April 18, 2024, 11:22:49 AM

Author Topic: Ames is 'Trini to the Bone'  (Read 5447 times)

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
Ames is 'Trini to the Bone'
« on: August 13, 2008, 10:43:33 PM »
Stephen Ames may no longer reside in this country, but he still sees himself as 100 per cent 'Trini to the bone'.

Ames, the "best golfer in Trinidad and Tobago and the Caribbean"-as labelled by long-time friend and St Andrew's Golf Course manager Maria Nunes at the launch of the Stephen Ames Cup yesterday- Â said the only thing that changed is his country of residence.

"She's (my wife) Canadian, my kids are Canadian, and that's my home now," Ames told the Express yesterday at the Moka venue. "Plus it's easier with the commute rather than moving backward and forward all the time.

"But my heart is here, yes, definitely it is. I may [live] there, but this will always be home," he explained.

Ames is in T&T to support the Stephen Ames Cup, part of the Stephen Ames Foundation initiative to assist youngsters with an affinity for the sport, and aid the development of the game locally.

Yesterday, young T&T juniors lined up against their Canadian counterparts for the three-day tournament, which started yesterday with the better ball format.

Today, they will face off with 'alternate shot' play, and finally match play tomorrow. The team amassing the most points will be the 2008 Stephen Ames Cup winner.

The competition alternates between T&T and Canadian venues every year. Since its inception in 2005, Canada have won it twice, while the only other time T&T hosted, they were winners. They have a chance to win at home, and tie their number of wins.

During yesterday's opening ceremony, acting British High Commissioner Simon Wade praised Ames for his contributions to the sport in Canada and T&T.

"What we've been able to do is miniscule compared to what Stephen Ames has done for junior golf in T&T," Wade declared.

Every year, Ames teams up with Nike to provide golfing equipment for T&T juniors.

The First Citizens Sports Foundation also took the time to honour Ames, with Foundation chairman Hayden Newallo formally presenting the Sportsman of the Year award to the golfer. Ames was rather happy to receive it.

"It's great. Just the fact that they are acknowledging golf with sportsman of the year (award), and the T&T Golf Association have been named Association of the year, both the sport and organisation should be looked at, the fact that we've been doing so well " Ames said.

He was also proud of the local junior golfers' improvement in recent years.

"I think it's telling us that the direction we are moving in is the right one. I think overall, the golf in Trinidad is at its peak right now."

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_sports?id=161363637

Re: Ames is 'Trini to the Bone'
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2008, 05:52:17 AM »
me doh like he atalll atalll  he is a big fraudd

he doh ever rep no friggin trini in he big cups

when he golf in ah latas juzzy i go rep with him

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2008, 06:54:00 AM »
me doh like he atalll atalll  he is a big fraudd

he doh ever rep no friggin trini in he big cups

why yuh say so?   ???
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2008, 08:01:50 AM »
yeah
he and the next one from England who win the Nobel Prize for Lit (I forget he name right now)

steups

« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2008, 08:45:46 AM »
we going thru this BS again? ent we discussed this already?
that man does so much for trinidad...still represents trini at the golf world cup...donates equipment and helps out the youths
pple does jus bite the chain up wen they see the canadian flag...even the commentators often explain why he plays under that flag and say he is from trinidad etc.
pple who hate on de man often dont kno and jus go from what they heard
it annoying how pple doh like de man and call him a traitor when they eh kno nuttin
« Last Edit: August 14, 2008, 12:12:13 PM by NYtriniwhiteboy.. »

« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2008, 09:29:06 AM »

he and the next one from England who win the Nobel Prize for Lit (I forget he name right now)

Naipaul  :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2008, 09:31:08 AM »
we going thru this BS again? ent we discussed this already?
that man does so much for trinidad...still represents trini at the gold world cup...donates equipment and helps out the youths
pple does jus bite the chain up wen they see the canadian flag...even the commentators often explain why he plays under that flag and say he is from trinidad etc.
pple who hate on de man often dont kno and jus go from what they heard
it annoying how pple doh like de man and call him a traitor when they eh kno nuttin
I agree. Ames is playing the game. As long as he gives back to T&T  he good in my books.  But he best be careful. When Ben Johnson won the gold medal in 100 meters dash in Seoul he was  * Ben Johnson The Canadian sprinter *  After he get ketch using  steriods they startcalling him  * Ben Johnson the Jamaican-born Sprinter *   :devil:

Dem "Kee-nay-dee-inns" not easy atall.

« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2008, 09:38:41 AM »
hear nuh, keep dat up and you an me go fall out eh :devil: :devil:

JK Zandoh ;D :D

Ames brings his knowledge and money back to help local kids in Trinidad and Tobago.
Some of our Football players who play in the UK don't do that.
It is a strategic reason why he claims Canadian Citizenship.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2008, 09:46:53 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2008, 09:56:59 AM »

Lard tunderin', I'm just a-kidding a-boot that eh. I'm going oot for a Tmmys.

« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2008, 09:58:43 AM »

Whale Oil Beef Hooked....I knew ya was just joshin meh eh :devil:

by de way......get meh ah "XL double double"
« Last Edit: August 14, 2008, 10:03:58 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2008, 10:03:25 AM »

Whale Oil Beef Hooked....I knew ya was just joshin meh eh :devil:

« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2008, 10:50:28 AM »
Ames navel string buried in Mango Ally @ PaP..... de man Trini to de bone.....

I know him personally, my fadder and him cool too, so too meh uncles (cause he grow up playing Golf under dem and Chris Harries) and we will vouch he is TRINI ALL DE WAY..... come on he like a lil manicou now and den when he come home.

A foot ball juzzy is not considered proper Golfing attire..... :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2008, 11:07:28 AM »
since men know him and personally vouches for him

my oponion for him changes

i must say the media affected my thoughts

« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2008, 11:16:30 AM »
De man does a lot for youngsters in T&T. All de commentators always mention Trini when they talk bout Ames.
Leave de man along. Hate on Kerron Clement ;D

« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2008, 11:20:31 AM »
De man does a lot for youngsters in T&T. All de commentators always mention Trini and what he does for TnT youth, when they talk bout Ames.
Very true indeed

« Reply #15 on: August 14, 2008, 11:56:56 AM »
Ames doin more than some pepps who in d Latas juzzy

« Reply #16 on: August 14, 2008, 12:02:19 PM »
ah sure Ames leff ear ringing like ah damn door bell when dem school chirren pass on ah afternoon

Discussed HERE
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=30077.0

and HERE
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=23296.0

Allyuh who creating new threads, before allyuh copy and paste ein allyuh tra lala, jus do ah search to see if ya topic done talk bout already nah. It ain't go take 3 mins.

What funny about all of this, is dey same people always posting. The same people know him personally, the same HEAR he does do things for the nation/youths and dey same people ya hadda convince that he is really Trinidadian 365 days in dey year...

<copyright 2007 from Organic>   "allyuh is kicks yes"

« Reply #17 on: August 14, 2008, 02:38:55 PM »
wat a fraud. Why did he change his golfing nationality then?

« Reply #18 on: August 14, 2008, 03:17:17 PM »
Why did he change his golfing nationality?  TO MAKE PLENTY MONEY!!!!!
 I presume all those Trinis who have US, Canadian and British passports are fraud also. That probably includes Dwight and Latas!!!

« Reply #19 on: August 14, 2008, 03:19:36 PM »
wat a fraud. Why did he change his golfing nationality then?

like Cana say..read the other times this been discussed...steupse
she even give de link

« Reply #20 on: August 14, 2008, 03:19:50 PM »
Deeks y bother answer he it have nuff fraud on dis site because d vast majority eh livin TNT

« Reply #21 on: August 14, 2008, 08:21:07 PM »
ah guess when yuh leave Trinidad yuh is ah sellout  :-\ dat sounding real ignorant

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #22 on: August 14, 2008, 08:35:00 PM »
never did like that white boy.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

Offline rastafari

« Reply #23 on: August 15, 2008, 07:41:37 AM »

Ames brings his knowledge and money back to help local kids in Trinidad and Tobago.
Some of our Football players who play in the UK don't do that.
It is a strategic reason why he claims Canadian Citizenship.

Yeah he's  married to  a Canadian citizen. To think that all this time i believed that Trini had the sweetest women.Why we like to lie so much? :devil:

BTW i don't know if she is of Trini descent. :-\

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

« Reply #24 on: August 15, 2008, 02:30:00 PM »
never did like that white boy.

jess so? What de man do yuh? :devil:

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #25 on: August 15, 2008, 02:53:49 PM »
ah guess when yuh leave Trinidad yuh is ah sellout  :-\ dat sounding real ignorant

Apparently.  Ah guess if de opportunity ever present itself fuh meh tuh do anything on the world front, ah better doh make de mistake ah doing under ah Canadian flag.  Steups

I doh understand how having Canadian citizenship and representing Canada make him a fraud.  De man paying taxes in de country, he wife and children born an living here, what he must do.  Cut heself in two? 
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #26 on: August 15, 2008, 04:05:41 PM »
my only beef wid he is dat he keep winnin sportsman of d year award dong here when he doh even play for we. i read in a post how he represents us in d world cup. dat all well an good but how often is dat, annually, every two years? my ting is it have more sports people dong here who more deservin of d award.

bless!!

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #27 on: August 15, 2008, 04:28:05 PM »
ah sure Ames leff ear ringing like ah damn door bell when dem school chirren pass on ah afternoon

Discussed HERE

and HERE

Allyuh who creating new threads, before allyuh copy and paste ein allyuh tra lala, jus do ah search to see if ya topic done talk bout already nah. It ain't go take 3 mins.

Mod feel free to merge this thread with D odder ames thread. Sorry cana the intent was to post this in response to the other threads but was too tired/lazy to find them jus before hitting the hay. 

« Reply #28 on: August 15, 2008, 05:35:36 PM »

Discussed HERE

and HERE

Mod feel free to merge this thread with D odder ames thread. Sorry cana the intent was to post this in response to the other threads but was too tired/lazy to find them jus before hitting the hay. 

Datz aright sweetness

I notice its been done on the football side constantly, and i find it unfortunate after reading a 3 page thread to click on the following thread to read the same article, only to find that someone did a search and post 3 similar links.

but ya know wha, i have my tired/lazy days meh self... :beermug:

« Reply #29 on: August 16, 2008, 07:16:25 PM »
how much time allyuh will bring up this ames bull$hit, de man is ah trini, end of story. He is not kerron clement and even kerron make a smart move.