Photo: Shiva Boys Hindu College maestro Tyrel “Pappy” Emmanuel (right) tries to shake off Presentation College (San Fernando) midfielder Terrell Williams during the South Zone Intercol final at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium on 18 November 2016. (Courtesy Chevaughn Christopher/Wired868)

Tyrell Emmanuel of Shiva Boys Hindu College and Kedie Johnson of St Augustine Secondary were named the Male and Female Players of the Year 2016, respectively, at the Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) 2016 Awards and Prize Distribution Ceremony at the National Cycling Centre in Balmain, Couva, yesterday.

Emmanuel emerged from the top five male players that also included Isaiah Lee (Naparima College), Quinn Rodney (Shiva Boys Hindu College), Junior Asson (Shiva Boys Hindu College) and Kyle Thomas (San Juan North Secondary).

On the female side, Johnson topped a group that also featured Denecia Prince (Fyzabad Secondary), Malak Marcelle (Diego Martin Central), Shaunalee Govia (Tranquillity Secondary) and Collette Morgan (Fyzabad Secondary).

All those players were also named in the Male and Female SSFL All-Star team.

Schools were also presented their trophies for winning competitions during 2016. Naparima College earned the Digicel Cup and $30,000 while Shiva Boys bagged the BGTT League trophy and $23,000 for winning the Premier Division League competition. San Juan North Secondary was awarded the Coca- Cola Trophy in addition to $8,000 bounty for their Coca-Cola InterCol victory.

On the female side, St Augustine Senior Secondary walked away with the FCB National InterCol title. National titles were awarded to Shiva Boys Hindu College (U-14), Bishop Anstey East (Girls U-15), Trinity College East (U-16), Arima North Secondary (Boys U-20) and Penal Secondary (Girls U-20).

In the Championship Division, Diego Martin Secondary earned the FCB Trophy and $5,000 in the girls category while Carapichaima East Secondary nabbed the Shell Trophy and $5,000 among the boys.

Former T&T senior men’s coach Stephen Hart delivered the feature address, in which he implored student athletes to seek avenues to improve themselves and to be fearless about pursuing their goals.

SSFL president Anthony Creed demanded officials remember to serve the students and athletes they were elected to serve. Minister of Sport Darryl Smith and Trinidad and Tobago Football Association president David John-Williams also attended the ceremony.