Sidebar

Fri, May
21 New Articles

Typography
I shouldn't really call this a match report as I dont have players names, ratings and it kinda difficult to describe what transpired on the field but we will call it an observation of the T&T under 15 match.

I walked in the gate just before 6 and would you believe they had a crowd.....yes plenty people in fact the entire covered section was filled and seating was kinda hard to come by. So I will estimate a 1500-2000 crowd.
There was a riddim section of some sort, iron and tassa and the main cheering section was provided by the St Dominics home.......them children make noise and they chant whole game.

Anthems start to play and I had to pull up some little Surinamese youths who was running about and sliding on the banister while tunes playing.

All the teams were present taking up their respective areas in the stands, a set of important people in jacket and tie with security hovering around, T&T coach Beenhakker was in the stands, Brow, Ron la Forest, Terry Fenwick and other PFL coaches doing scouting for young players, it was all the big names in T&T football.

Now maybe I was expecting something more from this little outing, but I was disappointed with T&T, after listening to the comments of others around me, some who claim to be coach of this youth team and one say he on this FIFA Technical Staff etc, all came to the same conclusion that for a national team the best players are not there and secondly the style of play was not right and Fitness is a major problem for these young fellas.

Firstly I was surprised at this level they play a whole 45 min. I thought it would have be a 40-min or 35-min half. Secondly the referee, and assistants were ladies. The referee even collected a bullet to her ample chest and she did not flinch, or look at all in any discomfort.

The T&T team for this under 15 youths were very tall.......tall but not big, just imagine 10 Dennis Lawrence running around on a field and one little short white boy a number 7 in the center. It is the tallest T&T team we had in a while as every player in every position even the subs look like big fellas.

I could not discern the formation as it look like 3 in the back at times, 4 sometimes, even 5. It was jumble up. However we had two forwards and the midfield of the white boy in the middle. This white player, have the best touch and skill on the field and was given a standing ovation when he was substituted. He have real vision, sending through balls, trapping good, flick, playing the one touch etc.

The number 6 who was the defensive midfielder/first stopper was the man of the match or one of T&T's better players of the night. He was winning all the balls putting in tackles, was composed and playing the long through balls to the forwards.

The number 14 who was playing left-wing/forward was the one who scored 2 of the goals he was the most dangerous T&T player, but even doh he was on the left he was right footed. No left footers even at this level.

In the first 3 minutes of the game T&T should have been up at least 5 nil...........YES the curse has passed down all the way to the under 15 level. We do not have a forwad to score goals. The goals came from a sub and the midfield. We also have a Stern John jr on the field.

Neth Antill had the kick off, our forwards nipped the ball away, it spread to the flank and we had a player flying in on the wing,  he races past the defence and crosses. We have three T&T players close to the penalty spot unmarked and the ball hit the first one and just roll out of play.

We got one on one and through ball after through ball and them fellas hitting wide or straight at the keeper.

We also have a Young Stern John, the number 10 name De Freitas....he pull stones whole first half, the crowd wanted him to be subbed but the coach leave him on, the coach move him from wing to forward in the second half and he got sitter after sitter, his best attempt was a shot of the post. But he redeem himself by turning a man and crossing a ball for a teammate to score. As a man in the stands say......he playing shit but you could see he have something.

Now back to the game, T&T was playing a boom kick brand. The defenders were nervous or got the instructions to clear. We had no midfield knock or possession. If the player get the ball its to hit it long corner flag and let the forwards chase it.

Honestly I was expecting more for national players, mind you they trapping clean, the heading good and they passing good. But the fitness level not there, you could see they lack fitness and many players were pulling up with cramp. Also, it sad to say but them fellas not as good or talented as the players of say 5-10 years ago. None of them have that piece of magic or spark which were a trademark of former national teams or even good college league teams. Many in the stands even young fellas were making noise saying so and so should have been there.

But in all fairness the game was entertaining, T&T throwing away chance after chance, one on ones, crosses etc. The goals that were scored were quite good. I believe as the tournament goes on T&T may become much fitter and better ?

The first goal I think was a header cant really remember now but it wasn't notting special, around the 40th min.

One little fella take a ball and run square and unleash a bullet near the top of the 18 for the second goal.

The third goal a number 14 bore his way through three men, catch the ball by the corner flag and square it and a player did an acrobatic kinda kick and volley it home.

The last goal the number 10 de freitas who was throwing away redeem himself little bit by EXPERTLY turning a defender from a throw in and squared a ball across for an easy tap in. He also hit a shot straight to the keeper that left the poor keeper injured so that was another positive contribution.

Other than that the little fellas need to learn some structure. The defenders need to be confident and the long ball thing hadda stop, we had plenty space and we not knocking the ball or building up any plays, we did not get more than three passes in our midfield it was always just a diagonal to the corner flag and hope the forwards get it. We were hoping on concentrating on players individual talents and we were not playing team.

But I feel we will have an improved showing in the next game on Friday.

Now I ent say notting about Neth Antill.........they ent come out they half or had any meaningful attack on goal, The T&T keeper had 2 crosses to deal with and a corner but notting to trouble him. Also, one of their players was sent off around the 80th min.

One good thing that came out of this game is the little fellas does shoot to goal and they does try some TV ting. But to say a man share beat or light up the field, eh eh, it not happening. But the forwards to their credit had speed and were able to leave out the Neth Antill defenders with a simple push and run. With the goal at they mercy however they just give the ball boy a workout.

Well thats it for this report.

Till next time.