Tue, Jun


St Augustine Secondary stayed on top in the BG T&T/First Citizens Girls Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) East Zone competition with a 2-0 win over Toco Secondary, at Matura Recreation Ground, on Sunday.

Two second half items, one from Laurelle Theodore in the 62nd minute and another from Celeste Thomas four minutes from time, ensured the St Augustine girls came away with three points.

In other matches in the East, a brace from Renee Duncan plus one each from Demi Guavera, Anushka Villareal and Kushvlle Clarke helped St George’s College clinch a 5-2 victory over Arima North.

The other East game on Sunday saw San Juan North Secondary defeat El Dorado East Secondary 3-0 in San Juan. Kamika De Leon put the hosts ahead in the ninth minute before Ketara Munroe doubled their lead nine minutes into the second half. Leandra Lynch completed the scoring for San Juan North two minutes before the final whistle.

In the South Zone, defending champions Debe Secondary kept on rolling with a 1-0 win over Point Fortin East Secondary.

The other match in the South, between Mayaro Secondary and Siparia Secondary, was postponed.

In the North, St  Francois beat St Joseph’s Convent, Port of Spain 4-0, while Providence Girls defeated Holy Name Convent 2-0.

St Joseph’s Convent will be in action again today, against Bishop Anstey High School, in a rescheduled fixture at St Joseph’s ground, from 3.45 p.m.

And over in Tobago, defending champions Bishop’s High defeated Mason Hall 5-0, while Signal Hill defeated Scarborough 2-1 and Speyside beat Roxborough by the same margin.

Sunday’s Scores

North Zone

St Joseph’s Convent 0, St Francois Girls 4

Holy Name Convent 0, Providence Girls 2

East Zone

Toco Secondary 0, St Augustine Secondary 2 (Laurelle Theodore 62nd, Celeste Thomas 76th)

St George’s College 5 (Demi Guavera 1, Anushka Villareal 1, Kushvlle Clarke 1, Renee Duncan 2), Arima North Secondary 2

San Juan North Sec 3 (Kamika De Leon 9th, Ketara Munroe 49th, Leandra Lynch 78th), El Dorado East Sec 0

South Zone

Point Fortin East 0, Debe Secondary 1

Tobago Zone

Mason Hall 0, Bishop’s High 5

Scarborough 1, Signal Hill 2

Roxborough 1, Speyside 2