The young fella from the Beetham who plays with W Connection and as locked up when the SOE started, is still behind bars. Interestingly, he used to play for Police as well before joining Connection. Sometime ago when the Beetham was locked down he was picked up in a similar manner. When the Police found out he represents them on the de field they surprised.
Also, he has been using football as a way to stay out of trouble and lucky for him the club is keeping his wages for him and will be paid on release......others aren't as lucky.
But say wha, we in a crisis that was averted but still needs 3 monts to avert and ah guess dis comes with the territory............ssssstttteeeeuuuuppppsssss!!! Jokey 2 x 4 country with jokey 2 x 4 leaders!!
We only know about this because he has a story- Played professioal football for W Connection and Police. What if you don't have any accodales at all but you happen to like 3/4 pants and netted vest and live in the Betham.
I don't decry the practicing of profiling altogether as it has its uses. Holding someone indefinitely with no evidence because he matchs a profile is the height of injustice.
Do you all know that there is no evidence and he was held simply because he matches a profile?
What does the fact that he is a footballer have to do with anything?
I may have missed something, if there is more to it please share.
Dinho, the person who shared the story earlier today on Power 102fm was Shirma Wilson. She is by and large considered a voice for the people on the Beetham. She was off the air for two weeks after an apparent attempt to quiet herself and Marcia, but that's another kettle of fish.
She came back on the air today and proceeded to tell the story. As far as Shirma knows, this guy is not involved in anything nefarious or illegal. His parents died while he was young and grew up with his grandmother who has since passed. So its just him and his siblings trying to keep their head above water. He is using football to keep out of trouble.
According to Shirma, he was held purely because he living in the Beetham. As I posted before, its not the first time he was held and had to be let go. And he is not the only one she talked about. She mentioned another guy who does really good tile work and he too was held simply because he from the Beetham. These are just two examples of people who were apparently picked up in the early days of the SOE and is still being held
Now Shirma eh present any evidence to show the fella should be set free, but neither has the police. They didn't have any evidence last time they held him and dey apparently eh have none this time. She is hoping that the same spirit this guy (the footballer) had to keep himself out of trouble will continue after his release.....her fear is that these fellas who are being held for no apparent reason don't get frustrated to the point where we'll need a next SOE to solve a REAL crisis down the road....
there will always be issues with a SOE, but it is serving a greater purpose, innocent people can walk out of their homes and feel a little safer because of it.
it had an individual in the local media speaking of a bar close to him, where he would never see any ladies liming because of the crime, the last 2 weeks, more women have been liming and socializing , it may be a joke to some, but it is an indicator that women are feeling safer to venture out, this being one example
all the badjohn talk people coming with on this board, 95% of them don't live in the most dangerous areas of trinidad.
my family has lived behind the bridge, EDR, piccadilly street, a stone's throw from besson st police station, across the street from nelson, duncan and prince street, in the middle of it for decades upon decades and we know the situation, despite the fact we have felt at home there, 95% of the nation are not used to that level of violence, it has now spread throughout the nation and it needs to be addressed, this may be the start that is needed.
so when people bash the government about the SOE, i understand its not perfect but it is about time we start to address the crime situation, because a lot of people just talk and never state what area they hail from, because they really and truly don't know the state of the nation.