilis, it will not be Rooney grazing in the scapegoats' paddock.

Offline truthseeker

• Goal in yuh rucc**tunse
« Reply #33 on: January 02, 2006, 07:59:33 PM »
West Coast, where in dat report did it say that Rooney had a bad game? ???

« Reply #34 on: January 02, 2006, 09:49:46 PM »
would be nice for Arsenal tuh put it ManU....put more distance between fuss and 2nd

« Reply #35 on: January 02, 2006, 09:58:34 PM »
West Coast, where in dat report did it say that Rooney had a bad game? ???

Must have been the title...

Birthday boy Fergie hails 'marvellous' Rooney

Or the first paragraph...

Sir Alex Ferguson hailed the attacking exploits of Wayne Rooney after United's resounding 4-1 victory over Bolton but joked that the striker will be fined a week's wages for not finding the net on his manager's birthday!

Rooney was once again in inspirational form as goals from Louis Saha, Cristiano Ronaldo (2) and a Bruno N'Gotty own goal enabled United to end the year on a high ahead of their trip to Highbury on Tuesday.

Or this....

"Wayne Rooney was marvellous; the balance and purpose of his game is wonderful.

What game Westcoast watch is beyond me. Rooney was very impressive on Saturday.

Offline pufftrini

« Reply #36 on: January 02, 2006, 10:16:40 PM »
Arsenal 2-0
every man has the right to an opinion but that does not give him the right to be a jackass

Offline Lazie

Touches and the Gummers oops Gunners Crew!
« Reply #37 on: January 03, 2006, 08:25:47 AM »
How you all intend to do this today?  Are you all gonna come out and play football or hitch up on the goal line like the last time we met!

Have yuh towels close, it ain't gonna be pretty!  Palos, you won't be laffing today.

Anyway, Happy New Year one and all!  Well, I guess it won't be a happy start fi the Arsenal fans. ;D

Offline truthseeker

« Reply #38 on: January 03, 2006, 11:59:20 AM »
Lazie yuh right... watch Wenger play a 4- 5- 1 today...

« Reply #39 on: January 03, 2006, 01:22:48 PM »
1 hour to go
allya get allya seats and drinks and snacks  .................and remember
Dong in front!!!

wha is de latest on the game. How much we beating de gunners by so far?? ;D

« Reply #40 on: January 03, 2006, 01:30:23 PM »
ppl, espn soccernet has a gamecast feature that allows u to track the game's happenings.  kickoff time is 20:00 UK

« Reply #41 on: January 03, 2006, 01:34:39 PM »
ppl, espn soccernet has a gamecast feature that allows u to track the game's happenings.  kickoff time is 20:00 UK

So what is that east coast tme, I forget 'bout GMT an all dem ting long time now ;D

« Reply #42 on: January 03, 2006, 01:38:14 PM »

So what is that east coast tme, I forget 'bout GMT an all dem ting long time now ;D
tree PM east cost time

thank you leftside, de licks is about to commence in 'bout 20 mins.

MAN U forever!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #43 on: January 03, 2006, 02:00:42 PM »
i think it go be a tight one to de end

Arsenal 2 ManU 1

« Reply #44 on: January 03, 2006, 02:04:38 PM »
i think it go be a tight one to de end

Arsenal 2 ManU 1

you self >:( >:(

Offline cm103

« Reply #45 on: January 03, 2006, 02:06:30 PM »
Game now start

I is a Man U fan but I feeling to shoot Neville. He start with he shit already.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2006, 02:09:21 PM by cm103 »

« Reply #46 on: January 03, 2006, 02:10:46 PM »
I said it from the start. Arsenal wll win 2-1 im pretty sure of it.

then again well just have to see.

>:( >:( >:(

Offline truthseeker

« Reply #47 on: January 03, 2006, 02:13:07 PM »
Fergie doing real shit starting Fletcher and Oshit in the center of mid field... Where Scholes and Smith? steuppssssssssssssssssssssssss!!!

And we normally play a high pressing game? What de hell Fergie doing boy?

« Reply #48 on: January 03, 2006, 02:15:37 PM »
Come now Truthseeker.....doe make no excuse already!

Just relax and take yuh cutarse

« Reply #49 on: January 03, 2006, 02:16:04 PM »
touches if yuh doh have that jersey they wearing yuh sticking ;D

arsenal forever :beermug:

« Reply #50 on: January 03, 2006, 02:16:51 PM »
on gamecast they say that scholes has blurred vision-he got a knock in the last game.

« Reply #51 on: January 03, 2006, 02:20:33 PM »
Morvantman I have all arsenal kits breds.......Imagine I show up a morning, yampee in meh eye to watch Arsenal rest a Cutarse on Manu by Truthseeker house and the man look to ban meh yes.

He say..no Arsenal jersey could enter this domain  ;D Take orf dat!

Small ting the game did draw that day so we didnt come to no blows.

Offline truthseeker

« Reply #52 on: January 03, 2006, 02:21:31 PM »
Aye boy Touches.. alyuh cutass book same way...

Wenger playing for ah draw. When is de last time yuh see Assnal, stylish, free flowing Assnal, play  a 4 5 1 ( a true defensive formation)...

Me eh like de energy of dis game so far... It too civil... I miss de war.. where Keane? >:(

« Reply #53 on: January 03, 2006, 02:22:04 PM »
well i just get this one fuh christmas. both long and short sleeves ;D

« Reply #54 on: January 03, 2006, 02:23:55 PM »
I said it from the start. Arsenal wll win 2-1 im pretty sure of it.

then again well just have to see.

>:( >:( >:(

ha wuh you fussin about not like Arsenal have a chance ah cetchin up to ManU in de tables. ManU
go hold da 2nd place spot. So doh fret nuh.

ordinarily I'd have to reply with ah good come back,but in meh heart of hearts ah ent feel dey moving from da second place in trute nah

« Reply #55 on: January 03, 2006, 02:52:44 PM »
da game looking like ah bahrain vs trini match

arsenal go mash dem up

possession is the key to this game

Offline truthseeker

« Reply #56 on: January 03, 2006, 02:54:42 PM »
This game too nice... too civil... I want de tempo raised. Fergy need to bring on Smith aka lil Keane to raise de heat lil bit.

Touches: ah 4 5 1 formation: Is this your beloved Assnal? playing defensive? With 1 forward?

BTW: I ent see Henpee yet? He playing?

« Reply #57 on: January 03, 2006, 02:55:38 PM »
If Liverpool don't want Cisse Arsenal should buy him.

They really need a classic center forward. Henry is more of a roamer.

They playing  small goal on top the box like Brazil '82.

ManU is shit.

« Reply #58 on: January 03, 2006, 02:55:44 PM »
but even with that Arsenal playing the better passing game. i eh sold on hleb but he needs time to get aquinted with the Premier

Offline dotless007

« Reply #59 on: January 03, 2006, 02:57:24 PM »
i tink smith have a virus an he out

ronaldo should have used d left foot we gonna win dis one

lets go man utd