Sidebar

Sun, Apr
25 New Articles

Typography
It was a beautiful 26C degree Saturday with a light breeze blowing..perfect conditions for football. As I approached the field there were quite a few forumites (and lurkers) as well as guests just liming and waiting for the rest. Keep in mind, I didn't quite get everybodys screen name, so apologies to anyone not actually named. In total we numbered about 16...well 17 if you included one of the players girlfriends....the tallest jamaican 'browning' ah ever see in mih life. De woman could easily be 6'6'....and from de time ah start to load the cooler with Carib, she want to know whey de Red Stripe? Needless to say, de place get silent and everybody watch she in shock.

Anyway, the one ting I notice immediately is it have no shed, pup tent, galavanize sheet, small tree...nuttn we could all pile under if it start to get too hot.

As per lickslikefire request, we all walked with either a red or white shirt, teams were picked and someone had the brilliant idea of deciding instead of running a full big goal field as we only had 7 per side, we would put two small goals crossways on the big field and later on the plan was run the big field when others show up (TI say he was bringin ah BIG crew).

So..match start..in red was me,lickslikefire, jr sams,u of w man and rasIred the other guy, I didn't ketch his name..and one chinese guy who I assumed all the time was chinee boi...why?? well because he was chinee Whistling.

On the white team was....well another chinese guy..and ah couple fellahs from Waterloo (I eh ketch dey names) a poster we was callin maradona because of he argentina shirt and licks pardner from Saudi Arabia, ...a wisp of a human being..but we instantly named him poison..why?? well dat go come later.

Ah know ah forget ah couple man on dat field completely...but allyuh go understand why later.

The white team started dominating from the earlies as the guys from Waterloo had a decent brand of ball..and dey kinda fit.(truth be told is because dem men was Waterloo students,when you is ah student in dat school, you surety eh blazin ting regular, so is pure pent up tension and energy dem fellahs was releasin).
However like ah say it had dem  fellahs PLUS de ringer from Saudi 'poison'...de man must be does weigh 100lbs...but lawd he quick,,he quick on de beats, de footwork  have speed but the amazing thing is the beast REFUSE to bun. (On top ah dat we find out afterward de man come to de sweat AFTER trainin wit ah team for 2 hours de same morning). Only man could kinda mark him is rasIred...and ras stickin in de defence because sun gettin hot and men realize is real unfit dey unfit...and we roastin out dey.

While we playin each other hard and me eh shame I eat mih share of spanner ...white managed to score 2 goals.
Red tryin for de comebackwith some nice passing and crosses..some men who shall remain nameless tryin some FIFA X-box moves on de field oui,,,,,,okay allyuh twist  mih arm ah go name dem..if you see rasIred and UofW an even licks wit some kinda set up scissors kick bullet.& flip over head beat,,ting ronaldhino go say too difficult,, men tryin dis ting over and over but like dey eh pressin de right buttons in dey head so tings jus eh workin out,,,,, anyway we eventually equalize.

Then Naparima show up (he start late)...somehow was givin ah cab driver directions with he palm pilot and both ah dem still get lost.

TI and 3 pardners stroll in after dat...so we split up the teams unevenly 8 vs 9 or someting...and we continue de ball..and man gettin more and more bun...except poison...de beast woudnt stop runnin at full pace..shoulder trappin, dippin dartin and beatin...it was painful to watch, while de rest ah we suckin SERIOUS wind.

Eventually we couldnt take it..we decide to go in for a beverage break....dem men get serious. TI pull out he Johnny Walker and jr sams bring Angostura 1919.

I was mindin mih business drinkin mih water and sams tell mih try de smoodness of de 1919..I say no problem so ah  take two,three touch and chase with ah Carib...okay ah chase with 3 Carib. We lose ah couple guys..de guy I thought was 'chinee boi' had to go to a wedding and 2 others left as well.

Who is this mysterious chinese man?...me eh know..he say "later fellahs"..and de man instanly disappear like de end of ah Shaolin flim.

we went back out to run the '2nd half' and the combination of sun, beer and 1919...I not sure what happen..but my legs just STOP effin wukkin..

I fade to to de back and at one point I fairly sure I see ah douen run across de field..I rub mih eye hard..mih leg ploddin like ah elephant with ah set ah Doc Martens boots on...to make matters worse de effin white team keep missin de goal and de ball end up goin waaay out ah bounds...an I hadda keep ploddin over to get it.

It was apparent that EVERYBODY was runnin out of steam....except 'poison' de lil beast wouldnt stop movin...he was like ah damn humming bird with ah crack habit, men start to beg him to slow down and bring de ball up slow...
De rum and beer causin stress wit me at that point..de douen come up behind mih and tell mih"well just cuff dong he MC,, dat go slow him dong lil bit"...but I decided against that because he look like ah nice pious Muslim fellah.

Eventually around 2:30..we start to fade off the field one by one and game done roughly 2 hours after we start playing.

Around 3:00p ah nex poster 'articulate' stroll in ...and about 4:30 de real 'chinee boi' and he pardner stroll in lookin for sweat...we end up hittin more beers and talkin about football and RasIred start to give TI some Hardest talk...but TI is ah soldier he take it in stride...den TI start to tell man dat Trinidad go definitely reach quarter finals...more talk back and forth. I leave ah handful ah men and dus out about 5:30

The final score?? I eh have ah clue..my best guess 19 to 19 ,,,anyway.good sweat, good time was had by all

Props to:
The guys from waterloo-- a nice brand offensively and defensively and made the game lively
naparima-- doin some kinda decent goalblockin regardless of de bullet dat hit him
The fake chinee boi-- some nice defensive slide tackles dat make dem fellahs tink twice
Lickslikefire and U ofW man--- nice pinpoint crosses to each other
jr sams-- hold dong defense and de midfield nicely (ah tink he score as well)
rasired-- nice defence, but would step up to de midfield to keep an eye on poison on occasion
TI and crew-- for um,, digraming the plays dat make we score
de gyirls-- for shelterin under de parasol and lettin de res ah we suffer
Hamid aka poison...the metabolism of a ferret with the lungs of lance armstong
de REAL chinee boi-- for bein ah True Trinidadian and showin up 4 hours after game time

CLICK HERE for the Photo Gallery.