Sat, Jul

Trinidad and Tobago senior  team captain Dwight Yorke is calling on all fans to fill the Hasely Crawford Stadium to ensure that this country goes out in full force for their 2006 World Cup qualifying match against Panama on June 4.

Yorke made the call going into the final two weeks before the clash which will see the “Warriors” coming up against the Bermuda National Team in a warm up at the Hasely Crawford Stadium from 6:30pm on Wednesday, same kick off time as the June 4 encounter.

The Sydney FC striker, left for England on Friday to take care of personal matters and has assured head coach Leo Beenhakker that he will be back for the final training camp ahead of the Panama game. With Yorke leaving, Beenhakker will see the arrival of Glasgow Rangers defender Marvin Andrews, Dundee’s Brent Sancho and goalkeeper Kelvin Jack who all come in on Tuesday as well as English-born defender Ian Cox who arrives here on Sunday. Columbus Crew striker Cornell Glen is unavailable for the upcoming camp.

Yorke explained the current process the team is undergoing under Beenhakker and his role in it as captain.

”There is a new system that we have been working on and there are some new players in the team who he has to look at. We as players also need to get to know these new ones better . We haven’t got a lot of time but this gives us something to work on. There is a good spirit in the team and it’s my duty as captain and as the senior player on the team to make sure the moral of the players is up and encourage them to be as positive as possible,” Yorke told TTFF Media.

The former Manchester United frontman commented on his upcoming long journeys from Australia to home, saying it will not affect his commitment to the country.

“It doesn’t affect anything at all. Once the coach wants me as captain, that is a responsibility. In terms of my club, that is another exciting thing in my career. At 33, this is an exciting time for me and I’m really looking forward to it. Where my commitment for Trinidad and Tobago stands, there’s no question that I am going to be here as long as I am wanted or selected for the team.”

A member of the 1989 “Strike Squad”, Yorke was asked to compare the current squad with other National teams he has played on to which he replied that the “Warriors” of today certainly possess what is required to get to Germany.

”There is generation upon generation. You look at players and people say the Strike Squad was a much talented team but I’m not going to get into that. We are a team right now and I am sure these are the best possible players that Trinidad and Tobago have to offer at this present time.

“We have to believe in what we want and what the manager wants us to do. If we focus and believe in what he’s doing, I think that we certainly have a lot of talent here that can get us through to Germany. It’s not in black and white and we know how difficult it is but I’m sure once we get the right result against Panama, it puts us back into the thick  of things and I have no doubt that will give us the encouragement. You guys have to play a positive role from the Press and not be negative towards the team. I call upon you to be positive and certainly the people that come out here (Alianza Lima game) all go away being disappointed but if we can get everybody to come here on the 4th of June and we can have one big go,  I am sure we can pull it off,” Yorke ended.

The Squad for the live-in training camp which starts with a session at the Larry Gomes Stadium on Monday is as follows:

Clayton Ince (Crewe Alexandra), Kelvin Jack (Dundee), Duarance Williams (San Juan Jabloteh).

Anton Pierre (Defence Force), Avery John (New England Revolution), Marlon Rojas (Real Salt Lake), Brent Sancho (Dundee), Marvin Andrews (Glasgow Rangers), Atiba Charles (W Connection), Ian Cox (Gillingham) Glenton Wolfe (National Quarries NE Stars), Dennis Lawrence (Wrexham).

Aurtis Whitley (San Juan Jabloteh), Leslie Fitzpatrick (Real Salt Lake), Brent Rahim (un-attached), David Nakhid (Al Mabarrah), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA Fire), Christopher Birchall (Port Vale) Carlos Edwards (Luton Town).

Gary Glasgow (un-attached), Kenwyne Jones (Southampton), Stern John (Coventry City), Hector Sam (Wrexham).

Anthony Wolfe, Arnold Dwarika, Derek Phillips, Jan Michael Williams.