August 31, 2024, 10:50:46 PM

Author Topic: Olympic Team Thread.  (Read 56506 times)

I also feel that parents, friends and advisers of these boys need to feel shamed. If your son has joined the camp, he could have an advantage if he has his travel documents in place, especially if there is a late injury or a guy who was selected can't get a visa. Aside from national pride, these guys had a chance of earning 20-30k over next 6 weeks on top of their club salaries. $1,200 would be a good investment. However, in my experience, players won't think for themselves and rely on the Team Manager and Coach to organise things. 

Re: 2015 Olympic Team Thread.
« Reply #121 on: June 23, 2015, 04:57:14 AM »
I wonder if any other teams will be forced to withdraw? As someone already said, this was not a wise venue for CFU to choose because of visa requirements. Once this venue was selected, USA should have provided some kind of special dispensation for teams attending so that the tournament proceeded smoothly. It's not about lack of planning, this is a global problem and nations shouldn't lose out due to poor venue selection and a US visa glitch.

players won't think for themselves and rely on the  Team Manager and Coach to organize things

That is correct also. I can see that with the lower age groups,  but U23 should have a different mind set.

players won't think for themselves and rely on the  Team Manager and Coach to organize things

That is correct also. I can see that with the lower age groups,  but U23 should have a different mind set.

LOL, Deeks, I'm talking about seniors as well!!

Yes, you right about the grownups!

« Reply #125 on: June 23, 2015, 05:22:43 AM »
Guys, there have been cases where Concacaf has messed up on several occasions. Either with last minute venue changes and changes in age requirements. I remember the youth team after our 74 team was impacted by a last  minute age requirement. They lowered the requirement by 1 year and that messed up the composition of a very good team.

We have a lack of personal responsibility in Trinidad and Tobago.
Everything must be handed to us and if some how something go wrong is always somebody else fault.

Look asylum just point out how the news girl report Lasana article pretty much word for word yesterday.
No shame as well.

« Reply #127 on: June 23, 2015, 06:50:47 AM »
Spare a thought for Suriname. Fuh real!

There's been discussion regarding venue and visas, and one wonders how vigorously this topic is discussed within the CFU and CONCACAF, particularly with respect to its continual influence on outcomes. For junior tournaments, every effort should be made for all countries to have the best and broadest possible representation. This inures to the quality of the competition, and to the benefits that flow from that.

While this saga is progressing, the teams that are assigned to play in Haiti and the Dominican Republic (where Group One and Group Two are based for this competition) carry along with their prospects smoothly. From the inception, all teams are NOT placed in a position to field their best teams based on the policy of one country. This is not an indictment of the merits of US immigration policy. It is a statement of the playing conditions. What has the advocacy on this matter been? Quiet acceptance? Acquiescence? Indifference?

Building on the above ...

In the aftermath of the arrests in Switzerland, it has been informative that FIFA and constituent confederations have had the legs to continue their competition calendars without major issue. Yet, CONCACAF has cancelled (or is it a 'postponement' functioning as an effective cancellation in this peer year/age bracket) the U-15 tournament (a tournament that would have pitted this age bracket against England as an invited team), and there seemingly has been insufficient scrutiny regarding this decision by curious and invested journalists, not to mention pronouncements by the immediate football stakeholders affected.

In all manners we connive in limiting the prospects of young players. This is a state of play that is comprehensively unacceptable! Sentiment would be different had there been distinct voices in the wilderness clearly expressing an opposing viewpoint. But, there has not been. We have to reconfigure views of the U-15 age group as the least of us. Apparently, it's certainly not too late to invest in educating them (and their parents/guardians) on passport acquisition and on matters that would be deemed prejudicial to their acquisition of a visa. That by itself should not be an impediment to player development because, as things stand, we have innumerable concerns on that front already.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2015, 07:03:23 AM by asylumseeker »

All is to take some blame.

The players, parents and the TTFA.

Because once a foreign player is selected, the first thing the TTFA ask for is a passport and so on.

The TTFA keeping running into this same problem all de time, by now they should know how to handle this, David Muhammad very slack and we keep getting embarrass because of this, what kinda manager is this.

The parents slack to and them players have to be fools to not know what they have and bring it to someone attention early, they know they have to fly or might be flying.

Vranes, have to be de biggest tuntun it have, he name 40 players and looked at none of the foreign players but name he squad and now he might have to call them up.

It good.

« Last Edit: June 23, 2015, 09:49:19 AM by Sam »

« Reply #129 on: June 23, 2015, 08:32:30 AM »
This is why I say Jeffrey Webb was not good.

Why is only CFU who have these problems?

These countries should get money to properly prepare they youth teams, unless they got it and spend it on something else.

Knowing the TTFA, I feel is that self they do.

Teams puling out, no visas etc.

And These tournament should be hosted in countries you dont need visas.

Wha we go do? We like it so.. I refuse to believe these problems are cultural and not just a matter of indiscipline and unprofessionalism.

« Reply #131 on: June 23, 2015, 05:44:51 PM »
I just heard CFU accepted Suriname back in the tournament and are planning our match for 10:30 pm tomorrow night.

I think it's a management issue. From the time 23 playersof players or a pool are named the question has to be asked who has a passport and who needs help obtaining one. The need to be given a checklist as to what is needed. And it should be said that, You have on 12 pm on this day to submit your passport and other material. Cuts out the guesswork. Part of the responsibility of the coaching staff is to develop a sense of professionalism amongst the players. Players need to know and need to understand that the National Team can showcase their talent to Professional Clubs.

I think it's a management issue. From the time 23 playersof players or a pool are named the question has to be asked who has a passport and who needs help obtaining one.

To me, once you are part of a "professional" club, or have hopes of representing a national team, your passport should be in order. Frankly, barring financial circumstances, it's a document that most people should have.

Everybody should have it.  In fairness, $1,200 dollars is a lot of money for most people... in the case of footballers, I think the Ministry (National Security?) should waive or subsidize the fee for those who are engaged in national 'service.'

Offline SWF Reporter

CFU makes Suriname u-turn; T&T U23s must play with 11 men
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868.com)

More farce. The Trinidad and Tobago National Under-23 Team’s 2015 Olympic qualifying campaign was thrown into disarray again this evening when Caribbean Football Union officials informed the “Soca Warriors” that Suriname have been re-instated into the competition.
And, just 24 hours after telling Trinidad and Tobago officials that their Caribbean round opener would be on Friday, the Warriors were told to prepare to face Suriname at 10.30 pm on Wednesday June 24 in Puerto Rico.
It means that the Warriors, who were unable to secure visas for their players in time, will have to face Suriname with just 11 players.
“They told us at about 3 pm this afternoon that Suriname are back in and we have to play them at 10.30 pm tomorrow,” National Under-23 manager David Muhammad told Wired868. “All of this was unofficial because they have to write a letter to inform us and they haven’t done so as yet. We don’t even know when Suriname is getting in or whether or not they have a full squad.
“But we just have to get our minds ready to play.”
What is certain is that Trinidad and Tobago’s remaining nine players will not get to Puerto Rico until 11 am on Thursday June 25. And, at present, head coach Zoran Vranes’ squad is comprised of one goalkeeper, two defenders, four central midfielders, one winger and three forwards.
Yesterday, Muhammad suggested told Wired868 that they could get by with the players they had.
“Any defensive midfielder can also play in defence,” said Muhammad. “We have Neveal Hackshaw and Jelani Felix who can play left back. So that is not too much of an issue.”
It now appears that the young men will have to prove their manager right.
Read more: http://wired868.com/2015/06/23/cfu-makes-suriname-u-turn-tt-u23s-must-play-with-11-men/

« Reply #136 on: June 24, 2015, 01:26:38 AM »
does st vincent have the same problems

He has to shoulder some of the blame....probably for all we know doing what he can with limited resources and poor mgmt
but how u go say this!?
he cant be serious

“I am very proud of the staff,” he told Wired868, “that, in light of the circumstances, we were able to put together a strong team to compete by Wednesday"

Is this Muhammad's full time job?

or he does this on the side?
This kinda of mgmt is piss-poor
and if he is part-time they need to fix that and make him full time or get rid of him if he is the one making these gaffs asap!

What's the reasoning for Suriname being in limbo like this??

and if there was a last-minute turnaround
it seems like Suriname got the heads up in advance, cause they pushing for wednesday

lawd...like we need to take a couple years off of fball n fix our own matters first

I also feel that parents, friends and advisers of these boys need to feel shamed. If your son has joined the camp, he could have an advantage if he has his travel documents in place, especially if there is a late injury or a guy who was selected can't get a visa. Aside from national pride, these guys had a chance of earning 20-30k over next 6 weeks on top of their club salaries. $1,200 would be a good investment. However, in my experience, players won't think for themselves and rely on the Team Manager and Coach to organise things. 

Well said
If the player is able to pay for this is a next question.
But judging from the $2000 boots i see some of them rocking

their priorities seem to be out of place

Not only do we need proper coaching of course but these youths need guidance big time!
too bad we dont have that kind of foresight

did the st vincent players all get their visa ?? if so whats our excuse

Offline SWF Reporter

Game off: CFU circus continues as T&T U23’s opener now postponed
By Lasana Liburd (wired868.com)

Three days and as many decisions. God knows the trauma that Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under-23 football players have endured over the past week.
One thing now beyond dispute is that the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) has only made things worse.
Today, the “Soca Warriors” were advised that their 2016 Olympic qualifying fixture against Suriname will be postponed until Thursday June 25 in Puerto Rico while the group match days should play on Thursday, Saturday and Monday respectively.
Yesterday, the CFU ordered Trinidad and Tobago to face Suriname at 10.30 pm tonight while, on Monday, the game was declared as abandoned in favour of the Warriors with the Dutch-speaking nation ruled out of the competition.
And, Sunday and before, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago were expected to face each other at 5.30 pm today.
Caribbean football officials have been admonished, en masse, for corruption ever since the Mohamed Bin Hammam bribery scandal in 2011. While the FBI has already issued warrants for two past and present regional administrators, including Trinidad’s Jack Warner.
But incompetence is just as glaring an issue in the Caribbean, which, by virtue of its number of member associations, has the most political clout in CONCACAF.
Granted the ineptitude is, arguably, not restricted to the governing body in this case.
The four participating nations, host Puerto Rico and guests, Suriname, St Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago, knew the tournament location and fixtures since 21 April 2015. None of the travelling nations attempted to secure visas until nearly mid-June.
And, as it turned out, the United States Embassy began experiencing serious technical problems on May 26.
“The Department of State’s Bureau of Consular Affairs is currently experiencing technical problems with our overseas passport and visa systems,” stated the US Embassy’s website. “This issue is not specific to any particular country, citizenship document, or visa category… Passport applications accepted overseas or after May 26, 2015 are affected by this delay. 
“If you applied for a U.S. passport overseas during this time frame and have travel plans within the next 10 business days, please consider requesting an emergency passport…”
Warriors team manager David Muhammad is not alone in suggesting the CFU erred in putting a Caribbean competition on one of the few islands in the region that requires visas for entry.
And Muhammad urged CFU officials to follow the example provided by Canada, who host the July Pan American Games and also insists on visas for travellers.
Read more: http://wired868.com/2015/06/24/game-off-cfu-circus-continues-as-tt-u23s-opener-now-postponed/

« Reply #143 on: June 24, 2015, 06:21:36 PM »
Official word has now been given from CFU. Suriname are officially out of the tournament.

The fixtures are now as follows:-

Thursday 25th June

Puerto Rico vs St Vincent- 8:00PM

Saturday 27th June

St. Vincent v Trinidad & Tobago -8:00PM

Monday 29th June

Puerto Rico vs Trinidad & Tobago- 8:00PM

The T&T Team returns home on Tuesday, June 30th

« Reply #144 on: June 24, 2015, 06:44:41 PM »
Sad. Today, the comment out of Suriname was ... "SVB looking for solution for U-23 selection".

Game off: CFU circus continues as T&T U23’s opener now postponed
By Lasana Liburd (wired868.com)

Granted the ineptitude is, arguably, not restricted to the governing body in this case.
The four participating nations, host Puerto Rico and guests, Suriname, St Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago, knew the tournament location and fixtures since 21 April 2015. None of the travelling nations attempted to secure visas until nearly mid-June.

Why is this being framed as "ineptitude"?  Clearly if the squad isn't settled one cannot apply for a visa.  The P-1 visa is very specific as to eligibility requirements, the player would have had to have been selected as part of the team in order to qualify for a visa... so maybe Coach Vranes was "inept" for not selecting the team sooner, I don't know, but with preparations being upended, it's understandable why it would have taken time to complete the selection process.  Painting this as "ineptitude" does a disservice to staff who are functioning under duress, and doing the most with the absolute least.  It benefits no one to continue to distort the narrative and tar the efforts of good people doing the best they can under the circumstances.

the parents and kids need to be educated on the basics... there needs to be a symposium to address these issues and how to avoid them..

When did the $$$ to pay for the visa applications get to the TTFA or to the manager or responsible agent of the TTFA?

Cuba down Guyana 2-0 in CFU Olympic Qualifier Group 2 opener
« Reply #148 on: June 25, 2015, 12:03:44 AM »
Cuba down Guyana 2-0 in CFU Olympic Qualifier Group 2 opener
Guyana Chronicle

GUYANA went down 2-0 to regional powerhouse Cuba in their first game at the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Olympic Qualifiers, played yesterday at the Antigua Recreational Ground. The Guyanese conceded both goals in the first half with Cubans first finding the net in the seventh minute through Frank Manuel Lopez and in the 41st minute off the boot of Darian Perez.

Guyana started with Anthony Whyte between the uprights and a defensive line-up that featured Joshua Brown, Daniel Whyte, Les Charles Critchlow and William Europe.

In the midfield, head coach Jamaal Shabazz turned to English-based Kadell Daniel, Alpha United’s Daniel Wilson, GFC’s Kareem Knights and Trayon Bobb who plays in the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League with Caledonia AIA.

Up front, Bobb’s teammate at Caledonia Pernell Schultz and Den Amstel forward Dellon Lanferman were responsible for getting the goals.

With only one team making it out of the group, yesterday’s encounter was a must-win for the Golden Jaguars who will now face Antigua and Barbuda on Sunday.

The Guyanese will wrap up their campaign against Aruba on Sunday, June 28.

U-23 Reggae Boyz off to winning start in Dominican Republic
« Reply #149 on: June 25, 2015, 12:05:50 AM »
U-23 Reggae Boyz off to winning start in Dominican Republic
Jamaica Observer

Jamaica's Under-23 team are off to a positive start as they scored an emphatic 6-1 win over St Lucia in their opening Group Three encounter of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Olympic Qualifying tournament here at the Estadio Panamericano today.

Michael Seaton led the way with a brace in the 3rd and 38th minutes, with the other goals coming from Jamar Loza (48th), Andre Lewis (56th), Junior Flemmings (75th), and Romario Williams ( 77th). David Henry (29th) got St Lucia's consolation.

The Jamaicans are now in pole position to achieve their historic progression from the group stages. The second group game will be played on Friday with St Lucia tackling the host, with Jamaica closing their campaign against the host on Sunday.

Teams: Jamaica - Nico Campbell, Rickardo Oldham(Paul Wilson 63rd), Andre Morrison, Jamar Loza, Sean McFarlane, Kereen Manning, Michael Seaton, Andre Lewis (Junior Flemmings 63rd) Omar Holness, Damion Lowe, Jovani Simms (Romario Williams 38th)

Subs not used: Vishinul Harris‎, Kevaughn Frater, Richard Trench, Ramone Howell, Haddad Khouri

Booked: Seaton (28th), Holness (34th)

St Lucia - James Caster, Kelly Blondel(Otev Lawrence 69th), Shawn Evans, Andre Joseph, Emmery Edward, Antonius Myers, Jonathan Symphorien, Andrus Remy(Aramis Lorde 76th), Lester Joseph(Gregson President 72nd), Eden Charles, David Henry

Subs not used: Perry Simeon, Charlery Mathurin, Gerlanie Neptune, Leon Alexander

Booked: Blondel (2nd)

Referee: Sherswin Moore (GUY)

Assista‎nt Referees: Ainsley Rochard (Trinidad & Tobago), Venton Mars (GUY)

Fourth official: Adrian Skeete (BAR)

Match Commissary: Horace Lewis (JAM)

Sherdon Cowan