May 28, 2024, 02:52:50 PM

Author Topic: Sunderland Forever Thread.  (Read 617976 times)

Re: The Sunderland AFC 2007-2008 thread
« Reply #1230 on: October 22, 2007, 03:47:03 AM »
West Ham 3-1 Sunderland
By Jamie Lillywhite

A cruel own goal by Sunderland keeper Craig Gordon helped West Ham to a fortuitous victory at Upton Park.

The Hammers went ahead on nine minutes as Carlton Cole twisted to head George McCartney's cross into the top corner.

Kenwyne Jones was a constant threat as Sunderland fought back and he levelled after the break with a firm header.

But substitute Nolberto Solano's shot hit a post and went in off Gordon's boot, and Craig Bellamy made sure with an injury-time third on the break.
Full Report

http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=13404
You make your own luck, Keane

Roy Keane's reaction to Sunderland's defeat at West Ham:

"Annoyed would be an understatement. 

"When you concede three goals there's every chance you are going to lose a game of football. I don't want to talk about luck being against us - you make your own luck.

"We were in a great position at 1-1 and the next goal was always going to be crucial. We gave away the ball very sloppily and we got punished.

"Kenwyne [Jones] is getting fitter and stronger and you saw today he's a big presence for us. He's quick and a goal threat and he'll be a big player for us between now and the end of ths season.

"It was a fantastic save from their keeper [Robert Green] and it was a massive part of the game. Sometimes I am critical of players missing chances but you have to take your hat off to the keeper, it was an unbelievable save.

"If we had gone 2-1 up, I couldn't see us losing the game.

"That's the reality of the Premier League and you have to deal with it. This is probably the best we have played away from home but we have no points.

"People might give us plaudits but I'm not here to welcome the plaudits, I'm here to win football matches."

On Dwight York's injury:

"Yorkie hurt his calf in training yesterday."

Match Thread
« Last Edit: March 15, 2008, 10:26:34 AM by Midknight »

« Reply #1231 on: October 24, 2007, 06:57:46 PM »
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=13418

Kenwyne Jones was the overwhelming winner of the man of the match vote from Sunderland's game at West Ham on Sunday.

Jones came out on top in a fans' poll here on safc.com.

The striker, who scored, got 89% of the votes. Liam Miller came in second place and Greg Halford was third.

safc.com's top three players v West Ham (as voted by the fans):

Kenwyne Jones 89%
Liam Miller 4%
Greg Halford 3%

The winner of each man of the match poll gets three points, the runner-up gets two and the third best player gets one.

Here is how the table stands after 10 Premier League games:

Craig Gordon 9
Michael Chopra 9
Liam Miller 9
Kenwyne Jones 8
Grant Leadbitter 6
Paul McShane 6
Danny Higginbotham 4
Ross Wallace 2
Carlos Edwards 2
Nyron Nosworthy 1
Danny Collins 1
Dwight Yorke 1
Greg Halford 1

At the end of the season the points are totted up to reveal our star performer.

Click here!

« Reply #1232 on: October 24, 2007, 09:59:15 PM »
well i expectin kenwyne to rack up dem points in no time...who say 15+ goals 4 d season?!!

« Reply #1233 on: October 25, 2007, 07:28:30 PM »
just for him to get 10 in his first season would be a welcome return

let him pace himself and hopefully with the return of carlos and keiron the side could go on a couple of 1-0 runs and 0-0 draws

Sunderland vs. Fulham
« Reply #1234 on: October 27, 2007, 07:47:48 AM »
Sunderland's pre-match entertainment includes a bevvy of beauties in pink corsets but no pom-poms. Wearsiders are sitting slack-jawed in the stands.

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/football/premier-league/2007-2008/sunderland-fulham-195543.html

Re: Sunderland vs. Fulham
« Reply #1235 on: October 27, 2007, 08:07:08 AM »
From Fulham's preview:
One of Sunderland’s main threats in recent weeks has come from towering centre forward Kenwyne Jones. The former Southampton player has netted three times in Sunderland’s last five fixtures and his physical presence up front is sure to be a challenge for Fulham’s back line.

“I saw Kenwyne play for Southampton because I used to go and watch Bairdy a lot as an international manager,” explained Sanchez. “Over the last couple of games he’s shown that he’s a handful. He’ll be a good test for our back four and they’ll have to compete with him. But that’s what centre halves are paid to do.”

« Reply #1236 on: October 27, 2007, 08:49:17 AM »
Foul by Dickson Etuhu(Sunderland) on Diomansy Kamara(Fulham). Free kick scored by Simon Davies(Fulham) right-footed (top-left of goal) from left channel (35 yards).Sunderland 0-1 Fulham.

« Reply #1237 on: October 27, 2007, 08:51:01 AM »
come on Sunderland, buss dem in the second half
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #1238 on: October 27, 2007, 09:15:02 AM »
audio feed anyone??

« Reply #1240 on: October 27, 2007, 09:20:14 AM »
Sunderland vs Fulham pre-match

http://www.safc.com/match/?page_id=13459&fixture=2847462&t=1

By Nick Alexander

Roy Keane has admitted that there is no getting away from the importance of Sunderland's game against Fulham.

The Black Cats' 3-1 defeat at West Ham last weekend was their third in a row and they find themselves just above the bottom three in the Premier League.

But a win over Fulham tomorrow could move the Black Cats above The Cottagers and up to 12th in the table. "It's early in the season but I wouldn't underestimate the importance of this game," said Keane.

"When you talk about six-pointers, you are usually talking about games around Easter time but it's games like this that will dictate our season.

"Any points you pick up against [Manchester] United, Chelsea, Arsenal or Liverpool are a massive bonus. Those games won't make or break our season, it's the home games against the likes of Fulham that will say how we do.

"If you don't pick up points it just adds pressure to the next game and we'll take any sort of win.

"If we are to achieve anything, we have to look to win the majority of our home games. People say it's a must-win game but I go into every game thinking that."

Sunderland's players were hugely disappointed last weekend after playing well and losing at Upton Park. But Keane is confident they will bounce back at the Stadium of Light.

"They are a positive bunch," he said. "They were disappointed but the spirit or confidence has not been dented, we are all very much looking forward to the game."

« Reply #1241 on: October 27, 2007, 09:20:50 AM »
no dice bro...any alterntive??

« Reply #1242 on: October 27, 2007, 09:22:05 AM »
Sunderland pressing. Somebody going to score in the next 10 minutes, lets hope is the red and white

« Reply #1243 on: October 27, 2007, 09:22:46 AM »
no dice bro...any alterntive??

every weekend is the same thing. the permanent link is on the safc first post

http://mfile.akamai.com/6095/live/reflector:35549.asx?bkup=

« Reply #1244 on: October 27, 2007, 09:23:31 AM »
I know this is a Sunderland thread, but anybody watching the Man City - Chelsea game?  If chelsea continue to play like this fuh the rest ah the season then people going and have real problems with them.

« Reply #1245 on: October 27, 2007, 09:26:23 AM »
I know this is a Sunderland thread, but anybody watching the Man City - Chelsea game?  If chelsea continue to play like this fuh the rest ah the season then people going and have real problems with them.

I know wat u talking about, they playing some amazing football!!

« Reply #1246 on: October 27, 2007, 09:26:48 AM »
thanks midknight :beermug:

« Reply #1247 on: October 27, 2007, 09:28:01 AM »
halford go and get send off stupid stupid  >:(

« Reply #1248 on: October 27, 2007, 09:28:49 AM »

I know wat u talking about, they playing some amazing football!!

scary dread just scary

« Reply #1249 on: October 27, 2007, 09:46:21 AM »
KJ!!!!!!!!

« Reply #1250 on: October 27, 2007, 09:46:29 AM »
KJ!

« Reply #1251 on: October 27, 2007, 09:46:44 AM »
joooooooooooooneeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #1252 on: October 27, 2007, 09:47:29 AM »
yeah babyyyyy  :wavetowel:

« Reply #1253 on: October 27, 2007, 09:48:38 AM »
anybody else hear the commentator say that the Fulham boss wants to bid for KJ?

« Reply #1254 on: October 27, 2007, 09:51:59 AM »
make no sense leaning sunderland to go somewhere like fulham unless safc go down. Next!

come on black cats...we want the 3 points

« Reply #1255 on: October 27, 2007, 09:52:36 AM »
Kenwyne 4 King      Jones...

« Reply #1256 on: October 27, 2007, 09:53:25 AM »
crap...come on stokes, you suppose to do better than that

« Reply #1257 on: October 27, 2007, 10:00:43 AM »
one for jason, one for kenwyne, all we need is one for stern later.

too bad for sunderland, they needed 3 points today, the last minute rush works again, but they in a mess for the next game away to Man C, their two right side defenders suspended  >:(

Offline triniwings

« Reply #1258 on: October 27, 2007, 10:00:56 AM »
how kenwyne score...anyone knows?

« Reply #1259 on: October 27, 2007, 10:04:33 AM »
KJ!

Ah see men saying KJ, KJ and waving flag and thing, wey is de scene? De man score again? HIGHLY BLESSED.