June 10, 2024, 07:45:16 AM

Author Topic: eX jUSTICE Volney  (Read 20666 times)

Online Brownsugar

Re: eX jUSTICE Volney
« Reply #120 on: May 06, 2010, 05:04:37 AM »
he went aussie for a lil while..but that was not where he was based for long..he back in trini for couple years now

hmmm....

cant we use dna or something to re-open this case and convict?

1. Mih eh think it had any DNA to be tested in the case....it was primarily eye witness testimony and in any event.....

2. De Privy Council already rule that he can't be rearrested....case closed, move on...

It real interesting that ah man who's name is becomming an electoral 'issue'....must be limin on bondi beach blissfully unaware that it even have elections in trinidad
if yuh mean boyce he right in trini...he only left for a couple years following the trial

eh heh?  Papers and everyone saying he resides in Australia still.

For true Triniwhiteboy??  I swear he left and never came back.....

« Reply #121 on: May 06, 2010, 06:14:18 AM »
believe me he probably was wining next to u in plenty fetes and carnival...he keeps a low profile tho. Yuh wud not recognize him from the old photos

« Reply #122 on: May 06, 2010, 06:29:20 AM »
For true Triniwhiteboy??  I swear he left and never came back.....

well , yuh know we journalists is not de greatest wit accurate info....plus dem white fellahs from sout does real link

Brownie yuh mus be gih de man ah wine in troot.

Offline signal

« Reply #123 on: May 06, 2010, 06:46:23 AM »
Ex Justice Volney publicly apologise to the johnson family and friends this morning on TV6, saying he made a mistake and its all in a days work, he wants people to put it behind them now. He said that he was not apologising to De vignes though.
If...
chief justice ivor archie say so
ex-chief justice sharma say so
law assoc pres martin daly say so
transpareny institute say so
Ken Gordon say so
jones p say so....then is so!!!

« Reply #124 on: May 06, 2010, 06:47:44 AM »
Ex Justice Volney publicly apologise to the johnson family and friends this morning on TV6, saying he made a mistake and its all in a days work,
:o

Online Brownsugar

« Reply #125 on: May 06, 2010, 06:58:54 AM »
Ex Justice Volney publicly apologise to the johnson family and friends this morning on TV6, saying he made a mistake and its all in a days work, he wants people to put it behind them now. He said that he was not apologising to De vignes though.

ooooohhhhhh guuuudddd!!!  :o :o.....ah shoulda know something was up....he wasn't on the UNC/COP/NJAC/TOP/MSJ/ABC/XYZ platform last night......

....there is an article in the papers today giving Des Vignes's response to the whole thing....ah goh link it when ah get ah chance later......

« Reply #126 on: May 06, 2010, 03:03:30 PM »

ooooohhhhhh guuuudddd!!!  :o :o.....ah shoulda know something was up....he wasn't on the UNC/COP/NJAC/TOP/MSJ/ABC/XYZ platform last night......

....there is an article in the papers today giving Des Vignes's response to the whole thing....ah goh link it when ah get ah chance later......

D time on my watch say later.

« Reply #127 on: May 06, 2010, 04:54:51 PM »
believe me he probably was wining next to u in plenty fetes and carnival...he keeps a low profile tho. Yuh wud not recognize him from the old photos

for real??  i remember brad from pres, was a year ahead of me...that man was realll dred boy, my lord...get expelled for smoking weed.

Online Brownsugar

« Reply #128 on: May 06, 2010, 05:40:31 PM »

Here ya go ma'am.... ;D

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/nart?id=161653553

Pathologist in Boyce trial: Let's move on for T&T's sake
Akile Simon akile.simon@trinidadexpress.com
Thursday, May 6th 2010

DR HUGHVON Des Vignes, a member of the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP), and the pathologist who conducted the autopsy on the body of 19-year-old Jason Johnson says that the resurrection of the Brad Boyce trial was not in the best interest for the future development of the country.

According to Des Vignes, the media is only seeking to get news by seeking to stretch the issue.
On Monday several protesters carrying placards and lighted candles, with white t-shirts covering their heads and faces, stormed a political meeting demanding that former High Court judge Herbert Volney answer certain questions relating to Boyce’s acquittal on a manslaughter charge against Johnson.

He said: ’Why are you all going back in the graveyard? Let’s move on. This thing happened over 12 years ago and I think we should move on. What you all are doing is trying to make news because this doesn’t add anything to the progress of our society. Let’s move on because I have gone past this thing a long time ago,’ Des Vignes said yesterday.   Volney directed the jury to disregard the testimony of Des Vignes at the trial since he was not registered as a forensic pathologist.

bury the past: Dr Hughvon Des Vignes
Des Vignes explained at the time of the acquittal, he was not registered as forensic pathologist. He said laws have now been put in place to get specialists registered.

’They are now trying to get the criteria so I’m still not registered as a forensic pathologist,’ he said.
When asked he (Des Vignes) believes Volney should apologise to Johnson’s relatives, Des Vignes said that was something for Volney himself to decide.  ’I don’t know if he’d be inclined or if there is any place for that. But, I can’t really answer that,’ he added.

Des Vignes was recently screened as a TOP candidate for the Tobago West seat but was not given the nod by the party’s screening committee chaired by it’s political leader, Ashworth Jack.   In the early hours of September 1, 1996 there was an altercation outside The Edge Nightclub at Long Circular Mall in St James, in which Boyce allegedly struck Jason Johnson a blow to the head.

On September 9, Johnson developed aspiration pneumonia and was put on a ventilator, where he remained in a coma until he died on September 16. At the trial it was revealed that a feeding tube was inserted into his lung and Johnson was hooked up on a malfunctioning ventilator.

Boyce was charged with murder at the preliminary enquiry stage but this was reduced to manslaughter and he was tried before Volney and a jury in July 1998.

« Reply #129 on: May 06, 2010, 06:03:24 PM »
In the early hours of September 1, 1996 there was an altercation outside The Edge Nightclub at Long Circular Mall in St James, in which Boyce allegedly struck Jason Johnson a blow to the head.

On September 9, Johnson developed aspiration pneumonia and was put on a ventilator, where he remained in a coma until he died on September 16. At the trial it was revealed that a feeding tube was inserted into his lung and Johnson was hooked up on a malfunctioning ventilator.

Boyce was charged with murder at the preliminary enquiry stage but this was reduced to manslaughter and he was tried before Volney and a jury in July 1998.
so how is Boyce responsible for Johnson's death??
am I missing something
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #130 on: May 06, 2010, 06:12:19 PM »
In the early hours of September 1, 1996 there was an altercation outside The Edge Nightclub at Long Circular Mall in St James, in which Boyce allegedly struck Jason Johnson a blow to the head.

am I missing something

that is why the charge dropped to manslaughter

« Reply #131 on: May 06, 2010, 06:13:49 PM »

am I missing something

He claims that was the cause of death. If you bring somebody in to question someones qualifications.....then...since they qualified to question somebody's expertise.....let them interpret the evidence in the persons place nah. Nah...buh....dat eh wha he decide to do.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Online Brownsugar

« Reply #132 on: May 06, 2010, 06:26:15 PM »
Bourbon boy......is best Brad Boyce did pay Volney to be he defence lawyer....or maybe he did    .....:whistling: :whistling:

« Reply #133 on: May 06, 2010, 06:34:03 PM »

Here ya go ma'am.... ;D

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/nart?id=161653553

Pathologist in Boyce trial: Let's move on for T&T's sake
Akile Simon akile.simon@trinidadexpress.com
Thursday, May 6th 2010

DR HUGHVON Des Vignes, a member of the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP), and the pathologist who conducted the autopsy on the body of 19-year-old Jason Johnson says that the resurrection of the Brad Boyce trial was not in the best interest for the future development of the country.

According to Des Vignes, the media is only seeking to get news by seeking to stretch the issue.
On Monday several protesters carrying placards and lighted candles, with white t-shirts covering their heads and faces, stormed a political meeting demanding that former High Court judge Herbert Volney answer certain questions relating to Boyce’s acquittal on a manslaughter charge against Johnson.

He said: ’Why are you all going back in the graveyard? Let’s move on. This thing happened over 12 years ago and I think we should move on. What you all are doing is trying to make news because this doesn’t add anything to the progress of our society. Let’s move on because I have gone past this thing a long time ago,’ Des Vignes said yesterday.   Volney directed the jury to disregard the testimony of Des Vignes at the trial since he was not registered as a forensic pathologist.

bury the past: Dr Hughvon Des Vignes
Des Vignes explained at the time of the acquittal, he was not registered as forensic pathologist. He said laws have now been put in place to get specialists registered.

’They are now trying to get the criteria so I’m still not registered as a forensic pathologist,’ he said.
When asked he (Des Vignes) believes Volney should apologise to Johnson’s relatives, Des Vignes said that was something for Volney himself to decide.  ’I don’t know if he’d be inclined or if there is any place for that. But, I can’t really answer that,’ he added.

Des Vignes was recently screened as a TOP candidate for the Tobago West seat but was not given the nod by the party’s screening committee chaired by it’s political leader, Ashworth Jack.   In the early hours of September 1, 1996 there was an altercation outside The Edge Nightclub at Long Circular Mall in St James, in which Boyce allegedly struck Jason Johnson a blow to the head.

THXS

« Reply #134 on: May 06, 2010, 06:47:33 PM »

am I missing something

He claims that was the cause of death. If you bring somebody in to question someones qualifications.....then...since they qualified to question somebody's expertise.....let them interpret the evidence in the persons place nah. Nah...buh....dat eh wha he decide to do.

If he was in a coma it more than likely it is de tube aspirating into the lung that wudda cause him to die. THe necrosis and ischemia that wud take place would prob kill him. And the then ripe ground for bacterial infection on top of that. Whoever inserted the feeding tube wrongly should have faced some action at least from the hospital. That is real madness to miss the esophagus and go down the trachea. The insertion of a feeding tube in a unconscious patient eh that hard.
But fact is Brad put the man in that position in de first place.

edit: and the aspiration pneumonia is one of the worst to get. Gettin that in the hospital yuh have a high chance of having antibiotic resistant strep or staph...that reaaaaaaaal hard to get rid of.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2010, 06:49:10 PM by NYtriniwhiteboy.. »

« Reply #135 on: May 06, 2010, 08:23:03 PM »
Mom: I forgive judge
Thursday, May 6th 2010

NANCY JOHNSON, the mother of Jason Johnson who was killed 14 years ago, said yesterday she was unaware of any plans to picket the United National Congress (UNC) meeting in St Joseph on Monday during retired Justice Herbert Volney’s maiden speech on the political platform.

Nancy Johnson said yesterday, ’I believed someone decided to do it (the protest) on their own,’ but to this day she believed that Brad Boyce, who faced trial for unlawfully killing her son, had, ’some sort of weapon,’ that night.

She said the family had moved from their Cornelio Street, Woodbrook home because, ’anytime I opened Jason’s bedroom it would carry me back. I said I cannot live in that house anymore.’

Years after the incident, Nancy Johnson and her husband Stephen Johnson separated.

I WILL NEVER FORGET WHAT HE DID: Nancy Johnson, the mother of Jason Johnson, at her Diego Martin home yesterday. -Photo: GYASI GONZALES

’I forgive Volney,’ she said..Continue http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/nart?id=161653549

« Reply #136 on: May 07, 2010, 12:32:33 AM »
Minister: Prisoner spilling beans’ on Volney
Gail Alexander
Published: 7 May 2010

A Venezuelan national, who was freed under a judgment of Justice Herbert Volney, as he then was, is now back in prison and is “talking about what happened and why he got off,” PNM Works Minister Colm Imbert said yesterday. Imbert and several other PNM Ministers—including St Joseph MP Kennedy Swaratsingh—weighed in on issues involving UNC St Joseph candidate Volney during yesterday’s post-Cabinet media briefing at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s. They addressed the issue about Monday night’s UNC meeting where members of the Jason Johnson family protested Volney’s judgment which freed Brad Boyce who was accused of the manslaughter of Johnson...http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010/05/07/minister-prisoner-spilling-beans-volney

« Reply #137 on: May 07, 2010, 08:55:32 PM »
I remember meeting Brad Boyce in Jail. The fella was ah rel arse. He did feel he in to much thing. He knew he was gonna get off even before appeals and all that was handed down. He was never worried about anything.

« Reply #138 on: May 07, 2010, 09:00:53 PM »
I remember meeting Brad Boyce in Jail. The fella was ah rel arse. He did feel he in to much thing. He knew he was gonna get off even before appeals and all that was handed down. He was never worried about anything.

We are all friends here we know what Boyce did what did u do?

« Reply #139 on: May 07, 2010, 11:43:12 PM »

We are all friends here we know what Boyce did what did u do?
:o  like Elan get out the big house too. how you know Volney to get off too?

« Reply #140 on: May 08, 2010, 12:23:57 AM »

am I missing something

If he was in a coma it more than likely it is de tube aspirating into the lung that wudda cause him to die. THe necrosis and ischemia that wud take place would prob kill him. And the then ripe ground for bacterial infection on top of that. Whoever inserted the feeding tube wrongly should have faced some action at least from the hospital. That is real madness to miss the esophagus and go down the trachea. The insertion of a feeding tube in a unconscious patient eh that hard.
But fact is Brad put the man in that position in de first place.

edit: and the aspiration pneumonia is one of the worst to get. Gettin that in the hospital yuh have a high chance of having antibiotic resistant strep or staph...that reaaaaaaaal hard to get rid of.

Several things you saying here I have issue with.  Apart from a paid defence witness no one ever agreed that the man had a feeding tube wrongly inserted.  That was the defence case, ventilator cut of temporarily, and tube placed in lung instead ah stomach.  You have also admitted that placing a feeding tube correctly in a comatose patient is not that hard.

The man had an emergency craniotomy to release pressure and bleeding subdural hematoma etc.  Some of the side effects of this can be seizures, swelling, trouble breathing etc.  Now from what I learned as a medic in the military aspiration pneumonia is caused by some foreign substance in your lungs, like food (dat is why the defence came up with that), anesthesia, people who in ah coma get it, vomiting etc.

The trouble with making a diagnosis without the benefit of at least medical records is that yuh could make MANY errors.

DesVignes was there he say is de concussive force ah the blows what kill de man.  Karl was doing he job and introduce aspiration pneumonia as a possibility to bring in reasonable doubt and bring in an expert to say the cause of death in his opinion was aspiration Pneu. 

Aspiration Pneumonia occurs when you aspirate foreign matter into your lungs — most often when the contents of your stomach enter your lungs after you vomit. This commonly happens when a brain injury or other condition affects your normal gag reflex.  There was NO evidence that the hospital was guilty of wrongly placing a feeding tube.  NONE!  The FACT that he had aspiration Pneu. is not to say he got if from malpractice,  it could have been a result of aspirating foreign matter into his lungs after he got cuffed down. 

Look me eh no expert eh, I was simply a well trained medic in the US Navy.... and I mean well trained I was doctor on small ships and doctor to marines,  I was allowed to do lots of things only licensed doctors could do in teh civilian world and I remember sometings...A common predisposing factor fuh dis type ah pneumonia is G.E.R.D. This dioes happen when contents from yuh belly happen to flow back into the upper esophagus.  From dey, gastroesophageal contents can be aspirated into yuh windpipe an den into yuh lower airways.  Even small amounts of gastroesophageal reflux can lead to pneumonia in people who are hospitalized, especially if yuh comatose or underwent surgery.

There is little doubt in my mind Brad get away with he ting. Volney call back a doctor and ask him if des Vignes is a qualified specialist according to certain civil servant guidelines, de man say no, and before the prosecution could cross examine de man he direct de jury to let de man go...dat really sloppy and smacks of interference.  The man coulda die from aspiration pneumonia eh, but what cause he to get that is up in de air....DesVignes with the benefit of an autopsy say is de blows, a paid man reviewing the records say nah...is pneumonia, if the defence had paid for an independent autopy and the findings were different den that was anodder story.

Taken from the Privy Council ruling:

5.   Events then took an unusual course. After Dr Daisley had been cross-examined, but before re-examination, the judge of his own motion recalled Dr des Vignes to ask him about his qualifications in forensic pathology. It appeared that he was not registered as such with the Trinidad and Tobago Medical Board and that his fellowship in Alberta was more in the nature of an apprenticeship than a formal course leading to a certificate or diploma.  Instead, the Chief Medical Examiner, under whose general supervision he had performed some 270 autopsies, had simply written a letter recommending Dr des Vignes as competent to act as a forensic pathologist and he had been so employed by the Forensic Science Centre.

6.   The judge then, still acting of his own accord, called Professor Chandulal, the Chief Forensic Pathologist,  to ask him about the qualifications required for civil service appointment as a forensic pathologist. He said that one needed a medical degree followed by a postgraduate degree in forensic pathology which would be accepted as registrable by the Medical Board of Trinidad and Tobago. Professor Chandulal said that he was registered as a forensic pathologist but that Dr des Vignes was not.

7.   After hearing this evidence and submissions from counsel, the judge decided that Dr des Vignes was not qualified as an expert for the purpose of giving an opinion on the cause of death and that his evidence was inadmissible and should be withdrawn from the jury.  He then ruled that the evidence of Dr des Etanges did not provide a sufficient basis for a finding by the jury that Boyce had caused Johnson’s death and directed the jury to acquit.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2010, 08:46:12 AM by Trinity Cross »

Online Brownsugar

« Reply #141 on: May 08, 2010, 05:55:28 AM »
I remember meeting Brad Boyce in Jail.

I not interested in anything else yuh say after this.....please do tell how yuh meet Brad Boyce in jail??!!....surely you were doing some kinda charity work or something so and was just visiting the prisoners right?  Cuz we doh associate with criminals on here.... :devil: ;D

« Reply #142 on: May 08, 2010, 07:11:46 AM »
TC i was just going on what was said in the article..I eh kno the details of the case. I was just commenting on if it was a feeding tube down the  trachea that is madness and poorly done, u as a medic should know that.. But even with a gag reflex if yuh got a bunch of foreign bodies down into the lungs yuh beggin for infection..
Yuh also right about GERD being a common factor, reason which it is often these people who get the gastric acid into the lungs. However it is by no means the only way it gonna happen.
But as you pointed out this was the defence story, that i didn't know.

Online Brownsugar

« Reply #143 on: May 08, 2010, 07:23:18 AM »
if the defence had paid for an independent autopy and the findings were different den that was anodder story.

Isn't that the crux of the matter right there??  Why didn't the defence use their own experts to discredit Des Vignes??

After all, ent is the same Justice (now "citizen"  ::)) Volney who accepted autopsy results from Des Vignes in other cases??  So what was so special about this case that Des Vignes wasn't qualified??

I couldn't remember the facts and issues in the case only that Volney screwed up big time.  But thanks to Kamla and her brilliant decision we get to rehash this dark moment in our justice system....

It stinks today as it stank back then and Volney could apologise all he want, he let a guilty man go free....end of story....

« Reply #144 on: May 08, 2010, 08:49:06 AM »
Volney also let de venezuelan go, and he also let De Professor and he wife go after the evidence suggested that he ahd his wife were implicated in his ex-wife's murder, including a confession by the hit men.

de man also fail he bar exam plenty times I heard.  lol

« Reply #145 on: May 08, 2010, 09:25:44 AM »
I remember meeting Brad Boyce in Jail.

I not interested in anything else yuh say after this.....please do tell how yuh meet Brad Boyce in jail??!!....surely you were doing some kinda charity work or something so and was just visiting the prisoners right?  Cuz we doh associate with criminals on here.... :devil: ;D
:devil: :devil:
Oh gawd all ya voupping good today

maybe Elan is a guard
« Last Edit: May 08, 2010, 05:57:38 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #146 on: May 08, 2010, 10:03:06 AM »
Elan, how well did you know Brad Boyce, did you share the same cell, what did he do to you after the lights went out? The folks of this forum need to know  :beermug:
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #147 on: May 08, 2010, 07:25:21 PM »
TC i was just going on what was said in the article..I eh kno the details of the case. I was just commenting on if it was a feeding tube down the  trachea that is madness and poorly done, u as a medic should know that.. But even with a gag reflex if yuh got a bunch of foreign bodies down into the lungs yuh beggin for infection..
Yuh also right about GERD being a common factor, reason which it is often these people who get the gastric acid into the lungs. However it is by no means the only way it gonna happen.

The main problem is ....where in the medical record did it say aspiration pneumonia due to wrongly inserted tube as a cause of death. What people have a problem with is why Volney acted on his own accord to question the credentials and discredit the testimony of DeVignes. I am sure that wasn't the first time that DeVignes gave testimony in a court. Why did that become an issue for the judge all of a sudden when the defense did not bring it up?

The judiciary has to maintain or attempt to maintain impartiality. What irks people is "if this was ah poor boy from de ghetto,"  would Volney take the unprecedented step to act on his own?

And now he further brings himself and his judgment into disrepute because he was obviously dealing with UNC while still a sitting judge.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2010, 07:27:40 PM by Conquering Lion »
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #148 on: May 08, 2010, 08:44:17 PM »

The main problem is ....where in the medical record did it say aspiration pneumonia due to wrongly inserted tube as a cause of death. What people have a problem with is why Volney acted on his own accord to question the credentials and discredit the testimony of DeVignes. I am sure that wasn't the first time that DeVignes gave testimony in a court. Why did that become an issue for the judge all of a sudden when the defense did not bring it up?

The judiciary has to maintain or attempt to maintain impartiality. What irks people is "if this was ah poor boy from de ghetto,"  would Volney take the unprecedented step to act on his own?

And now he further brings himself and his judgment into disrepute because he was obviously dealing with UNC while still a sitting judge.

like allyuh eh realize i agreeing with yuh..I said i was going on what was mentioned in the article..TC done clear that up for me
I was just trying to give pple a heads up on what the article said about aspiration pneumonia and why it really could kill de fella IF IT HAPPENED!
I agree wit everyting u say. I not defending Boyce and never have, cuz I was not there so i doh have a clue what really went on with that fight. Volney do shit clearly

« Reply #149 on: May 09, 2010, 12:28:59 AM »
At Kennedy Swaratsingh Saturday. Crowd was 3 times larger than judge snake's own last week, and this one mostly a mix of young and old St joseph resisdence from mt.dour to the main road.  Don't think he will not even come close to losing this seat.  A true resident and community resident for the youths.