June 07, 2024, 05:51:38 PM

Author Topic: Barbados airport best in the Caribbean  (Read 18296 times)

Re: Barbados airport best in the Caribbean
« Reply #90 on: March 25, 2010, 09:27:15 AM »
Mama yo... if all yuh feel dat is ah cow shed all yuh eh see the pacific, africa or the former russian states yet...

sweet thing is if yuh coming from the states and yuh sit on the left side of the plane yuh does see the 2 mil flag on yuh descent...

Andrew Zimmern liked the picturesque setting of it... so too did DC United players but dat may have just been politeness...

« Reply #91 on: March 25, 2010, 11:45:40 AM »
Wow Jamaica have three airport and ZERO national airline.

"down goes frasier, down goes frasier"  :D

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #92 on: March 25, 2010, 01:25:06 PM »

jamaica has two or three domestic airline companies that fly between airports. and plans are alread advance to start a new international airline after air Jamaica is closed or sold.
Jamaica Air shuttle
http://www.eturbonews.com/13005/new-airline-start-commercial-operations-jamaica

http://www.jamaicaairshuttle.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=50&Itemid=75

http://www.jamaicaairshuttle.com/

Skylan Airways
http://www.skylanjamaica.com/

there are also numerous aerodromes for intra-island transport  between towns and cities.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_airports_in_Jamaica

http://www.aaj.com.jm/ourairports/index.php#tinsonpen

« Last Edit: March 25, 2010, 01:32:24 PM by jahkingdom »
Hard work is the key to success

« Reply #93 on: March 25, 2010, 01:39:20 PM »

jamaica has two or three domestic airline companies that fly between airports. and plans are alread advance to start a new international airline after air Jamaica is closed or sold.
Jamaica Air shuttle

http://www.jamaicaairshuttle.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=50&Itemid=75

Skylan Airways

there are also numerous aerodromes for intra-island transport  between towns and cities.

Another loss making venture ?

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #94 on: March 25, 2010, 01:59:35 PM »

Jamaica Air shuttle

Skylan Airways

Another loss making venture ?

it would be if they were owned by the government, but these are not owned by the government. these are privately owned companies.and these were created because there was a demand  ;)
« Last Edit: March 25, 2010, 02:03:56 PM by jahkingdom »

« Reply #95 on: March 25, 2010, 02:02:13 PM »

Jamaica Air shuttle

Skylan Airways

Just out of curiosity why do you need domestic air travel?

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #96 on: March 25, 2010, 02:08:33 PM »

Jamaica Air shuttle

Skylan Airways

Just out of curiosity why do you need domestic air travel?

people were calling  for more domestic service and there were a lot of demand for it. me personal i drive where i want to go.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/business/Air-shuttle-4th_7292413

According to Read, the airline was established in response to "persistent calls" by the local business community, professional and tourism interests for the re-introduction of "dedicated" domestic passenger service, particularly between Tinson Pen and Montego Bay.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2010, 02:11:49 PM by jahkingdom »

« Reply #97 on: March 25, 2010, 03:44:40 PM »
This national airline thing iz ah waste!! where iz the national airline of the united states? private owned airline iz always the best.

Jah gol, jamaica needs domestic travel bro.  the place twice as big as us, and we need two airports, piarco and crown point. i remember taking ah trip too lucirouse (Erine) and it took me almost ah whole day, that's how far the place was, could you imagine JA that iz twice times bigger.

in some areas of that island there one way in and one way out, just like the north coast on trinidad. plus the island caters for tourism so that is very nessesary.

« Reply #98 on: March 25, 2010, 03:52:39 PM »
This national airline thing iz ah waste!! where iz the national airline of the united states? private owned airline iz always the best.

Jah gol, jamaica needs domestic travel bro.  the place twice as big as us, and we need two airports, piarco and crown point. i remember taking ah trip too lucirouse (Erine) and it took me almost ah whole day, that's how far the place was, could you imagine JA that iz twice times bigger.

in some areas of that island there one way in and one way out, just like the north coast on trinidad. plus the island caters for tourism so that is very nessesary.
That's it right there. Our road network could be improved significantly. The government's highways plan is not a bad one. They might not be around for long though.

« Reply #99 on: March 25, 2010, 04:14:27 PM »

JC the term national airline or national carrier does not refer to an airline being owned by the govt. It refers to a country designating an air line as there national carrier. e.g Barbados and Guyana has designated Cal as their national carrier. This allows Cal to fly direct to and from Guyana or Barbados to another country with out first having to stop in t&t. With out that designation then Cal would have to land here first.A country can also have more than one airline designated as their national carrier. And to answer your question about US, All US international airlines are designated as US national carriers.    

« Reply #100 on: March 25, 2010, 04:17:14 PM »

JC the term national airline or national carrier does not refer to an airline being owned by the govt. It refers to a country designating an air line as there national carrier. e.g Barbados and Guyana has designated Cal as their national carrier. This allows Cal to fly direct to and from Guyana or Barbados to another country with out first having to stop in t&t. With out that designation then Cal would have to land here first.A country can also have more than one airline designated as their national carrier. And to answer your question about US, All US international airlines are designated as US national carriers.   

Precisely..

« Reply #101 on: March 25, 2010, 05:07:04 PM »

Well in that case jamaiaca have ah few national airlines, including CAL as of apri 1st 2010 who just took over all AJ's routes. problem solved.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2010, 08:21:53 PM by just cool »

« Reply #102 on: March 26, 2010, 04:36:47 AM »
Worst experience I have ever had from the Caribbean countries I've visited was Barbados and a few times well..... serious....

« Reply #103 on: March 26, 2010, 05:41:53 AM »
Worst experience I have ever had from the Caribbean countries I've visited was Barbados and a few times well..... serious....

Neva been 2 Bim been in d airport nuff times nt impress and nuff peeps I knw eh like Bim.

« Reply #104 on: March 26, 2010, 08:30:44 AM »

I like Bim but the feeling I got when I was there is that if you speak with N.American or Brit accent you are king but if you have a carib accent service drops considerably .

« Reply #105 on: March 26, 2010, 02:47:18 PM »
Can you elaborate ? reason why, BC that's a very common sentiment shared by a lot of caribbean folks, especially trinidadians. my experience was ah bit different though.

« Reply #106 on: March 26, 2010, 03:28:19 PM »

Flex, could you elaborate some more. Because I have been there a number of times and have had no problems. Yes there is usual Trini/Bajan tit for tat but nothing malicious or out of the ordinary.

« Reply #107 on: March 26, 2010, 04:05:20 PM »

I like Bim but the feeling I got when I was there is that if you speak with N.American or Brit accent you are king but if you have a carib accent service drops considerably .

Exactly what I heard

« Reply #108 on: March 26, 2010, 04:27:01 PM »

Exactly what I heard

I will not dispute that. When I go there, I stay by my inlaws. I don't go like a tourist. I don't feel like a tourist. I feel like I "home" to an extent. Now Barbados take their tourism seriously. That is their bread and butter. It is not Trinidad where quite a few people show disdain for tourists. Tobago is a bit different, at least when I went there a long time ago. If we look at Bajans as sucking up to white tourists to make their money, well so be it. TT will not give them any money. Each island has to swim to survive. Some doing it better than others. B'dos, Lucia, Antigua comes to mind. Brits love B'dos and Antigua. They also get a lot of Canadians, Other Euros and US and quite a few Latin Americans.

« Reply #109 on: March 26, 2010, 04:53:44 PM »

Exactly what I heard

I will not dispute that. When I go there, I stay by my inlaws. I don't go like a tourist. I don't feel like a tourist. I feel like I "home" to an extent. Now Barbados take their tourism seriously. That is their bread and butter. It is not Trinidad where quite a few people show disdain for tourists. Tobago is a bit different, at least when I went there a long time ago. If we look at Bajans as sucking up to white tourists to make their money, well so be it. TT will not give them any money. Each island has to swim to survive. Some doing it better than others. B'dos, Lucia, Antigua comes to mind. Brits love B'dos and Antigua. They also get a lot of Canadians, Other Euros and US and quite a few Latin Americans.

Deeks I don't think it was a white tourist thing as much as big country thing. I was treated very good maybe because I speak with ah fresh water canadian accent :-[. But some of my friends with carib accent said differently.

« Reply #110 on: March 26, 2010, 05:42:37 PM »
Can you elaborate ? reason why, BC that's a very common sentiment shared by a lot of caribbean folks, especially trinidadians. my experience was ah bit different though.

Well, long story short and this was a while back too, the people at the checking counters and customs were very nasty... and I've been there atleast 8 or more times and I've never had one good experience with the locals.... maybe its a Trini vs Brb thing.. ? but before I knew about Brb people I never had any hard feelins for them, so the treatment was a bit shocking.

The few Brb friends I have here in NY is very nice though...
« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 05:47:17 PM by Flex »

« Reply #111 on: March 26, 2010, 06:17:33 PM »

Well, long story short and this was a while back too, the people at the checking counters and customs were very nasty... and I've been there atleast 8 or more times and I've never had one good experience with the locals.... maybe its a Trini vs Brb thing.. ? but before I knew about Brb people I never had any hard feelins for them, so the treatment was a bit shocking.

Is like they feel N.Americans coming for vacation and Carib coming only to look for wuk.

« Reply #112 on: March 26, 2010, 07:17:40 PM »

OK, but i have to say my experience has been different, and like che, i also talk wid ah bit of ah fresh water accent, and maybe that's why i don't get stick, but i also let them know i'm ah trinidadian and in no wise do i want to be refered as any damn yankee boy.

some bajans can be extremely rude and discourteous, as ah matter of fact from my experience, the only island that tops them in rude obnoxious behavior iz st thomas. so that could be another reason for feeling the way you did.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 08:35:41 PM by just cool »

« Reply #113 on: March 26, 2010, 07:49:31 PM »

[/quote]OK, but i have to say my experience has been different, and i like che, i talk wid ah bit of ah fresh water accent, and maybe that's why i don't get stick, but i also let them know i'm ah trinidadian and in no wise do i want to be refered as any damn yankee boy.

some bajans can be extremely rude and discourteous , as ah matter of fact from my experience, the only island that tops them in rude obnoxious behavior iz st thomas. so that could be another reason for feeling the way you did.

Me too, I travel with a canadian passport but I always let people know that I am Trini. when I travel I always wear a warriors jersey or All Stars t-shirt.

« Reply #114 on: March 26, 2010, 08:04:54 PM »
bdos airport notorious for treating trinis and especially guyanese like crap.
When a flight from trini would come in the same time as an American or Brit flight u werent allowed to use the green line..every caribbean person ass in the red line and bags gettin search right thru

« Reply #115 on: March 26, 2010, 08:42:08 PM »
bdos airport notorious for treating trinis and especially guyanese like crap.
When a flight from trini would come in the same time as an American or Brit flight u werent allowed to use the green line..every caribbean person ass in the red line and bags gettin search right thru
Always had ah very pleasant experience in bajan immigration and costoms. never have i been made tuh feel like crapp, even when i had ah trini passport back in the 8ies and up till the 90ies.

i've never been made tuh feel less than ah caribbean neighbor, as ah matter of fact, they (immigration/costoms officers) even ole talk and bullshyte wid me ah couple of times. i feel very much @ home in BIM.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 08:46:56 PM by just cool »

« Reply #116 on: March 26, 2010, 09:01:34 PM »
I still use my Trini passport.I use my Trini accent, but use "proper" English.  No problem.  Depending on which time of the year you go, you will encounter long line.

« Reply #117 on: March 26, 2010, 09:15:35 PM »
It's funny how i never catch no static in BADOS, coming or leaving, but every time i leaving piarco the cow shed, i does always get pulled out the line and searched before checking in, yelled @ by dem bad mind dutty security byoi and made tuh feel like ah low life drug dealer/ trafficker,

threatened by the ticket counter agents monkeys and roughed up, pulled over by police officers after clearing immigration and interrogated!

interrogated again by airport security going through the metal detectors, then if that wasn't enough, just before boarding they make meh take off meh shoes @ the boarding gate.

i also catch hell wid the proprietors in the airport as well, whether it's KFC, RC, the news stand and baggage storage, that's BC ah got bumped ah couple of time on BEEWEE and had tuh store meh luggage until the next available flight.

even the women who does go around pickin up the wheel chairs got ah dig @ me! they're all very nasty and antagonistic ppl, and i must say, ah really hate that fackin cowshed!!!!!!!
« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 09:18:20 PM by just cool »

« Reply #118 on: March 26, 2010, 09:50:38 PM »
It's funny how i never catch no static in BADOS, coming or leaving, but every time i leaving piarco the cow shed, i does always get pulled out the line and searched before checking in, yelled @ by dem bad mind dutty security byoi and made tuh feel like ah low life drug dealer/ trafficker,

threatened by the ticket counter agents monkeys and roughed up, pulled over by police officers after clearing immigration and interrogated!

interrogated again by airport security going through the metal detectors, then if that wasn't enough, just before boarding they make meh take off meh shoes @ the boarding gate.

i also catch hell wid the proprietors in the airport as well, whether it's KFC, RC, the news stand and baggage storage, that's BC ah got bumped ah couple of time on BEEWEE and had tuh store meh luggage until the next available flight.

even the women who does go around pickin up the wheel chairs got ah dig @ me! they're all very nasty and antagonistic ppl, and i must say, ah really hate that fackin cowshed!!!!!!!

Breds yuh must be look real f**king Talibaish if they make you take off yuh shoes in T&T..I never had to take of my shoes or get dem kinda treatment in T&T you talking about..NEVER.  Dat or yuh real f**king ugly!

« Reply #119 on: March 26, 2010, 10:52:44 PM »

:o I have never had problems in piarco.