the entire exercise has been an abject failure.
The police could have made the same arrests without infringing on civil rights....The SoE continues by the way!
What the government did was make a pappyshow out of crime fighting. They had no idea what to do about the crime, despite their incessant cries of we go solve this issue within 120 days of taking office! They had no clue and so resorted to a tool that the constitution had in place to deal with dire issues of national security.
To this day the threat continues says Minister Sandy...what a joke!
So whats your criteria used to measure success or failure??
Even if you discount the drop in crime over the period, and accept that the SOE really only gave a boost in the arm of the protective services to get more proactive and actually do police work and make arrests, then I consider that somewhat of a success.
The tragedy is that we have to settle for statements like that and we are only spurred into action at these frantic times. Sounds a lot like the T&T football team huh.
PNM, UNC, PP, NJAC - it dont matter who in power, the police service will not just wake up one day and decide to do their jobs at a better level. So lets stop politicizing this whole thing. At the end of the day the Govt in power took a drastic action to arrest crime and violence. They must be commended for at least thinking and implementing something. What level of success it brought is another topic to debate, there are obviously pros and cons. But they DID TRY SOMETHING, and if they didnt, people woulda been saying that they no better than the previous administration. If you use the argument that they politicizing this crime fighting effort, then any thing any party ever do for the good of the nation can be put into that same category, so is best whoever in power just say "fack allyuh - lewwe just coast along every day and hope for the best?"
I know the vast majority of the population and posters here have their political allegiances, and that biases opinions. Maybe its just me as I have been trained to think analytically, wholistically and for myself that I ALWAYS look for all sides of an issue....But I for one commend the Govt in power for at least trying something. When the previous administration brought in the blimps, set up the radars and bought the OPV vessels and send the coastguard men to Portsmouth to train, I commended them on that.
When they set up SAUTT and brought in the experts from the developed countries, I commended them on that. When the UNC was in power and set up the E-999 and bought all them vehicles I commended them on that. When the UNC hanged the 10 murders under their watch I commended them on that.
But:
When the PNM decided to meet with the community leaders I lambasted them on that. When the UNC didn't support the PNM's last set of crime bills in Parliament, I lambasted them on that. When the PP decided to pull the plug on the OPV project I cuss whole day.
I commend effort.
I do not condone indifference, opposition just for politics rather than a common good, or cynicism just for cynicism's sake with no alternative suggestions that ARE REALISTIC AT THE TIME.
Just imagine you have a hypothetical country somewhere in the world where they do a poll and the overwhelming topic of concern is the crime and violence that destroying that country. Then the Govt go out and try something and the general population get vex with them.
Just for a minute, think about what an outsider looking in at that country will think of the mental capacity of the citizens of that country.