Sidebar

Tue, Apr

Typography

Perhaps, we should have expected this.

The signs were available from very early on in our campaign.

Perhaps, it is just our misguided belief, that Trinidad and Tobago is a blessed Country and can survive and overcome any problem, even those self inflicted.
When our Soca Warriors lost to Bermuda at the Marvin Lee Stadium that should have been the signal that this 2010 South Africa Campaign was in serious danger.

Unfortunately nobody really believed this, and the incumbent coach at the time, Francisco Maturana kept his job, when he should have been summarily dismissed.  We then struggled but won in Bermuda, and Trinidad and Tobago as a people believed all was now okay, and South Africa was a certainty in 2010.

Some indifferent performances, in a group including the U.S.A. and Guatemala, meant, that changes in team selection policy had to be made, and several so called “black listed” players had to be recalled, much to the joy of most of the knowledgeable football supporters in this Country.

Despite our indifferent performances, we progressed to the final round of qualification on the back of two goals by the two (2) oldest men on the field against the U.S.A., in Dwight Yorke (36 years) and Russell Latapy (41 years)

It proved a point, which some of us have been afraid to say in the past, that even though Yorke and Latapy may be “too old” in some people’s eyes and their legs not as mobile as before, they are still quality wise ahead of most of the other players from this Country.

In my opinion, the major problem lies here, from the moment, persons in this Country convinced themselves and obviously at the time convinced the Coach Maturana, that Russell Latapy was too “old” there was always going to be a sad fall “out”.

We all know about the missed penalty in El Salvador and the poor performances against Honduras and the U.S.A., and on each occasion, Latapy was on the bench and never utilized. This was the major flaw in decision making which lead to our continual lack of ingenuity and insight.  There was just no “leader” on the field, as Yorke was suspended for two matches.

I will maintain that Russell Latapy as a player was worth 4 to 6 points for Trinidad and Tobago and the fact, that this was not implemented or enforced was our major problem.

Russel, himself, when he became coach of the team seem to be reluctant to utilize his own ability, when he knew in his heart, that there was no equal player for his position in the Trinidad and Tobago Team.

Should Latapy remain as Coach?  Yes, because with only two matches to be played, we need to ensure that we finish this “failed” campaign with some respectability and that our football name is not further damaged.

Costa Rica (October 10th) will already be difficult away from home and if we travel there with a lost mindset, the result could even be worst than Honduras. And while our last match against Mexico (October 14th) may appear to be academic for a lot of other reasons it may be crucial to our future in the sport.

The only way for Russell Latapy to hold on to this job as National Coach after this World Cup Campaign is to record back to back wins and thereby improve his record from the current  World Cup qualification record  of 1-0-4 , after five matches in charge to 3-0-4 after seven matches.

In our remaining matches, if I was in Latapy’s position, I would first look at the striking partnership and relegate Kenywne Jones to the bench or just not include him for the next two matches, we need to send a signal to this forward, that days of an automatic place are no more on this Trinidad and Tobago Team. There are others such as Marvin Andrews,Jason Scotland, Keon Daniel and Silvio Spann who should be excluded as well .

One of the major criticisms about the coaching style of Latapy has been his on the field decisions, a basic premise of any quality coach. On more than one occasion, his starting eleven has left many puzzled and his positional play for the said eleven left 9 out of 10 persons  bemused.

Team selection is never an easy task and it is always easier to second guess a coach after a match, but there are obvious selections in most cases and also favoured positions for players. One such case in point surrounds the use of Hayden Tinto and Carlos Edwards, both players are better on the flanks and both work better when both are on the field together and sometimes interchanging their positions from left to right, causing doubt and confusion among the opposition.

Dennis Lawrence and young Radanfah Abu Bakr looked composed and compact in our defense for the majority of the game.

Clayton Ince is clearly playing with an injury, but he is still our best goalkeeper. There may be a theory that we should  start to  blood the younger Marvin Phillip for the future.

However it is our midfield that needs attention and we need a star in the future to shine through from our Under 20 team in Egypt as we move forward.

What though of Dwight Yorke? Will he remain as Assistant Coach of the National Football team or will he move on?

Honestly, how many of us can expect Dwight Yorke to return to this country and remain as an assistant coach, it would appear to be asking too much. Some are even speculating that should Latapy resign or be terminated after the Mexico match (depending on results), then Dwight Yorke will assume the role of Coach. But does that make any sense?

This killing of the – Dream – to South Africa , has done this country more harm than many expected , there was so much expectation that this team would be in South Africa , after Germany 2006 , that one felt the disappointment and disillusionment by many supporters .

Yes we can call them fly by night or armchair supporters, because they were not at the Hasely Crawford Stadium to support our team on Wednesday, but whether they were in liming spots, homes or on the road, they also felt the loss. Many persons I know, believe the increased pricing on the tickets for that USA match was too much and preferred to stay at home and make a lime with friends and family. Wherever you were on Wednesday when the El Salvador referee Joel Chicas Aguilar blew the final whistle, there was a sense of real doom and sadness. It is the value of sport, which so many of us fall prey to either ignoring or forgetting.

Those who believe that FIFA vice President Jack Warner would work some magic and we would be in South Africa were proven wrong , as this time even he could not help this team. They needed to help themselves first.

So, the Dream is now over and South Africa will forever be elusive. But as a sporting country , we must learn from the many mistakes we have made on this long , winding road and try not to repeat them in the future.