Partner...yuh talking about years before my time dey. I still lime with men who went in d early 80's and i started in d 90's.
Dat scouthouse see better days in truth...d main house on top cracked in half cause d ground shifted and most of d roof was gone. Is about 10 years since I been there but I pass around it by boat a couple years back. D jetty house get rape by fishermen and a Naps ole boy was telling me that they partially burn down d place cause it was "haunted"...ah figure dem men was on drugs.
Yuh remember playing "night game" on Monos? Allyuh had dat in yuh time? Before men start to get dey jollies about dat name, it was hide and seek with d whole island at night. 2 teams and d searching team had flashlights and d fellas hiding didn't. Yuh had to make yuh way back to a circle around d campfire without anyone calling yuh name.
In my years I doh remember compteting in d regattas or jambouree...ah remember meh partners who went saints always in dat. Always rowing on Saturday and going Jambouree in Canada and ting. Ah still think we was better dough.
Dat house ting I doh remember...midday leage was class vs. class. Ah think d houses only came round on sports day.
Man, I left in 79. Look jus this yr we had we first reunion on Republic Day of all days. I cyar believe what u telling me bout scouting in Fatima. In my day horse, it didn't have no time for hide n seek, we was constantly training. I was always effing tired. We used to have to swim across the bay from the scouthouse to Ross Miller and dem house and back. I not lying, one time I look down in the water and I seeing sand shark. If Raimu ketch u out dere den is u to ketch. That is when water drain out de Boca - I don't know why it does happen but I see it with my own 2 eye.
When we wasn't swimming, we was always rowing, always training for Regatta. In dem times each yr had to uphold a tradition of winning. We were being bred to win. It was pressure too bad.
I am going to begin making enquiries about the state of scouting, as I have to say I cyar believe how bad tings get. Time for me to get involved.